Final Rejection
Claim 3 has been cancelled by Applicant
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims recite mental processes and mathematics. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims generally link abstract ideas to a generic computer and perform mere data gathering in relation to the mental processes. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they include mere instructions to perform mental processes and mathematics on a generic computer.
The claims involve analyzing data and making judgments based off of a document.
Claim 1
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
Claim 1 recites:
… estimation (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “evaluations” are mental processes) …
analyze … to determine … classification of … content (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), judgments, particularly identifying patterns are mental processes);
… infer an occurrence probability (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C), “A mathematical calculation is … an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number.” Note that “There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation.” “A step of ‘determining’ a variable … may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation.”) … based on a failure classification logic tree (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships are abstract ideas; inferring a probability based by observing a tree is considered a mental process with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)) …;
… extract, … a corresponding sentence … (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations,” are mental processes; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process) … the occurrence probability of which is equal to or greater than a threshold (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships and formulas/equations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process);
… infer … based on the corresponding sentence (a judgment based on text that has been read is considered a mental process with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)) …;
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
Claim 1 recites:
A(n) … system comprising (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application):
a memory having a machine learning model and (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application):
… a log related to a failure to … a failure … a failure … (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity);
cause the machine learning model to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) … for each of the failure classifications … for each target in which a failure has occurred and for each occurred failure (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity);
cause the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) …, from a predetermined technical document, … corresponding to the failure classification (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) …
cause the machine learning model to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) … a first failure cause … extracted by the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity);
and output the first failure cause (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
The additional elements of the claim do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. The claims simply state mental processes with mere instructions to perform these abstract ideas on a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)(3)). The computer is cited at such a high level of generality that it cannot be determined to be a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)) and is simply linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (MPEP 2106.05(h)). The claim recites only the idea of a solution, but fails to recite details as to how the solution to the problem is accomplished, because it leaves a majority of the analysis to the generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). The analysis done by the computer is never used to enact change upon the system, and thus cannot be determined to create an improvement to a computer or any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites:
generate a sentence extraction prompt for causing the machine learning model to extract the corresponding sentence from the predetermined technical document, input the generated sentence extraction prompt to the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application), and output the corresponding sentence (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) from the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application), and generate a failure cause analysis prompt (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) for inferring a failure cause based on the corresponding sentence (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes), input the generated failure cause analysis prompt to the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application), and output (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) the first failure cause (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) from the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application).
Claim 4
Claim 4 recites:
determine the failure classification using a failure analysis (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), judgments, particularly identifying patterns are mental processes) logic tree (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships, formulas/equations, and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process) indicating a failure classification corresponding to the failure content (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Claim 5
Claim 5 recites:
determine the failure classification using any one of the failure analysis (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes) logic tree (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships, formulas/equations, and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process) automatically generated by artificial intelligence (Al) (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application), the failure analysis logic tree generated based on experience of an expert (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes), or the failure analysis logic tree generated by modifying the logic tree automatically (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) generated by the AI by an expert (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes).
Claim 6
Claim 6 recites:
cause the machine learning model to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) extract a sentence (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations,” are mental processes; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process) related to the failure classification as the corresponding sentence using the technical document including at least a specification of a system in which the failure has occurred (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Claim 7
Claim 7 recites:
cause the machine learning model to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) infer (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “opinions,” are mental processes) a plurality of items as the first failure cause (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) and output (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) a list of items of the first failure cause (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) from the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application).
Claim 8
Claim 8 recites:
cause the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) to clearly indicate a basis for inferring the first failure cause (identifying reasoning is a mental process with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)).
Claim 9
Claim 9 recites:
cause the machine learning model to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) infer a second failure cause based on a past case (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes; MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity);
and output (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) the first failure cause inferred based on the corresponding sentence (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) by the machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) and second failure cause inferred based on a past case (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) by the machine learning model together (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application).
Claim 10
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
Claim 10 recites:
All limitations identified as abstract ideas have been analyzed above with respect to Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
Claim 10 recites:
An information processing apparatus comprising (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application):
memory and (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application): …
All remaining limitations identified as additional elements have been analyzed above with respect to Claim 1.
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Please see the above analysis of Claim 1.
Claim 11
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
Claim 11 recites:
An estimation method comprising (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “evaluations,” are mental processes): …
All remaining limitations identified as abstract ideas have been analyzed above with respect to Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
Claim 11 recites:
All limitations identified as additional elements have been analyzed above with respect to Claim 1.
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Please see the above analysis of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Examiner interprets the invention as having a tree that analyzes information to produce a failure classification. In the specification, the failure classification logic tree and the failure analysis tree appear to be the same tree, as they are described as having the same function (classification) and are used interchangeably in relation to which logic unit holds the tree. Paragraphs 0022-0026, for example, appear to use the terms interchangeably. Further, Paragraph 0071 describes unit 102 as making determinations regarding a failure analysis logic tree in relation to classification; however, in Paragraph 0024, unit 102 has a failure classification logic tree. Additionally, only one tree is mentioned in the flowchart of Fig. 9 which describes the overall process. The use of these two terms, “failure analysis logic tree,” and “failure classification logic tree,” for the same tree within the claims (Claims 1, 4, 5, and 10-11) creates ambiguity as it is not clear whether or not these are the same tree. Claims 1, 4-5, and 10-11 are thus rejected, and Claims 2 and 6-9 are also rejected due to their dependency upon at least one of the aforementioned claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0101115 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhou.
With regards to Claim 1, Zhou teaches:
An estimation system comprising (Fig. 2 and 10, overall system):
a memory having a machine learning model and (Paragraphs 0064-0068 and 0051-0052, memory; Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0040-0041, machine learning);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to (Paragraphs 0064-0068 and 0051-0052, memory):
analyze a log related to a failure to determine a failure classification of a failure content (Paragraphs 0033-0034, labels, keywords, etc. of failure logs);
cause the machine learning model to infer an occurrence probability for each of the failure classifications based on a failure classification logic tree for each target in which a failure has occurred and for each occurred failure (Paragraphs 0046-0047, confidences on the results; Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0040-0041, tree as classifier; Paragraphs 0033-0034, results of the ML); Please note that Paragraphs 0036-0038 appear to describe the probability as the probability that the classification is correct.
cause the machine learning model to extract, from a predetermined technical document, a corresponding sentence corresponding to the determined failure classification (Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0028-0031 and 0033-0034, extracting information from the document based off keywords) the occurrence probability of which is equal to or greater than a threshold (Paragraphs 0046-0047, confidences and thresholds; Paragraph 0042, result; Paragraph 0035, downstream analysis);
cause the machine learning model to infer a first failure cause based on the corresponding sentence extracted by the machine learning model (Paragraph 0035, underlying issue);
and output the first failure cause (Paragraphs 0035 and 0024, outputting the description including the underlying issue).
With regards to Claim 2, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 1 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, generate a sentence extraction prompt for causing the machine learning model to extract the corresponding sentence from the predetermined technical document, input the generated sentence extraction prompt to the machine learning model (Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0033-0034, keywords extracted and used to extract the sentence), and output the corresponding sentence from the machine learning model, and generate a failure cause analysis prompt for inferring a failure cause based on the corresponding sentence, input the generated failure cause analysis prompt to the machine learning model (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0033-0035, information including the sentences fed into the model; Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0040-0041, machine learning), and output the first failure cause from the machine learning model (Paragraphs 0035 and 0024, underlying cause output).
With regards to Claim 4, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 1 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, determine the failure classification using a failure analysis logic tree indicating a failure classification corresponding to the failure content (Paragraphs 0044-0045 and 0040-0041, machine learning and trees for classification; Paragraphs 0033-0034, analyzing the information for labels and keywords).
With regards to Claim 5, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 4 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, determine the failure classification using any one of the failure analysis logic tree automatically generated by artificial intelligence (Al), the failure analysis logic tree generated based on experience of an expert, or the failure analysis logic tree generated by modifying the logic tree automatically generated by the AI by an expert (Paragraphs 0026, 0044-0045, and 0040-0041, algorithms for the process learned or generated by a subject matter expert; Paragraph 0050, retraining).
With regards to Claim 6, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 1 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, cause the machine learning model to extract a sentence related to the failure classification as the corresponding sentence using the technical document including at least a specification of a system in which the failure has occurred (Paragraphs 0028-0031 and 0033-0034, extracting an excerpt from a document such as a manual using keywords from the log).
With regards to Claim 7, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 1 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, cause the machine learning model to infer a plurality of items as the first failure cause and output a list of items of the first failure cause from the machine learning model (Paragraphs 0046-0047, multiple outputs and causes).
With regards to Claim 8, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 1 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, cause the machine learning model to clearly indicate a basis for inferring the first failure cause (Paragraph 0035, various descriptions and fields relating to the issue).
With regards to Claim 9, Zhou teaches the system of Claim 1 as cited above. Zhou further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, cause the machine learning model to infer a second failure cause (Paragraphs 0046-0047, multiple causes) based on a past case (Paragraph 0050, retraining; Paragraph 0026, training);
and output the first failure cause inferred based on the corresponding sentence by the machine learning model and second failure cause inferred based on a past case by the machine learning model together (Paragraphs 0046-0047, multiple outputs and causes).
With regards to Claim 10, Zhou teaches:
An information processing apparatus comprising (Fig. 10; Fig. 2):
memory and (Paragraphs 0064-0068 and 0051-0052);
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to (Paragraphs 0064-0068 and 0051-0052):
Zhou further teaches the remaining limitations of Claim 10. Please see the above rejection of Claim 1 for citations of these limitations.
With regards to Claim 11, Zhou teaches:
An estimation method comprising (Fig. 2): …
Zhou further teaches the remaining limitations of Claim 11. Please see the above rejection of Claim 1 for citations of these limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 22nd, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The objections have been withdrawn due to the amendment.
Applicant argues that the claims should not be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the claims are directed towards an estimation and process of failure cause analysis. Estimating, inferring a probability, and analyzing are considered abstract ideas with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a) as cited above.
Applicant further argues that the claims do not recite a judicial exception because they, “require automated signal processing and complex pattern matching that cannot be practically performed by a human mind.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely perform abstract ideas on a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The pattern matching itself is not described in a way that cannot be done in the human mind, and complex signal processing is not claimed.
Applicant further argues that using the probability is an improvement to classifying. Classification is considered a mental process of a judgment or opinion (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)), and an improvement to an abstract idea is still considered an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a)(II)).
Lastly, Applicant argues that the claimed invention amounts to significantly more because the, “probability based on a failure classification logic tree is highly specific and unconventional.” The consideration for whether a claim is well-understood, routine, and conventional, is related to its additional elements, not its abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2016.04(a)(2)).
With regards to the rejection under the prior art, Applicant argues that Zhou does not teach the newly amended features. Additional citations have been added to the independent claims to cover these new limitations. Please see the above rejection for further details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2113
/MARC DUNCAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113