DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: positioning tool configured to position a workplace to be welded” in claim 20.
The claim uses a generic placeholder (“positioning tool”) that is coupled with functional language (“configured to position a workplace to be welded”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, Claim limitation “positioning tool configured to position a workplace to be welded” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There does not appear to be any corresponding structure in the specification here for performing the claimed “positioning.”
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Que et al. (CN 218051074 U), hereinafter Que.
Regarding claims 1-2, Que discloses a pressing plate tool, the pressing plate tool comprising at least one pressing plate assembly, and the assembly comprising (see Figs. 1-7 and English translation of the reference:
(a) a pressing plate (“pressing plate 110”) provided with a via hole (guide hole 111) extending in a first direction (z direction) (ref. claim 1);
(b) a pressing head (130) arranged on the pressing plate in a manner of being capable of moving relative to the pressing plate in the first (z) direction, wherein the pressing plate is provided with a position-limiting hole (Fig. 6, unlabeled hole which corresponds with element 21 of Instant Fig. 3, which is a “blind hole” as it is covered when assembled as in Fig. 3), and the position-limiting hole is coaxial and in communication with the via hole (as best shown in Figs 1-2, 4, and 6-7); and
(c) a position-limiting member (“connecting rod” or “bolt” 140) comprising a head portion (as shown) and a rod portion, where the rod portion comprises a first threaded rod portion and a second rod portion within the position-limiting hole (Fig. 7, description describes using a bolt 140 with a thread), the thread corresponding to a thread in the hole (as shown in Fig. 7), wherein the size of the second rod portion extending into the position limiting hole is smaller than the size of the position-limiting hole in the first (z) direction (this is interpreted as inherent as the rod must fit into the hole in the z-direction). The first and second rod portions are not labeled, but are best shown in Fig. 7, with
Regarding claim 3, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the pressing plate tool comprises a elastic member (elastic piece 141), the elastic member sleeves the second rod portion and is configured to apply an elastic force (“the elastic piece is used for applying elastic force away from the pressing plate to the pressing head” – this is located 2 paragraphs above the description of figures), the via hole (guide hole 111) comprises a first section and a second section, where the hole is smaller (counter bore 1111) as is required in the claim.
Regarding claims 9-11, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the pressing head comprises a hook portion (hook part 1611) extending in a second direction, the pressing plate comprises a slot (limiting part 1621) (Fig. 4), the slot is configured for the hook portion to insert in, and the pressing head is arranged on the pressing plate through cooperation between the two surfaces (as shown in Fig. 4), with a slot (162) allowing for movement in the z direction and having ribs as shown in Fig. 4.
Compare with Applicant’s Fig. 4 which shows these features.
Regarding claim 12, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 3, and further discloses that the elastic piece (141) can be a spring (3rd paragraph above the claims in the translation)
Regarding claims 13-14, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that there are two pressing plate assemblies (see Figs 1, 2, and 6 showing one on the left and right side; ref term: “head assembly 100”), the pressing plates (110) are connected to each other (as shown in Figs 1, 2, and 6, where the connecting portion is at the middle), and are formed into an integral structure as shown (best shown in Fig. 1 as assembled, arranged in a second y-direction perpendicular to the z-direction).
Regarding claims 18-19, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the pressing plate is provided with a first through hole (120) and a second through hole (150) both extending in the z direction, so as to jointly define a welding channel where the first hole (120) is larger than the second hole (150) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Que discloses a welding apparatus comprising, the pressing plate tool according to claim 1 as outlined above, wherein the pressing plate tool is capable of reciprocating in a first direction; a positioning tool configured to position a workplace to be welded (330) (Figs. 8-9); and a welding tool (300) configured to weld the workpiece pressed by the pressing head of the pressing plate tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que (CN 218051074 U).
Regarding claims 4-8, Que does not explicitly disclose that there is a gasket as required in these claims.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have added a gasket as required to the system of Que above as to have provided for a sealing surface between the elements of the system, as is required in the claims.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not appear to disclose the use of a code as required in the claims.
Hwoever, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have added a code or barcode to have tracked the item as an asset of an organization, as is required in the claims.
Regarding claim 16, Que discloses the subject matter of claim 15, and the groove is shown in Fig. 4. The code modification is provided for above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742