DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 5 of claim 18, “a -container” should read “a container” to fix a minor typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 14-15, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Askarinya et al. (US 8,979,799; hereafter Askarinya).
In regard to claim 1, Askarinya discloses an-body drug delivery device (192), comprising: a container (1070 and 1306 in combination with 1100 and 1312; these numbers refer to the same structure; see at least col. 14, lines 54-67 and col. 15, line 17-col. 16, line 49; the pressurized reservoir feeds the bolus reservoirs; in combination they are considered the container) configured to store a liquid drug, wherein the container is user fillable (via fill port 1050 and 1304; again these numbers refer to the same structure; see at least col. 13, lines 17-19 and col. 15, lines 27- col. 16, line 49); a drive component (1110) configured to expel at least a portion of the liquid drug from the container (see col. 14, lines 54-67), wherein the at least a portion of the liquid drug is less than all of the liquid drug stored in the container (the bolus reservoir delivers a bolus which is less than all of the liquid in the container for basal delivery); a housing (1010) to cover at least one of the container or the drive component, wherein the housing includes a top portion having a patient interaction component (1030) (shown at least in Fig. 28), wherein the patient interaction component is a push button (see at least col. 13, lines 20-43), and wherein the drive component is configured to be responsive to actuation of the patient interaction component (see col. 14, lines 54-67).
The on-body injector is highlighted for illustrative purposes. The examiner also notes that the on-body injector 1900 includes similar features and reads on the claims as well. Applicant is encouraged to consider embodiment 1900 if responding with arguments and amendments.
In regard to claim 3, Askarinya discloses wherein the patient interaction component is further operable to activate the drug delivery device (see col. 14, lines 54-67; pushing the bolus button 1030 to deliver a bolus is activating the drug delivery device).
In regard to claim 4, Askarinya discloses wherein the patient interaction component (1030) is operable to: start, stop, and/or restart the flow of the liquid drug from the container for delivery of the liquid drug to the patient to enable the patient to dispense multiple doses of the liquid drug (the bolus button can be pushed to administer boluses multiple times).
In regard to claim 5, Askarinya discloses wherein the drive component is operable to: deliver a bolus of the liquid drug in response to actuation of the patient interaction component by the patient (see col. 14, lines 54-67).
In regard to claim 6, Askarinya discloses wherein actuation of the patient interaction component (1030) causes the drive component to deliver the liquid drug to the patient in discrete doses over a series of start and stop intervals (1030 is a bolus button, pressing the button multiple times will cause a series of discrete doses).
In regard to claim 7, Askarinya discloses wherein actuation of the patient interaction component (1030) causes the drive component (1110) to deliver one or more doses of the stored liquid drug, wherein each of the one or more doses is a predetermined liquid drug dose amount stored in or defined by the on-body drug delivery device (see col. 14, lines 54-67).
In regard to claim 8, Askarinya discloses wherein times between delivery of multiple doses is approximately equal (functional limitation; the button 1030 can be pressed at equal intervals).
In regard to claim 9, Askarinya discloses having an idle state (no bolus delivery), an activation state (button 1030 being pushed), and a delivery state (bolus being delivered), wherein the on-body drug delivery device enters the activation state based upon user input via the patient interaction component (see col. 14, lines 54-67).
In regard to claim 10, Askarinya discloses, wherein the on-body drug delivery device operates in the delivery state based on patient input via the patient interaction component (see col. 14, lines 54-67).
In regard to claim 14, Askarinya discloses further comprising a mechanism for providing haptic or vibrational feedback to the user (see col. 26, lines 14-22).
In regard to claim 15, Askarinya discloses further comprising a sensor for monitoring operation of the on-body drug delivery device (see col. 26, lines 14-22).
In regard to claim 18, Askarinya discloses a drug delivery device, comprising: a plurality of housing components (100, 192) including a top portion (192) and a base (100), wherein the top portion and base are configured to couple together (see col. 5, lines 20-26) and the top portion includes a patient interaction component (1030); a container (1070 and 1306 in combination with 1100 and 1312; these numbers refer to the same structure; see at least col. 14, lines 54-67 and col. 15, line 17-col. 16, line 49; the pressurized reservoir feeds the bolus reservoirs; in combination they are considered the container) configured to store a liquid drug and fit within the plurality of housing components, wherein the container is user fillable (via fill port 1050 and 1304; again these numbers refer to the same structure; see at least col. 13, lines 17-19 and col. 15, lines 27- col. 16, line 49); and a drive component (1110) configured to expel a portion of the liquid drug from the container and fit within the plurality of housing components (see col. 14, lines 54-67), wherein the drive component is responsive to actuation of the patient interaction component (see at least col. 13, lines 20-43), and the portion of the liquid drug is less than all of the liquid drug stored in the container (the bolus reservoir delivers a bolus which is less than all of the liquid in the container for basal delivery).
The on-body injector is highlighted for illustrative purposes. The examiner also notes that the on-body injector 1900 includes similar features and reads on the claims as well. Applicant is encouraged to consider embodiment 1900 if responding with arguments and amendments.
In regard to claim 19, Askarinya discloses a drug delivery device, comprising: a drive system including a drive component (1110) configured to expel a portion of a liquid drug from a user fillable container (1070 and 1306 in combination with 1100 and 1312; these numbers refer to the same structure; see at least col. 14, lines 54-67 and col. 15, line 17-col. 16, line 49; the pressurized reservoir feeds the bolus reservoirs; in combination they are considered the container), wherein the liquid drug is stored within the container after being filled by a user (via fill port 1050 and 1304; again these numbers refer to the same structure; see at least col. 13, lines 17-19 and col. 15, lines 27- col. 16, line 49); and a patient interaction (1030) component operable to, in response to an activation input (pressing the button 1030), cause the drive component to expel the portion of the liquid drug as a discrete dose, wherein the discrete dose is a predetermined liquid drug dose amount and is less than all of the liquid drug stored within the container (see col. 14, lines 54-67).
The on-body injector is highlighted for illustrative purposes. The examiner also notes that the on-body injector 1900 includes similar features and reads on the claims as well. Applicant is encouraged to consider embodiment 1900 if responding with arguments and amendments.
In regard to claim 20, Askarinya discloses wherein multiple doses are expelled as a plurality of discrete doses over a series of start and stop intervals (pressing the bolus button 1030 repeatedly to administer boluses reads on this limitation).
In regard to claim 21, Askarinya discloses wherein the drug delivery device does not deliver the liquid drug in the absence of actuation of the patient interaction component (if the button 1030 is not pressed while the basal delivery is not actuated, no drug will be delivered).
In regard to claim 22, Askarinya discloses wherein the patient interaction component comprises the sole user interface on the on-body drug delivery device for initiating liquid drug delivery (1030 is the only button).
In regard to claim 23, Askarinya discloses wherein the activation input causes the drive component to mechanically expel the discrete liquid drug dose, and wherein multiple discrete doses are delivered in response to repeated activation inputs (pressing the bolus button 1030 repeatedly to administer boluses reads on this limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Askarinya in view of Dechellette et al. (US 2019/0167895; hereafter Dechellette).
In regard to claim 11, Askarinya fails to expressly disclose wherein the housing further comprises: an opening enabling viewing of an amount of the liquid drug stored in the container.
In a similar art, Dechellette discloses an on-body injector (10) comprising a window (18) through which the drug container (50) can be seen. See par. [0047]-[0054] and Figures 1-2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Askarinya with the window of Dechellette in order to provide a means for viewing the internal components of the injector including the fill level of the drug container such that a determination to refill can be made.
In regard to claim 12, Askarinya fails to expressly disclose further comprising a light emitting diode (LED) for providing feedback to the user in response to a user input to the patient interaction component.
In a similar art, Dechellette discloses an on-body injector (10) comprising a light emitting diode (LED) for providing feedback to the user in response to a user input to the patient interaction component. See [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Askarinya with the LED of Dechellette in order to provide a visual means for feedback.
In regard to claim 13, Askarinya discloses further comprising a mechanism for providing audio feedback to the user (see col. 26, lines 14-22).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-15, and 18-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,129,943. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The applicant should consider US 2019/0167895 to Dechellette as a valid reference which discloses the claimed features. Applicant should consider the reference when deciding how to proceed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THEODORE J. STIGELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/THEODORE J STIGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783