DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 6/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teofilovic et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0073/995)
Regarding claim 1, Teofilovic et al disclose a transducer array, comprising:
an array shell comprising a front emitting surface [see 0056, fig 2] by disclosing Each element can also have approximately the same surface area [see 0056];
a plurality of transducer elements disposed in a rear surface of the array shell and configured to transmit ultrasound energy through the front emitting surface towards a common focal point [see 0056] by disclosing such multi-element transducers used for Histotripsy can be targeted to a fixed focus [see 0056]
at least one interconnect assembly (matching network) facilitating a plurality of electrical connections from a signal generator to each of the plurality of transducer elements [see 0051];
the at least one interconnect assembly including one or more capacitors at each electrical connection configured to tune an operating parameter of the plurality of transducer elements to the signal generator [see 0051].
Regarding claim 2, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the one or more capacitors are selected to tune the plurality of transducer elements to a desired operating frequency [see 0057-0058, 0060] by disclosing capacitor C are selected to bring the combined impedance of the matching network and transducer element down [see 0058]
Regarding claim 3, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the one or more capacitors are selected to tune the plurality of transducer elements to achieve a desired operating frequency lower or higher than what is specified for the plurality of transducer elements based upon a thickness and material composition of the plurality of transducer elements [see 0058, 0060].
Regarding claim 4, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the one or more capacitors are selected to achieve a desired acoustic pulse shape [see 0048] by disclosing matching network can include an inductor L and capacitor C (LC) circuit that oscillates the signal, and converts the square wave from the amplifier into a sinusoidal voltage that is significantly amplified [see 0049].
Regarding claim 5, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the one or more capacitors have a capacitance ranging from 1 to 1000 pF [see 0067] by disclosing these capacitors can be 330 pF 1000V ceramic SMD1206 capacitors. The value of the capacitors should be very small (in pF, pico farads) so that output of the amplifier is not "loaded". Exact value can depend of operating frequency and level of noise that needs to be suppressed [see 0067].
Regarding claim 6, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the one or more capacitors include more than one capacitance to produce a multi-frequency transducer array [see 0067].
Regarding claim 7, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the interconnect assembly comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) [see 0064].
Regarding claim 8, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the at least one interconnect assembly is disposed between a back cover of the transducer array and the array shell [see fig 2].
Regarding claim 9, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the one or more capacitors form a parallel connection between a positive connection [see 0017] and a ground (inherently disclosed, emphasis added)) connection to each transducer element.
Regarding claim 10, Teofilovic et al disclose wherein the plurality of transducer elements have the same surface area [see 0056] by disclosing each element can also have approximately the same surface area [see 0056].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teofilovic et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0073995) in view of Olson et al (Pub. No.: US 2011/0237953).
Regarding claim 11, Teofilovic et al don’t disclose wherein the plurality transducer elements have varying shapes.
Nonetheless, Olson et al disclose the plurality transducer elements have varying shapes [see 0036].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Teofilovic et al and Olson et al by using plurality transducer elements have varying shapes; so they can adapt to different patient shapes.
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797