CTNF 19/211,568 CTNF 81385 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “the thermoswitch 50 (50-12, 50-13, and 50-15) … the thermoswitch 50 used as a safety element in Embodiment 1…. The thermoswitch 50 is connected through a connector terminal 53 to the drive circuit of the heating group in which the thermoswitch is installed” as described in para.0040 of the filed specification. Specifically, #50-12 through #50-15 do not appear to be specifically connected to the driving circuits B-C, D-F, or D-E (see fig.4) in the manner suggested later in paragraph 0040. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 sets forth “supplies power to the first heating group through a first common circuit, and supplies power to the second heating group through a second common circuit” and the further defines “the first common circuit includes a first safety element”, and “the second common circuit includes a second safety element”. This sets forth that there are two different circuits, each with a safety element. However in the specification, in paragraph 0040, it is stated: “the thermoswitch 50 (50-12, 50-13, and 50-15) … the thermoswitch 50 used as a safety element in Embodiment 1…. The thermoswitch 50 is connected through a connector terminal 53 to the drive circuit of the heating group in which the thermoswitch is installed” In paragraph 0033, the specification states “That is, power is supplied to each of the heating elements included in the group via one respective common drive circuit (first common circuit, second common circuit).” The claims set forth that they should at least each of the first common circuit and second common circuit have a heating element group and a safety element. While the claims and specification are in agreement, fig.4 does not appear to include the safety elements with the respective common circuits. Figure 4 is the most relevant drawing and appears to be disclosing a safety element associated with each heating element region, but each safety element cuts off all power to all of the heating elements (and thus all sub-circuits) if the safety element is triggered. Since it is unclear what should and should not constitute a “common circuit”, for examination on the merits and in the interest of compact prosecution, the claim language shall be interpreted generally according to what is depicted in figure 4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kikuchi et al. (US Pub.2003/0198481) . Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi et al. (US Pub.2003/0198481) teach an image heating device (fig.1, #1) comprising: a heater (fig.1, #2) having a plurality of heating elements arranged in a width direction (fig.7, #21a-c) of a recording material perpendicular to a conveyance direction of the recording material (fig.7, ‘into’ the page); a nip forming portion that forms a nip where the recording material is nipped (fig.1, #3); and a control portion that controls power supplied to the plurality of heating elements (fig.7, generally); wherein the image heating device heats an image formed on the recording material, which is nipped in the nip, by heat of the heater (para.0038&0041); wherein the plurality of heating elements include a first heating element group (fig.7, #21b) and a second heating element group (fig.7, #21a&#21c), the first heating element group being arranged symmetrically with respect to a conveyance reference position of the recording material in the width direction (fig.7, #21b is equally on both sides of center line) and the second heating element group being arranged symmetrically with respect to the conveyance reference position so as to be adjacent to the first heating element group in the width direction (fig.7, #21a&#21c); wherein the control portion supplies power to the first heating element group through a first common circuit (fig.7, #13a), and supplies power to the second heating element group through a second common circuit (fig.7, #13b); wherein in the image heating device, the first common circuit includes a first safety element arranged at the heater to respond to the temperature of the heating elements included in the first heating element group (fig.7, #26b interacts with power supplied to both #13a and #13b); and the second common circuit includes a second safety element arranged at the heater to respond to the temperature of the heating elements included in the second heating element group (fig.7, #26a interacts with power supplied to both #13a and #13b); wherein the first safety element is arranged on one side with respect to the conveyance reference position in the width direction (fig.13, #26b on right side of the centerline), and wherein the second safety element is arranged on the other side with respect to the conveyance reference position in the width direction (fig.13, #26a arranged on left half) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takagi (US Pub.2016/0085187) teaches a safety cut-off for each parallel circuit; however, the safety cut off is a device toggled to leave on and cut off power supply in response to an abnormal temperature detection. Takami et al. (US Pub.2005/0258158) teaches controls for a fixing device wherein a fuse or thermostat is presented but discloses that a safety circuit or thermo switch can also be used. Kinouchi et al. (US Pub.2004/0265021) teaches a fixing device with two sets of coils and two thermostats, but fails to teach where in the circuitry they are located. Kinouchi et al. (US Pub.2003/0219271) teaches a fixing device with two heating circuits and a thermostat, but fails to teach where in the circuitry they are located. Takano (US Pub.2003/0123891) teaches a fixing device with two heating coil circuits and two safety elements, wherein the two safety elements are on a master circuit. Tomatsu (US Pub.2002/0057919) teaches a fixing device with a plurality of fuses at a plurality of different locations so as to ensure appropriate electrical cut off even if one fuse fails. Urabe (US Pub.2005/0175367) teaches a fixing device with a central heater and end heater units which are individual controlled and the fixing unit comprises a first and second thermostat, one for each region; however, individual circuits are not explicitly set forth and the connections of the two thermostats are not disclosed. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAURA K ROTH whose telephone number is (571)272-2154. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 7:30AM-3:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephanie Bloss can be reached on 571-272-3555. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LKR/ 5/19/2026 /STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/211,568 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852