DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa US 2022/0231655.
1. Ogawa discloses a filter device (Figs. 1-5, etc.) comprising:
a dielectric substrate (100);
a first terminal (P1) and a second terminal (P2) on an outer surface of the dielectric substrate;
a first resonant circuit (LC1) connected to the first terminal (thru C10);
a second resonant circuit (LC3) connected to the second terminal (thru C34, C20);
a first ground electrode (G1, 111) connected to the first resonant circuit; and
a second ground electrode (G2, 112) connected to the second resonant circuit and separated from the first ground electrode (Figs. 1, 3).
2. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first resonant circuit and the second resonant circuit is an LC resonant circuit including inductors and a capacitor (Fig. 1).
4. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein the first resonant circuit is capacitively coupled (thru at least C12, C23) with the second resonant circuit.
5. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein the first resonant circuit includes a first via (V12) connected to the first ground electrode; the second resonant circuit includes a second via (V32) connected to the second ground electrode; and the first via is connected to the second via (due to their respectively ground electrodes 111, 112 are connected by vias V81, V82; [0046]).
6. The filter device according to claim 1, further comprising: a capacitor electrode (e.g., item 222) that partially overlaps both the first ground electrode and the second ground electrode in plan view from a normal direction of the dielectric substrate (Fig. 3).
8. The filter device according to claim 1, further comprising: a third resonant circuit (LC2) electromagnetically coupled with the first resonant circuit; and a fourth resonant (LC4) circuit electromagnetically coupled with the second resonant circuit.
9. The filter device according to claim 8, further comprising: a common electrode (110) connected to the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit.
11. The filter device according to claim 8, wherein each of the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit is an LC resonant circuit including inductors and a capacitor (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taniguchi US 11,201,599.
1. Taniguchi discloses a filter device (Figs. 1-3, etc.) comprising:
a dielectric substrate (DL1-DL13);
a first terminal (PS1) and a second terminal (PS2) on an outer surface of the dielectric substrate;
a first resonant circuit (FC1 or RC1) connected to the first terminal;
a second resonant circuit (FC2 or RC4) connected to the second terminal;
a first ground electrode (P2) connected to the first resonant circuit (e.g., L13 which is V3, Col. 7 lines 5-6); and
a second ground electrode (P6) connected to the second resonant circuit (e.g., L23 which is V6, Col. 8 lines 5-6) and separated from the first ground electrode (Fig. 2).
2. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first resonant circuit and the second resonant circuit is an LC resonant circuit including inductors and a capacitor (Fig. 1).
4. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein the first resonant circuit is capacitively coupled with the second resonant circuit (thru MC1, MC2 with C51).
5. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein the first resonant circuit includes a first via (V3) connected to the first ground electrode; the second resonant circuit includes a second via (V6) connected to the second ground electrode; and the first via is connected to the second via (thru P2, P6 connection with P17).
7. The filter device according to claim 5, further comprising: a first ground terminal (PG1) and a second ground terminal (PG4) on the outer surface of the dielectric substrate; wherein the first ground electrode (P2) and the second ground electrode (P6) are on or in an inner layer of the dielectric substrate; the first ground electrode is connected to the first ground terminal (thru P17 and vias); and the second ground electrode is connected to the second ground terminal (thru P17 and vias; see Fig. 2).
8. The filter device according to claim 1, further comprising: a third resonant circuit (MC1 or RC2) electromagnetically coupled with the first resonant circuit; and a fourth resonant circuit (MC2 or RC3) electromagnetically coupled with the second resonant circuit.
9. The filter device according to claim 8, further comprising: a common electrode (P17) connected to the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit (thru P2, P6, and/or P10).
10. The filter device according to claim 8, further comprising: a first common electrode (PG1) connected to the first resonant circuit (RC1) and the third resonant circuit (RC2); and a second common electrode (PG4) connected to the second resonant circuit (RC4) and the fourth resonant circuit (RC3).
11. The filter device according to claim 8, wherein each of the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit is an LC resonant circuit including inductors and a capacitor (Fig. 1).
12. The filter device according to claim 11, wherein the first resonant circuit (RC1) and the third resonant circuit (RC2) share one or more of the inductors (L13); and the second resonant circuit (RC4) and the fourth resonant circuit (RC3) share one or more of the inductors (L23).
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motoyama US 2023/0035574.
1. Taniguchi discloses a filter device (Figs. 1-3, etc.) comprising:
a dielectric substrate (110);
a first terminal (T1) and a second terminal (T2) on an outer surface of the dielectric substrate;
a first resonant circuit (RC1; P1, L1, LG) connected to the first terminal;
a second resonant circuit (RC4; P4, L4, LG) connected to the second terminal;
a first ground electrode (PG1) connected to the first resonant circuit; and
a second ground electrode (PG2) connected to the second resonant circuit and separated from the first ground electrode (Fig. 2).
2. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first resonant circuit and the second resonant circuit is an LC resonant circuit including inductors and a capacitor (Fig. 3).
3. The filter device according to claim 2, wherein the first resonant circuit and the second resonant circuit share one or more of the inductors (LG).
4. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein the first resonant circuit is capacitively coupled (thru C14) with the second resonant circuit.
5. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein the first resonant circuit includes a first via (V1) connected to the first ground electrode; the second resonant circuit includes a second via (VG2) connected to the second ground electrode; and the first via is connected to the second via (thru PG1).
6. The filter device according to claim 1, further comprising: a capacitor electrode (P1) that partially overlaps both the first ground electrode and the second ground electrode in plan view from a normal direction of the dielectric substrate (Fig. 1).
7. The filter device according to claim 5, further comprising: a first ground terminal (Fig. 2, GND on the left side) and a second ground terminal (GND on the right side) on the outer surface of the dielectric substrate; wherein the first ground electrode (PG1) and the second ground electrode (PG2) are on or in an inner layer of the dielectric substrate; the first ground electrode is connected to the first ground terminal (e.g., thru VG1, VGA); and the second ground electrode is connected to the second ground terminal (e.g., thru VGB).
8. The filter device according to claim 1, further comprising: a third resonant circuit (RC2; P2, L3, LG) electromagnetically coupled with the first resonant circuit; and a fourth resonant circuit (RC3; P3, L4, LG) electromagnetically coupled with the second resonant circuit.
9. In an alternate mapping of the first ground electrode (left GND in Fig. 2) and the second ground electrode (right GND), the filter device according to claim 8, further comprising: a common electrode (PG1) connected to the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit.
10. In an alternate mapping of the first ground electrode (left GND in Fig. 2) and the second ground electrode (right GND), the filter device according to claim 8, further comprising: a first common electrode (PG1) connected to the first resonant circuit and the third resonant circuit; and a second common electrode (PG2) connected to the second resonant circuit and the fourth resonant circuit.
11. The filter device according to claim 8, wherein each of the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit is an LC resonant circuit including inductors and a capacitor (Fig. 3).
12. The filter device according to claim 11, wherein the first resonant circuit and the third resonant circuit share one or more of the inductors (LG); and the second resonant circuit and the fourth resonant circuit share one or more of the inductors (LG).
13. The filter device according to claim 11, wherein the first resonant circuit, the second resonant circuit, the third resonant circuit, and the fourth resonant circuit share one or more of the inductors (LG).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa US 2022/0231655 in view of Hino US 10,193,518.
14, 15, 17-19. For brevity, Ogawa discloses the filter device as similarly discussed above (see claims 1, 2, 4-6), but does not explicitly disclose a radio frequency front end circuit including the filter device.
Hino exemplarily discloses a radio frequency front end circuit (Figs 1, 2, etc. item 1) including filter device (11, 12) having LC filter (Col. 7 lines 21-27).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the filter device of Ogawa to be used in a radio frequency front end such as Hino. The modification would have been obvious as an implementation of filter to be used in a front end circuit of a communication terminal as taught by Hino (Figs. 1, 2, etc.; Col. 5 lines 22-26).
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi US 11,201,599 in view of Hino US 10,193,518.
14, 15, 17, 18, 20. For brevity, Taniguchi discloses the filter device as similarly discussed above (see claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7), but does not explicitly disclose a radio frequency front end circuit including the filter device.
Hino exemplarily discloses a radio frequency front end circuit (Figs 1, 2, etc. item 1) including filter device (11, 12) having LC filter (Col. 7 lines 21-27).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the filter device of Taniguchi to be used in a radio frequency front end such as Hino. The modification would have been obvious as an implementation of filter to be used in a front end circuit of a communication terminal as taught by Hino (Figs. 1, 2, etc.; Col. 5 lines 22-26).
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama US 2023/0035574 in view of Hino US 10,193,518.
14-20. For brevity, Motoyama discloses the filter device as similarly discussed above (see claims 1-7), but does not explicitly disclose a radio frequency front end circuit including the filter device.
Hino exemplarily discloses a radio frequency front end circuit (Figs 1, 2, etc. item 1) including filter device (11, 12) having LC filter (Col. 7 lines 21-27).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the filter device of Motoyama to be used in a radio frequency front end such as Hino. The modification would have been obvious as an implementation of filter to be used in a front end circuit of a communication terminal as taught by Hino (Figs. 1, 2, etc.; Col. 5 lines 22-26).
Conclusion
/A.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843