DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 05/19/2025.
Claims 1-13 are under examination.
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 05/19/2025 has been entered and considered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,107 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: An authentication server comprising: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire a first ID that uniquely determines a user in a system and first biological information that is used for authentication of the user; and process a service registration request that includes the first ID and a second ID that identifies a service that the user wishes to use, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: generate a third ID that is uniquely determined by a combination of the user and the service; and store the first biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other, and wherein storing the first biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other comprises storing the biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in a same table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1) and Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses An authentication server [par. 0042, authentication server 400] comprising: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire a first ID that uniquely determines a user in a system and first biological information that is used for authentication of the user [par. 0070, “the authentication server's database(s) 401, 403 stores a set of vectors representing each user's ID and cryptographically hashed values of the user's biometric data… the user must pre-register his biometric feature vector set at the authentication server 400 as the first feature vector set”]; and store the first biological information, the first ID in association with each other [par. 0070, “the authentication server's database(s) stores a set of vectors representing each user's ID and cryptographically hashed values of the user's biometric data. The user ID is used to uniquely identify each user and the user's cryptographically hashed biometric data”].
Ko does not explicitly disclose process a service registration request that includes the first ID and a second ID that identifies the service that the user wishes to use, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate a third ID that is uniquely determined by a combination of the user and the service; and store the first biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other.
However Esaki et al. teaches process a service registration request that includes the first ID and a second ID that identifies the service that the user wishes to use [par. 0098, “when an operation completion of an SP user repository 302 including the service provider ID of the service provider device and the user ID included in the user attribute partial information is notified from the service provider device 300 of the transmission source of the account collaboration request message”], wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate a third ID that is uniquely determined by a combination of the user and the service [par. 0098, “registering the authentication collaboration ID to the user attribute information 201a included in the IDP user repository 201 based on the service provider ID and the user ID”, par. 0184, the IDP account provisioning unit 211 issues the authentication collaboration ID shared between the service provider device 300 to which the SP account collaboration request message is transmitted]; and store the first biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other [par. 0190, the IDP account provisioning unit 211 registers the authentication collaboration ID issued in step S45 to a USER_A record of the IDP user repository 201a, par. par. 0063].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Esaki et al. into the teaching of Ko with the motivation to providing an authentication collaboration system, an ID provider device, and a program, which are low in the user's burden and capable of deciding whether or not a service can be used without involving a manual operation when account registration and collaboration are executed in the process of the SSO as taught by Esaki et al. [Esaki et al.: par. 0031].
They do not explicitly disclose wherein storing the first biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other comprises storing the biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in a same table.
However, Grassadonia et al. teaches wherein storing the first biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other comprises storing the biological information, the first ID, the second ID, and the third ID in a same table [par. 0027, “the payment service system can identify the recipient financial account for the money transfer by mapping the payment proxy included in the message (e.g., “$funnyguy311”) to the recipient financial account, based on association data stored in the payment service system's database that maintains information of users of the payment service”, par. 0106, “the PSS 110 searches one or more database tables of the DB 116 corresponding to, e.g., funnyguy311 or $funnyguy311. An example of the database tables are shown in FIG. 9 (e.g., database tables 902, 904, and 906). Within the database tables of the DB 116, the recipient user account can be represented by an identifier associated with the recipient. The identifier can include, for example, an email address, a telephone number, an application ID, a device ID, or biometric data (e.g., fingerprint, iris, voice, facial features, etc.)” (the first ID – email address, the second ID – an application ID, the third ID – account ID $funnyguy311)].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Grassadonia et al. into the teaching of Ko and Esaki et al. with the motivation to utilize the data stored in the databases to process payment transactions (e.g., money transfers) on behalf of customer users of the payment service as taught by Grassadonia et al. [Grassadonia et al.: par. 0155].
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Esaki et al. further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: receive an authentication request including second biological information of the user [par. 0061, the password referred to when the user performs the log-in process may be biometric authentication information such as the user's fingerprint] and the second ID from the service provider; determine the third ID by using the first and second biological information and the second ID; and transmit the determined third ID to the service provider [par. 0196, the IDP authentication collaborating unit 208 generates an assertion context including the authentication collaboration ID acquired in step S52 and the authentication scheme name of the log-in process performed in step S25, par. 0197, the IDP authentication collaborating unit 208 transmits the authentication collaboration response including the generated authentication assertion 208a and the user ID included in the received authentication collaboration execution request to the service provider device 300 of the transmission source of the authentication collaboration request ].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Esaki et al. into the teaching of Ko with the motivation to providing an authentication collaboration system, an ID provider device, and a program, which are low in the user's burden and capable of deciding whether or not a service can be used without involving a manual operation when account registration and collaboration are executed in the process of the SSO as taught by Esaki et al. [Esaki et al.: par. 0031].
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Ko further disclose acquire a password of the user; and store the first biological information, the first ID, the password [par. 0042, the authentication database(s) 401, 403 may include the user's personal information such as name, address, credit card information, biometric data, shopping preferences, password, user ID, and the like].
Esaki et al. further teaches store the second ID, and the third ID in association with each other[par. 0190, the IDP account provisioning unit 211 registers the authentication collaboration ID issued in step S45 to a USER_A record of the IDP user repository 201a, par. par. 0063].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Esaki et al. into the teaching of Ko with the motivation to providing an authentication collaboration system, an ID provider device, and a program, which are low in the user's burden and capable of deciding whether or not a service can be used without involving a manual operation when account registration and collaboration are executed in the process of the SSO as taught by Esaki et al. [Esaki et al.: par. 0031].
Regarding claim 11, it recites limitations like claim 1. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1) and Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 11 above, and further in view of Henry et al. (US 6,996,718 B1).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Ko and Esaki et al. disclose generate a third ID.
They do not explicitly disclose calculate a hash value by using the first ID, the password, and the second ID; and use the calculated hash value as the third ID.
However Henry et al. teaches calculate a hash value by using the first ID, the password, and the second ID; and use the calculated hash value as the third ID [col. 3, line 60-col. 4, line 8, “to generate, process and validate the common password and associated designated passwords for each of a user's accounts, a password transform algorithm is utilized… Pd=Text(Hash(Ui+Pc+Si+Nr)) Where, Pd stands for a designated password, Ui for a user ID (such as a login ID selected by the user or provided by an account service provider), Pc for a common password (which is preferably selected by a user as discussed above), Si for a server name (such as the server name or URL of the user's account service provider), and Nr for a random number. The "Text( )" portion represents the text conversion and the "Hash( )" portion represents the hash function”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Henry et al. into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation to provide both convenience and security assurance for users who have multiple accounts protected by using a common password as taught by Henry et al. [Henry et al.: abs.].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1) and Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 11 above, and further in view of HASEGAWA (US 2022/0058594 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Ko and Esaki et al. disclose the first biological information.
They do not explicitly disclose the first biological information includes a feature value generated from a face image of the user.
However HASEGAWA teaches the first biological information includes a feature value generated from a face image of the user [par. 0075, “As the biometric information, a fingerprint, an iris, a face image, a voiceprint, a feature value of the fingerprint, the iris, the face image”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of HASEGAWA into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation to perform biometric authentication, based on biometric information and an authentication request being received from an external apparatus, and returns a result of the biometric authentication as taught by HASEGAWA [HASEGAWA: par. 0075].
Claims 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1), Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1) and Sakagami et al. (US 2010/0002250 A1).
Regarding claim 6, it recites limitations like claim 1. The reason for the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Ko and Esaki et al. disclose the authentication system.
They do not explicitly disclose a management server wherein the management server includes at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the first ID and personal information of the user from the user; acquire the third ID by transmitting the service registration request to the authentication server; and store personal information of the user and the third ID in association with each other.
However Sakagami et al. teaches a management server wherein the management server includes at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the first ID and personal information of the user from the user; acquire the third ID by transmitting the service registration request to the authentication server; and store personal information of the user and the third ID in association with each other [par. 0080, “In the managing server 300, user information 310 and use limit information 313 for each individual user are stored in the auxiliary storage unit 34 in advance”, par. 0105, the managing server 300 acquires the use limit information 313 corresponding to the user ID 312, using the use limit information acquiring unit 320... The MFP 200 then controls its operation based on the use limit information 313 so that only one or more of the functions that are allowed to be used by the authenticated user are realized, par. 0203, the managing server 300A in step S3005 allows the user to login. In step S3006, the managing server 300A acquires from the AD server 500A a user ID corresponding to the authenticated IC card identifying information, and registers this user ID in the auxiliary storage unit 34, using the user information registering unit].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Sakagami et al. into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation for user authentication based on biometric information about a user and using managing server for managing user information as taught by Sakagami et al. [Sakagami et al.: abs., par. 0164].
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
It recites limitations similar to claim 2. The reason for the rejection is incorporated herein.
Esaki et al. further teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: receive an authentication request including second biological information of the user [par. 0061, the password referred to when the user performs the log-in process may be biometric authentication information such as the user's fingerprint] and the second ID from the service provider; determine the third ID by using the first and second biological information and the second ID; and transmit the determined third ID to the service provider [par. 0196, the IDP authentication collaborating unit 208 generates an assertion context including the authentication collaboration ID acquired in step S52 and the authentication scheme name of the log-in process performed in step S25, par. 0197, the IDP authentication collaborating unit 208 transmits the authentication collaboration response including the generated authentication assertion 208a and the user ID included in the received authentication collaboration execution request to the service provider device 300 of the transmission source of the authentication collaboration request ].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Esaki et al. into the teaching of Ko with the motivation to providing an authentication collaboration system, an ID provider device, and a program, which are low in the user's burden and capable of deciding whether or not a service can be used without involving a manual operation when account registration and collaboration are executed in the process of the SSO as taught by Esaki et al. [Esaki et al.: par. 0031].
They do not explicitly disclose the management server is further configured to execute the set of instructions to determine personal information of the user by using the third ID acquired by transmitting the authentication request to the authentication server when a service is provided to the user.
Sakagami et al. teaches the management server is further configured to execute the set of instructions to determine personal information of the user by using the third ID acquired by transmitting the authentication request to the authentication server when a service is provided to the user [par. 0105, the managing server 300 acquires the use limit information 313 corresponding to the user ID 312, using the use limit information acquiring unit 320... The MFP 200 then controls its operation based on the use limit information 313 so that only one or more of the functions that are allowed to be used by the authenticated user are realized, par. 0203, the managing server 300A in step S3005 allows the user to login. In step S3006, the managing server 300A acquires from the AD server 500A a user ID corresponding to the authenticated IC card identifying information, and registers this user ID in the auxiliary storage unit 34, using the user information registering unit].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Sakagami et al. into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation for user authentication based on biometric information about a user and using managing server for managing user information as taught by Sakagami et al. [Sakagami et al.: abs., par. 0164].
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated.
Sakagami et al. further teaches an authentication terminal that acquires personal information of the user from the management server by transmitting biological information acquired from the user to the management server and that provides a service to the user by using the acquired personal information [par. 0230, The operating terminal 50 acquires biometric information using the functions of the biometric information reader 210a and the plugin 231. The biometric information is transmitted to the biometric authentication server 400 via the network 600, together with the user ID inputted…, par. 0231, From the operating terminal 50, the IC card identifying information is transmitted to the managing server 300A via the network 600. In the managing server 300A, a user ID corresponding to the IC card identifying information is obtained. The managing server 300A then supplies use limit information corresponding to the obtained user ID to the MFP 200a. Based on the use limit information, operation of the MFP 200a is controlled].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Sakagami et al. into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation for user authentication based on biometric information about a user and using managing server for managing user information as taught by Sakagami et al. [Sakagami et al.: abs., par. 0164].
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Sakagami et al. further teaches the personal information does not include biological information of the user [par. 0229, user information including IC card identifying information, a user ID, and a password].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Sakagami et al. into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation for user authentication based on biometric information about a user and using managing server for managing user information as taught by Sakagami et al. [Sakagami et al.: abs., par. 0164].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1), Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1) and Sakagami et al. (US 2010/0002250 A1) as applied to claims 6-8 and 10 above, and further in view of HASEGAWA (US 2022/0058594 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated.
Ko and Esaki et al. disclose the first biological information.
They do not explicitly disclose the authentication server stores a first feature value generated from a face image of the user as the first biological information, wherein the authentication terminal transmits the face image of the user to the management server, and wherein the management server uses a second feature value generated from the face image as the second biological information.
However HASEGAWA teaches the authentication server stores a first feature value generated from a face image of the user as the first biological information [par. 0075, “The biometric authentication server 40 includes a storage unit, and stores second user registration information in which electronic receipt service-user identification information and biometric information about each user are associated with each other. As the biometric information, a fingerprint, an iris, a face image, a voiceprint, a feature value of the fingerprint, the iris, the face image”], wherein the authentication terminal transmits the face image of the user to the management server, and wherein the management server uses a second feature value generated from the face image as the second biological information [par. 0104, the electronic receipt issuing apparatus 10 includes an acquisition unit 14, an issuing unit 15, and a comparison unit 16, par. 0106, The comparison unit 16 performs biometric authentication that compares the biometric information acquired by the acquisition unit 14 and second user registration information. The second user registration information is information in which electronic receipt service-user identification information and biometric information about each user are associated with each other ].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of HASEGAWA into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al., Grassadonia et al. and Sakagami et al. with the motivation to perform biometric authentication, based on biometric information and an authentication request being received from an external apparatus, and returns a result of the biometric authentication as taught by HASEGAWA [HASEGAWA: par. 0075].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1) and Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 11 above, and further in view of Vysogorets et al. (US 2012/0066757 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Ko and Esaki et al. disclose generate a third ID.
They do not explicitly disclose generating the third ID comprises combining the first ID and the second ID as the combination.
However Vysogorets et al. teaches generating the third ID comprises combining the first ID and the second ID as the combination [par. 0084, “a data container identifier generated using a combination of a user ID and service provider ID”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Vysogorets et al. into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation of generating an access code based on a combination of data related to the authenticated user and data related to the authenticated service provider, and using the access code to access at least some of data storage locations as taught by Vysogorets et al. [Vysogorets et al.: abs.].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 2017/0055146 A1), Esaki et al. (US 2013/0219461 A1) and Grassadonia et al. (US 2016/0125370 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 11 above, and further in view of Tamura (US 9,077,708 B2 B2).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Ko and Esaki et al. disclose generate a third ID.
They do not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to, based on the third ID, process implementation of a second service, other than the service, requested by the user.
However Tamura teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to, based on the third ID, process implementation of a second service, other than the service, requested by the user [claim 1, “for each combination of a service user ID and an identity user ID in the SSO mapping setting information set as part of the single sign-on setting information, the service server provides a user, in the identity tenant and the service tenant and associated with a combination set by the setting unit as part of the single sign-on setting information, to receive access to the service of the service server, even users other than the user associated with the service user ID and the identity user ID who requested the collective users setting of single sign-on”, col. 3, lines 28-35, “when an SSO mapping setting request is accepted from the user, the service A 300 accesses the service B 400 using service B authentication information included in the SSO mapping setting request. If the authentication information is valid, the service B 400 transfers a second ID list 460, which can be acquired by the user authority identified by the authentication information, to the service A 300”].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Tamura into the teaching of Ko, Esaki et al. and Grassadonia et al. with the motivation such that it is possible in which the user accesses the service A, the user access is redirected to the service B via SSO as taught by Tamura [Tamura: col. 4, lines 38-45].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210367936 A1 AUTHENTICATION SYSTEM AND AUTHENTICATION METHOD USING PERSONAL ELECTRONIC IDENTITY GADGETS
US 20190334889 A1 AUTHENTICATION CONTROL DEVICE AND AUTHENTICATION CONTROL METHOD
US 20180145827 A1 METHOD FOR SECURELY TRANSMITTING A SECRET DATA TO A USER OF A TERMINAL
US 20130170717 A1 AUTHENTICATION APPARATUS, AUTHENTICATION PROGRAM, AND METHOD OF AUTHENTICATION
US 20130024919 A1 CLOUD SERVICE AUTHENTICATION
US 20070130343 A1 Means And Method For Generating A Unique User's Identity For Use Between Different Domains
US 7202773 B1 Authentication Information Communication System And Method, Portable Information Processing Device And Program Furnishing Medium
/JASON CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431