DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 19/211,711, filed on 05/19/2025. Claims 1-23 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-23 have been rejected as follow,
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner interprets a “parking payment platform” as a system according with the specification. See at least “[0007] In another aspect, disclosed herein are parking payment platforms comprising: at least one mobile processor configured to provide a mobile payment application comprising a software module executing a mobile payment for parking in a parking space; and a multispace parking pay station comprising: a software module receiving a unique identifier associated with a parking customer, the parking customer having executed a mobile payment for parking in a space associated with the pay station via the mobile payment application; a software module transmitting the unique identifier to a central parking management server and querying the central parking management server with the unique identifier to identify the parking customer and verify the mobile payment; a software module determining an advertisement appropriate for the parking customer; and a software module generating and sending instructions to the printer to print a payment verification for the user, the payment verification comprising the advertisement. In some cases, the parking pay station further comprises a scanner integrated with the parking payment platform….”, paragraph 7. “[0008] In yet another aspect, disclosed herein are parking payment platforms comprising: a central parking management server configured to provide a parking payment application comprising a software module allowing a parking customer to create an account and associate one or more license plates with the account; …”, paragraph 8. “[0011] In still yet another aspect, disclosed herein are payment platforms comprising: at least one mobile processor configured to provide a mobile payment application comprising a software module executing a mobile payment for an admission; and a pay station comprising: a software module….”, paragraph 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). Examiner’s analysis is presented below in the claims.
Claim 1: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system, (a parking payment platform).
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of “generating a unique identifier associated in a central parking management system with parking information, the parking information comprising: user account identification, parking space identification, parking time, vehicle identification, and payment information; and determining a payment based at least in part on the parking information; and executing the payment; and generating a verification”.
The “ generating, determining, executing “ limitations, as drafted, are directed to a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The system for parking payment management.Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as, “providing ….[data]…. allowing a user to configure a user account, the user account comprising a user profile; receiving, …. the unique identifier; 11. transmitting, …. the unique identifier to the central parking management system to retrieve the parking information”. These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data).
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure: “A parking payment platform comprising: [AltContent: ]at least one processor configured to perform mobile management operations; an interface; “identifier associated in a central parking management system”; “a parking meter comprising a sensor, a communications element, and at least one processor configured to perform meter operations; by the sensor, by the communications element”. All these elements are recited in a very generic way.
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the elements above are anything other than generic computer components . The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the supplementary or additional elements in the claim “A parking payment platform comprising: [AltContent: ]at least one processor configured to perform mobile management operations; an interface; “identifier associated in a central parking management system”; “a parking meter comprising a sensor, a communications element, and at least one processor configured to perform meter operations; by the sensor, by the communications element”.
amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Here, the limitations:
“providing ….[data]…. allowing a user to configure a user account, the user account comprising a user profile; receiving, …. the unique identifier; 11. transmitting, …. the unique identifier to the central parking management system to retrieve the parking information”. These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data). These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data). Accessing or receiving data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the elements
“A parking payment platform comprising: [AltContent: ]at least one processor configured to perform mobile management operations; an interface; “identifier associated in a central parking management system”; “a parking meter comprising a sensor, a communications element, and at least one processor configured to perform meter operations; by the sensor, by the communications element”, are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); and v. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely computer receives and sends information over a network and presenting or displaying information, is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the
“A parking payment platform comprising: [AltContent: ]at least one processor configured to perform mobile management operations; an interface; “identifier associated in a central parking management system”; “a parking meter comprising a sensor, a communications element, and at least one processor configured to perform meter operations; by the sensor, by the communications element”, limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 22: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-21 and 23, the claims recite elements such as “ wherein the parking meter is associated with a single parking space”, etc.. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20170323227 (Sadeghi) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20090177580 (Lowenthal).
As to claims 1 and 22, Sadeghi discloses a parking payment (Fig. 1 and paragraph 2) platform comprising:
[AltContent: ]a) at least one processor configured to perform mobile management operations comprising:
i. [AltContent: ]providing an interface allowing a user to configure a user account, the user account comprising a user profile;
(Sadeghi discloses “[0036] FIGS. 6A-6L are exemplary screenshots of a mobile application (app) in accordance with the present invention”, paragraph 36.
“0113] In certain embodiments, payment is processed via an online account. The online account allows customers to link various forms of online payment (credit cards, debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay, Android Pay, bank account or crypto currency such as bit-coins, etc.) to their account. This information can be used to both add a balance to the account in the form of “parking credit” or used on a pay-as-you-go basis. Upon registration, contact information for the user (e.g., name, address, phone number, or email address) and vehicle information (e.g., make, model, or license plate number) may be gathered”, paragraph 113 );
and ii. generating a unique identifier associated in a central parking management system with parking information, the parking information comprising: user account identification, parking space identification, parking time, vehicle identification, and payment information; and
(see “[0018] As a further aspect of the invention, the backend server is configured to initiate a timer having a predetermined amount of time when a parking space becomes occupied”, paragraph 18.
“…The embodiments of the present invention improves the safety of the navigation systems within the autonomous vehicles and also assist in finding parking, routing to the parking space and handling of payments directly through the vehicles autonomously..”, paragraph 65 and “[0074] In a variation, a user without an account may use the smart parking meter in accordance with the present invention by presenting a payment card 500 directly to the sensor…..”, paragraph 74.
“0075] The system further includes a unique ID tag 600 that may be issued when a user registers an account in anticipation of using a smart parking meter of the present invention. In certain embodiments, the unique ID tag 600 is placed within the vehicle and once the vehicle enters the parking spot, the meter senses the presence of the tag to verify the identity of the vehicle. In one version, detection of the tag initiates an auto-login of the associated parking meter. In other embodiments, the unique ID tag 600 is presented at a smart parking meter to be scanned by the meter's sensing unit as a log-in method. FIG. 1 further schematically shows a vehicle 700. As discussed herein, in certain embodiments the make, model, color, and/or license plate (and other characteristics) are identified from the images taken by the parking meter associated with the parking spot that vehicle 700 has parked in”, paragraph 75.
“the ID of the smart parking meter”, paragraph114);
b) a parking meter comprising a sensor, a communications element, and at least one processor configured to perform meter operations (“A parking space management system comprising a plurality of parking meters and a backend server. Each of the parking meters includes a respective main body, processor, sensor and transceiver….”, abstract and Figs. 1-2 and associated disclosure) comprising:
i) . receiving, by the sensor, the unique identifier;
(“…the smart parking meter in accordance with the present invention by presenting a payment card 500 directly to the sensor…”, paragraph 74.
“0075] The system further includes a unique ID tag 600 that may be issued when a user registers an account in anticipation of using a smart parking meter of the present invention. In certain embodiments, the unique ID tag 600 is placed within the vehicle and once the vehicle enters the parking spot, the meter senses the presence of the tag to verify the identity of the vehicle….”, paragraph 75);
ii) transmitting, by the communications element, the unique identifier to the central parking management system to retrieve the parking information;
(“In certain embodiments, the processor 240 may run a program that queries the status of a parking spot from a database in the cloud server …”, paragraph 58 and paragraph 75);
iii) [determining a payment based ] at least in part on the parking information;
(“V. Payment Processing”, paragraphs 110-114);
iv) executing the payment; and
(“… a plurality of smart parking meters sense visual information of their surroundings and these information may be gathered at the backend server 100 where they are used to construct a detailed three-dimensional deep (depth) map of the streets or the surrounding. … The embodiments of the present invention improves the safety of the navigation systems within the autonomous vehicles and also assist in finding parking, routing to the parking space and handling of payments directly through the vehicles autonomously”, paragraphs 65.
“072] When a user creates an account via either the desktop computer 300 or the mobile device 400 to use a smart parking meter in accordance with the present invention, the account creation process generally includes several operations. For example, the user may be required to identify a bank account, a debit card, a credit card or other payment mechanism to enable automated charging by the user”, paragraphs 72-74. See also Fig. 4 and associated disclosure);
v) generating a verification.
(“5. The parking space management system of claim 4, wherein the backend server is configured to disable a processing of a payment for parking in the reserved parking space when it is determined [Examiner interprets as generating a verification] that a vehicle different than the vehicle identified by the vehicle identification information has entered the reserved parking space”, claim 5).
Sadeghi does not expressly disclose but Lowenthal discloses
determining a payment
(“…the server stores: consumer profiles (including account information for payment); utility company power grid load data (updated in real time by the utility company); electricity consumption data that may be required for government tax purposes; and tax rate information received from tax authorities to allow an electric vehicle power consumption tax to be calculated….”, paragraph 21.
“A vehicle user 160 can use the network-controlled charge transfer systems 100 and 200 for charging their electric vehicle 150. A vehicle user 160 who has a user profile on the server 140 is referred to as a subscriber. Some examples of how the systems 100 and 200 can be used are provided below.”, paragraphs 61-69 and paragraphs 71-75
“The server also collects data regarding the geographical location of each electrical receptacle 110 and/or payment station 135. The location data may be permanently stored on the server 140, or may be provided when an electrical receptacle controller 111 or a payment station controller 1351 contacts the server 140 to request a charge transfer. From the geographical location of the electrical receptacle 110 or payment station 135 and the geographical tax rate data, an applicable tax rate can be calculated for any charge transfer. Applicable tax rates may either be calculated at the time a request for a charge transfer is received by the server 140, or be calculated in advance and stored on the server 140….”, emphasis calculations paragraph 89).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lowenthal’s teaching with the teaching of Sadeghi. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to calculate payment in order to determining detailed payment and consumption tax (see Lowenthal abstract).
As to claim 22, it comprises the same limitations than claim 1 above, therefore is rejected in similar manner.
As to claims 2 and 3, Sadeghi discloses
wherein the parking meter is associated with a single parking space.
Claim 2:
(“…Each of the parking meters includes a respective main body, processor, sensor and transceiver. The sensor is configured to sense visual information relating to one or more parking spaces associated with the respective parking meter ….”, abstract and paragraph 7);
Claim 3:
wherein the parking meter is associated with 2 to 400 parking spaces (abstract and paragraph 7).
As to claims 4, 5, 6 and 7, Sadeghi discloses
Claim 4:
wherein the unique identifier comprises a barcode
(“…the user's mobile device and its onboard camera can be used to scan the ID of the smart parking meter (e.g., QR code, barcode or number sequence), or the ID can be entered by the user in a text field on the app manually…”, paragraph 114.
“…The Merchant Pay program is available for a participating merchant to pay for the parking of its patron at the point of sale. This may be done by the patron scanning a visual (barcode, QR code, etc.) or a non-visual marker (NFC tag, RFID tag, etc.) at the point of sale…”, paragraph 124).
Claim 5:
wherein the barcode comprises a linear barcode (paragraphs 114 and 124).
Claim 6:
wherein the barcode comprises a two-dimensional barcode (QR code, paragraph 124).
Claim 7:
wherein the two-dimensional barcode comprises a quick response (QR) code (paragraph 124).
As to claims 10 and 11, Sadeghi discloses
Claim 10:
wherein the sensor comprises: an optical scanner, a camera, a near field communication (NFC) reader, a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader, a Bluetooth radio, or a combination thereof
(“…Each of the parking meters includes a respective main body, processor, sensor and transceiver. The sensor is configured to sense visual information relating to one or more parking spaces associated with the respective parking meter and the transceiver is configured to externally transmit the sensed visual information. …”, abstract, paragraphs 7, 51, 54-55 and 110).
Claim 11:
wherein the communications element is a wireless communications element
(“0064] In further accordance with the present invention, the smart parking meter 200 communicates wirelessly with the backend server 100 via a communication unit 250. The communication unit 250 may be a transceiver forming a two-way communication network such as a GSM, GPRS, WiFi, Bluetooth or free space optical communication network with other smart parking meters and other various entities described herein and communicates real-time information and updates as needed over time. The term “transceiver” as described herein may refer to a single device having the capability of both transmitting and receiving data wirelessly. In some instances, the term “transceiver” may be a combination of one or more transmitters and one or more receivers operating in conjunction to provide the two-way communication network….”, paragraph 64).
As to claim 12, Sadeghi discloses
wherein the payment verification comprises a receipt, an expense report, or a replacement receipt
(“[0084] In certain embodiments, upon receipt of payment, a timer is initiated in the event the parking spot has a parking time limit (e.g., a 2-hour parking limit…”, paragraph 84 and “… Notifications may also be sent to the user with the details of the transaction as a receipt for payment….”, paragraph 88).
As to claims 13 and 14, Sadeghi does not disclose but Lowenthal discloses
wherein the parking meter further comprises a printer
(Lowenthal discloses a payment station 135 in Figs. 2 and 6, with a printer 1355. Further, “…The printer 1355 is used for printing receipts, when requested by
the consumer. The printer 1355 may also be used to print receipts for displaying in the electric vehicle 150 to show that recharging and/or parking is properly permitted….”, paragraph 59).
wherein the meter operations further comprise generating and sending instructions to the printer to print the verification (paragraph 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lowenthat’s teaching with the teaching of Sadeghi. One would have been motivated to provide technical ability
to combine the elements as claimed and the results of the combination are predictable, consequently, known variations or principles would meet the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art and the implementation would have been predictable (see for example “…code can also be generated on-screen via a special feature on a business-version of the mobile app on the merchant's desktop, mobile device, or terminal, or through any other device producing print and/or digital copies….”, Sadeghi paragraph 124).
As to claim 15, Sadeghi discloses
wherein the verification is utilized
(“[0075] The system further includes a unique ID tag 600 that may be issued when a user registers an account in anticipation of using a smart parking meter of the present invention. In certain embodiments, the unique ID tag 600 is placed within the vehicle and once the vehicle enters the parking spot, the meter senses the presence of the tag to verify the identity of the vehicle…”, paragraph 75).
Sadeghi does not expressly disclose but Lowenthal discloses
utilized in a pay-and-display parking regime
“…The printer 1355 may also be used to print receipts for displaying in the electric vehicle 150 to show that recharging and/or parking is properly permitted. ..”, paragraph 59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lowenthat’s teaching with the teaching of Sadeghi. One would have been motivated to provide capability to verify parking payment in order to facilitate parking.
As to claims 16, 17 and 18, Sadeghi discloses
Claim 16:
wherein the meter operations further comprise determining an advertisement and or a coupon for the user.
(“…[0125] Yet another feature made available in accordance with the present invention is geo-location advertising. In certain embodiments, when a user is using the mobile app to navigate to a selected parking space, a targeted advertisement may be presented to the user upon arrival. …”, paragraph 125);
Claim 17:
wherein the advertisement and or a coupon is determined based, at least in part, by an identity of the user, a parking history of the user, a transaction history of the user, a location of the parking meter, a time of day, a day of the week, one or more current promotions offered by nearby vendors, or a combination thereof.
(“…[0004] The meters, in addition to having a mechanism for sorting coins, are now more recently accepting card payments and mobile app-based purchases ….”, paragraph 4 and “…The advertisement is considered as “targeted” since the advertisement is directly provided to the right person, at the right time and at the right location. The process for “targeting” may vary across different embodiments. In certain embodiments, the advertisement of a retailer having the closest physical location (i.e., within a few minutes of walking distance) to the reserved parking space is presented…”, see at least paragraph 126. See also paragraph 125).
Claim 18:
wherein the advertisement is presented on the verification, presented on a display of the parking meter, or presented on a display of a user device.
(“[0008] As an aspect of the invention, the backend server is configured to establish the reservation upon receipt of a request for a reservation transmitted from an external device….”, paragraph 8.
“…The process for “targeting” may vary across different embodiments. In certain embodiments, the advertisement of a retailer having the closest physical location (i.e., within a few minutes of walking distance) to the reserved parking space is presented….”, paragraph 126).
As to claims 19 and 20, Sadeghi discloses
Claim 19:
wherein the management operation further comprise providing an interface allowing the user to generate the unique identifier
(“…the user's mobile device and its onboard camera can be used to scan the ID of the smart parking meter (e.g., QR code, barcode or number sequence), or the ID can be entered by the user in a text field on the app manually. In one version, a unique code can be generated by the user's mobile device for each transaction, and then presented by the user to the smart parking meter to be scanned….”, paragraph 114).
Claim 20:
wherein the interface allowing a user to configure a user account enables the user to enter a plurality of vehicle identifications, and wherein the interface allowing the user to generate the unique identifier enables the user to select a vehicle identification from the plurality of vehicle identifications
(“[0113] In certain embodiments, payment is processed via an online account. The online account allows customers to link various forms of online payment (credit cards, debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay, Android Pay, bank account or crypto currency such as bit-coins, etc.) to their account. This information can be used to both add a balance to the account in the form of “parking credit” or used on a pay-as-you-go basis. Upon registration, contact information for the user (e.g., name, address, phone number, or email address) and vehicle information (e.g., make, model, or license plate number) may be gathered. Each motorist is then issued a unique tag with every vehicle that is registered with the account. The tag can be kept in the vehicle and be used as a form of login mechanism at the smart parking meter by having the sensor read the tag information”, paragraph 113).
As to claim 21, Sadeghi does not disclose
wherein the interface allowing a user to configure a user account enables the user to associate an alias with each vehicle identification.
But from the teaching of Sadeghi of associating data elements with the vehicle identification such as various forms of online payment, contact information for the user and vehicle information in paragraph 113. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate another data elements such as an alias associated with a vehicle in order to facilitate parking process through the creation of unique tag with alias for every vehicle “Each motorist is then issued a unique tag with every vehicle that is registered with the account” (see Sadeghi paragraph 113).
As to claim 23, Sadeghi discloses
wherein the user account and/or the user profile comprises one or more of: a user identity, a name, a user ID, a user account number, a username, a password, a user address, one or more payment methods, a preferred payment method, a preferred payment type, credit card information, bank account information, a transaction history, a payment balance, one or more frequently used parking pay stations, one or more frequent parking locations regions, one or more frequently used parking lots, one or more vehicles, one or more license plates, one or more VIN numbers, one or more vehicle years, one or more vehicle models, one or more vehicle makes, one or more vehicle colors, and a parking history.
(“[0072] When a user creates an account via either the desktop computer 300 or the mobile device 400 to use a smart parking meter in accordance with the present invention, the account creation process generally includes several operations. For example, the user may be required to identify a bank account, a debit card, a credit card or other payment mechanism to enable automated charging by the user.”, paragraph 72.
“[0075] The system further includes a unique ID tag 600 that may be issued when a user registers an account in anticipation of using a smart parking meter of the present invention. In certain embodiments, the unique ID tag 600 is placed within the vehicle and once the vehicle enters the parking spot, the meter senses the presence of the tag to verify the identity of the vehicle….”, paragraph 75.
“…creating an account using an email address or other social media account, creating login credentials, and associating a debit/credit card,…”, paragraph 100.
“[0113] In certain embodiments, payment is processed via an online account. The online account allows customers to link various forms of online payment (credit cards, debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay, Android Pay, bank account or crypto currency such as bit-coins, etc.) to their account. This information can be used to both add a balance to the account in the form of “parking credit” or used on a pay-as-you-go basis. Upon registration, contact information for the user (e.g., name, address, phone number, or email address) and vehicle information (e.g., make, model, or license plate number) may be gathered….”, paragraph 113).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG. Pub. No. 20170323227 (Sadeghi) in view of US PG. Pub. No. 20090177580 (Lowenthal) and in view of US PG. Pub. 20130262275 (Outwater).
As to claims 8 and 9, Sadeghi does not disclose but Outwater discloses
wherein the unique identifier or the user profile comprises biological identification information
(“[0006] With the advent of biometrics to authenticate access to mobile devices (e.g., the Atrix 4G, a smartphone with a built-in fingerprint scanner, manufactured by Motorola Mobility of Libertyville, Ill., a company since acquired by Google, Inc., of Menlo Park, Calif.) many people around the world will be able to securely access money, goods, and services through applications running on their mobile, wireless communication devices. These devices will be tied to the customer in various ways, including a personal identification number (PIN), which adds a level of security in addition to biometrics. …”, paragraph 6.
“[0033] FIG. 3 is a flow chart of an embodiment of a reservation process 300 of a method for providing Internet-based license plate registration, parking reservation, and additional transactions elements for access to goods and services, in accordance with various embodiments. A user begins the process 310 by providing a license plate number 311 as an identifier. Other identifiers can be added at 311, such as a smart phone number and a PIN and a special phrase and a voice pattern, or other biometric values, such as a fingerprint…”, paragraph 33 and Fig. 3).
wherein the biological identification information comprises facial biometric data, retinal biometric data, finger print biometric data, palm print biometric data, or a combination thereof
(“15. The method of claim 14 wherein said biometric authentication includes a fingerprint.”, claim 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Outwater’s teaching with the teaching of Sadeghi. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to accept
Biological data in order to facilitate parking (see Outwater claims 14-16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Implementation of RFID Technology in Parking Lot Access Control System”. IEEE. 2008. “Parking plays an important role in the traffic system since all vehicles require a storage location when they are not being used to transport passengers. Whether it is a parking lot or on-street parking there is a problem of parking revenue convenience. Implementation of the RFID technology could be a good solution for this problem.”
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621 6/26/2026