DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Application device in claim 1, disclosed in Fig. 1 as a component 26 which may comprise of suckers;
First abutment body in claim 1, disclosed in Fig. 5A as a component 7 with flat surface with an edge that a web of material may pass over;
Second abutment body in claim 1, disclosed in Fig. 5A as a component 9 with a flat surface that a web of material may pass over;
Recirculation transmission in claim 1, disclosed in Fig. 6 as a roller 10 upon which a web passes around;
Third abutment body in claim 9, disclosed in Fig. 4 as a component 23 with a flat surface that a web of material may pass over.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carver et al. (US 20050274458) in view of.Dangami et al. (US 20080029221).
As to claim 1, Carver discloses a label applicator system for peeling and applying labels onto a desired item (Abstract; Fig. 7 below). Carver discloses that the device comprises of a label supply spool 710, a label applicator 100 downstream of the of the label supply, and waste rewind spool 730 downstream of said label applicator 100 (Id.) Carver discloses that the waste rewind spool is capable of winding up a carrier web and any labels that are not applied to a desired item (¶28). Carver fails to teach or disclose whether the device may have the recited set of deflections. Dangnami discloses a label manufacturing apparatus (Abstract). Dangnami discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use collecting device 22 comprising a set of deflections in a label process/apparatus (Fig. 1, 3-6 below). Dangnami discloses that the set of reflections comprise of a first abutment body 17 and a second abutment body 18, which form a gap in which a continuous band may pass into to go around a recirculation transmission 21 and then back out of said gap to pass along said second abutment body, and a transfer device 30 for removing defective labels (Id.). Dangnami teaches that using said deflections is advantageous in that it allows for the removal of defective labels from the continuous band if needed (¶8). It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Carver to include the collecting device of Dangami and would have been motivated to do so because Dangami teaches that the device allows for the removal of defective labels from a carrier/continuous material.
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of the above references as combined contains all of the structural limitations of claim 1.
As to claims 2 and 3, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught a seen above. Dangami discloses that the first flat abutment surface is parallel to the second flat abutment surface and that the first and second edges are arranged transverse to the longitudinal direction (Fig. 1, 3-6).
As to claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught a seen above. Dangami discloses that first abutment body and said second abutment body are joined to form a single body, and wherein said first flat abutment surface and said second flat abutment surface are separated by a slit, said slit being delimited by said first edge and said second edge and forming said passage gap (Id.).
As to claim 5, the apparatus of claim 4 is taught a seen above. Dangami discloses that a passage gap is open at least on one side to define a lateral access to the sliding path (Id.).
As to claim 6, the apparatus of claim 5 is taught as seen above. Dangami discloses that the peeling device of the set of deflections comprises a shutter 27 stably associated with the sliding path and movable to open and close said lateral access to the sliding path (Fig. 1, 3-6).
As to claims 7 and 8, the apparatus of claim 6 is taught as seen above. Dangami discloses that a third edge (the edge around 28A of Fig. 1) delimits downstream a second flat abutment surface and that said third edge is transverse to the longitudinal direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 recites that the apparatus has a third abutment body having a moving-away flat surface, wherein said third edge is parallel to a fourth edge delimiting upstream the moving-away flat surface, said fourth edge being adjacent to the third edge to form a further passage gap for the continuous band. The closest prior art of Carver et al. (US 20050274458) as modified by Dangami et al. (US 20080029221) fails to teach or disclose a third abutment body with a fourth edge opposite to the third edge to form a gap as currently claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745