DETAILED ACTION
1.This action is responsive to the communication filed on September 30, 2025. At this time, claims 3-5, 11, 15, 17, 19-21, 26 and 31-36 have been cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-14, 16, 18, 22-25 and 27-30 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 9-10, 12-13, 16,18 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Terao, US 20180069851 A1 in view of Nix, US 20190313246 A1 in further view of Milligan, US 9265079 B2.
1. Terao discloses a system for secure configuration of medical devices, (See Terao, abstract; A communication apparatus determines whether the communication apparatus is connected with a wireless network, and accepts an instruction for starting setting processing of a communication parameter, which is used in performing wireless communication, with another communication apparatus that has read an image including information about a frequency channel used in the setting processing.) the system comprising:
a medical device comprising one or more processors, a secure memory, and a first wireless network interface; (See Terao, [0027] An antenna 208 can communicate in a 2.4-GHz band and/or a 5-GHz band for performing wireless LAN communication. A communication unit 209 performs wireless LAN communication compliant with the IEEE 802.11 standard series. The communication unit 209 can perform protocol processing compliant with Wi-Fi Direct. The communication unit 209 includes a chip for performing wireless communication.)
and a setup device comprising one or more processors and a second wireless network interface; (See Terao, [0002] In recent years, more and more devices, such as digital cameras, printers, mobile phones, and smartphones, have come to be equipped with wireless communication functions and used in connection with a wireless network.) wherein the medical device is configured to: present encoded device data representing a public key of the medical device, a device identifier of the medical device, and a session identifier of a direct communication session to be established with the setup device; (See Terao, [0033]; Another example of the search-enabling information includes identification information for identifying the apparatus presenting the QR code. Examples of the identification information about the apparatus include a media access control (MAC) address and a universally unique identifier (UUID), which uniquely identify a device. If the parameter setting is performed by Wi-Fi Direct, a peer to peer (P2P) device address or a P2P interface address can be used. According to DPP, an apparatus functioning as a configurator reads a QR code associated with another apparatus and sets communication parameters to another apparatus by using a public key obtained from the read QR code. The communication parameters include various wireless communication parameters used to perform wireless communication compliant with the IEEE 802.11 standard series. For example, the communication parameters include a service set identifier (SSID) serving as a network identifier, an encryption method, an encryption key, an authentication method, and an authentication key. The communication parameters can include an Internet Protocol (IP) address for performing communication at an IP layer.) receive, from the setup device, direct connection data including credentials, encrypted using the public key, for establishing the direct communication session; (See Terao, [0035] In the present exemplary embodiment, the smartphone 101 performs authentication processing with the partner apparatus. The authentication processing is intended to identify whether the partner apparatus is an authorized apparatus to perform the parameter setting processing with. The authentication processing can use information included in the QR code to perform authentication between the apparatuses. A hash value of the information included in the QR code can be calculated and used as authentication information. In the present exemplary embodiment, the authentication processing includes processing for sharing an encryption key between the smartphone 101 and the partner apparatus. The encryption key is used in encrypting and transmitting the communication parameters afterward. [0038] If the smartphone 101 detects the partner apparatus and succeeds in the authentication processing, the smartphone 101 encrypts and transmits the communication parameters to the partner apparatus by wireless communication. The communication parameters can be encrypted and transmitted using a public key. The public key can be included in the QR code. An example of the public key included in the QR code is an elliptic curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange (ECDH) public key. However, this is not restrictive. Public keys of other public key encryption methods can be used.)
decrypt the credentials using a private key corresponding to the public key; (See Terao, [0076] After the transmission of the authentication response, the parameter receiving apparatus waits until an authentication confirmation is transmitted from the apparatus transmitting the authentication request. An example of the authentication confirmation is a DPP Authentication Confirm frame defined by the DPP standard. The authentication confirmation can include authentication information encrypted using a shared key that the apparatus transmitting the authentication request generates by a method similar to that by which the parameter receiving apparatus generates the shared key. The parameter receiving apparatus can determine that the authentication is successful if the authentication information can be correctly decoded using the shared key generated by the parameter receiving apparatus.)
establish the direct communication session using the credentials; (See Terao, [0095] In the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the camera 102 and the printer 103 are described to be connected in a wireless LAN infrastructure mode. However, this is not restrictive. For example, an exemplary embodiment can be applied to a case in which the camera 102 and the printer 103 are connected in a wireless LAN ad hoc mode. If the camera 102 and the printer 103 have a Wi-Fi Direct connection function, an exemplary embodiment can be applied to a case in which the two apparatuses are connected by Wi-Fi Direct. In such a case, after the completion of the setting processing of the communication parameters, either the camera 102 or the printer 103 operates as a Wi-Fi Direct group owner to construct a wireless network using the shared communication parameters. The other apparatus that is not the group owner can function as a Wi-Fi Direct client and connect to the group owner for Wi-Fi Direct connection.)
and wherein the setup device is configured to: scan the encoded device data presented by the medical device; (See Terao, [0031] The smartphone 101 captures a QR code displayed on another apparatus or associated with another apparatus, and reads the QR code. As employed herein, the QR code associated with another apparatus refers to a QR code that is generated by any method, such as printing, and not necessarily displaying. For example, a QR code can be attached to a casing of the another apparatus instead of being displayed on a display of the another apparatus. Or, a QR code can be contained in an instruction manual of the another apparatus.)
generate the direct connection data, including the credentials, encrypted using the public key; (See Terao, [0032] The smartphone 101 obtains information required to set communication parameters, included in the read QR code. For example, the information required to set communication parameters includes information used in the parameter setting processing and an encryption key for encrypting messages exchanged in the parameter setting processing. Information that enables the smartphone 101 to search for the apparatus presenting the QR code can be included. An example of information that can be used to perform a search is information about a frequency channel of a wireless LAN. If the information about the frequency channel of the wireless LAN is included, the smartphone 101 just needs to search the frequency channel for the apparatus presenting the QR code. This can reduce search processing time. [0055]; the transmitted authentication confirmation can include information about an encryption key to be used in encrypting communication parameters.)
broadcast the direct connection data; (See Terao, [0038] If the smartphone 101 detects the partner apparatus and succeeds in the authentication processing, the smartphone 101 encrypts and transmits the communication parameters to the partner apparatus by wireless communication. The communication parameters can be encrypted and transmitted using a public key. The public key can be included in the QR code. An example of the public key included in the QR code is an elliptic curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange (ECDH) public key.)
establish the direct communication session with the medical device; (See Terao, [0095]; The other apparatus that is not the group owner can function as a Wi-Fi Direct client and connect to the group owner for Wi-Fi Direct connection. See also [0024]) and send the configuration data to the medical device. (See Terao, [0078] After the completion of the authentication in step S604, in step S605, the parameter receiving apparatus performs setting processing of communication parameters. In step S605, the parameter receiving apparatus recognizes the apparatus transmitting the authentication request to be a parameter providing apparatus, and transmits a setting request to the parameter providing apparatus. An example of the setting request is a DPP Configuration Request frame defined by the DPP standard. The setting request includes information about requested parameters. The information is encrypted by using the shared key generated in step S604. For example, a role of the parameter receiving apparatus in the formed network can be included. The role of the parameter receiving apparatus included here is one desired by the parameter receiving apparatus. After the transmission of the setting request, the parameter receiving apparatus waits until a setting response is transmitted from the parameter providing apparatus. An example of the setting response is a DPP Configuration Response frame defined by the DPP standard. The setting response transmitted by the parameter providing apparatus includes communication parameters.)
Terao does not appear to explicitly disclose a medical device; and receive from the setup device via the direct communication session, configuration data for communicating with a server over a clinical network;
However, Nix discloses a medical device;(See Nix, [0043]; In exemplary embodiments, device owner 122 is the owner of device 101. Device owner 122 may be the same as device user 101a in some embodiments, but device owner 122 also may be different than device user 101a in other embodiments. For exemplary health care applications in a hospital where device 101 is a medical device to monitor patient health, device owner 122 could be the hospital and device user could be a nurse, doctor, or medical technician. Device owner 122 may have a certificate 123a from a certificate authority 123 associated with the device owner 122.) and receive from the setup device via the direct communication session, configuration data for communicating with a server over a clinical network; (See Nix, [0247- 0252] In another exemplary embodiment, device 101 uses reporting system credentials 132h to establish secure session 520, and reporting system credentials 132h could include a new, different private key SK1.device 101s′ for device 101 to use with reporting server 116. Reporting system credentials 132h could also include an identity for device 101 to use with reporting system 120 or reporting server 116, as well as a new, different certificate certl.device 101t′. In other words, reporting system 120 can use different PKI keys for device 101 than those recorded for a manufactured device 101, and the credentials or keys could be received by device 101 in a set of reporting system credentials 132h. A set of reporting system credentials 132h could also include a shared secret key for device 101 to use with reporting system 120 or reporting server 116. Also, reporting server 116 could send device 101 a certificate for reporting server that may comprise a cert.RS 116c. Any certificates sent or received in a secure session 520 could be verified with a signature verification step 221 from FIG. 2b, and also any parent certificates sent and received in a secure session 520 could be verified all the way up to a root certificate cert.CA.root 109a or a set of root certificated 109a a. For exemplary embodiments where both sides of secure session 520 use verified certificates, then secure session 520 can also provide a mutually authenticated session in addition to encryption and checking for data integrity. Further, in some exemplary embodiments, session 520 comprises device 101 sending an identity of device 101 such as ID.device 101b to reporting server 116 (or a different identity for device 101 to use with reporting system 120).[0008]; (i) current, running firmware or configuration files for the device, (ii) network access credentials, (iii) credentials for access to remote servers or a reporting system, and (iv) proper configuration to support transducers that are actually connected with a device. As one example, hospitals, health clinics, or doctor's offices can receive health monitoring equipment designed to be networked, but without both (i) the networking configured for the equipment, and (ii) updated or patched firmware for the equipment. A need exists in the art to allow general users (e.g. not requiring expert IT skills) to securely configure equipment designed to be networked, including securely updating the device's firmware and credentials for both accessing a network and remote servers. )
Terao and Nix are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao with the teaching of Nix to include the configuration data because it would have allowed to systems and methods for a transducer device to use preconfigured WiFi credentials, in order for the transducer device to communicate with a configuration system. (See Nix, [0002])
The combination of Terao and Nix does not appear to explicitly disclose a session identifier. However, Milligan discloses a session identifier. (See Milligan, col 4, lines 21-42, (26) Mobile device 102 then decodes the QR code to obtain the session ID that is encoded in the QR code. This is indicated by block 220 in FIG. 3. Mobile device 102 then sends the decoded session ID, along with the user's authentication token, to the session management system 108. This is indicated by block 222 in FIG. 3.)
Terao, Nix and Milligan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao and Nix with the teaching of Milligan to include the session ID because it would have allowed devices to be communicated in a trusted way.
6.The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the setup device is further configured to establish a secure connection with the medical device using a certificate and a keypair of the setup device for authenticating the setup device to the medical device and using the public key of the medical device to authenticate the medical device. (See Nix, [0043]; In exemplary embodiments, device owner 122 is the owner of device 101. Device owner 122 may be the same as device user 101a in some embodiments, but device owner 122 also may be different than device user 101a in other embodiments. For exemplary health care applications in a hospital where device 101 is a medical device to monitor patient health, device owner 122 could be the hospital and device user could be a nurse, doctor, or medical technician. Device owner 122 may have a certificate 123a from a certificate authority 123 associated with the device owner 122.) See Terao, [0033]; Another example of the search-enabling information includes identification information for identifying the apparatus presenting the QR code. Examples of the identification information about the apparatus include a media access control (MAC) address and a universally unique identifier (UUID), which uniquely identify a device. If the parameter setting is performed by Wi-Fi Direct, a peer to peer (P2P) device address or a P2P interface address can be used. According to DPP, an apparatus functioning as a configurator reads a QR code associated with another apparatus and sets communication parameters to another apparatus by using a public key obtained from the read QR code. The communication parameters include various wireless communication parameters used to perform wireless communication compliant with the IEEE 802.11 standard series. For example, the communication parameters include a service set identifier (SSID) serving as a network identifier, an encryption method, an encryption key, an authentication method, and an authentication key. The communication parameters can include an Internet Protocol (IP) address for performing communication at an IP layer) Terao, Nix and Milligan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao and Nix with the teaching of Milligan to include the session ID because it would have allowed devices to be communicated in a trusted way.
7. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the setup device is further configured to send time data to the medical device, wherein the time data comprises a current timestamp. (See Terao, [0072] )
8. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the medical device is further configured to: receive the time data from the setup device; (See Terao, [0072] ) determine that the time data is not within a threshold period of time of a current time of the medical device as maintained by an internal clock of the medical device; (See Terao, [0072] ) and determine to apply the current timestamp from the time data as the current time of the medical device. (See Milligan, fig 6; Clock 25 illustratively comprises a real time clock component that outputs a time and date. It can also, illustratively, provide timing functions for processor 17.) Terao, Nix and Milligan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao and Nix with the teaching of Milligan to include the session ID because it would have allowed devices to be communicated in a trusted way.
9. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the medical device is further configured to: receive the time data from the setup device; (See Terao, [0072] ) determine that the time data is within a threshold period of time of a current time of the medical device as maintained by an internal clock of the medical device; (See Terao, [0072] ) and determine to not apply the current timestamp from the time data as the current time of the medical device. (See Terao, [0072])
10. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device comprises a display screen, and where the medical device is further configured to present the encoded device data on the display screen, wherein the encoded device data comprises one of a bar code or a QR code. (See Terao, [0093] In the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the QR codes to be read are not limited to those provided on casings or accessories of the apparatuses. For example, the camera 102 or the printer 103 can include a web server function display a QR code on a web page. Alternatively, one-dimensional barcodes and two-dimensional codes other than QR codes can be used instead of QR codes. Information in a user-readable format can be used instead of machine-readable information like a QR code.)
12. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the setup device comprises an optical scanner, and wherein the setup device is configured to scan the encoded device data presented on the display screen of the medical device. (See Terao, [0024] Next, a hardware configuration of a communication apparatus according to the present exemplary embodiment will be described with reference to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating the hardware configuration of the smartphone 101 operating as a DPP configurator. An imaging unit 201 includes a charge-coupled device (CCD) and a lens. The imaging unit 201 captures still images and moving images. The imaging unit 201 also captures and reads images of two-dimensional codes, such as a QR code, and one-dimensional barcodes. An image processing unit 202 performs image processing on an image captured by the imaging unit 201. The image processing unit 202 performs decoding processing and analysis processing of an image such as a QR code, which is described below. The image processing unit 202 analyzes an image captured by the imaging unit 201 and decodes and obtains encoded information.)
13. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device is further configured to determine that the device identifier and the session identifier are present in the direct connection data, and wherein the medical device decrypts the credentials in response to determining that the device identifier and the session identifier are present in the direct connection data. (See Terao, [0076] After the transmission of the authentication response, the parameter receiving apparatus waits until an authentication confirmation is transmitted from the apparatus transmitting the authentication request. An example of the authentication confirmation is a DPP Authentication Confirm frame defined by the DPP standard. The authentication confirmation can include authentication information encrypted using a shared key that the apparatus transmitting the authentication request generates by a method similar to that by which the parameter receiving apparatus generates the shared key. The parameter receiving apparatus can determine that the authentication is successful if the authentication information can be correctly decoded using the shared key generated by the parameter receiving apparatus.)
16. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device is further configured to use a second private key for certificate-based authentication of the medical device during a handshake protocol for establishing the direct communication session with the setup device. (See Terao, [0032] The smartphone 101 obtains information required to set communication parameters, included in the read QR code. For example, the information required to set communication parameters includes information used in the parameter setting processing and an encryption key for encrypting messages exchanged in the parameter setting processing. Information that enables the smartphone 101 to search for the apparatus presenting the QR code can be included. [0038] If the smartphone 101 detects the partner apparatus and succeeds in the authentication processing, the smartphone 101 encrypts and transmits the communication parameters to the partner apparatus by wireless communication. The communication parameters can be encrypted and transmitted using a public key. The public key can be included in the QR code. An example of the public key included in the QR code is an elliptic curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange (ECDH) public key. However, this is not restrictive. Public keys of other public key encryption methods can be used.)
18. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device is further configured to use the private key for certificate-based authentication of the medical device during a handshake protocol for establishing the direct communication session with the setup device. (See Terao, [0032] The smartphone 101 obtains information required to set communication parameters, included in the read QR code. For example, the information required to set communication parameters includes information used in the parameter setting processing and an encryption key for encrypting messages exchanged in the parameter setting processing. Information that enables the smartphone 101 to search for the apparatus presenting the QR code can be included. [0038] If the smartphone 101 detects the partner apparatus and succeeds in the authentication processing, the smartphone 101 encrypts and transmits the communication parameters to the partner apparatus by wireless communication. The communication parameters can be encrypted and transmitted using a public key. The public key can be included in the QR code. An example of the public key included in the QR code is an elliptic curve Diffie-Hellman key exchange (ECDH) public key. However, this is not restrictive. Public keys of other public key encryption methods can be used.)
22. As to claim 22, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above.
23. As to claim 23, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8. See the rejection of claim 8 above.
24. As to claim 24, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9. See the rejection of claim 9 above.
25. As to claim 25, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10. See the rejection of claim 10 above.
Claims 2, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Terao, US 20180069851 A1 in view of Nix, US 20190313246 A1 in further view of Milligan, US 9265079 B2 in further view of Spencer, US 9980140 B1.
2. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan does not appear to explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device is an infusion pump. However, Spencer discloses wherein the medical device is an infusion pump. (See Spencer, col 1, lines 15-20 and col 3, lines 5-25; secure communication between medical devices, such as insulin pump devices, and computing devices, such as computer systems and/or smartphones. a computer-implemented method of establishing a secure wireless communication connection between an insulin pump device and a mobile computing device, the method includes receiving, at a mobile computing device, a device identifier for the insulin pump device, wherein the insulin pump device includes an insulin reservoir to store insulin to be administered to a user, a pump assembly to delivery insulin from insulin reservoir to the user, and a controller to control operation of the pump assembly according, at least in part, to commands provided to the insulin pump by the mobile computing device) Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao, Nix and Milligan with the teaching of Spencer to include the medical pump because it would have allowed to administer secured drug delivery.
27. As to claim 27, the claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan does not disclose an infusion pump comprising one or more processors, a secure memory, and a first wireless network interface, wherein the infusion pump is configured to: However, Spencer discloses an infusion pump comprising one or more processors, a secure memory, and a first wireless network interface, wherein the infusion pump is configured to: (See Spencer, col 1, lines 15-20 and col 3, lines 5-25; secure communication between medical devices, such as insulin pump devices, and computing devices, such as computer systems and/or smartphones. a computer-implemented method of establishing a secure wireless communication connection between an insulin pump device and a mobile computing device, the method includes receiving, at a mobile computing device, a device identifier for the insulin pump device, wherein the insulin pump device includes an insulin reservoir to store insulin to be administered to a user, a pump assembly to delivery insulin from insulin reservoir to the user, and a controller to control operation of the pump assembly according, at least in part, to commands provided to the insulin pump by the mobile computing device) Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao, Nix and Milligan with the teaching of Spencer to include the medical pump because it would have allowed to administer secured drug delivery.
28. The combination of Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer discloses the infusion pump of claim 27, further configured to: receive time data from the setup device, wherein the time data comprises a current timestamp; (See Terao, [0072] ) determine that the time data is not within a threshold period of time of a current time maintained by an internal clock of the infusion pump; (See Milligan, fig 6; Clock 25 illustratively comprises a real time clock component that outputs a time and date. It can also, illustratively, provide timing functions for processor 17.) and determine to apply the current timestamp from the time data as the current time of the infusion pump. (See Milligan, fig 6; Clock 25 illustratively comprises a real time clock component that outputs a time and date. It can also, illustratively, provide timing functions for processor 17.) Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao, Nix and Spencer with the teaching of Milligan to include the clock because it would have allowed to administer secured drug delivery in a timely manner.
29. The combination of Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer discloses the infusion pump of claim 27, further configured to: receive time data from the setup device, wherein the time data comprises a current timestamp; (See Terao, [0072] ) determine that the time data is within a threshold period of time of a current time maintained by an internal clock of the infusion pump; (See Milligan, fig 6; Clock 25 illustratively comprises a real time clock component that outputs a time and date. It can also, illustratively, provide timing functions for processor 17.) and determine to not apply the current timestamp from the time data as the current time of the infusion pump. (See Terao, [0072]) Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao, Nix and Spencer with the teaching of Milligan to include the clock because it would have allowed to administer secured drug delivery in a timely manner.
30. The combination of Terao, Nix, Milligan and Spencer discloses the infusion pump of claim 27, further configured to present the encoded device data on a display screen of the infusion pump, wherein the encoded device data comprises one of a one-dimensional bar code, a two-dimensional quick response (OR) code, a two-dimensional Aztek barcode, or a two-dimensional data matrix. (See Terao, [0093] In the foregoing exemplary embodiments, the QR codes to be read are not limited to those provided on casings or accessories of the apparatuses. For example, the camera 102 or the printer 103 can include a web server function display a QR code on a web page. Alternatively, one-dimensional barcodes and two-dimensional codes other than QR codes can be used instead of QR codes. Information in a user-readable format can be used instead of machine-readable information like a QR code.)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Terao, US 20180069851 A1 in view of Nix, US 20190313246 A1 in further view of Milligan, US 9265079 B2 in further view of Kent, US 20170279618 A1.
14. The combination of Terao, Nix and Milligan does not appear to explicitly disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the medical device is further configured to discard the private key and the public key in response to receiving the configuration data from the setup device via the direct communication session. However, KENT discloses wherein the medical device is further configured to discard the private key and the public key in response to receiving the configuration data from the setup device via the direct communication session. (See Kent, [ 0035-0036]; At step 630, the method determines whether the short-term private key-public key pair has expired. If the short-term private key-public key pair has expired, then the method discards the short-term private key-public key pair at step 640. If the short-term private key-public key pair has not expired, then the method uses the short-term private key-public key pair at step 650. At step 660, after a single use of the short-term private key-public key, the method discards the short-term private key-public key pair. The method may discard the key pair immediately upon using the key pair or may wait. For example, the method may mark the key pair for deletion and wait for a future clean-up routine to discard the key pair.)
Terao, Nix, Milligan and Kent are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is secure configuration. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Terao, Nix and Milligan with the teaching of Kent to include the short term use of the cryptographic keys because it would have allowed the system to block unauthorized access.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dees; Walter , US20220232373, title “ Access to health information during emergency call.”
Date: 9/25/2026
/JOSNEL JEUDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438