DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office Action for serial number 19/210,836, Tightening Member, Clamp Member And Clamp Assembly, filed on May 16, 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-24, and 31-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,365,290. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and patent claims are almost identical with the recitation of a tightening member, coupling portion; an operating portion etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0376631 to D’Angelo et al. (Angelo ‘631).
Angelo ‘631 discloses wherein a tightening member (20) for tightening a clamping device for fixing an accessory to a crossbar, the tightening member comprising: a coupling portion (94) configured to detachably couple the tightening member to a coupling section (56) protruding from the clamping device (40), the coupling portion being engageable with the coupling section in a torque transferable manner; an operating portion (24) configured to be grasped and rotated by a user, wherein the coupling portion (94) comprises an accommodating portion ( 94-central upright protrusion) for at least partially receiving portion of the coupling section (56 with 32).
Regarding claim 17, Angelo ‘631 discloses a securing mechanism (108) configured to temporarily fixedly couple the coupling portion to the coupling section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelo ‘631.
Angelo ‘631 discloses the previous invention failing to disclose wherein the coupling portion extends along a rotation axis of the tightening member less than or equal to 20% of a thickness of the operating portion. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the coupling portion of Angelo ‘631 to be less than 20% of the thickness of the operating portion, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovery basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 32, Angelo ‘631 discloses wherein a diameter of the tightening member is greater than the thickness of the operating portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20, 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the engaging portion comprises a resilient engaging member configured to automatically establish locking with the coupling section upon inserting the tightening member on the force receiving portion.
Claims 19-20 are inherently objected as depending on objected claim 18.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to discloses wherein the torque limiting mechanism comprising an urging member.
Claims 22-24 are inherently objected as depending on objected claim 21.
Claims 25-30 are allowed.
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the force receiving portion comprising a torque transmitting profile defined by a wall portion, and the torque transmitting profile is provided on a radially outer surface of the wall portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant will now see that Angelo ‘631 – Fig. 7 with a tightening member (20), an operating portion (24), a coupling portion (94), and a clamping device (40) with a coupling section (56) – it reads on the limitations of claim 16, and newly claim 31.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M EPPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 February 2, 2026