DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/17/2026 has been entered:
Claim 1 – 15 remain pending in the application;
Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claim 1 – 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 1, applicant amended claim to include limitation “wherein the solder mass extends between a first surface coupling the first set of electrical wires to the ultrasound imaging assembly and a different, second surface, wherein the first set of electrical wires is positioned between the first surface of the solder mass and the second surface of the solder mass such that the solder mass surrounds perimeters of electrical wires in the first set of electrical wires”, and submitted on p.5 – 7 that “the Office Action does not identify any disclosure or suggestion that Lo's lower group of wires is positioned between two surfaces of the solder paste 10 such that the solder paste 10 surrounds the lower group of wires' perimeters”; “The Office Action does not identify disclosure or suggestion in Lo of a structural relationship between the lower group of wires and the solder paste 10.” Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection for the following reasons.
First, Lo does teach the solder paste 10 is provided between middle grounding sheet 93 and lower grounding sheet 92 (see [0058]). It is clearly shown in Fig.1 that solder paste 10 is in the bar shape which has two surfaces corresponding to each grounding sheet.
Second, Fig.1 of Lo clearly shown that the lower group of wires are positioned within the solder paste 10. Sheet 93 is on top of the lower group of wires, sheet 92 is beneath the lower group of wires, and solder paste 10 is filled between sheets 92 and 93. It is clearly shown that solder paste 10 is provided around each wire’s perimeter. Either Fig.1 or Fig.2 provide sufficient detail about the spatial relationship between electric wires and solder paste.
Thus, applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of all other corresponding dependent claims, applicant’s remarks submitted on p.7 rely on supposed deficiencies with the rejection of parent claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection for the same reasons detailed above.
Overall, applicant’s remarks submitted on p.5 – 7 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive and are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The amendments result in new grounds of rejection. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadjicostis et al. (US 5,947,905; published on 09/07/1999) (hereinafter "Hadjicostis") in view of Lo et al. (US 2019/0208621 A1; published on 07/04/2019) (hereinafter “Lo”).
Regarding claim 1, Hadjicostis teaches an apparatus ("According to an aspect of the present invention an ultrasound transducer array probe for an imaging catheter is provided …" Col.2, Ln.31 – 49), comprising:
an intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) catheter ("The catheter 10 is insertable within and along the lumen until the ultrasound array 30a is at a desired imaging site. In an exemplary use, the lumen may be a coronary artery of a patient suffering from coronary heart disease." Col.4, Ln.53 - 65; see Fig.1) comprising:
a catheter shaft ("The catheter 10 …" Col.4, Ln.53 - 65; see the catheter shaft in Fig.1) comprising:
a distal portion configured to be positioned within a heart of a patient ("… and an ultrasound array 30a residing at a distal end of a catheter 10. The catheter 10 is insertable within and along the lumen until the ultrasound array 30a is at a desired imaging site. In an exemplary use, the lumen may be a coronary artery of a patient suffering from coronary heart disease." Col.4, Ln.53 – 65);
a first set of electrical wires ("… a plurality of coaxial cables 50a (see FIGS. 2 and 3A). In a representative embodiment, eleven coaxial cables 50a of 46 gauge are used." Col.5, Ln.11 - 25; one sub-group of the cables 50a is interpreted as the first set); and
a second set of electrical wires ("… a plurality of coaxial cables 50a (see FIGS. 2 and 3A). In a representative embodiment, eleven coaxial cables 50a of 46 gauge are used." Col.5, Ln.11 - 25; one sub-group of the cables 50a is interpreted as the second set); and
an ultrasound imaging assembly positioned at the distal portion of the catheter shaft ("… and an ultrasound array 30a residing at a distal end of a catheter 10." Col.4, Ln.53 - 65; see Fig.1),
wherein the ultrasound imaging assembly is coupled to the first set of electrical wires and the second set of electrical wires ("… eleven coaxial cables 50a of 46 gauge are used. Four of the coaxial cables transmit analogue signals (i.e., electrical signals that are either being transmitted to or received from an ultrasound array acoustic stack 30a), five of the cables transmit digital signals that select which elements of the array 30a are active, and two of the cables supply power." Col.5, Ln.11 – 25),
wherein the ultrasound imaging assembly comprises:
a transducer array configured to obtain ultrasound data ("… and an ultrasound array 30a …" Col.4, Ln.53 - 65; "The purpose of the probe is to receive and convert electrical pulses to mechanical pulses and vice versa, in a manner that is useful in forming an image." Col.4, Ln.36 – 41); and
a connector surrounding the first set of electrical wires ("Each of the outer conductors 52 are attached to a ground bus 54 …" Col.5, Ln.26 - 42).
Hadjicostis fails to explicitly teach the connector is a solder mass, wherein the solder mass extends between a first surface coupling the first set of electrical wires to the ultrasound imaging assembly and a different, second surface, wherein the first set of electrical wires is positioned between the first surface of the solder mass and the second surface of the solder mass such that the solder mass surrounds perimeters of electrical wires in the first set of electrical wires, wherein the second set of electrical wires is not surrounded by the solder mass, wherein the second set of electrical wires extends proximate to the second surface of the solder mass.
However, in the same field of cable/wire connection area, Lo teaches a solder mass ("The solder pastes 10 are provided ..." [0058]; here the lower solder pastes 10 is interpreted as the solder mass),
wherein the solder mass extends between a first surface coupling the first set of electrical wires (see Fig.1, the lower group of wires is interpreted as the first set of electrical wires, and is coupled with lower solder paste 10) to the ultrasound imaging assembly and a different, second surface ("The solder pastes 10 are provided ... and between the lower grounding sheet 92 and the other middle grounding sheet 93." [0058]; see Fig.1, solder paste 10 is in a bar shape, which has two different surfaces corresponding to each grounding sheet 92 and 93),
wherein the first set of electrical wires is positioned between the first surface of the solder mass and the second surface of the solder mass (see Fig.1, the lower group of wires are positioned within the solder paste 10, the top surface of solder paste 10 is above the wires and the lower surface of solder paste 10 is beneath the wires) such that the solder mass surrounds perimeters of electrical wires in the first set of electrical wires (see Fig.1, solder paste 10 is filled between sheets 92 and 93, therefore solder paste 10 is provided around each wire’s perimeter),
wherein the second set of electrical wires is not surrounded by the solder mass (see Fig.1, the upper group of the wires is interpreted as the second set of electric wires, which is not surrounded by the lower solder paste 10),
wherein the second set of electrical wires extends proximate to the second surface of the solder mass (see Fig.1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Lo further teaches wherein the first surface comprises a bottom surface of the solder mass (see Fig.1, the surface of lower solder paste 10 related to lower grounding sheet 92),
wherein the second surface comprises an opposite, top surface of the solder mass (see Fig.1, the surface of lower solder paste 10 related to middle grounding sheet 93).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 2, and Lo further teaches wherein the second set of electrical wires extends over top of the first set of electrical wires (see Fig.1, the upper group of the wires is positioned above middle grounding sheet 93).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 3, and Lo further teaches wherein the first set of electrical wires is arranged as at least one first row and the second set of electrical wires is arranged as second row (see Fig.1, the lower group of wires and the upper group of wires).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Hadjicostis further teaches wherein the ultrasound imaging assembly comprises a circuit board ("… the probe includes a flex circuit 20a …" Col.4, Ln.53 – 65),
wherein the circuit board comprises a grounding pad ("... are attached to a ground bus 54 …" Col.5, Ln.26 – 42).
In addition, Lo further teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a grounding pad ("… a lower grounding sheet 92 …" [0058]),
wherein the first surface of the solder mass is coupled to the grounding pad ("The solder pastes 10 are provided ... and between the lower grounding sheet 92 and the other middle grounding sheet 93." [0058]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 5, and Hadjicostis further teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a first set of conductive pads distinct from the grounding pad ("… an individual pad 21 on the flex circuit 20a." Col.5, Ln.26 - 42; see Fig.1),
wherein the first set of electrical wires is coupled to the first set of conductive pads and to the grounding pad ("A layer of outer insulation is removed from each cable 50 to expose a portion of outer conductor 52. Each of the outer conductors 52 are attached to a ground bus 54 … Each cable 50 has an inner conductor 60 terminated to an individual pad 21 on the flex circuit 20a." Col.5, Ln.26 - 42; see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 6, and Hadjicostis further teaches wherein the grounding pad is proximal of the first set of conductive pads along a length of the circuit board (see Fig.2).
Regarding claim 8, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 6, and Lo further teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a second set of conductive pads distinct from the grounding pad ("… a first terminal group 12 …" [0046]; "… a second terminal group 62 …" [0051]),
wherein the second set of electrical wires is coupled to the second set of conductive pads (see Fig.4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 8, and Lo further teaches wherein the first set of conductive pads is proximal of the second set of conductive pads along a length of the circuit board (see Fig.4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 9, and Lo further teaches wherein the first set of electrical wires comprises a subset of electrical wires and a different subset of electrical wires ("The wire group 7 includes multiple signal wires 71 and multiple power wires 72." [0055]),
wherein the different subset of electrical wires extends over top of the subset of electrical wires (see Fig.2, 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 10, and Lo further teaches wherein the first set of conductive pads comprises a subset of conductive pads and a different subset of conductive pads ("… which include eight second signal terminals 622 … and four second power terminals 624." [0051]),
wherein the subset of electrical wires is coupled to the subset of conductive pads and the different subset of electrical wires is coupled to the different subset of electrical wires ("The signal wires 71 are electrically connected to the second signal terminals 622, and the power wires 72 are electrically connected to the second power terminals 624." [0055]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 11, and Lo further teaches wherein the subset of conductive pads is proximal of the different subset of electrical wires along the length of the circuit board (see Fig.4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Lo further teaches wherein a portion of the solder mass is positioned between the first set of electrical wires and the second set of electrical wires (see Fig.2, there are portion of lower solder paste 10 between the lower group of wires and the middle grounding sheet).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and Hadjicostis further teaches wherein the first set of electrical wires comprises a first electrical wire type ("… receives electrical input from a plurality of coaxial cables 50a (see FIGS. 2 and 3A)." Col.5, Ln.11 - 25).
In addition, Lo further teaches wherein the second set of electrical wires comprises a different, second electrical wire type ("The wire group 7 includes ... multiple power wires 72." [0055]; see the upper group of wires also include power wires, and power wires are different from coaxial signal cable).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, Hadjicostis in view of Lo teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 14, and Hadjicostis further teaches wherein the first electrical wire type comprises a coaxial cable ("… receives electrical input from a plurality of coaxial cables 50a (see FIGS. 2 and 3A)." Col.5, Ln.11 - 25).
In addition, Lo further teaches wherein the second electrical wire type comprises a single conductor cable ("The wire group 7 includes ... multiple power wires 72." [0055]; see the upper group of wires also include power wires, and power wires are typically single conductor cables).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection between cables and circuit board as taught by Hadjicostis with the soldering paste as taught by Lo. By using soldering paste to connect all cables’ shielding potions to a common grounding pad, it would be possible to provide a circuitry that “is simple in circuit line design and cost saving” (see Lo; [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAO SHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797