DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘fluid openings’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,303,151. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 10 under examination are anticipated, respectively, by claims 1 and 10 of the reference patent. Every limitation in the application under examination is recited in the conflicting reference patent claims and the differences between the claims are highlight below by bolding all limitations that differ and having explanations in parentheses. As shown in the mapping below, claim 1 of the reference patent includes all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application, while also reciting further limitations.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,303,151
1. An aspiration medical device, comprising: a catheter shaft having an aspiration lumen defined therein; an aspiration member disposed within the aspiration lumen, the aspiration member having a plurality of fluid openings formed therein; wherein at least one of the plurality of fluid openings is angled proximally; and a wall support region disposed along the catheter shaft at a position opposite at least one of the plurality of fluid openings, the wall support region being configured to support the integrity of the catheter shaft when fluid is passed through the plurality of fluid openings.
1. An aspiration medical device, comprising: a catheter shaft having a distal end region and defining an inflow orifice adjacent to the distal end region (does not affect the ability of fluid being passed through the fluid openings and angled proximally); an aspiration member disposed within the catheter shaft, the aspiration member having a plurality of fluid openings formed therein; and a wall support member disposed along an inner surface of the catheter shaft at a position opposite at least one of the fluid openings (the wall support on the inner surface is capable of supporting the catheter shaft when fluid is pass therethrough due to enhanced strength, resistance and load-bearing capacity).
2. The aspiration medical device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of fluid openings is angled proximally.
10. A medical device, comprising: a catheter shaft having an aspiration lumen defined therein; a fluid infusion tube disposed within the aspiration lumen, the fluid infusion tube having a first fluid opening formed therein and a second fluid opening formed therein that is axially spaced from the first fluid opening; and wherein the catheter shaft includes a support region extending along a position opposite the first fluid opening, the support region being configured to support the catheter shaft when fluid is passed through the first fluid opening.
10. A medical device, comprising: a catheter shaft having a distal end region and defining an inflow orifice adjacent to the distal end region; a fluid infusion tube disposed within the catheter shaft (a lumen is defined by the catheter shaft), the fluid infusion tube having a plurality of axially-spaced openings formed therein; and a support member disposed within the catheter shaft, the support member having a wall support region disposed along an inner surface of the catheter shaft at a position opposite at least one of the axially-spaced openings (the wall support on the inner surface is capable of supporting the catheter shaft when fluid is pass therethrough due to enhanced strength, resistance and load-bearing capacity).
11. The medical device of claim 10, wherein the first fluid opening is angled proximally.
11. The medical device of claim 10, wherein at least one of the plurality of axially-spaced openings is angled proximally.
12. The medical device of claim 10, wherein the first fluid opening is oriented in a direction that is substantially normal to a longitudinal axis of the fluid infusion tube.
12. The medical device of claim 10, wherein at least one of the plurality of axially-spaced openings is oriented in a direction that is substantially normal to a longitudinal axis of the fluid infusion tube.
13. The medical device of claim 10, wherein the first fluid opening is angled proximally and wherein the second fluid opening is oriented in a direction that is substantially normal to a longitudinal axis of the fluid infusion tube.
13. The medical device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of axially-spaced openings includes a first opening and a second opening disposed distally of the first opening, wherein the first opening is angled proximally, and wherein the second opening is oriented in a direction that is substantially normal to a longitudinal axis of the fluid infusion tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanson et al. (US 2019/0209745A1, “Hanson”).
Regarding claim 1, 10, 11, and 19, Hanson discloses an aspiration medical device including a catheter shaft (12; Fig. 1) having a distal end region. The catheter shaft includes an open distal end [0014, 0057] and an outflow orifice (24) disposed proximally of the open distal end [0005, 0045] an aspiration lumen (129; Fig. 4) defined therein. An aspiration member/fluid infusion tube (128; Fig. 4, 11) is disposed within the aspiration lumen. The aspiration member has a plurality of fluid openings/axially-spaced fluid jets (138; second opening/fluid jet disposed distally of first opening/fluid jet) formed therein. At least one of the plurality of fluid openings is angled proximally (Fig. 4). A wall support region/reinforcement (840; Fig. 11) is disposed along the catheter shaft at a position opposite at least one of the plurality of fluid openings. The wall support region/reinforcement is capable of supporting the integrity of the catheter shaft when fluid is passed through the plurality of fluid openings/fluid jets.
Regarding claim 7, Hanson discloses that the aspiration member has a closed distal end (Fig. 4, 11).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Hanson discloses that the catheter shaft has an open distal end (Fig. 7; [0014, 0057]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Hanson discloses that at least some of the plurality of fluid openings (first and second fluid openings) are circumferentially offset from one another [0011].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 14-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shmulewitz et al. (US 6,569,145) discloses a device including a catheter shaft, a fluid infusion tube and a plurality of fluid openings.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771