DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 06/19/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the same ultrasonic catheter device with first, second AIC, distal pMUT interposer, flex cables/circuits and a pMUT array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Limitations “a plurality of flex cables connected to the catheter handle connector; a first adhesive interconnect (AIC) connected to the plurality of flex cables; a distal piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer (pMUT) interposer connected to the first AIC; a second AIC connected to the distal pMUT interposer; and a pMUT array connected to the second AIC” and “a micro-electromechanical (MEMS) based Piezoelectric Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducer (pMUT) array disposed within the distal portion of the catheter body, wherein the MEMS based pMUT array comprises a plurality of linear phased array elements each configured to create an individually focused beam; an ultra-high density (UHD) flexible circuit interposer connected to the MEMS based pMUT array through an ultra-high density (UHD) interconnect pad, wherein the UHD flexible circuit interposer includes near zero evidence interfacial vias connecting to the MEMS based pMUT array; a first layer of Adhesive Interconnect (AIC) positioned proximal to the UHD flexible circuit interposer; a second layer of Adhesive Interconnect (AIC) positioned distal to the UHD flexible circuit interposer and a plurality of electronic flex circuits connecting the handle connector to the first layer of AIC” are unclear. It is unclear how these components are interconnected. As see in Fig. 3, the order of each component connects to each other. It is unclear how the signal would flow from handle connector to pMUT array. It is unclear how the signal would flow from pMUT interposer to pMUT array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dausch et al. (US 2010/0168583 (provided in the IDS)).
Addressing claim 1, Dausch discloses an ultrasonic catheter comprising:
a catheter handle connector (see Figs. 9-13, 505 and any portion at the proximal end of the catheter is the catheter handle connector;
a plurality of flex cables connected to the catheter handle connector (see [0083], Figs. 9-13 and 6; 507 and 1507);
a first adhesive interconnect (AIC) connected to the plurality of flex cables (see Fig. 8 and [0078-0079]; 256 is the adhesive (epoxy interconnect) connect to flex cable 301);
a distal piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer (pMUT) interposer connected to the first AIC (see [0078-0079] and Fig. 8, substrate 320 is the pMUT interposer);
a second AIC connected to the distal pMUT interposer (see Fig. 8 and [0078-0079]; 256 is the AIC (epoxy interconnect) connect to the distal pMUT interposer; 256 has first and second layer);
a pMUT array connected to the second AIC (see Figs. 8 and [0079]; 256 connect to pMUT array 10).
Addressing claims 6, 9 and 11, Dausch discloses:
addressing claim 6, wherein a compression connection is made among the plurality of flex cables, the first AIC, the distal pMUT interposer, the second AIC, and the pMUT array (see Figs. 8 and 16).
addressing claim 9, further comprising a catheter body having a longitudinal axis, wherein the pMUT array is configured to send a pressure wave and receive a returning pressure wave echo through the distal pMUT interposer (see Figs. 8, 16 and [0006]; pMUT array on the IC substrate (pMUT interposer) send ultrasound pressure wave and receive a returning pressure wave to generate image through the IC substrate).
addressing claim 11, wherein the pMUT array comprises a plurality of linear phased array elements each configured to create an individually focused beam (see [0091]; phase array controls each individual pMUT element with a signal to create an individually focused beam).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dausch et al. (US 2010/0168583 (provided in the IDS)) and in view of Ketterling (US 2008/0228074).
Addressing claims 2-5 and 10, Dausch does not disclose wherein the distal pMUT interposer includes InvisiVia connections configured to bring electronic signals from one side of the distal pMUT interposer to the other; wherein the InvisiVia connections create a flat and planar interconnect diameter of not more than 5 µm; wherein each of the InvisiVia connections is created from a z-axis interconnect of two or more signals or ground layers utilizing an ultraviolet (UV) laser with a hole diameter of no more than 10 µm that is subsequently copper plated to form a closed and highly planar attachment surface; wherein each of the InvisiVia connections has a first end and a second end, with diameters ranging from 5 µm to 25 µm and 0 µm to 10 µm respectively and wherein the InvisiVia connections are between 30 to 128 in number. Dausch discloses IC substrate (pMUT interposer) to bring electronic signals from one side to the other; however, he does not disclose specific connection technology InvisiVia (microvias). Ketterling discloses using microvias as electrical connections (see [0019], [0021] and [0026]; Ketterling also discloses UV light/laser etching technology; microvias is µm size; any µm diameter and any number of connections is a designer choice that only require routine skill in the art; any number of connection elements and size could be made). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dausch to have wherein the distal pMUT interposer includes InvisiVia connections configured to bring electronic signals from one side of the distal pMUT interposer to the other; wherein the InvisiVia connections create a flat and planar interconnect diameter of not more than 5 µm; wherein each of the InvisiVia connections is created from a z-axis interconnect of two or more signals or ground layers utilizing an ultraviolet (UV) laser with a hole diameter of no more than 10 µm that is subsequently copper plated to form a closed and highly planar attachment surface; wherein each of the InvisiVia connections has a first end and a second end, with diameters ranging from 5 µm to 25 µm and 0 µm to 10 µm respectively and wherein the InvisiVia connections are between 30 to 128 in number as taught by Ketterling because microvias offer several advantages that make them the preferred choice for modern electronic devices (improve signal integrity; shorter signal path, increase pcb density, enhanced thermal management and cost-effective for high volume production).
No art rejection for claims 12-14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2007/0019028; US 2017/0254885 and US 2015/0289929.
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797