Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of May 19, 2025. Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to Application JP2022-186780, filed on November 22, 2022. The certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 has not been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 19, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Prior Filed Application
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/JP2023/041864 filed on 11/21/2023, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over .CHUNNAN WU (JP-2022157635-A)(“Wu”), provided by applicant in the IDS filed 5/19/2025 a machine translation is attached hereto, and Zhang et al (US-20210223774-A1)(“Zhang”).
As per claim 1, Wu discloses an information processing device (Figure 3, controller 30) comprising an operation planning part (Wu at Para. [0194] discloses planning future actions, excavation, or maneuver for a future time at a site:” the construction support system SYS can actually operate the excavator 100 and derive the state of the work site in the future for a predetermined time in real time by simulation. Therefore, the construction support system SYS can sense in advance that the work site will be in an undesirable state at a predetermined time in the future. In this case, the construction support system SYS can prevent such an undesirable state from actually occurring by switching the currently used operation command to another operation command.”) configured to determine a future operation of a working machine from among a plurality of operations (Wu at Para. [0193] discloses determining the future operation of a working machine such excavator 100:” controller 50 may be configured to continuously derive, through simulation, the future state of the work site after a predetermined period of time, which is realized by the excavator 100 operating according to the operation command.”) .
Wu does not disclose, but Zhang discloses a process to alter an initial plan according to a performance status of an operation of the working machine (Zhang at Figure 3, task sequences, Figure 4, process task primitive 420 and completion of goal 425, and Para, [0075] discloses defining the performance status of the machine but altering a task into individual subtasks until completion:” he core model first take such input u(i) and produce the local planning state {tilde over (s)}(i). Next, the primitive decoder takes the local planning state to produce the primitive selection p(i), either approach the end-effector to a certain point or excavate on the current location with certain depth; the specification decoder takes {tilde over (s)}(i) to produce the specifications b(i) for each primitive, i.e., local coordinate of approach primitive or depth for the excavate primitive.”).
Zhang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which manages a machine such as excavator while performing a desired task. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu further in view of Zhang to allow for defining a project into a series of tasks, and then further dividing a sub-task into local tasks given local environment observations. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of terrain changes in a construction site, efficiencies can be improved by producing feasible and efficient construction task plan that account for vehicle constraints as taught Zhang at Para. [0037].
As per claim 2, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine comprising the information processing device according to claim 1, and an operation planning part configured to determine a future operation of the working machine from among a plurality of operations according to a performance status of an operation of the working machine (Wu at Paras. [0144]-[0149] discloses generating motion commands which is a future operation that is based on performance status such a section of the project/task is completed:” motion simulator 54 can find the optimum motion command by simulating the motion of the excavator 100 according to a plurality of new motion commands. Machine learning such as deep learning may be used to generate a plurality of new motion commands, as in the case of the initial motion commands.” At Para. [0147].).
As per claim 3, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 2, further comprising a prediction part configured to predict a future state of a target material according to the performance status of the operation of the working machine (Zhang at Para. [0066] discloses creating a set or tasks and sub-tasks and monitoring completion of the tasks by the machine:” Wherein {tilde over (t)}.sub.e is an indicator to indicate that the sub-task is completed when {tilde over (t)}.sub.e=1 or not completed {tilde over (t)}.sub.e=0. It shall be noted that the index for TEM is t and the index for CEM/PATH is i in order to differentiate the time scale between the two models. In one or more embodiments, an overall task planning methodology may be shown in Methodology 1.”), wherein the operation planning part is configured to determine the future operation of the working machine from among the plurality of operations, based on a prediction result of the future state of the target material by the prediction part (Wu at Para. [0194] discloses determining the future state based on a simulation:” the construction support system SYS can actually operate the excavator 100 and derive the state of the work site in the future for a predetermined time in real time by simulation.”).
Zhang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which manages a machine such as excavator while performing a desired task. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu further in view of Zhang to allow for defining a project into a series of tasks, and then further dividing a sub-task into local tasks given local environment observations. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of terrain changes in a construction site, efficiencies can be improved by producing feasible and efficient construction task plan that account for vehicle constraints as taught Zhang at Para. [0037].
As per claim 4, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 3, wherein the prediction part is configured to predict the future state of the target material, based on a path of a work part by an operation of the working machine (Wu at Para. [0142] adjusting the action that follows based on local values such hardness of the surface:” the target trajectory generator 56 may estimate the hardness of the ground to be excavated from the excavation reaction force calculated based on the outputs of various sensors attached to the excavator 100 . Then, the target trajectory generator 56 may adjust the target trajectory according to the estimated hardness of the ground. In this case, the target trajectory is typically adjusted so that the harder the ground, the shallower the part (the part closer to the ground surface).”).
As per claim 5, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 4, wherein:
the prediction part is configured to predict a state of the target material after completion of a current operation of the working machine or a next operation after the current operation, based on the path of the work part by the current operation of the working machine or a next scheduled operation (Wu at Para. [0163] discloses selecting the operation of the excavator based on the target material such as sand, earth, or the like:” When the operation simulator 54 tries the first excavation work, it can be confirmed that if the earth and sand portion SP1 is excavated first, the earth and sand portion SP3 indicated by hatching will collapse. Moreover, when the second excavation work is tried, the operation simulator 54 can confirm that even if the earth and sand portion SP2 is excavated first, the other earth and sand portions will not collapse.”) ; and
the operation planning part is configured to determine the next operation after the current operation of the working machine or a further next operation after the next scheduled operation from among the plurality of operations, based on the prediction result of the future state of the target material by the prediction part (Wu at Para. [0163] and Para. [0191] discloses performing a next schedule operation on prediction results such as a simulation:” the controller 50 may generate the operation signal based on preset information regarding the action command. Then, the excavator 100 may be configured to operate according to the operation signal. Also, the controller 50 may be configured to be able to change the operation command based on the results of the simulation.”).
As per claim 6, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 4, further comprising:
a generation part configured to generate a path of the work part by an operation of the working machine, based on a state of the target material (Zahng at Figure 3, task generation, and Para. [0069] discloses that one of the tasks is a trajectory to a point in the worksite:” response to the subtask as move_to_tile, a sub-task planning module Ψ.sub.PATH (330 or 332) is invoked (410) to generate the trajectory to target point or tile in a global frame”.); and
a control part configured to control an operation of the working machine so that the work part moves along the path generated by the generation part (Zahng at Figure 3 and Para. [0068] discloses that the controller implements the movement trajectory based on the task sequences:” the generated sequence of primitives is a naturally straightforward motion planning problem for existing planning algorithms. These task primitives with detailed specifications are fed to a motion planner for trajectory generation. The trajectories of either joints movement or excavator base movement are then executed by excavator controller(s).”),
wherein the prediction part is configured to predict the future state of the target material, based on a current state of the target material and the path of the work part generated by the generation part (Zahng at Para. [0037] discloses planning a task and a sub-task based on the target material and the environment at the worksite for movement of the excavator:” motion planning is caused by the nature of the construction task. For example, for excavation tasks, a hydraulic driven robotic arm is interacting with soil, which is a deformable material. The accurate modeling of hydraulic systems and deformable materials must be conducted in high-dimensional space, leaving it difficult for traditional planning problem formulation or resulting in large computational complexity. Another difficulty is caused by the working environment of excavator, which is commonly an unstructured site and keeps varying along the process of excavation job. In practice, experience plays an important role in human excavator operations for selecting the order of motion sequences. Such human behavior patterns tends to be non-trial to model and consider.”).
As per claim 7, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 6, wherein:
the prediction part is configured to predict the state of the target material after a elapse of a predetermined time (Zahng at Para. [0053] discloses the use of regression to predict the completion of the worksite and the time to be taken:” linear regression is utilized, historical actions such as previously executed cut-in points 210 and loading directions 212 chosen and executed by human operators under similar situations may be fit into an approximation linear function. Weights for each of the variables within Eq. 2 may then be determined through regression.”); and
the generation part is configured to generate the path of the work part after the elapse of the predetermined time, based on the prediction result of the state of the target material after the elapse of the predetermined time by the prediction part (Zhang at Para. [0047] discloses a path for the excavator to follow for loading from the excavation site:” navigating around these imperfections may cost time and fuel for the loading machine 104, any loading path that includes an imperfection or obstruction may be excluded to maintain efficiency of the loading machine 104. By excluding loading paths that include an imperfection, the loading machine 104 may be more effective and efficient in moving the material 119 within the pile 118. In one example, the controller 136 of the loading machine 104 may select loading paths that allow the loading machine 104 to circumvent or avoid the imperfections while still being able to effectively scoop up the material 119 from the pile 118.”).
As per claim 8, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 6, wherein the generation part is configured to generate the path of the work part, based on measurement data of the state of the target material, by using an objective function and a constraint function defined for each of the plurality of operations (Zhang at Paras. [0139]-[0141] discloses that the trajectory of the work part is expressed by a predetermined number of (two more more) parameters, and the generation unit generates the trajectory of the work part by determining the predetermined number of parameters on the basis of the state of the work object. In document I (paragraph [0139}), a target-trajectory generation unit 56 generates a target trajectory on the basis of the "action command that is generated by the controller 50" and the "output of a spatial recognition device C l." More specifically, the target-trajectory generation unit 56 generates the target trajectory on the basis of the action command that is generated by the controller 50 and the current shape of the ground that is to be excavated that is received by means of a communication device T I and a communication device T3. The target-trajectory generation unit 56 is described as generating an operation signal so that the tip of a bucket 6 can be moved along the generated target trajectory..
As per claim 9, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 6, wherein:
the path of the work part is expressed by a predetermined number of parameters for each of the plurality of operations, the predetermined number being two or greater (Wu at Para. [0016] discloses monitor two plus parameters:” each of the boom angle sensor S1, the arm angle sensor S2, and the bucket angle sensor S3 may be a rotary encoder, an acceleration sensor, a potentiometer (variable resistor), an inclination sensor, an inertial measurement device, or the like. The inertial measurement device may be composed of, for example, a combination of an acceleration sensor and a gyro sensor.”); and
the generation part is configured to generate the path of the work part by determining the predetermined number of parameters, based on the state of the target material (Wu at Para. [0130] discloses various ways to determine the path based on the required number of parameters:” target trajectory generator 34 is configured to generate a target trajectory. The target trajectory is a trajectory followed by a predetermined portion such as the toe of the bucket 6 . A target trajectory can be generated in any manner. For example, the target trajectory may be generated based on data regarding past trajectories. The data on the past trajectory is, for example, data on the trajectory traced by the toe of the bucket 6 in excavation work performed in the past. Machine learning such as deep learning may be used to generate the target trajectory. Typically, the target trajectory generated based on one motion command is the target trajectory for multiple excavation motions.”).
As per claim 10, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 3, wherein the state of the target material includes at least one of a shape and a characteristic of earth on a surface of the target material (Wu at Paragraph [0193]) discloses the following: "the shovel I(X) may be an automatically driven shovel. In said instance, the controller 50 may generate an Operation signal On the basis of information that relates to a preset action command. The shovel 100 may be configured to act in accordance with the operation signal _ The controller 50 may be configured to be able to change the action command On the basis Of a simulation result." In adopting automatic driving, configuring the invention disclosed in document I so as to comprise a notification unit for notifying an Operator Of the action that is determined by the action planning unit is a matter that a person skilled in the an would Obviously arrive at from a safety management perspective Or the like.
As per claim 11, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 2, further comprising a notification part configured to notify an operator of the future operation determined by the operation planning part (Wu at Paras. [0088]-[0095] discloses providing or display aspects of the worksite:” the motion simulator 54 receives from the remote control room RC an operation signal generated when the operator OP in the remote control room RC operates the operation device 26, and according to the received operation signal, the motion simulator 54 performs the operation at the virtual work site. Operate the virtual excavator. The terrain of the virtual work site changes according to the movement of the virtual excavator. For example, the terrain of the virtual work site changes according to the virtual excavation work performed by the virtual excavator.” At Para. [0090]).
As per claim 12, Wu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having a program embodied therein for causing an information processing device to determine a future operation of a working machine from among a plurality of operations (Wu at Para. [0193] discloses determining the future operation of a working machine such excavator 100:” controller 50 may be configured to continuously derive, through simulation, the future state of the work site after a predetermined period of time, which is realized by the excavator 100 operating according to the operation command.”) .
Wu does not disclose, but Zhang discloses a process to alter an initial plan according to a performance status of an operation of the working machine (Zhang at Figure 3, task sequences, Figure 4, process task primitive 420 and completion of goal 425, and Para, [0075] discloses defining the performance status of the machine but altering a task into individual subtasks until completion:” he core model first take such input u(i) and produce the local planning state {tilde over (s)}(i). Next, the primitive decoder takes the local planning state to produce the primitive selection p(i), either approach the end-effector to a certain point or excavate on the current location with certain depth; the specification decoder takes {tilde over (s)}(i) to produce the specifications b(i) for each primitive, i.e., local coordinate of approach primitive or depth for the excavate primitive.”).
Zhang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which manages a machine such as excavator while performing a desired task. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu further in view of Zhang to allow for defining a project into a series of tasks, and then further dividing a sub-task into local tasks given local environment observations. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of terrain changes in a construction site, efficiencies can be improved by producing feasible and efficient construction task plan that account for vehicle constraints as taught Zhang at Para. [0037].
As per claim 13, Wu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having a program embodied therein for causing a support device to perform:
determine a future operation of a working machine from among a plurality of operations (Wu at Para. [0193] discloses determining the future operation of a working machine such excavator 100:” controller 50 may be configured to continuously derive, through simulation, the future state of the work site after a predetermined period of time, which is realized by the excavator 100 operating according to the operation command.”) ; and
notifying an operator of the determined future operation (Wu at Paras. [0088]-[0095] discloses providing or display aspects of the worksite:” the motion simulator 54 receives from the remote control room RC an operation signal generated when the operator OP in the remote control room RC operates the operation device 26, and according to the received operation signal, the motion simulator 54 performs the operation at the virtual work site. Operate the virtual excavator. The terrain of the virtual work site changes according to the movement of the virtual excavator. For example, the terrain of the virtual work site changes according to the virtual excavation work performed by the virtual excavator.” At Para. [0090]).
Wu does not disclose, but Zhang discloses a process to alter an initial plan according to a performance status of an operation of the working machine (Zhang at Figure 3, task sequences, Figure 4, process task primitive 420 and completion of goal 425, and Para, [0075] discloses defining the performance status of the machine but altering a task into individual subtasks until completion:” he core model first take such input u(i) and produce the local planning state {tilde over (s)}(i). Next, the primitive decoder takes the local planning state to produce the primitive selection p(i), either approach the end-effector to a certain point or excavate on the current location with certain depth; the specification decoder takes {tilde over (s)}(i) to produce the specifications b(i) for each primitive, i.e., local coordinate of approach primitive or depth for the excavate primitive.”).
Zhang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of systems which manages a machine such as excavator while performing a desired task. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu further in view of Zhang to allow for defining a project into a series of tasks, and then further dividing a sub-task into local tasks given local environment observations. Motivation to do so would allow for reducing negative effects of terrain changes in a construction site, efficiencies can be improved by producing feasible and efficient construction task plan that account for vehicle constraints as taught Zhang at Para. [0037].
As per claim 14, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of operations are of different types, and each type is predetermined (Wu at Para. [0014] discloses various operations of different type:” operation information G14 is information about the operation of the first excavator, and includes information about current work content, operation time, and fuel consumption. The current work content is, for example, excavation work, loading work, leveling work, or the like.”).
As per claim 15, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 3, further comprising a storage part configured to store a trained model for outputting one operation from among the plurality of operations, when the state of the target material is an input (Wu at Para. [0087] discloses the use of a virtual model which would require some form of storing:”, , the motion simulator 54 starts simulating the motion of the excavator 100 in response to a start command from the remote control room RC. Specifically, the motion simulator 54 constructs a virtual work site, which is a virtual model of the work site, based on the environmental information. The environment information is information about the working environment, and includes, for example, information output by at least one of the space recognition device C1, the space recognition device C3, the positioning device 18, and the orientation detection sensor. Moreover, the environmental information may include the design surface information DG.”);
wherein the operation planning part is configured to determine the future operation of the working machine from among the plurality of operations by using the trained model, based on the prediction result of the future state of the target material by the prediction part (Wu at Para. [0148] discloses the modelling and determining a future action:” the motion simulator 54 is configured to simulate what kind of event will occur at a predetermined time point in the future while the excavator 100 as an automatic excavator is actually performing work. may With this configuration, the motion simulator 54 can perform virtual work (virtual motion) ahead of actual work by a predetermined time, and can recognize in advance that undesirable events will occur.”).
As per claim 16, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 3, wherein:
a candidate operation capable of transitioning as a next operation within the plurality of operations, starting from a target operation by each of the plurality of operations, and a transition condition for transitioning to the candidate operation are predetermined (Wu at Para. [0162] discloses a first excavation operation which in the broadest of interpretation is a candidate operation:” the operation simulator 54 performs, for example, a first excavation operation that first excavates the earth and sand portion SP1 delimited by the dotted line, and a second excavation operation that first excavates the earth and sand portion SP2 delimited by the dashed line. You can try your work in simulation.”); and
the operation planning part is configured to determine the future operation of the working machine from among the plurality of operations by using the transition condition, based on the prediction result of the future state of the target material by the prediction part (Wu at Para. [0163] discloses a second operation which under broadest interpretation is a future operation:” when the second excavation work is tried, the operation simulator 54 can confirm that even if the earth and sand portion SP2 is excavated first, the other earth and sand portions will not collapse. In this case, the motion simulator 54 may select the second excavation work as the excavation work to be performed at the actual work site based on the simulation results.”).
As per claim 17, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 3, wherein:
the prediction part is configured to predict a state of the target material at a predetermined time in future, based on the operation status of the working machine (Wu at Para. [0163] discloses selecting the operation of the excavator based on the target material such as sand, earth, or the like:” When the operation simulator 54 tries the first excavation work, it can be confirmed that if the earth and sand portion SP1 is excavated first, the earth and sand portion SP3 indicated by hatching will collapse. Moreover, when the second excavation work is tried, the operation simulator 54 can confirm that even if the earth and sand portion SP2 is excavated first, the other earth and sand portions will not collapse.”); and
the operation planning part is configured to determine a future operation starting from the predetermined time, based on the prediction result of the state of the target material at the predetermined time in the future by the prediction part (Wu at Para. [0163] discloses selecting the operation of the excavator based on the target material such as sand, earth, or the like:” When the operation simulator 54 tries the first excavation work, it can be confirmed that if the earth and sand portion SP1 is excavated first, the earth and sand portion SP3 indicated by hatching will collapse. Moreover, when the second excavation work is tried, the operation simulator 54 can confirm that even if the earth and sand portion SP2 is excavated first, the other earth and sand portions will not collapse.”).
As per claim 18, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 2, wherein the operation planning part is configured to determine an undetermined future operation of the working machine from among a plurality of operations according to the performance status of the operations of the working machine (Wu at Para. [0186] discloses monitor the work performed to altering the simulation for another part of the work site:” Controller 50 may be configured to simulate the operation of excavator 100 in a virtual environment set based on the working environment of excavator 100 . Specifically, for example, the controller 50 sets a virtual work site, which is an example of a virtual environment, based on information about the work site where the excavator 100 is located, and configures a virtual excavation work by the virtual excavator in the virtual work site. It may be configured to perform a simulation of virtual motion to be performed. More specifically, the controller 50 may be configured to be able to derive how the virtual work site changes when what virtual actions are performed.”).
As per claim 19, Wu and Zhang disclose a working machine according to claim 3, further comprising a storage part configured to store a trained model for outputting one operation from among the plurality of operations, when information concerning the performance status of the operation of the working machine is an input (Wu at Para. [0087] discloses the use of a virtual model which would require some form of storing:”, , the motion simulator 54 starts simulating the motion of the excavator 100 in response to a start command from the remote control room RC. Specifically, the motion simulator 54 constructs a virtual work site, which is a virtual model of the work site, based on the environmental information. The environment information is information about the working environment, and includes, for example, information output by at least one of the space recognition device C1, the space recognition device C3, the positioning device 18, and the orientation detection sensor. Moreover, the environmental information may include the design surface information DG.”),
wherein the prediction part is configured to predict the future state of the target material, based on the information concerning the performance status of the operation of the working machine, using the trained model (Wu at Para. [0148] discloses the modelling and determining a future action:” the motion simulator 54 is configured to simulate what kind of event will occur at a predetermined time point in the future while the excavator 100 as an automatic excavator is actually performing work. may With this configuration, the motion simulator 54 can perform virtual work (virtual motion) ahead of actual work by a predetermined time, and can recognize in advance that undesirable events will occur.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wei; Mo (US-20210124359-A1) SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR AUTONOMOUS MOVEMENT OF MATERIAL;
Ready-Campbell; Noah Austen et al. (US-20200409377-A1) OBSTACLE DETECTION AND MANIPULATION BY A VEHICLE WITHIN A DIG SITE;
Rowe; Patrick S. (US-6076030-A) Learning system and method for optimizing control of autonomous earthmoving machinery;
Xu et al., "Neural Task Programming: Learning to Generalize Across Hierarchical Tasks";
Shi et al., " "Experimental Robotic Excavation with Fuzzy Logic and Neural Networks".
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658