DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-11 are currently pending and addressed below.
Examiner note to help applicant overcome the art on record
Applicant may overcome the art on record by amending independent claims 1 and 11 to include the following further clarification:
“the first map and the second map are defined such that … a difference between the first upper limit value on the first map and the first upper limit value on the second map increases as the actual rotational speed increases up to a third upper limit value defining the maximum actual rotational speed for the second map”
Examiner notes that these clarifications would help the applicant overcome the art on record as Fig. 3 of Laaksonen, as provided below, discloses the difference in torque values between two torque curves increasing as motor speed increases for a portion of the torque profiles, however, the difference between the torque values for each torque profile at the maximum motor speeds for the two torque profiles appear to decrease after the initial increased difference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laaksonen US 20220340017 A1 (“Laaksonen”).
For claim 1, Laaksonen discloses an electric working machine (See at least the Abstract of Laaksonen – “… The present invention relates to a method for controlling a torque generated by at least one electric motor (130) of an electric lift truck…”) comprising:
an electric motor to be driven by electric power (See at least [0042] of Laaksonen – “…the electrical drive 140 may be designed e.g. by doubling switching elements in the electrical drive 140 but also selecting components in the power circuit to tolerate increased current level during the increased torque mode… providing the increased current level to the electric motor 140…”);
a rotational speed detector to detect an actual rotational speed of the electric motor (See at least [0036] of Laaksonen – “… the control unit 150 may receive a signal in a real-time from an entity suitable for providing a signal representing the speed of the lift truck 100 preferably in real-time. Such an entity may e.g. be a sensor, such as a Hall sensor, sensor bearing or an optical sensor, arranged to measure a rotational speed of the electric motor 130…”); and
a controller configured or programmed to control a rotational speed and an output torque of the electric motor (See at least [0033]-[0041] of Laaksonen – “… control unit 150 itself may be a controller having an overall responsibility of a control of the lift truck 100 or it may be a dedicated control unit 150 to perform a method as is described in the forthcoming description... the control of the electric motor 130 may be performed in accordance with the curve so as to generate a corresponding torque at a certain speed of rotation of the motor 130…”); wherein
the controller is switchable between (i) a first mode in which the controller controls the electric motor such that a relationship between the actual rotational speed and a first upper limit value of the output torque satisfies a first map and (ii) a second mode in which the controller controls the electric motor such that the relationship between the actual rotational speed and the first upper limit value of the output torque satisfies a second map (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Laaksonen – “… the electrical drive 140 may be arranged to monitor the torque, such as need for changing the torque curve during the operation of the lift truck 100. For example, the electrical drive 140 may be arranged to generate a feedback signal to the control unit 150 indicating the status of the torque, wherein the control unit may then generate the instruction as described above… According to various example embodiments the method may be implemented so that there is a plurality of increased torque modes to be applied in accordance with different triggering rules. Such an arrangement is schematically illustrated in FIG. 3. FIG. 3 illustrates schematically a torque in relation to speed of the electric motor in rpm. The lowest curve may be an example of the torque curve in a so-called normal mode i.e. in the first mode. In other words, the control of the electric motor 130 may be performed in accordance with the curve so as to generate a corresponding torque at a certain speed of rotation of the motor 130. In addition to the normal mode the electric motor 130 may be arranged to provide torque in accordance with two increased torque modes which are selected in accordance with the triggering of the increased torque mode… the selection between the applied torque curves, or profiles, may be selected in accordance with fulfilment of one or more criteria set for causing a detection…”); and
the first map and the second map are defined such that the first upper limit value of the output torque at a certain actual rotational speed on the second map is smaller than the first upper limit value of the output torque at the same certain actual rotational speed on the first map (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – upper limit value of torque for the normal mode profile is lower than the upper limit value of torque for the first increased torque mode profile at a same rotational speed for the profiles, such as at 1000 rpm), and that a difference between the first upper limit value on the first map and the first upper limit value on the second map increases as the actual rotational speed increases (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the difference between the upper limit value of torque for the normal mode profile and the upper limit value of torque for the first increased torque mode profile increases from the range of 2400 rpm to about 2900 rpm).
For claim 2, Laaksonen discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque at a value equal to or less than the first upper limit value (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Laaksonen – “… the electrical drive 140 may be arranged to monitor the torque, such as need for changing the torque curve during the operation of the lift truck 100. For example, the electrical drive 140 may be arranged to generate a feedback signal to the control unit 150 indicating the status of the torque, wherein the control unit may then generate the instruction as described above… Such an arrangement is schematically illustrated in FIG. 3. FIG. 3 illustrates schematically a torque in relation to speed of the electric motor in rpm. The lowest curve may be an example of the torque curve in a so-called normal mode i.e. in the first mode. In other words, the control of the electric motor 130 may be performed in accordance with the curve so as to generate a corresponding torque at a certain speed of rotation of the motor 130 …”).
For claim 10, Laaksonen discloses further comprising a mode switch to be operated to switch the modes (See at least [0038] of Laaksonen – “… the criterion may be to be related to user's, such as the driver's, interactions through the user interface of the lift truck 100. For example, according to an example embodiment an operation of the acceleration pedal may be monitored… the detection of the position of the acceleration pedal may be based on a detection that the acceleration pedal is pushed into an extreme position. The detection may e.g. be based on a signal received from a sensor, such as from an applicable switch, arranged to detect that the pedal is in the extreme position. The detection in at least the above described manner shall be considered as a driver initiated detection in which action taken by the driver indicates that the torque in the first mode is insufficient, which may automatically cause the triggering of the increased torque mode…”); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to switch the modes in response to an operation of the mode switch (See at least [0038]-[0039] of Laaksonen – “… the criterion may be to be related to user's, such as the driver's, interactions through the user interface of the lift truck 100. For example, according to an example embodiment an operation of the acceleration pedal may be monitored… The detection may e.g. be based on a signal received from a sensor, such as from an applicable switch, arranged to detect that the pedal is in the extreme position. The detection in at least the above described manner shall be considered as a driver initiated detection in which action taken by the driver indicates that the torque in the first mode is insufficient, which may automatically cause the triggering of the increased torque mode… In response to the detection in step 210 an electrical drive 140 of the at least one electric motor 130 may be triggered 220 to generate a control signal to the at least one electric motor 130. The triggering may be performed by the control unit 150 by instructing the electric motor 130 to generate a torque being larger than the torque of the at least one electric motor 130 in the first mode to change the torque to an increased torque mode…”).
For claim 11, Laaksonen discloses A method of controlling an electric working machine including an electric motor (See at least the Abstract of Laaksonen – “… The present invention relates to a method for controlling a torque generated by at least one electric motor (130) of an electric lift truck…”), the method comprising:
controlling the electric motor selectively using a first map that defines a relationship between an actual rotational speed of the electric motor and a first upper limit value of an output torque of the electric motor or using a second map in which the first upper limit value of the output torque corresponding to each actual rotational speed is smaller than that of the first map (See at least [0040]-[0041] of Laaksonen – “… the electrical drive 140 may be arranged to monitor the torque, such as need for changing the torque curve during the operation of the lift truck 100. For example, the electrical drive 140 may be arranged to generate a feedback signal to the control unit 150 indicating the status of the torque, wherein the control unit may then generate the instruction as described above… According to various example embodiments the method may be implemented so that there is a plurality of increased torque modes to be applied in accordance with different triggering rules. Such an arrangement is schematically illustrated in FIG. 3. FIG. 3 illustrates schematically a torque in relation to speed of the electric motor in rpm. The lowest curve may be an example of the torque curve in a so-called normal mode i.e. in the first mode. In other words, the control of the electric motor 130 may be performed in accordance with the curve so as to generate a corresponding torque at a certain speed of rotation of the motor 130. In addition to the normal mode the electric motor 130 may be arranged to provide torque in accordance with two increased torque modes which are selected in accordance with the triggering of the increased torque mode… the selection between the applied torque curves, or profiles, may be selected in accordance with fulfilment of one or more criteria set for causing a detection…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laaksonen in view of Tanaka JP 2007132094 A (“Tanaka”).
For claim 3, Laaksonen discloses wherein
the first map is defined such that the actual rotational speed is equal to or less than a second upper limit value (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the first increased torque mode profile extends out to 5500 rpm);
the second map is defined such that the actual rotational speed is equal to or less than a third upper limit value (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the normal torque mode profile extends out to 5500 rpm).
Laaksonen fails to specifically disclose the third upper limit value is smaller than the second upper limit value.
However, Tanaka, in the same field of endeavor teaches the third upper limit value is smaller than the second upper limit value (See at least pages 12-13 of Tanaka – “… since the maximum rotational speed Nmax2 obtained from the output torque characteristic line CLf is lower than the maximum rotational speed Nmax1 obtained from the output torque characteristic line CLr, the upper limit of the rotational speed of the electric motor 22 for turning is also lowered…”). Thus, Laaksonen discloses a system for controlling a working vehicle with an electric motor that features different torque profiles for controlling the electric motor of the working vehicle depending on different required torque demands, while Tanaka teaches an electric work machine that features a lower torque characteristic line for an electric motor with a maximum rotational speed that is lower than the maximum rotational speed for a higher torque characteristic line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric working machine and method as disclosed in Laaksonen to include the feature of the third upper limit value is smaller than the second upper limit value as taught by Tanaka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to lower the upper limit of the rotational speed of the electric motor for turning as specified in at least pages 12-13 of Tanaka.
For claim 4, Laaksonen discloses wherein
the first map includes a first line showing the first upper limit value versus the actual rotational speed (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the first increased torque mode profile extends out to 5500 rpm);
the second map includes a second line showing the first upper limit value versus the actual rotational speed (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the normal torque mode profile extends out to 5500 rpm); and
the second line includes a shape obtained by reducing the first line in a direction in which the actual rotational speed and the output torque decrease (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the normal torque mode profile curve shape is similar to that of the first increased torque mode profile curve when the first increased torque curve is moved in a direction of decreasing rotational speed and output torque).
For claim 5, Laaksonen discloses wherein
the first line and the second line each at least include a portion where the first upper limit value decreases as the actual rotational speed increases (See at least Fig. 3 of Laaksonen – the normal torque mode profile curve and first increased torque mode profile curve each begin to decrease at a certain rpm as the rotation speed increases).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laaksonen in view of Tanaka, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Takamura et al. US 20130274980 A1 (“Takamura”).
For claim 6, Laaksonen discloses further comprising:
a working device to be actuated by power generated by the electric motor (See at least [0035] of Laaksonen – “… the lift truck 100 is on motion i.e. a torque is generated to the driving wheels 120 by the at least one electric motor 130…”); and
a working machine manual operator to receive an operation relating to the working device (See at least [0035] of Laaksonen – “… the lift truck 100 is on motion i.e. a torque is generated to the driving wheels 120 by the at least one electric motor 130. The torque may be determined by the electrical drive 140 in accordance with the control signal e.g. indicating a target speed of the lift truck 100 received from the control unit 150. For example, the control unit 150 may be arranged to generate the control signal in accordance with a control operation received from the driver of the lift truck 100 through at least one device belonging to the user interface. For example, the control operation may refer to controlling of an accelerator pedal of the lift truck 100…”).
Laaksonen fails to specifically disclose wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to, in a case that a requested torque which is an output torque requested in response to an operation on the working machine manual operator is higher than the first upper limit value corresponding to the actual rotational speed at a time of the operation, reduce the rotational speed of the electric motor to the actual rotational speed at which the first upper limit value is equal to or greater than the requested torque.
However, Takamura, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to, in a case that a requested torque which is an output torque requested in response to an operation on the working machine manual operator is higher than the first upper limit value corresponding to the actual rotational speed at a time of the operation, reduce the rotational speed of the electric motor to the actual rotational speed at which the first upper limit value is equal to or greater than the requested torque (See at least [0110] of Takamura – “… According to the driving force control system for a vehicle in the embodiment describe above, when the target drive torque exceeds a gradient load, i.e., when the driver wishes to start and the target driving force indicates the driving force to climb the road surface gradient, the target motor rotation speed tNm representing a target input rotation speed to the second clutch 7 (CL2) is set to a lowest value at which detection of the slip rotation over the output side rotation No may be detected and the motor/generator 5 is controlled to achieve the target motor rotation speed tNm the lower limit of which has been set…”). Thus, Laaksonen discloses a system for controlling a working vehicle with an electric motor that features different torque profiles for controlling the electric motor of the working vehicle depending on different required torque demands, while Takamura teaches a drive force control device for a vehicle that lowers the rotation speed of a motor when a demanded torque exceeds a limit value for the motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric working machine and method as disclosed in Laaksonen to include the feature of the controller being configured or programmed to, in a case that a requested torque which is an output torque requested in response to an operation on the working machine manual operator is higher than the first upper limit value corresponding to the actual rotational speed at a time of the operation, reduce the rotational speed of the electric motor to the actual rotational speed at which the first upper limit value is equal to or greater than the requested torque as taught by Takamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect a slip rotation for the motor and control the motor to achieve the target motor rotation speed in a lower limit as specified in at least [0110] of Takamura.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laaksonen in view of Kiuchi US 20070187161 A1 (“Kiuchi”).
For claim 7, Laaksonen discloses further comprising:
a battery unit to supply electric power to the electric motor (See at least [0034] of Laaksonen – “… the lift truck 100 also comprises a battery suitable to store energy from which it is possible generate applicable drive signals, such as AC voltages, to the at least one motor 130…”); and
a memory and/or a storage to store the first map and the second map (See at least [0016] of Laaksonen – “… a control unit for controlling a torque generated by at least one electric motor of an electric lift truck is provided, the control unit comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the control unit to: detect a fulfilment of at least one criterion when the torque of the at least one electric motor is in a first mode, the fulfilment of the at least one criterion indicating insufficient amount of the torque in the first mode to maintain a motion of the electric lift truck; trigger an electrical drive of the at least one electric motor to generate a control signal to the at least one electric motor to generate a torque being larger than the torque of the at least one electric motor in the first mode to change the torque to an increased torque mode for maintaining the motion of the electric lift truck…”).
Laaksonen fails to specifically disclose an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor; wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque by outputting an instruction signal to the inverter based on the first map or the second map.
However, Kiuchi, in the same field of endeavor teaches an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor (See at least [0031] of Kiuchi – “… The inverter ECU 26 controls the inverter 20 according to the torque that has been set by the vehicle ECU 22, and DC power of the battery 18 is converted to AC power by the inverter 20 and supplied to the electric motor 6…”); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque by outputting an instruction signal to the inverter based on the first map or the second map (See at least [0031] – “… inverter ECU 26 controls the inverter 20 according to the torque that has been set by the vehicle ECU 22, and DC power of the battery 18 is converted to AC power by the inverter 20 and supplied to the electric motor 6. By being supplied with the AC power, the electric motor 6 is operated as a motor to create a driving force...” and [0097] of Kiuchi – “… The inverter ECU 26 controls the electric motor 6 to generate the positive minute torque in Step S25, so that the electric motor 6 receives power supply from the battery 18 to operate as a motor…”). Thus, Laaksonen discloses a system for controlling a working vehicle with an electric motor that features different torque profiles for controlling the electric motor of the working vehicle depending on different required torque demands, while Kiuchi teaches a controller used to control the output torque of a motor by outputting a signal to the inverter based on stored torque map.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric working machine and method as disclosed in Laaksonen to include the feature of an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor as taught by Kiuchi, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to generate a torque stored in a map as specified in at least [0096]-[0097] of Kiuchi.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laaksonen in view of Tagawa et al. US 9114803 B2 (“Tagawa”).
For claim 8, Laaksonen discloses further comprising:
a battery unit to supply electric power to the electric motor (See at least [0034] of Laaksonen – “… the lift truck 100 also comprises a battery suitable to store energy from which it is possible generate applicable drive signals, such as AC voltages, to the at least one motor 130…”).
Laaksonen fails to specifically disclose an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor; and
a memory and/or a storage to store (i) a third map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the first map into an output power of the electric motor and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the output power and (ii) a fourth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the second map into the output power and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the output power; wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque by outputting an instruction signal to the inverter based on the third map or the fourth map.
However, Tagawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor (See at least Col. 4 lines 34-52 of Tagawa – “…First and second inverters 19 and 20 are electrically coupled to a battery 21. First and second inverters 19 and 20 adjust electrical energy delivered from the battery 21 to first and second stators 15 and 18 via adjusting, for example, field current so as to adjust motor power from first motor generator 4 and motor power from second motor generator 5, specifically, rotational speed and driving torque …”); and
a memory and/or a storage to store (i) a third map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the first map into an output power of the electric motor and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the output power and (ii) a fourth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the second map into the output power and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the output power (See at least the Abstract – “… a first motor generator and a second motor generator are controlled by calculating an engine power target from a driving power target required for a vehicle, and finding a target engine operating point expressed by a set of an engine speed target and an engine torque target on a target operating line determined in response to the engine power target…”, Claim 1 – “… A hybrid electric vehicle control apparatus… a drive-control controller which controls the engine and the electric motor, wherein the drive-control controller is configured to set a driving power target in response to a detected position of the accelerator pedal … to calculate an engine speed target based on the engine power target and a stored map…”, and Fig. 11 of Tagawa – torque map with corresponding power and speeds. Examiner notes that Laaksonen already discloses stored torque maps with corresponding motor speeds, and merely converting a torques to power for a drive device would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to define a corresponding power associated to a torque of a drive device at corresponding speeds in order to control the drive device); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque by outputting an instruction signal to the inverter based on the third map or the fourth map (See at least Col. 14 lines 14-20 of Tagawa – “… the motor generator control function 42 controls first inverter 19 and second inverter 20, causing first motor generator 4 to turn at first motor generator rotating speed target Nmg1 to generate torque at first motor generator torque target Tmg1t…”). Thus, Laaksonen discloses a system for controlling a working vehicle with an electric motor that features different torque profiles for controlling the electric motor of the working vehicle depending on different required torque demands, while Tagawa teaches a drive control system for a hybrid vehicle that converts a torque for a drive device to power for drive device speeds and stores the map for controlling the drive device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric working machine and method as disclosed in Laaksonen to include the feature of a memory and/or a storage to store (i) a third map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the first map into an output power of the electric motor and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the output power and (ii) a fourth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the second map into the output power and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the output power as taught by Tagawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a target operating point expressed by a speed target and a torque target on a target operating line determined in response to a power target as specified in at least the Abstract of Tagawa.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laaksonen in view of Itoyama et al. US 6155954 A (“Itoyama”).
For claim 9, Laaksonen discloses further comprising:
a battery unit to supply electric power to the electric motor (See at least [0034] of Laaksonen – “… the lift truck 100 also comprises a battery suitable to store energy from which it is possible generate applicable drive signals, such as AC voltages, to the at least one motor 130…”).
Laaksonen fails to specifically disclose an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor; and
a memory and/or a storage to store (i) a fifth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the first map into a current value of electric power supplied to the electric motor and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the current value and (ii) a sixth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the second map into the current value and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the current value; wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque by outputting an instruction signal to the inverter based on the fifth map or the sixth map.
However, Itoyama, in the same field of endeavor teaches an inverter to adjust electric power supplied from the battery unit to the electric motor (See at least Col. 3 lines 29-32 of Itoyama – “… A battery 15 is connected to the direct current link 14. The inverters 11, 12 and 13 convert the direct current of the battery 15 into an alternating current, and supply it to the motors 1, 4 and 10…”); and
a memory and/or a storage to store (i) a fifth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the first map into a current value of electric power supplied to the electric motor and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the current value and (ii) a sixth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the second map into the current value and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the current value (See at least Col. 2 lines 21-23 of Itoyama – “… FIG. 10 is a diagram describing the contents of a map which calculates a generated torque from a current value and rotation speed of the motor stored in the controller...”); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to control the output torque by outputting an instruction signal to the inverter based on the fifth map or the sixth map (See at least Col. 7 lines 48-57 of Itoyama – “… In a step S4 the output torque TM of the motor 1 is calculated referring to the map shown in FIG. 10 from the rotation speed Nm of the motor 1, and the current value supplied from the inverter 11 to the motor 1. Since the inverter 11 is directly controlled by the controller 16, the current value supplied from the inverter 11 to the motor 1 is known to the controller 16. In other words, the inverter 11 works as a sensor for detecting the current value supplied to the motor 1…”). Thus, Laaksonen discloses a system for controlling a working vehicle with an electric motor that features different torque profiles for controlling the electric motor of the working vehicle depending on different required torque demands, while Itoyama teaches a hybrid vehicle system that determines a current value for a motor from a relationship with a needed torque for a specified rotation speed for a motor and stores the parameters as a map in a controller.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric working machine and method as disclosed in Laaksonen to include the feature of a memory and/or a storage to store (i) a fifth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the first map into a current value of electric power supplied to the electric motor and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the current value and (ii) a sixth map which is obtained by converting the first upper limit value of the second map into the current value and which shows a relationship between the actual rotational speed and the current value as taught by Itoyama, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to output a torque of the motor by referring to a map from the rotation speed of the motor and the current value supplied from the inverter to the motor as specified in at least Col. 7 lines 48-57 of Itoyama.
Conclusion
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668