DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
TITLE
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP 606.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (“Li”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2024/0022739).
In regard to claim 20, the claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, claim 20 and any claims depending therefrom are directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application.
The examiner recommends amending the claim language to include instructions, that when executed by a processor, execute the steps claimed.
Therefore, claim 20 is anticipated by Li, as Li discloses a computer readable medium storing a coded bitstream. Li discloses, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts (¶0259-0273).
In regards to claim 1, Li teaches a method of video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video (See FIG. 6 and 7 in view of ¶0105),
a first block vector of a luma block of the video unit, the luma block being coded with a target coding mode (See ¶0022 and 0201 in view of 0189);
obtaining a second block vector of a chroma block of the video unit based on the first block vector of the luma block (See ¶0121, 0199 and 0242 wherein the chroma block vector may be based at least on the luma block vector); and
performing the conversion based on the first block vector of the luma block and the second block vector of the chroma block (See ¶0189, 0199, 0201 in view of FIG. 7).
In regards to claim 2, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target coding mode is an intra template matching (IntraTMP) mode, and the luma block is a IntraTMP coded luma block, and/or wherein the target coding mode is an intra block copy (IBC) mode, and the luma block is an IBC coded luma block, and/or wherein an intra chroma mode is derived based on the luma block which is an intraTMP coded luma block, and/or wherein the first block vector of the luma block which is an intraTMP coded luma block is stored in a buffer, and the first block vector is used for a subsequent chroma coding, and/or wherein a scaled block vector is generated from the luma block which has the first block vector and used for chroma coding, and/or wherein the luma block comprises at least one of: a collocated luma block, a spatial neighboring luma block of the collocated luma block, or a luma block which has a different position rather than the collocated luma block, and/or wherein the luma block is located in a reconstructed luma block in a region collocated with a current chroma coding unit, and/or wherein a plurality of block vectors is selected based on a pre-defined rule, and all of the plurality of block vectors are put in a table or list, and/or wherein a plurality of block vectors derived from the luma block is used for the chroma block (See ¶0121, 0189, 0199, 0201 and 0242).
In regards to claim 3, Li teaches the method of claim 2, wherein a scaling factor is computed based on a chroma subsampling ratio between luma and chroma components, and/or wherein a scaling factor depends on color format, and the color format is one of: 4:2:0 or 4:4:4, and/or wherein the scaled block vector is computed based on at least one of: a scaling factor, an offset, or a shift, and/or wherein a size of the luma block is M×N, wherein M and N are integers, and/or wherein the luma block is one of luma blocks with a size of M×N, wherein M and N are integers, and/or wherein the luma block is from a set of predefined luma blocks with a size of M×N, wherein M and N are integers, and/or wherein the luma block is located at a position in a region, and/or wherein the luma block is located at a center of the region, and/or wherein which block vector is used to the chroma block is implicitly derived based on coding information, and/or wherein a message is signaled to indicate which block vector is applied, and/or wherein which block vector is derived at a decoder, and/or wherein the plurality of block vectors is derived from different luma blocks (See ¶0154, 0204 and 0022).
In regards to claim 4, Li teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the scaled block vector is computed by: scaledBV+(a*lumaBV+b)>>s, wherein scaledBV represents the scaled block vector, a represents the scaling factor, b represents the offset, s represents the shifting factor, lumaBV represents the first block vector of the luma block, and/or wherein the shifting factor is one of: a positive integer, 0, or a negative integer, and/or wherein the size of the luma block is 4×4, or the size of the luma block is 8×8, and/or wherein the coding information comprises a decoder derived method, and/or wherein the message comprises at least one of a syntax parameter, a variable, an index, or a flag, and/or wherein luma blocks are located at different positions in a region collocated with a current chroma coding unit (See Abstract, ¶0022, 0099, 0160, 0201-0203 and 0195).
In regards to claim 5, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the second block vector based on the first block vector is used in an intra chroma mode, and/or wherein obtaining the second block vector based on the first block vector is used in an IBC chroma mode, and/or wherein obtaining the second block vector based on the first block vector is used in an intraTMP chroma mode (See ¶0121, 0189, 0199, 0201 and 0242).
In regards to claim 6, Li teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the intra chroma mode is a direction block vector (DBV) mode for chroma prediction, and/or wherein if the intra chroma mode is used, a chroma prediction block is derived by directly copying a reference chroma block pointed by a scaled block vector, wherein the scaled block vector is subsampled from the first block vector of the luma block, and/or wherein if the IBC chroma mode is used and the luma block has the first block vector, a chroma prediction block is derived by directly copying a reference chroma block pointed by a scaled block vector, wherein the scaled block vector is subsampled from the first block vector of the luma block, and/or wherein the first block vector of the luma block is used as a predictor for current chroma block coding, and/or wherein if the intraTMP chroma mode is used and the luma block has the first block vector, a chroma prediction block is derived by directly copying a reference chroma block pointed by a scaled block vector, wherein the scaled block vector is subsampled from the first block vector of the luma block (See ¶0121, 0189, 0199, 0201-0203 and 0242).
In regards to claim 7, Li teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the luma block is intraTMP coded or IBC coded (See ¶0121, 0189, 0199, 0201 and 0242).
In regards to claim 8, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein whether and/or how to check an intraTMP coded luma block during a chroma coding of the chroma block is dependent on an availability of an IBC coded luma block, and/or wherein whether and/or how to check an IBC coded luma during a chroma coding of the chroma block is dependent on an availability of intraTMP coded blocks, and/or wherein both intraTMP coded and IBC coded luma blocks are checked based on a pre-defined rule, and/or wherein a first available block vector of IntraTMP coded luma block is used, and/or wherein a first available block vector of IBC coded luma block is used, and/or wherein available block vectors are sorted by a predefined rule, and/or wherein obtaining the second block vector based on the first block vector is enabled in one of the followings: a camera captured content coding, a screen content coding, a single tree coding, or a dual tree coding (See ¶0025-0030, 0199, 0217-0218 and 0150).
In regards to claim 9, Li teaches the method of claim 8, wherein only if the luma block at a pre-defined position is not IBC coded, a block vector of the of intraTMP coded luma block at the pre-defined position is used, and/or wherein only if the luma block at a pre-defined position is not intraTMP coded, a block vector of the IBC coded luma block at the pre-defined position is used, and/or wherein the predefined rule comprises a template-cost-based reordering, and/or wherein a first ordered block vector is directly used (See ¶0032, 0216, 0232 and 0252, also see 0025-0030).
In regards to claim 10, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a block vector associated with a neighboring block associated with the video unit is determined, the neighboring block is coded with a coding mode, and the block vector is applied during a current intra block coding of the video unit (See FIG. 15-16 in view of ¶0197-0205).
In regards to claim 11, Li teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the neighboring block comprises at least one of: an intra template matching (intraTMP) coded neighboring block, an intra block copy (IBC) coded neighboring block, or an Intra coded neighboring block, and/or wherein a current intra block of the video unit is one of: a luma component or a chroma component, and/or wherein when building a most probable mode (MPM) list for the video unit, if the neighboring block is coded as intraTMP or IBC, the current intra block coding is applied based on the block vector associated with the neighboring block, and/or wherein the block vector associate with the neighboring block which is intraTMP or IBC coded is mapped to a regular intra mode and the mapped block vector is used to the current block coding (See ¶0121, 0189, 0199, 0201 and 0242).
In regards to claim 17, Li teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (See FIG. 5-8).
In regards to claim 18, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Li wherein the processor and non-transitory computer-readable memory are taught as seen in ¶0259-0273.
In regards to claim 19, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Li wherein the processor and non-transitory computer-readable memory are taught as seen in ¶0259-0273.
In regards to claim 20, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Li wherein the processor and non-transitory computer-readable memory are taught as seen in ¶0259-0273.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2024/0022739) in view of Li et al. (“Li2”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2023/0114696).
In regards to claim 12, Li fails to teach the method of claim 11, wherein the block vector associated with the neighboring block is directly used to the current intra block coding, and/or wherein a mapping process is based on at least one of: a gradient, a histogram of gradient, a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD), or a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD).
In a similar endeavor Li2 teaches wherein the block vector associated with the neighboring block is directly used to the current intra block coding, and/or wherein a mapping process is based on at least one of: a gradient, a histogram of gradient, a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD), or a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) (See ¶0017, 0036-0039 and 0053 in view of FIG. 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Li2 into Li because it allows for mapping each orientation to an intra mode range as described in ¶0053 with reference to FIG. 5 as a form of increased efficiency.
In regards to claim 13, Li fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein a block level adaptive overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC) on/off is used according to a decoder derived method, and/or wherein whether to use an intra prediction mode is derived based on gradients.
In a similar endeavor Li2 teaches wherein a block level adaptive overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC) on/off is used according to a decoder derived method, and/or wherein whether to use an intra prediction mode is derived based on gradients (See ¶0017, 0036-0039 and 0053 in view of FIG. 5 and 6, wherein, as an example, the system may decide whether to use an intra mode 2 vs intra mode 3 based on horizontal and vertical gradient values).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Li2 into Li because it allows for mapping each orientation to an intra mode range as described in ¶0053 with reference to FIG. 5 as a form of increased efficiency.
In regards to claim 14, Li fails to teach the method of claim 13, wherein whether the OBMC is disabled or enabled is based on a gradient calculation of prediction samples before OBMC, and/or wherein whether the OBMC is disabled or enabled is based on a histogram of gradients of prediction samples before OBMC, and/or wherein the OBMC is used for at least one of: a merge mode, an advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode, an IBC mode, an Inter mode, or an intraTMP mode, and/or wherein the gradients are computed from a template constructed from neighboring samples, and/or wherein a DIMD based method is used to compute the gradients, and/or wherein if a histogram of the gradients along with horizontal direction or vertical direction is dominant than other direction, a horizontal mode or vertical mode is used, and/or whether to use the intra prediction mode based on gradients is used for a luma component or a chroma component.
In a similar endeavor Li2 teaches wherein whether the OBMC is disabled or enabled is based on a gradient calculation of prediction samples before OBMC, and/or wherein whether the OBMC is disabled or enabled is based on a histogram of gradients of prediction samples before OBMC, and/or wherein the OBMC is used for at least one of: a merge mode, an advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode, an IBC mode, an Inter mode, or an intraTMP mode, and/or wherein the gradients are computed from a template constructed from neighboring samples, and/or wherein a DIMD based method is used to compute the gradients, and/or wherein if a histogram of the gradients along with horizontal direction or vertical direction is dominant than other direction, a horizontal mode or vertical mode is used, and/or whether to use the intra prediction mode based on gradients is used for a luma component or a chroma component (See FIG. 5 wherein the gradients are computed from a template constructed from neighboring samples).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Li2 into Li because it allows for mapping each orientation to an intra mode range as described in ¶0053 with reference to FIG. 5 as a form of increased efficiency.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2024/0022739) in view of Li et al. (“Li2”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2023/0114696) and Yoo et al. (“Yoo”) (U.S. Patent No. 11,523,134).
In regards to claim 15, Li fails to teach the method of claim 14, wherein the intra prediction mode is not fusion with other modes, and/or wherein whether to use the horizontal mode or vertical mode is not indicated, and/or wherein a new intra mode is indicated for the horizontal mode or vertical mode.
In a similar endeavor Yoo teaches wherein the intra prediction mode is not fusion with other modes, and/or wherein whether to use the horizontal mode or vertical mode is not indicated, and/or wherein a new intra mode is indicated for the horizontal mode or vertical mode (See col. 2, li. 9-19, and col. 30, 3-9 wherein the horizontal or vertical intra mode is signaled [indicated] within a flag).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yoo into Li because it allows for not only prediction direction, but also as an intra prediction mode of that direction as described in at least claim 1.
In regards to claim 16, Li fails to teach the method of claim 15, wherein a syntax flag is used to indicate the new intra mode, or wherein a syntax parameter is used to indicate the new intra mode.
In a similar endeavor Yoo teaches wherein a syntax flag is used to indicate the new intra mode, or wherein a syntax parameter is used to indicate the new intra mode (See col. 2, li. 9-19, and col. 30, 3-9 wherein the horizontal or vertical intra mode is signaled [indicated] within a flag).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yoo into Li because it allows for not only prediction direction, but also as an intra prediction mode of that direction as described in at least claim 1.
Conclusion
EDEMIO NAVAS JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2483
/EDEMIO NAVAS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483