DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,306,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are anticipated by the ‘921 patent.
19/211,582
U.S. Patent No. 12,306,921
1. A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computing system and from a first resource, an authorization to permit a second resource to access a certificate for verifying an identity;
granting, by the computing system and based at least in part on the authorization, permission to the second resource to access the certificate, wherein the second resource is configured to verify the identity based at least in part on accessing the certificate;
receiving, by the computing system and based at least in part on the grant, a second request from the second resource to generate an association object between the second resource and the certificate; and
generating, by the computing system and based at least in part on the second request, the association object.
1. A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computing device and from a first resource, a first request for permission to access a certificate to verify a requestor's identity;
transmitting, by the computing device and based at least in part on the first request, a second request to a second resource to authorize permitting access to the certificate;
receiving, by the computing device and based at least in part on the second request, a response from the second resource comprising an authorization to permit access to the certificate; granting, by the computing device and based at least in part on the response, permission to the first resource to access the certificate, wherein the first resource is configured to verify the requestor's identity based on accessing the certificate;
receiving, by the computing device and based at least in part on the grant, a third request from the first resource to generate an association object between the first resource and the certificate; and
generating, by the computing device and based at least in part on the third request, the association object,
wherein the association object associates the first resource and the certificate.
8. A computing system, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, from a first resource, an authorization to permit a second resource to access a certificate for verifying an identity;
grant, based at least in part on the authorization, permission to the second resource to access the certificate, wherein the second resource is configured to verify the identity based at least in part on accessing the certificate;
receive, based at least in part on the grant, a second request from the second resource to generate an association object between the second resource and the certificate; and generate, at least in part on the second request, the association object.
8. A computing device, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first resource, a first request for permission to access a certificate to verify a requestor's identity;
transmitting, based at least in part on the first request, a second request to a second resource to authorize permitting access to the certificate; receiving, based at least in part on the second request, a response from the second resource comprising an authorization to permit access to the certificate;
granting, based at least in part on the response, permission to the first resource to access the certificate, wherein the first resource is configured to verify the requestor's identity based on accessing the certificate;
receiving, based at least in part on the grant, a third request from the first resource to generate an association object between the first resource and the certificate; and
generating, based at least in part on the third request, the association object,
wherein the association object associates the first resource and the certificate.
15. One or more non-transitory, computer-readable media including stored thereon a sequence of instructions that, when executed, one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receive, from a first resource, an authorization to permit a second resource to access a certificate for verifying an identity;
grant, based at least in part on the authorization, permission to the second resource to access the certificate, wherein the second resource is configured to verify the identity based at least in part on accessing the certificate;
receive, based at least in part on the grant, a second request from the second resource to
generate an association object between the second resource and the certificate; and generate, at least in part on the second request, the association object.
15. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media including stored thereon a sequence of instructions that, when executed, one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first resource, a first request for permission to access a certificate to verify a requestor's identity;
transmitting, based at least in part on the first request, a second request to a second resource to authorize permitting access to the certificate;
receiving, based at least in part on the second request, a response from the second resource comprising an authorization to permit access to the certificate;
granting, based at least in part on the response, permission to the first resource to access the certificate, wherein the first resource is configured to verify the requestor's identity based on accessing the certificate;
receiving, based at least in part on the grant, a third request from the first resource to generate an association object between the first resource and the certificate; and
generating, based at least in part on the third request, the association object, wherein the association object associates the first resource and the certificate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popoveniuc et al, US 10,263,789 and further in view of Keselman et al., US 2020/0382323.
Regarding claim 1, Popoveniuc discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a computing system and from a first resource, an authorization to permit a second resource to access a certificate for verifying an identity (0034-0035: a certificate manager (computing system) receiving an authenticated request from a customer/management console (first resource) to permit a Load Balancer (second resource) to access an SSL certificate);
granting, by the computing system and based at least in part on the authorization, permission to the second resource to access the certificate, wherein the second resource is configured to verify the identity based at least in part on accessing the certificate (0011, 0035: the Certificate Manager granting the Load Balancer permission to use the certificate. The Load Balancer provides this certificate to client browsers to verify identity and secure the connection);
receiving, by the computing system and based at least in part on the grant, a second request from the second resource to generate an association object between the second resource and the certificate (0035: the Load Balancer submitting a request to the Certificate Manager to “bind the certificate and private key to the load balancer).
Popoveniuc describes this as a concurrent action with the initial authentication. It lacks or fails to expressly disclose a bifurcated sequence where a distinct “second request” is sent specifically to generate the binding after the initial permission grant. However, Keselman teaches separating the cloud identity authorization (via generating signed temporary tokens) from the subsequent execution of certificate provisioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the concurrent binding request of Popveniuc with the sequential, token based API workflow of Kesselman in order to decouple authentication logic from persistent state management. By requiring the resource to execute a distinct second request to form the persistent “association object” the architecture allows the certificate service to cache the authorization locally. This reduces API latency by preventing repetitive polling for subsequent traffic.
Popoveniuc, as modified above further discloses
generating, by the computing system and based at least in part on the second request, the association object (0035: generating the association object by “writing an identifier (or other type of relation value) of the service into the database entry…creating an association in the database between the certificate and the load balancer).
Regarding claim 2, Popoveniuc lacks or does not expressly disclose transmitting the token to the first resource for authentication. However, Kesselman further discloses receiving, from the second resource, a message comprising a request for permission for the second resource to access the certificate and a token; and transmitting the token to the first resource, wherein the authorization is received based at least in part on transmitting the token to the first resource (0051, 0064: passing signed tokens (e.g. JSON Web Tokens, JWT) between the client, the central identity authority and the certificate manager).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Keselman’s JWT token exchange to Popoveniuc’s authentication step to facilitate stateless, cryptographically secure identity verification across distributed microservices.
Regarding claim 3, Popoveniuc, as modified above further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the second resource, a request to access the certificate; and granting access to the certificate, based at least in part on the association object (0012, 0035: once the binding (relation value) is stored in the database, the load balancer uses this persistent association to continually access and utilize the decrypted private key for ongoing client traffic without needing to re-authenticate the initial setup request).
Regarding claim 4, Popoveniuc, lacks or fails to expressly disclose determine a second certificate. However, Keselman discloses certificate is a first certificate associated with a first identifier, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a second identifier; comparing the first identifier and the second identifier; determining a second certificate associated with the second identifier based at least on part on comparing the first identifier and the second identifier; and verifying the identity based at least in part on the second certificate (0045, 0061: resolving specific certificates by matching input parameters (such as an AWS Role ARN or client UUID) against policy ID data to determine which exact certificate a virtual machine is eligible to receive.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate Keselmans’s identifier matching logic into Popoveniuc’s load balancer to support multi-tenant or Server Name Indication (SNI) environments, where single load balancer must dynamically select between multiple hosted certificates based on the incoming request header (the second identity).
Regarding claim 5, Popoveniuc, as modified above further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a request from a computing service to determine whether the certificate has been revoked; determining whether the certificate has been revoked based at least in part on the request; and transmitting an indication of whether the certificate has been revoked based at least in part on determining whether the certificate has been revoked (0036: when a certificate is no longer to be used, the load balancer submits a message to the certificate manager to remove the binding (effectively checking and enforcing revocation status), causing the manager to delete the relation value and revoke permission to decrypt the private key).
Regarding claim 6, Popoveniuc lacks or fails to expressly disclose determine if the certificate is revokes. However, Kesleman teaches determining that a first request from the second resource to access the certificate is transmitted from an entity that authorized generation of the certificate; and transmitting a second request to the first resource for authorization to permit the second resource to access to the certificate based at least in part on determining that the first request from the second resource to access the certificate is transmitted from the entity that authorized generation of the certificate (0032-0035: an administrator (the authorizing entity) establishes the policies at the central authority. When runtime access requests occur, the certificate manager queries the central authority (first resource) to ensure the request strictly aligns with the entity’s established policy configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the secondary validation loop to ensure the dynamic certificate requests issued by the automated cloud resources still conform to the security boundaries originally set by the human administrator.
Regarding claim 7, Popoveniuc, as modified above further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises generating the certificate based at least in part on the authorization from the first resource (0032-0033: the Certificate Manager automatically generating the Certificate Singing Request (CSR) and obtaining the certificate from the Certificate Authority directly on behalf of the customer, triggered by the initial authorization request).
As per claims 8-14 and 15-20, this is a device and medium version of the claimed method discussed above in claims 1-7 wherein all claimed limitations have also been addressed and/or cited as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12,470,387 teaches a manager instance receiving a first request for a first token to access a computing resource. The manager instance can determine an identity of the service account and generate a second request for the first token based at least in part on the authentication. The manager instance can transmit the second request to a token issuance service of the computing system. The token issuance service can generate a third request for the first token, the third request comprising the identity of the service account and a token issuance service signature. The token issuance service can transmit the third request to an identity service of the computing system. The identity service can generate the first token based at least in part on determining whether to generate the first token.
/AUBREY H WYSZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434