Detailed Action
This is the final office action for US application number 19/211,151. Claims are evaluated as filed on August 28, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the helical feature of Biederman is a slot and not a coil as the recess in section 44 is a slotted opening (Remarks p. 11), Examiner notes that a coil has not been claimed, nor has the intended scope been identified. Instead, as provided by claims 1 and 12, the device of Biedermann provides a spiral shape as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 in section 44.
With regards to Applicant’s argument with regards to claim 9 that Biederman paragraph 103 describes a single piece screw element with a shaft 42 and head and the angular adjustment of paragraph 104 is between the receiving part 46 and the screw element which is not recited by claim 9 (Remarks p. 11), Examiner notes that there is some confusion with regards to this argument, which does not appear to accurately reflect the rejections in the office actions. In the interest of clarifying, Examiner notes that the rejection details how the art reads on the BRI of the claim language. As detailed below and on page 13 of the non-final office action dated May 28, 2026, the embodiment of Biederman Figs. 3 and 4 is relied upon which clearly shows that head (46) is connected to body (42, 45), where the head includes the “U-shaped recess” of ¶104 as best shown in Fig. 4 which allows a medical connecting member (100) to be coupled as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 and described in Figs. 103 and 104 as claimed.
With regards to Applicant’s argument with regards to claim 8 that Biederman’s U-shaped recess of paragraph 104 is in the receiving part 46 whereas the claim requires the head to include the groove (Remarks p. 11), Examiner notes that this argument does not appear to accurately reflect the rejections in the office actions. Instead, as detailed below and on page 13 of the non-final office action dated May 28, 2026, the embodiment of Biederman Figs. 3 and 4 is relied upon which clearly shows that head (46) is connected to body (42, 45), where the head includes the “U-shaped recess” of ¶104 as best shown in Fig. 4 which allows a medical connecting member (100) to be coupled as shown in Figs. 4 and 5 and described in Figs. 103 and 104 as claimed.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the device of Agrell has no head or joint but rather is a continuous, uniform cylindrical spiral (Remarks p. 12), Examiner notes that this argument is contrary to Agrell Fig. 2 which clearly shows a hook on the right end, which is referred to in at least the abstract as a stop for the distinct purpose of preventing the support nail from protruding through the coil shaped member, which is shown in Fig. 1.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the device of Agrell has no head the part identified as a head is made by bending a part of the coil and serves as a stop and carries no reference number (Remarks p. 12), Examiner agrees that the part identified as a head is made by bending a part of the coil and serves as a stop and carries no reference number and notes that Applicant appears to be reading some undefined meaning into the claim limitation of “head” that does not represent the BRI of the “head”, e.g. “the end that is upper or higher or opposite the foot” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/head). Further, it does not appear that Applicant has acted as their own lexicographer and provided a custom meaning in the original disclosure. Instead, Applicant’s disclosure provides that “The head 110 is a part that is not inserted into bone tissue.” (¶32). As shown in Agrell Fig. 1, the portion identified as the head is indeed the part that is not inserted into bone tissue and has thus been interpreted consistently with the usage in Applicant’s own disclosure.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the device of Agrell has turns that are sharpened so that the device cuts its own thread (Remarks p. 12), Examiner notes that it has not been asserted otherwise and that such is not relevant to the rejection and is therefore moot.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that Agrell describes no coupling hole and that it is requested that Examiner identify the structure said to be implied (Remarks p. 12), Examiner notes that, as the hook of Agrell is similar to that of Applicant’s, this was thought to be readily apparent from the figures. Nonetheless, Examiner has additionally annotated the hole on Fig. 2 immediately below and notes that this interpretation is consistent with that of Applicant’s Fig. 6 disclosure for hole 512 and corresponding axes as disclosed in paragraphs 89 and 96.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that if the product-by-process treatment of “formed” is maintained (Remarks p. 12), Examiner notes that if product-by-process limitations are provided, then the limitations will be interpreted as product-by-process limitations as required by MPEP 2113.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, KR-10-2024-0194694, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. KR-10-2024-0194694 fails to provide adequate support for “the head includes a coupling groove configured to allow a medical connecting member to be coupled” of claim 8, “the head and the body are connected to be mutually angle-adjustable” of claim 9, and “the head includes a coupling groove into which a medical abutment can be inserted” of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 3 is/are is unclear with regards to “the plurality of spirals have substantially a same diameter” in line 2 that is in addition the “the plurality of spirals having substantially a same thickness as one another” of claim 1 line 5-6 and how it can reasonably be construed that the spirals have a diameter that is in addition to a thickness. Examiner is interpreting this broadly and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herman et al. (US 2015/0272586, hereinafter “Herman”).
The claimed phrase “formed” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the product reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.
As to claim 1, Herman discloses a medical bone screw (2532/40, ¶s 463 and 469, where ¶463 discloses that anchor 2532 is anchor 40 and ¶469 discloses construction of stainless steel 316 LVM) comprising: a head (2539, 2534, Fig. 15A); a neck (2537, Fig. 15A) extending from the head (Fig. 15A); a body (2536, Fig. 15A) connected to the head (via the neck, Fig. 15A) and having a spiral shape (Fig. 15A), the body including a plurality of spirals (Fig. 15A) connected in sequence (Fig. 15A), the plurality of spirals having substantially a same thickness as one another (Fig. 15A); and a central space (shown within the center of 2536 in lower images of Fig. 15C, Fig. 15C) defined by the body (Fig. 15A); and a tip (free end of 2536, Figs. 15A-15C) disposed at an end of the body (Figs. 15A-15C) capable of penetrating bone tissue (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 15A-15C and the stainless steel 316 LVM material construction as disclosed in ¶469, Figs. 15A-15C, ¶469), wherein the neck has a shape (Fig. 15A) different from the spiral shape of the body (Fig. 15A), and wherein the body is configured with a tissue accommodation space (between and within the spirals as shown in Figs. 15A-15C, Figs. 15A-15C) comprising the central space and intermediate spaces (Figs. 15A-15C) located between adjacent spirals of the spiral shape (Figs. 15A-15C), the tissue accommodation space structurally capable of receiving an introduction of human bone tissue when the body is rotated into a bone structure (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 15A-15C and the stainless steel 316 LVM material construction as disclosed in ¶469, Figs. 15A-15C, ¶469).
As to claim 3, Herman discloses that the plurality of spirals have substantially a same diameter as one another (Figs. 15A-15C).
As to claim 4, Herman discloses that the neck has a straight shape (Fig. 15A).
As to claim 5, Herman discloses that the head includes a ring (2538, ¶463 discloses that such is a closed loop) that is connected to the neck (Fig. 15A) and that is capable of allowing connection of a medical tool (as shown in Fig. 10B for 40, Figs. 10B and 15A, where ¶463 discloses that anchor 2532 is anchor 40).
As to claim 7, Herman discloses that the tip has a smooth curved surface without a cutting edge (upper surface of the tip as shown in Fig. 15A, Fig. 15A).
As to claim 10, Herman discloses that a head protrusion (2538) capable of being protruding from the head (Fig. 15A) capable of being detachably coupled with a medical tool (Figs. 15A-15C).
As to claim 12, Herman discloses a medical bone screw (2532/40, ¶s 463 and 469, where ¶463 discloses that anchor 2532 is anchor 40 and ¶469 discloses construction of stainless steel 316 LVM) comprising: a head (2539, 2534, Fig. 15A) that can be coupled with a medical tool (Figs. 15A-15C and as shown in Fig. 10B for 40, Figs. 10B and 15A-15C, where ¶463 discloses that anchor 2532 is anchor 40); and an anchor unit (2537, 2536, Fig. 15A) having a first portion (2537, Fig. 15A) extending from the head Fig. 15A), and a second portion (2536, Fig. 15A) having a spiral shape (Fig. 15A) extending from the first portion (Fig. 15A) capable of being inserted into a patient's bone (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 15A-15C and the stainless steel 316 LVM material construction as disclosed in ¶469, Figs. 15A-15C, ¶469) capable of accommodating bone tissue (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 15A-15C and the stainless steel 316 LVM material construction as disclosed in ¶469, Figs. 15A-15C, ¶469), the second portion including a plurality of spirals (Fig. 15A) connected in sequence (Fig. 15A), the plurality of spirals having substantially a same thickness as one another (Fig. 15A); and a tip (free end of 2536, Figs. 15A-15C) disposed at an end of the second portion (Figs. 15A-15C) capable of penetrating the bone tissue (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 15A-15C and the stainless steel 316 LVM material construction as disclosed in ¶469, Figs. 15A-15C, ¶469), wherein the first portion has a shape (Fig. 15A) different from the spiral shape (Fig. 15A), and wherein the spiral shape of the second portion defines a tissue accommodation space (between and within the spirals as shown in Figs. 15A-15C, Figs. 15A-15C) including a central space (shown within the center of 2536 in lower images of Fig. 15C, Fig. 15C) and intermediate spaces (Figs. 15A-15C) located between adjacent spirals of the spiral shape (Figs. 15A-15C), the tissue accommodation space structurally capable of accommodating the bone tissue when the second portion is rotated into the patient's bone (due to the shape as shown in Figs. 15A-15C and the stainless steel 316 LVM material construction as disclosed in ¶469, Figs. 15A-15C, ¶469).
As to claim 13, Herman discloses that the first portion has a straight shape (Fig. 15A).
As to claim 14, Herman discloses that a cross-sectional shape of the first portion and a cross-sectional shape of the head are circular (Figs. 5B, 13A, and 15A-15C, where ¶463 discloses that anchor 2532 is anchor 40).
As to claim 15, Herman discloses that the head has a hook shape (2538), and a central axis of a coupling hole formed by the hook shape and a central axis of the spiral shape are substantially perpendicular (Figs. 15A-15C).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kay (US 2003/0229350).
As to claim 1, Kay discloses a medical bone screw (10, Figs. 1-7, ¶46 discloses use in bone) comprising: a head (15); a neck (see illustration of Figs. 1 and 2, Figs. 1 and 2) extending from the head (as defined, Figs. 1 and 2); a body (12) connected to the head (via the neck, Figs. 1 and 2) and having a spiral shape (Figs. 1 and 2), the body including a plurality of spirals (Figs. 1 and 2) connected in sequence (Figs. 1 and 2), the plurality of spirals having substantially a same thickness as one another (Figs. 1 and 2); and a central space (Figs. 1 and 2) defined by the body (Figs. 1 and 2); and a tip (14) disposed at an end of the body (Fig. 1) capable of penetrating bone tissue (Figs. 2, 3, and 5, ¶ 39 discloses that 14 is pointed, ¶40 discloses construction of stainless steel, ¶46 discloses use in bone, ¶47 discloses that a pilot hole may be unnecessary depending on the bone properties), wherein the neck has a shape (Figs. 1-3) different from the spiral shape of the body (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the body is configured with a tissue accommodation space (Figs. 1-3) comprising the central space and intermediate spaces (Figs. 1-3) located between adjacent spirals of the spiral shape (Figs. 1-3), the tissue accommodation space structurally capable of receiving an introduction of human bone tissue when the body is rotated into a bone structure (Fig. 5, ¶46 discloses use in bone, ¶47 discloses that a pilot hole may be unnecessary depending on the bone properties).
As to claim 3, Kay discloses that the plurality of spirals have substantially a same diameter as one another (Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 7, Kay discloses that the tip has a smooth curved surface without a cutting edge (Figs. 2 and 3).
As to claim 12, Kay discloses a medical bone screw (10, Figs. 1-7, ¶46 discloses use in bone) comprising: a head (15) that can be coupled with a medical tool (via 17 and 19, Figs. 1, 2, and 5); and an anchor unit (neck as illustrated on Figs. 1 and 2, 12, Figs. 1 and 2) having a first portion (see illustration of Figs. 1 and 2, Figs. 1 and 2) extending from the head (as defined, Figs. 1 and 2), and a second portion (12) having a spiral shape (Figs. 1 and 2) extending from the first portion (Figs. 1 and 2) capable of being inserted into a patient's bone (22, 24, Fig. 5, ¶46 discloses use in bone) capable of accommodating bone tissue (Fig. 5, ¶46 discloses use in bone), the second portion including a plurality of spirals (Figs. 1 and 2) connected in sequence (Figs. 1 and 2), the plurality of spirals having substantially a same thickness as one another (Figs. 1 and 2); and a tip (14) disposed at an end of the second portion (Fig. 1) capable of penetrating the bone tissue {Figs. 2, 3, and 5, ¶ 39 discloses that 14 is pointed, ¶40 discloses construction of stainless steel, ¶46 discloses use in bone, ¶47 discloses that a pilot hole may be unnecessary depending on the bone properties), wherein the first portion has a shape (Figs. 1-3) different from the spiral shape (Figs. 1-3), and wherein the spiral shape of the second portion defines a tissue accommodation space (Figs. 1-3) including a central space (Figs. 1-3) and intermediate spaces (Figs. 1-3) located between adjacent spirals of the spiral shape (Figs. 1-3), the tissue accommodation space structurally capable of accommodating the bone tissue when the second portion is rotated into the patient's bone (Fig. 5, ¶46 discloses use in bone, ¶47 discloses that a pilot hole may be unnecessary depending on the bone properties).
As to claim 14, Kay discloses that a cross-sectional shape of the first portion and a cross-sectional shape of the head are circular (Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kay (US 2003/0229350) in view of Biedermann et al. (US 2005/0154390, hereinafter “Biedermann”).
As to claims 8 and 9, Kay discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as that the head may vary according to the specific application (¶44) and examples for suturing or wiring connective tissue include crossbars, hooks, and eyelets (¶44).
Kay is silent to the head includes a coupling groove configured to allow a medical connecting member to be coupled. As to claim 9, Kay is silent to the head and the body are connected to be mutually angle-adjustable.
Biedermann teaches a similar medical bone screw (41, Figs. 4 and 5, ¶s 63 and 64) comprising: a head (46); a body (42, 45) connected to the head (Fig. 4) and having a spiral shape (44 is shown to be spiral in Fig. 4 as defined by the helical recess as disclosed in ¶103, Fig. 4, ¶103, where the abstract discloses this section to be a form of helical spring) with dimensions appropriate for medical bone screw applications (Fig. 4, ¶103); and a central space (47) defined by the body (Fig. 4, ¶103); wherein the head includes a coupling groove (“U-shaped recess” of ¶104, Figs. 4 and 5, ¶104) capable of allowing a medical connecting member (100) to be coupled (Figs. 4 and 5, ¶104). As to claim 9, Biedermann discloses that the head and the body are connected to be mutually angle-adjustable (Figs. 4 and 5, ¶s 103 and 104).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to replace the head that may vary according to the specific application and connection to the body as disclosed by Kay with the head and connection to the body as taught by Biedermann in order to provide a polyaxial bone screw (Biedermann ¶103) for fixing a rod and thereby fixing the bone screw head and the angle of the shaft of the bone screw (Biedermann ¶104) to stabilize bones or vertebrae (Biedermann abstract).
As to claim 11, Kay discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as that the head may vary according to the specific application (¶44) and examples for suturing or wiring connective tissue include crossbars, hooks, and eyelets (¶44).
Kay is silent to the head includes a coupling groove into which a medical abutment can be inserted.
Biedermann teaches a similar medical bone screw (41, Figs. 4 and 5, ¶s 63 and 64) comprising: a head (46); a body (42, 45) connected to the head (Fig. 4) and having a spiral shape (44 is shown to be spiral in Fig. 4 as defined by the helical recess as disclosed in ¶103, Fig. 4, ¶103, where the abstract discloses this section to be a form of helical spring) with dimensions appropriate for medical bone screw applications (Fig. 4, ¶103); and a central space (47) defined by the body (Fig. 4, ¶103); wherein the head includes a coupling groove (“U-shaped recess” of ¶104, Figs. 4 and 5, ¶104) into which a medical abutment (100) can be inserted (Figs. 4 and 5, ¶104).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to replace the head that may vary according to the specific application and connection to the body as disclosed by Kay with the head and connection to the body as taught by Biedermann in order to provide a polyaxial bone screw (Biedermann ¶103) for fixing a rod and thereby fixing the bone screw head and the angle of the shaft of the bone screw (Biedermann ¶104) to stabilize bones or vertebrae (Biedermann abstract).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kay view of Agrell (WO 97/49348 as provided with the PTO-892 dated May 28, 2026).
The claimed phrase “formed” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the product reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.
As to claim 15, Kay discloses the invention of claim 12 as well as that the head may vary according to the specific application (¶44) and examples for suturing or wiring connective tissue include crossbars, hooks, and eyelets (¶44).
Kay is silent to the head has a hook shape, and a central axis of a coupling hole formed by the hook shape and a central axis of the spiral shape are substantially perpendicular.
Agrell teaches a similar medical bone screw (6, Figs. 1 and 2, abstract, page 3 lines 1-2 disclose screwing 6 into the bone marrow 4) comprising: a head (see illustration of Fig. 2, Fig. 2) capable of being coupled with a medical tool (to grip the head as disclosed in page 3 lines 12-13 to screw 6 into the bone marrow as disclosed in page 3 lines 1-2); and an anchor unit (“First portion” and “Second portion” as labeled on the illustration of Fig. 2, Fig. 2) having a first portion (see illustration of Fig. 2, Fig. 2) extending from the head (as defined, Fig. 2), and a second portion (see illustration of Fig. 2, Fig. 2) having a spiral shape (Fig. 2) extending from the first portion (Fig. 2) capable of being inserted into a patient's bone (Fig. 1, page 3 lines 1-2 disclose screwing 6 into the bone marrow 4) capable of accommodating bone tissue (Figs. 1, page 3 lines 1-2 disclose screwing 6 into the bone marrow 4); wherein the head has a hook shape (Fig. 2), and a central axis of a coupling hole formed by the hook shape and a central axis of the spiral shape are substantially perpendicular (Fig. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to replace the head that may vary according to the specific application as disclosed by Kay with the head as taught by Agrell in order to retain one or more support nails in fractured or otherwise injured bones (Agrell abstract) and prevent the support nail from protruding through the coil shaped member (Agrell Fig. 1, abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775