DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Forutanpour et al. (hereinafter “Forutanpour” US 2013 / 0265229).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) a wearable apparatus (220) for gesture control (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0017]), comprising:
one or more first sensors (see (330) as EMG sensors) configured to contact skin on a wrist (210) of a user when the wearable apparatus (220) is worn by the user, wherein the one or more first sensors (330) are configured to generate first signals (i.e., EMG signals) associated with muscle activity of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]);
an inertial sensor (310) configured to generate second signals (i.e., motion signals) associated with a motion of the user (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0022]-[0025]);
one or more processors (320; see Page 3, Para. [0026]) configured to:
receive the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals) generated by the one or more first sensors (330);
receive the second signals (i.e., the motion signals) generated by the inertial sensor (310);
determine a gesture of the user (see (540) in Fig. 5) based at least in part on an analysis (see (520, 530) in Fig. 5) of the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals) and the second signals (i.e., the motion signals);
perform an action (i.e., a command action; see (550) in Fig. 5) associated with the gesture (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the one or more first sensors (330) are positioned on a back-plate (i.e., an underside) of a wristwatch (220; see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the one or more first sensors (330) comprise at least two contact sensors (i.e., multiple EMG sensors and/or multiple EMG electrodes) configured to contact the skin on the wrist (210) of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the one or more first sensors (330) comprise an electromyography (EMG) sensor configured to detect electrical signals generated by the muscle activity of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the second signals (i.e., the motion signals; see (310)) comprise rotation information (i.e., hand motion information) associated with the motion of the user (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0022]-[0025] and Page 5, Para. [0048]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the analysis of the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals; see (330)) and the second signals (i.e., the motion signals; see (310)) uses a machine learning algorithm (i.e., processing functionality) to determine the gesture (see Page 3, Para. [0026] and Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the action (i.e., the command action; see (550) in Fig. 5) comprises outputting a flag (i.e., a gesture-identifier) that identifies a gesture (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the action (i.e., the command action; see (550) in Fig. 5) comprises controlling an electronic device distinct from the wearable apparatus (see Page 3, Para. [0026] and Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) a method of gesture control with a wearable apparatus (220; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0017]), the method comprising:
generating, by one or more first sensors (see (330) as EMG sensors) configured to contact skin on a wrist (210) of a user when the wearable apparatus (220) is worn by the user, first signals (i.e., EMG signals) associated with muscle activity of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]);
generating, by an inertial sensor (310), second signals (i.e., motion signals) associated with a motion of the user (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0022]-[0025]);
receiving (i.e., via one or more processors (320; see Page 3, Para. [0026]) the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals) generated by the one or more first sensors (330);
receiving (i.e., via (320)) the second signals (i.e., the motion signals) generated by the inertial sensor (310);
determining (i.e., via (320)) a gesture of the user (see (540) in Fig. 5) based at least in part on an analysis (see (520, 530) in Fig. 5) of the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals) and the second signals (i.e., the motion signals); and
performing (i.e., via (320)) an action (i.e., a command action; see (550) in Fig. 5) associated with the gesture (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the one or more first sensors (330) are positioned on a back-plate (i.e., an underside) of a wristwatch (220; see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the one or more first sensors (330) comprise at least two contact sensors (i.e., multiple EMG sensors and/or multiple EMG electrodes) configured to contact the skin on the wrist (210) of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the one or more first sensors (330) comprise an electromyography (EMG) sensor configured to detect electrical signals generated by the muscle activity of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the second signals (i.e., the motion signals; see (310)) comprise rotation information (i.e., hand motion information) associated with the motion of the user (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0022]-[0025] and Page 5, Para. [0048]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the analysis of the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals; see (330)) and the second signals (i.e., the motion signals; see (310)) uses a machine learning algorithm (i.e., processing functionality) to determine the gesture (see Page 3, Para. [0026] and Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that the action (i.e., the command action; see (550) in Fig. 5) comprises outputting a flag (i.e., a gesture-identifier) that identifies a gesture (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see Page 6, Para. [0058]-[0059]) comprising one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device (220; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0017]), cause the computing device to:
generate, by one or more first sensors (see (330) as EMG sensors) configured to contact skin on a wrist (210) of a user when the wearable apparatus (220) is worn by the user, first signals (i.e., EMG signals) associated with muscle activity of the user (see Page 2, Para. [0019]-[0021]);
generate, by an inertial sensor (310), second signals (i.e., motion signals) associated with a motion of the user (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0022]-[0025]);
receive (i.e., via one or more processors (320; see Page 3, Para. [0026]) the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals) generated by the one or more first sensors (330);
receive (i.e., via (320)) the second signals (i.e., the motion signals) generated by the inertial sensor (310);
determine (i.e., via (320)) a gesture of the user (see (540) in Fig. 5) based at least in part on an analysis (see (520, 530) in Fig. 5) of the first signals (i.e., the EMG signals) and the second signals (i.e., the motion signals); and
perform (i.e., via (320)) an action (i.e., a command action; see (550) in Fig. 5) associated with the gesture (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forutanpour in view of Beck et al. (hereinafter “Beck” US 2010 / 0317958).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that an EMG sensor comprises one or more electrodes to detect electrical activity (see Page 2, Para. [0019]). However, Forutanpour does not explicitly show that the EMG sensor comprises a first sensor electrode comprising a first electrically conductive plate and a second sensor electrode comprising a second electrically conductive plate.
Still, in the same field of endeavor, Beck discloses (see Fig. 2a) a wearable apparatus (100) comprising one or more first sensors (102, 104) configured to contact skin of a user when the wearable apparatus (100) is worn by the user, wherein the one or more first sensors (102, 104) comprise an electromyography (EMG) sensor configured to detect electrical signals generated by the muscle activity of the user (see Page 1, Para. [0009]). In this regard, Beck discloses that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an electromyography (EMG) sensor comprises a first sensor electrode (102) comprising a first electrically conductive plate (see (102)) and a second sensor electrode (104) comprising a second electrically conductive plate (see (104)) that are structurally arranged to provide accurate neuromuscular-signal sensing while simultaneously rejecting unwanted electric signals, or noise, to thereby further improve neuromuscular signal detection (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0034]-[0037] and [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Forutanpour with the teachings of Beck, such that that the EMG sensor comprises a first sensor electrode comprising a first electrically conductive plate and a second sensor electrode comprising a second electrically conductive plate, as suggested by the structural configuration of Beck, in order to provide a wrist-wearable apparatus for gesture control that supports accurate neuromuscular-signal sensing while simultaneously rejecting unwanted electric signals, or noise, to thereby further improve neuromuscular signal detection.
As pertaining to Claim 6, Beck discloses (see Fig. 2a) that the second sensor electrode (104) is a ground electrode (again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0037]; and again note that the structure suggested by Beck provides accurate neuromuscular-signal sensing while simultaneously rejecting unwanted electric signals, or noise, to thereby further improve neuromuscular signal detection).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Forutanpour discloses (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 5) that an EMG sensor comprises one or more electrodes to detect electrical activity (see Page 2, Para. [0019]). However, Forutanpour does not explicitly show that the EMG sensor comprises a first sensor electrode comprising a first electrically conductive plate and a second sensor electrode comprising a second electrically conductive plate.
Still, in the same field of endeavor, Beck discloses (see Fig. 2a) a wearable apparatus (100) comprising one or more first sensors (102, 104) configured to contact skin of a user when the wearable apparatus (100) is worn by the user, wherein the one or more first sensors (102, 104) comprise an electromyography (EMG) sensor configured to detect electrical signals generated by the muscle activity of the user (see Page 1, Para. [0009]). In this regard, Beck discloses that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an electromyography (EMG) sensor comprises a first sensor electrode (102) comprising a first electrically conductive plate (see (102)) and a second sensor electrode (104) comprising a second electrically conductive plate (see (104)) that are structurally arranged to provide accurate neuromuscular-signal sensing while simultaneously rejecting unwanted electric signals, or noise, to thereby further improve neuromuscular signal detection (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0034]-[0037] and [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Forutanpour with the teachings of Beck, such that that the EMG sensor comprises a first sensor electrode comprising a first electrically conductive plate and a second sensor electrode comprising a second electrically conductive plate, as suggested by the structural configuration of Beck, in order to provide a wrist-wearable apparatus for gesture control that supports accurate neuromuscular-signal sensing while simultaneously rejecting unwanted electric signals, or noise, to thereby further improve neuromuscular signal detection.
As pertaining to Claim 16, Beck discloses (see Fig. 2a) that the second sensor electrode (104) is a ground electrode (again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0037]; and again note that the structure suggested by Beck provides accurate neuromuscular-signal sensing while simultaneously rejecting unwanted electric signals, or noise, to thereby further improve neuromuscular signal detection).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,644,799. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claims 1, 11, and 20 of the instant application are entirely overlapped in scope by the subject matter recited in Claims 1 and 4 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claims 1 and 4 of cited U.S. Patent
1. A wearable apparatus for gesture control, comprising:
one or more first sensors configured to contact skin on a wrist of a user when the wearable apparatus is worn by the user, wherein the one or more first sensors are configured to generate first signals associated with muscle activity of the user;
an inertial sensor configured to generate second signals associated with a motion of the user;
one or more processors configured to:
receive the first signals generated by the one or more first sensors;
receive the second signals generated by the inertial sensor;
determine a gesture of the user based at least in part on an analysis of the first signals and the second signals;
perform an action associated with the gesture.
1. A wearable electronic device comprising:
one or more contact surfaces that are substantially in contact with the user's wrist when the wearable electronic device is worn by the user, the one or more contact surfaces comprising:
one or more electromyography (EMG) sensors responsive to muscle activity corresponding to hand poses performed by the user while wearing the wearable electronic device; and
one or more capacitive sensors responsive to a body capacitance of the user corresponding to physical contact between the user and an object;
at least one processor; and
physical memory comprising processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
identify a pose of a hand of the user based on signals provided by the one or more EMG sensors; and
identify a physical contact between the hand of the user and the object based on signals provided by the one or more capacitive sensors.
4. The wearable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising one or more inertial sensors communicatively coupled to the processor, the one or more inertial sensors responsive to motion corresponding to a gesture of the hand of the user and to provide at least one signal in response thereto, wherein the processor-executable instructions further cause the processor to:
recognize the gesture performed by the user based on signals provided by the one or more EMG sensors; and
determine a motion aspect of the gesture based on at least one signal provided by the one or more inertial sensors.
The subject matter of Claim 1 of the instant application is entirely overlapped in scope by the subject matter recited in Claims 1 and 4 of the cited U.S. Patent. The claimed “one or more first sensors configured to contact skin on a wrist of a user” and to “generate first signals,” as recited in Claim 1 of the instant application is overlapped by the claimed “one or more electromyography (EMG) sensors” on “one or more contact surfaces… in contact with the user’s wrist” as recited in Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent. Likewise, the claimed “inertial sensor configured to generate second signals,” as recited in Claim 1 of the instant application is overlapped by the claimed “one or more inertial sensors” as recited in Claim 4 of the cited U.S. Patent. Furthermore, the claimed “one or more processors” as recited in Claim 1 of the instant application perform the same functions as the claimed “at least one processor” as recited in Claims 1 and 4 of the cited U.S. Patent, including receiving “first signals” provided by the “one or more first sensors” or “electromyography (EMG) sensors,” receiving “second signals” provided by the “inertial sensor” or “one or more inertial sensors,” determining a “gesture of the user” or recognizing “the gesture performed by the user” and determining “a motion aspect of the gesture” based on the received signals, and performing an arbitrary “action” associated with the gesture, such as an arbitrary function implicit in the processing of the signals and the determining of a gesture.
Claim 11 of the instant application recites a “method of gesture control with a wearable apparatus” that is entirely overlapped in scope by the functional steps performed by the “wearable electronic device” recited in Claims 1 and 4 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 20 of the instant application recites a “non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to” perform a method that is entirely overlapped in scope by the functional steps performed by the “wearable electronic device” recited in Claims 1 and 4 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Assad (US 2013 / 0317648) and Bouton et al. (US 2015 / 0306373) disclose a wearable apparatus combining EMG sensing with inertial sensing to determine associated gestures.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623