DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of the claims are essentially the same. For example:
Claim 15 of the patent discloses 1 of the instant application. Although claim 15 does not disclose a controller and a memory, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize computer with controller and memory to perform the disclosed method;
Claims 16-20 of the patent disclose claims 2-6 of the instant application, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engler (EP 0509137 A1) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided equivalent English machine translation) in view of Schutt (US 6,285,278 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Engler discloses a method and a fifth wheel configured for coupling to a kingpin of a towed trailer (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0026]), the fifth wheel comprising:
a movable component that moves as the fifth wheel locks onto the kingpin (e.g. [0026] & movable component 428, 454 in Fig. 15 correspond to components of a locking assembly as shown in Fig. 1);
a sensor (e.g. Fig. 15: 570’) in operative association with the fifth wheel and configured to sense movement of the movable component as the fifth wheel locks onto the kingpin and to generate corresponding data (e.g. [0019-0021, 0075]), and
a controller configured to receive the data, determine an operational state of the fifth wheel based on the data (e.g. [0020-0022, 0075]).
Engler fails to disclose, but Schutt teaches a controller configured to log the operational state of the fifth wheel on a memory of the controller such that operation and/or wear of the fifth wheel is observable over time (e.g. col 4 lines 30-46).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Engler with the teachings of Schutt so as to allow user remotely retrieves previously stored data to assist coupling of the fifth wheel in the future.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Engler discloses the operational state is at least one of a worn state, a locked state, or an unlocked state (e.g. [0019-0021]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Schutt teaches the controller is configured to determine presence of the kingpin in the fifth wheel and log the presence of the kingpin in the fifth wheel to the memory (e.g. col 4 lines 30-46 and claim 7).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Engler discloses generating an alert, with an indicator, when the fifth wheel is in the worn state (e.g. [0020, 0022]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Schutt teaches the data stored to the memory can be remotely accessed (e.g. col 4 lines 30-46).
Regarding claim 6, Schutt teaches the sensor is a Hall Effect sensor (e.g. [0042] but fails to teach the sensor is a 3D Hall Effect sensor. However, the examiner is taking Official notice that 3D Hall Effect sensor and Hall Effect sensor are known alternative in the art. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize any known in the art sensors in the claimed invention since it is merely simple substitutions of one known element with another. The modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Engler discloses a magnet (e.g. Fig. 15: 572’) coupled to the movable component such that the magnet is moved with the movable component; and
wherein the sensor is configured to sense the magnetic flux of the magnet such that change in the magnetic flux sensed by the sensor corresponds to the movement of the movable component (e.g. Fig. 15: 570’ & [0075]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Engler discloses the sensor is configured to sense magnetic flux of the movable component such that change in the magnetic flux sensed by the sensor corresponds to the movement of the movable component (e.g. Fig. 15: 570’ & [0075]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688