DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 2, it is suggested that “slopping” be changed to “sloping”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (2023/0302994; see: Provisional application No. 63/260,884) in view of Bauer et al. (2009/0096937).
With respect to claims 1-8 and 12-20, Miller teaches a rearview mirror assembly (10) comprising: a housing (12); a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 20 and Fig. 3) located in the housing (Figs. 1-3); a monitoring system comprising: an image capturing module (18); an illumination source (26) connected to the PCB (paragraph 20 and Fig. 3) [claim 1].
Miller does not explicitly teach an optical element aligned with the illumination source including a first major surface facing the illumination source and a second major surface facing away from the illumination source, and a plurality of wedges on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (claim 1); wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch and two or more of the plurality of wedges include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches (claim 2); wherein the plurality of wedges are only located on the one of the first major surface and the second major surface (claim 3); wherein the plurality of wedges are located on the first major surface (claim 4); wherein the plurality of wedges includes a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface (claim 5); wherein the first plurality of wedges extend transversely to the second plurality of wedges (claim 6); wherein the first plurality of wedges are arranged in at least one of a vertical or horizontal orientation for directing the illumination in a first direction and the second plurality of wedges are arranged perpendicular to the first plurality of wedges on the first major surface for directing the illumination in a second direction that is different than the first direction (claim 7); wherein the plurality of wedges include each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch and the first plurality of wedges include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches than the second plurality of wedges (claim 8); a plurality of wedges arranged in a tower-grid pattern on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (claim 12); wherein the optical element defines an outer perimeter and the tower-grid pattern includes a plurality of rows and columns of wedges (claim 13); wherein the tower-grid pattern extends substantially across the entire outer perimeter (claim 14); wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face extending to an apex (claim 15); wherein the apex of each of the plurality of wedges are oriented in the same direction (claim 16); wherein two or more slanted faces of the plurality of wedges slope at different pitches (claim 17); wherein the optical element defines a thickness that tapers between opposite sides of the optical element (claim 18); an optical element spaced from and aligned with the illumination source and coupled directly to the PCB with a connection body, the optical element configured to redirect an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (claim 19); wherein the optical element includes a first major surface facing the illumination source and a second major surface facing away from the illumination source, and a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source (claim 20).
As for claim 1, Bauer also drawn to rearview mirror assemblies, teaches an optical element (114) aligned with the illumination source (116) including a first major surface (bottom surface of 114) facing the illumination source and a second major surface (top surface of 114) facing away from the illumination source (Figs. 2-3B), and a plurality of wedges (prisms on item 114 and/or 113) on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (paragraph 114).
As for claim 2, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges (prisms on 114) each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch (Fig. 3B) and two or more of the plurality of wedges include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches (see: prisms pitched to the left and pitched to the right in Fig. 3B).
As for claim 3, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges are only located on the one of the first major surface (Fig. 3B) and the second major surface.
As for claim 4, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges are located on the first major surface (Fig. 3B).
As for claim 5, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges (prisms on item 114 AND 113) includes a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface (Fig. 3B).
As for claim 6, Bauer teaches wherein the first plurality of wedges extend transversely to the second plurality of wedges (paragraph 114).
As for claim 7, Bauer teaches wherein the first plurality of wedges (prisms on 114) are arranged in at least one of a vertical (circular faces have vertical orientation in Fig. 3B) or horizontal orientation for directing the illumination in a first direction and the second plurality of wedges (113) are arranged perpendicular to the first plurality of wedges on the first major surface for directing the illumination in a second direction that is different than the first direction (paragraph 114).
As for claim 8, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges include each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch and the first plurality of wedges (circular prisms on 114) include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches (*note that even if the absolute value of the slope is the same, the actual value of the slope will be adjusting along the circular prisms from positive slope to a zero slope to a negative slope) than the second plurality of wedges (horizontal prisms on 113).
As for claim 12, Bauer teaches a plurality of wedges arranged in a tower-grid pattern (Figs. 4A-4B; paragraph 122) on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (Figs. 4A-4B).
As for claim 13, Bauer teaches wherein the optical element defines an outer perimeter and the tower-grid pattern includes a plurality of rows and columns of wedges (Figs. 4A-4B).
As for claim 14, Bauer teaches wherein the tower-grid pattern extends substantially across the entire outer perimeter (Fig. 4A).
As for claim 15, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face extending to an apex (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 16, Bauer teaches wherein the apex of each of the plurality of wedges are oriented in the same direction (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 17, Bauer teaches wherein two or more slanted faces of the plurality of wedges slope at different pitches (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 18, Bauer teaches wherein the optical element defines a thickness that tapers between opposite sides of the optical element (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 19, Bauer teaches an optical element spaced from and aligned with the illumination source and coupled directly to the PCB with a connection body, the optical element configured to redirect an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (Fig. 3B).
As for claim 20. The rearview mirror assembly of claim 19, wherein the optical element includes a first major surface facing the illumination source and a second major surface facing away from the illumination source, and a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source (Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the optical element of Bauer in the rearview mirror of Miller, in order to provide a uniform light output (paragraph 122 of Bauer).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,560 in view of Bauer.
With respect to claims 1-8 and 12-20, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,560 teaches a rearview mirror assembly comprising: a housing; a printed circuit board (PCB) located in the housing; a monitoring system comprising: an image capturing module; an illumination source connected to the PCB [claim 1].
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,560 does not explicitly teach an optical element aligned with the illumination source including a first major surface facing the illumination source and a second major surface facing away from the illumination source, and a plurality of wedges on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (claim 1); wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch and two or more of the plurality of wedges include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches (claim 2); wherein the plurality of wedges are only located on the one of the first major surface and the second major surface (claim 3); wherein the plurality of wedges are located on the first major surface (claim 4); wherein the plurality of wedges includes a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface (claim 5); wherein the first plurality of wedges extend transversely to the second plurality of wedges (claim 6); wherein the first plurality of wedges are arranged in at least one of a vertical or horizontal orientation for directing the illumination in a first direction and the second plurality of wedges are arranged perpendicular to the first plurality of wedges on the first major surface for directing the illumination in a second direction that is different than the first direction (claim 7); wherein the plurality of wedges include each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch and the first plurality of wedges include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches than the second plurality of wedges (claim 8); a plurality of wedges arranged in a tower-grid pattern on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (claim 12); wherein the optical element defines an outer perimeter and the tower-grid pattern includes a plurality of rows and columns of wedges (claim 13); wherein the tower-grid pattern extends substantially across the entire outer perimeter (claim 14); wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face extending to an apex (claim 15); wherein the apex of each of the plurality of wedges are oriented in the same direction (claim 16); wherein two or more slanted faces of the plurality of wedges slope at different pitches (claim 17); wherein the optical element defines a thickness that tapers between opposite sides of the optical element (claim 18); an optical element spaced from and aligned with the illumination source and coupled directly to the PCB with a connection body, the optical element configured to redirect an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (claim 19); wherein the optical element includes a first major surface facing the illumination source and a second major surface facing away from the illumination source, and a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source (claim 20).
As for claim 1, Bauer also drawn to rearview mirror assemblies, teaches an optical element (114) aligned with the illumination source (116) including a first major surface (bottom surface of 114) facing the illumination source and a second major surface (top surface of 114) facing away from the illumination source (Figs. 2-3B), and a plurality of wedges (prisms on item 114 and/or 113) on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (paragraph 114).
As for claim 2, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges (prisms on 114) each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch (Fig. 3B) and two or more of the plurality of wedges include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches (see: prisms pitched to the left and pitched to the right in Fig. 3B).
As for claim 3, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges are only located on the one of the first major surface (Fig. 3B) and the second major surface.
As for claim 4, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges are located on the first major surface (Fig. 3B).
As for claim 5, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges (prisms on item 114 AND 113) includes a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface (Fig. 3B).
As for claim 6, Bauer teaches wherein the first plurality of wedges extend transversely to the second plurality of wedges (paragraph 114).
As for claim 7, Bauer teaches wherein the first plurality of wedges (prisms on 114) are arranged in at least one of a vertical (circular faces have vertical orientation in Fig. 3B) or horizontal orientation for directing the illumination in a first direction and the second plurality of wedges (113) are arranged perpendicular to the first plurality of wedges on the first major surface for directing the illumination in a second direction that is different than the first direction (paragraph 114).
As for claim 8, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges include each include a slanted face slopping to define a pitch and the first plurality of wedges (circular prisms on 114) include slanted faces slopping to define different pitches (*note that even if the absolute value of the slope is the same, the actual value of the slope will be adjusting along the circular prisms from positive slope to a zero slope to a negative slope) than the second plurality of wedges (horizontal prisms on 113).
As for claim 12, Bauer teaches a plurality of wedges arranged in a tower-grid pattern (Figs. 4A-4B; paragraph 122) on at least one of the first major surface and the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (Figs. 4A-4B).
As for claim 13, Bauer teaches wherein the optical element defines an outer perimeter and the tower-grid pattern includes a plurality of rows and columns of wedges (Figs. 4A-4B).
As for claim 14, Bauer teaches wherein the tower-grid pattern extends substantially across the entire outer perimeter (Fig. 4A).
As for claim 15, Bauer teaches wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face extending to an apex (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 16, Bauer teaches wherein the apex of each of the plurality of wedges are oriented in the same direction (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 17, Bauer teaches wherein two or more slanted faces of the plurality of wedges slope at different pitches (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 18, Bauer teaches wherein the optical element defines a thickness that tapers between opposite sides of the optical element (Fig. 4B).
As for claim 19, Bauer teaches an optical element spaced from and aligned with the illumination source and coupled directly to the PCB with a connection body, the optical element configured to redirect an illumination from the illumination source toward a desired position in an automobile (Fig. 3B).
As for claim 20. The rearview mirror assembly of claim 19, wherein the optical element includes a first major surface facing the illumination source and a second major surface facing away from the illumination source, and a first plurality of wedges on the first major surface and a second plurality of wedges on the second major surface to redirect and spread an illumination from the illumination source (Fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the optical element of Bauer in the rearview mirror of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,560, in order to provide a uniform light output (paragraph 122 of Bauer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 9-11, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the plurality of wedges each include a slanted face slopping from an apex in a first direction to define a pitch and a taper along a second direction that is different than the first direction to define a reduction in thickness of the optical element in the second direction; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1 and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huizen et al. (11,639,134)
Lee et al. (2018/0329210)
Fish, Jr. et al. (9,505,349)
/WILLIAM J CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 11/19/2025