DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 19/210,928 has a total of 10 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 7 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
INFORMATION CONCERNING OATH/DECLARATION
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF REFERENCES CITED BY APPLICANT
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements 02/13/2026 and 04/10/2026 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US pub. # 2024/0241639), hereinafter, “Wang”.
At the outset, Applicant is reminded that claims subject to examination will be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). With this in mind, the discussion will focus on how the terms and relationships between the terms in the claims are met by the references.
2. As per claims 1, 7 and 13, Wang discloses a control method of a basic input/output system, performed by an expansion card (network interface card 901 of fig. 9) plugged to a motherboard (host 800 of fig. 9) (see paragraph 0062), the motherboard comprising the basic input/output system (see paragraph 0057), and the control method of the basic input/output system comprising: obtaining an operation command (an RDMA access request, as discloses in paragraph 0066) corresponding to the basic input/output system (see paragraph 0066); performing conversion on the operation command according to a command format of the basic input/output system to generate a target command (an NVMe access request, as discloses in paragraph 0066) when determining the operation command corresponds to a target parameter among a plurality of accessible parameters (functions, as discloses in paragraph 0057) of the basic input/output system [see paragraph 0066, which discloses “the processor 903 may convert, before sending the access request to the memory driver 904, a format of the access request from the RDMA format into an NVMe format that can be identified by the memory driver 904, for the memory driver 904 to identify the access request. For example, the processor 903 may parse an initial access request in the RDMA format to obtain an identifier of target data that the host 800 requests to access, a data operation type (for example, a read operation), and other key data, and generate a new access request in the NVMe format based on data (where the data may be recorded in the storage apparatus 900 in advance) such as a logical address of the target data stored on the persistent storage medium 905. In an actual application, the generated new access request may be embodied as a cmd instruction. In addition, the processor 903 may further select a submit queue in an NVMe queue from a plurality of NVMe queues configured in the memory driver 904, to receive the access request in the NVMe format. For example, the processor 903 may select, based on a preset selection policy, the submit queue in the NVMe queue 2 to receive the access request. In this way, the processor 903 may write the access request in the NVMe format into the submit queue in the NVMe queue 2”]; and providing the target command to the basic input/output system (see paragraph 0066).
3. As per claims 2 and 8, Wang discloses “The control method of the basic input/output system according to claim 1” [See rejection to claim 1 above], wherein providing the target command to the basic input/output system comprises: storing the target command into a shared memory (persistent storage medium 905), wherein the basic input/output system reads the target command from the shared memory (see paragraph 0066).
4. As per claims 3, 9 and 15, Wang discloses, further comprising: reading a command execution result from the shared memory after storing the target command into the shared memory, wherein the command execution result is generated by the basic input/output system (see paragraph 0075).
5. As per claim 14, Wang discloses, further comprising: a shared memory connected to the command receiving interface and the command transmission interface, and the command receiving interface storing the target command into the shared memory, wherein the basic input/output system reads the target command from the shared memory through the command transmission interface (see paragraph 0066).
6. As per claim 16, Wang discloses wherein the command transmission interface is peripheral component interconnect express interface (see paragraph 0040).
CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the
application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a (1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-3, 7-9 and 13-16 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
Examiner should be directed to Ernest Unelus whose telephone number is (571) 272-
8596. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 9:00 AM to 5:00PM.
IMPORTANT NOTE
If attempts to reach the above noted Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Mr. Idriss Alrobaye, can be reached at the following telephone number: Area Code (571) 270-1023.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through private PAIR only. For more information about the PMR system, see her//pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217- 91 97 (toll-free).
/Ernest Unelus/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181