Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns et al. (US 20200233410 A1) in view of Schrag (US 20190111832 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Burns teaches a system for a trailer comprising a microcontroller having a communicative coupling to a tow vehicle that receives light activation signals from the tow vehicle corresponding to a plurality of lights on the trailer including at least signal and hazard lights (Paragraphs 24, 30)
Briefly described and generally, the disclosure relates to advanced motor/generator controls for supplying torque to the trailer active axle and charging the battery from the generator. Other features include adding a house battery and electric system to the trailer; adding an inverter, a brake relay controller, and an air compressor to the trailer, eliminating the need for the “Glad Hands” (i.e., coupling devices used to connect the service and emergency air lines from the truck or tractor to the trailer); adding wireless control communication between the tractor and the trailer; adding inverters and DC to DC converters to provide power to lighting systems, refrigeration and HVAC systems, household appliances, freight positioning systems, dynamically controlled air drag reduction systems, battery management techniques, alternative battery charging ports such as from the grid or inductive charging loops, and other auxiliary and charging and power generation systems.[P-24]
FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of an electric freight trailer according to one embodiment of the disclosure. In particular, the electric freight trailer 100 is arranged here as a semi-trailer. As shown, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a chassis 200, an onboard drive system 300, an onboard air system 400, and a controller 500. In addition, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a household power system 600, and/or one or more auxiliary systems 700. Further, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a trailer steering system 800. In addition, the electric freight trailer 100 may include or otherwise be operable with a remote user interface 900. The remote user interface 900 may come in many forms and is broadly defined as a user interface separate and distinct form the operational controls of the tractor. In particular, remote user interface 900 controls the electric freight trailer 100 but not the tractor. However, the remote user interface 900 may be affixed to the tractor, to the trailer, and/or may be portable/mobile. Further the remote user interface 900 may provide for bidirectional communication providing for commands and feedback. For example, the remote user interface 900 may provide the operator and/or the tractor (and/or the controller 500) with operational, performance, and/or emergency information (e.g., break away trailer, insufficient traction/braking on the trailer-side, etc.). The remote user interface 900 may have a HUD or status reporting display and/or audio in the tractor. The remote user interface 900 may also have status lights on the trailer viewable from the tractor rear view mirror. Further, the controller 500 may interpret these communications for independent action/response. For example, the controller 500 may implement a “breakaway protocol” such as: If the trailer is moving and there is no force vector on the kingpin for a length of time, then the trailer is on its own and should start a “slowdown and stop protocol”. Also for example, if there is a tractor-side air failure or if the tractor loses air pressure to the trailer, the tractor brakes may still signal application without coming on, however the trailer will follow suit to decelerate. Likewise, if the tractor is a runaway, the trailer could apply brakes and regen to decelerate both if the controller 500 got a signal from the tractor/driver via the remote user interface 900 or otherwise.[P-30]
Burns fails to teach the microcontroller has operative control over the plurality of trailer lights, wherein the microcontroller strobes at least the hazard lights in response to a hazard light activation signal from the tow vehicle.
Schrag on the other hand teaches the microcontroller has operative control over the plurality of trailer lights, wherein the microcontroller strobes at least the hazard lights in response to a hazard light activation signal from the tow vehicle (Paragraphs 22, 28, 45, 50, 53, 59)
Embodiments of the invention are directed to a safety lighting system that provides one or more safety lights on the exterior surface of a trailer coupled to a power source and a controller. In embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to sense if a pneumatic connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor. Further, in embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to sense if an electrical connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor. Further yet, in embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to activate the one or more safety lights if a pneumatic connection has been established and an electrical connection has not been established between the trailer and the tractor. Since the pneumatic connection typically releases the trailer brakes allowing the trailer to be moved the safety lights will be on when the trailer is in motion. Further, since the electric connection is established to tow the trailer along the roadway, the safety lights may not be necessary thus when the electric connection is established the safety lights may be disabled.[P-22]
Broadly, some embodiments of the invention comprise a plurality of safety lights coupled to a controller and a power source. The safety lights may be light-emitting diode (LED) “bullet” lights, or any other type of safety light. The controller may be automatically activated upon detection of a pressure source such as from a service pneumatic line attachment. In some embodiments, when the service pneumatic line is attached a pressure sensor may sense the pressure and send a signal to the controller. Upon receiving the signal from the pressure sensor, the controller may monitor the signal. When the signal indicates that a minimum pressure threshold has been reached the controller may signal the lights to activate. The lights may strobe, remain constant, or may be different colors depending on the different signals that may be used to indicate different modes.[P-28]
FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary control box 130 housing the controller 118 and sensor 116 for operating the safety lights 106 in embodiments of the invention. In some embodiments, manual activation and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls (buttons, switches, etc.) mounted on the control box 130 and/or mounted on the trailer 102. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention the safety lighting system 114 may be activated, operated, and/or deactivated upon sensing of other triggers, such as air bag deployment or hazard light activation. Any appropriate parameter that may be sensed by systems carried by the tractor 102 or trailer 104, such as GPS location, speed, hazard light activation, air bag deployment, or accelerometers may be used as activation and/or deactivation triggers in embodiments of the invention.[P-45]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Broadly, some embodiments of the invention comprise a plurality of safety lights coupled to a controller and a power source. The safety lights may be light-emitting diode (LED) “bullet” lights, or any other type of safety light. The controller may be automatically activated upon detection of a pressure source such as from a service pneumatic line attachment. In some embodiments, when the service pneumatic line is attached a pressure sensor may sense the pressure and send a signal to the controller. Upon receiving the signal from the pressure sensor, the controller may monitor the signal. When the signal indicates that a minimum pressure threshold has been reached the controller may signal the lights to activate. The lights may strobe, remain constant, or may be different colors depending on the different signals that may be used to indicate different modes.[P-53]
A module power line 172 provides air-pressure-activated power from the battery 146 when the pressure sensor 144 detects a pressure above the minimum threshold as described above. The strobe pulse module 148 sends a signal along line 174 to the safety lighting harness 136 to light the safety lights 106. The strobe pulse module 148 may be programmed to light the safety lights in any manner as described above. In some embodiments, the strobe pulse module 148 is a Soundoff Signal ETLEDFC1 model for controlling the lighting sequence of the safety lights 106.[P-59]
Here, we see Schrag teach a trailer lighting system, where the controller/microcontroller has operative control over the plurality of trailer lights, wherein the controller/microcontroller strobes at least the hazard lights in response to a hazard light activation signal from the tow vehicle, wherein the strobing operation may be set as one of many modes of operation such that it is perceptibly faster than a flashing operation that corresponds to operation of signal lights. Wherein, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130.
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Schrag’s teaching of operating trailer lights in a strobe mode via a controller with Burns teaching of using a control interface within the tractor to control the lights or a trailer in order to enable the optimization of a more effective way to control the operation of trailer lighting in different modes accordingly.
In regards to claim 2, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the hazard lights comprise left and right signal lights on at least a rear of the trailer (Paragraphs 6, 26, 37, Schrag).
Another possible solution involves use of the over-the-road lighting systems that are manufactured into trailers (such as running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc.) to provide safety lighting. This solution requires the driver of a spotting tractor to establish an electrical connection between the spotting tractor and the trailer, as if he is preparing to haul the trailer on public roads. Establishing this electrical connection can be very time- and effort-intensive. Furthermore, it can often lead to costly damage of electrical cords or plugs. Additionally, the driver may simply forget or neglect to establish the electrical connection at all, resulting in a complete lack of safety lighting.[P-6]
In order to move a trailer, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor and the trailer. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's brakes. The trailer brakes are locked when the trailer is not connected to the tractor and when connected to the tractor the brakes typically automatically unlock when a service pneumatic line is attached. When preparing to haul the trailer over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and the trailer in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. However, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer with the spotting tractor in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs as discussed above, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment. This causes the trailers to not be lit and thus not as visible as trailers on the roadway.[P-26]
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
In regards to claim 3, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the microcontroller strobes at least the hazard lights, it also strobes additional ones of the plurality of lights on the trailer.(Paragraph 50, Schrag)
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
In regards to claim 4, Burns teaches a system for a trailer comprising: an interface to a tow vehicle that provides power and activation signals corresponding to a plurality of lights on the trailer; an interface to the trailer that provides operative control over the plurality of trailer lights; and a microcontroller that receives at least the activation signals from the interface to the tow vehicle and operatively controls the plurality of trailer lights via the interface to the trailer (Paragraphs 24, 30, 79, 95)
Briefly described and generally, the disclosure relates to advanced motor/generator controls for supplying torque to the trailer active axle and charging the battery from the generator. Other features include adding a house battery and electric system to the trailer; adding an inverter, a brake relay controller, and an air compressor to the trailer, eliminating the need for the “Glad Hands” (i.e., coupling devices used to connect the service and emergency air lines from the truck or tractor to the trailer); adding wireless control communication between the tractor and the trailer; adding inverters and DC to DC converters to provide power to lighting systems, refrigeration and HVAC systems, household appliances, freight positioning systems, dynamically controlled air drag reduction systems, battery management techniques, alternative battery charging ports such as from the grid or inductive charging loops, and other auxiliary and charging and power generation systems.[P-24]
FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of an electric freight trailer according to one embodiment of the disclosure. In particular, the electric freight trailer 100 is arranged here as a semi-trailer. As shown, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a chassis 200, an onboard drive system 300, an onboard air system 400, and a controller 500. In addition, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a household power system 600, and/or one or more auxiliary systems 700. Further, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a trailer steering system 800. In addition, the electric freight trailer 100 may include or otherwise be operable with a remote user interface 900. The remote user interface 900 may come in many forms and is broadly defined as a user interface separate and distinct form the operational controls of the tractor. In particular, remote user interface 900 controls the electric freight trailer 100 but not the tractor. However, the remote user interface 900 may be affixed to the tractor, to the trailer, and/or may be portable/mobile. Further the remote user interface 900 may provide for bidirectional communication providing for commands and feedback. For example, the remote user interface 900 may provide the operator and/or the tractor (and/or the controller 500) with operational, performance, and/or emergency information (e.g., break away trailer, insufficient traction/braking on the trailer-side, etc.). The remote user interface 900 may have a HUD or status reporting display and/or audio in the tractor. The remote user interface 900 may also have status lights on the trailer viewable from the tractor rear view mirror. Further, the controller 500 may interpret these communications for independent action/response. For example, the controller 500 may implement a “breakaway protocol” such as: If the trailer is moving and there is no force vector on the kingpin for a length of time, then the trailer is on its own and should start a “slowdown and stop protocol”. Also for example, if there is a tractor-side air failure or if the tractor loses air pressure to the trailer, the tractor brakes may still signal application without coming on, however the trailer will follow suit to decelerate. Likewise, if the tractor is a runaway, the trailer could apply brakes and regen to decelerate both if the controller 500 got a signal from the tractor/driver via the remote user interface 900 or otherwise.[P-30]
The household power system 600 may be configured to provide household power for one or more of the following purposes, including, but not limited to: running, brake, and auxiliary lighting, refrigeration power for “reefers”, control of dynamic air stream actuators for air drag management, power for electronic controls and communications, household appliances and electrically powered tools power, control and operation of solar energy panels for charging the batteries, and control and operation of hydraulic pumps such as a lift gate for the purpose of moving and lifting goods. The DC to DC converter is a bidirectional converter to exchange energy between the house battery and the main propulsion battery for the purposes of, including but not limited to: balancing cells in the battery packs, extending the use of the house battery, and providing energy to the propulsion battery pack to extend the trailer electric propulsion range.[P-79]
The remote user interface 900 may be communicably coupled to the electric freight trailer 100 by at least one of a wired connection and a wireless communication link or wireless module. For example, the wireless communication link may be configured for the purposes of, but not be limited to, exchanging CAN bus information between the towing tractor and the towed trailer; provide trailer status information to the driver; accept trailer control inputs from the driver such as battery energy storage level, auxiliary lighting control, brake pedal, accelerator pedal, and steering inputs for trailer antiskid assist; trailer location and operation log history for maintenance predictions; performance analysis; fail safe control; and funding reimbursement.[P-95]
Burn however, fails to teach wherein the microcontroller strobes one or more of the plurality of trailer lights including at least signal and hazard lights at a rate perceptible faster than a rate at which the microcontroller flashes a signal light in response to a strobe signal.
Schrag on the other hand teaches the microcontroller strobes one or more of the plurality of trailer lights including at least signal and hazard lights at a rate perceptible faster than a rate at which the microcontroller flashes a signal light in response to a strobe signal (Paragraphs 22, 28, 45, 50, 53, 59)
Embodiments of the invention are directed to a safety lighting system that provides one or more safety lights on the exterior surface of a trailer coupled to a power source and a controller. In embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to sense if a pneumatic connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor. Further, in embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to sense if an electrical connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor. Further yet, in embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to activate the one or more safety lights if a pneumatic connection has been established and an electrical connection has not been established between the trailer and the tractor. Since the pneumatic connection typically releases the trailer brakes allowing the trailer to be moved the safety lights will be on when the trailer is in motion. Further, since the electric connection is established to tow the trailer along the roadway, the safety lights may not be necessary thus when the electric connection is established the safety lights may be disabled.[P-22]
Broadly, some embodiments of the invention comprise a plurality of safety lights coupled to a controller and a power source. The safety lights may be light-emitting diode (LED) “bullet” lights, or any other type of safety light. The controller may be automatically activated upon detection of a pressure source such as from a service pneumatic line attachment. In some embodiments, when the service pneumatic line is attached a pressure sensor may sense the pressure and send a signal to the controller. Upon receiving the signal from the pressure sensor, the controller may monitor the signal. When the signal indicates that a minimum pressure threshold has been reached the controller may signal the lights to activate. The lights may strobe, remain constant, or may be different colors depending on the different signals that may be used to indicate different modes.[P-28]
FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary control box 130 housing the controller 118 and sensor 116 for operating the safety lights 106 in embodiments of the invention. In some embodiments, manual activation and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls (buttons, switches, etc.) mounted on the control box 130 and/or mounted on the trailer 102. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention the safety lighting system 114 may be activated, operated, and/or deactivated upon sensing of other triggers, such as air bag deployment or hazard light activation. Any appropriate parameter that may be sensed by systems carried by the tractor 102 or trailer 104, such as GPS location, speed, hazard light activation, air bag deployment, or accelerometers may be used as activation and/or deactivation triggers in embodiments of the invention.[P-45]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Broadly, some embodiments of the invention comprise a plurality of safety lights coupled to a controller and a power source. The safety lights may be light-emitting diode (LED) “bullet” lights, or any other type of safety light. The controller may be automatically activated upon detection of a pressure source such as from a service pneumatic line attachment. In some embodiments, when the service pneumatic line is attached a pressure sensor may sense the pressure and send a signal to the controller. Upon receiving the signal from the pressure sensor, the controller may monitor the signal. When the signal indicates that a minimum pressure threshold has been reached the controller may signal the lights to activate. The lights may strobe, remain constant, or may be different colors depending on the different signals that may be used to indicate different modes.[P-53]
A module power line 172 provides air-pressure-activated power from the battery 146 when the pressure sensor 144 detects a pressure above the minimum threshold as described above. The strobe pulse module 148 sends a signal along line 174 to the safety lighting harness 136 to light the safety lights 106. The strobe pulse module 148 may be programmed to light the safety lights in any manner as described above. In some embodiments, the strobe pulse module 148 is a Soundoff Signal ETLEDFC1 model for controlling the lighting sequence of the safety lights 106.[P-59]
Here, we see Schrag teach a trailer lighting system, where the controller/microcontroller has operative control over the plurality of trailer lights, wherein the controller/microcontroller strobes at least the hazard lights in response to a hazard light activation signal from the tow vehicle, wherein the strobing operation may be set as one of many modes of operation such that it is perceptibly faster than a flashing operation that corresponds to operation of signal lights. Wherein, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130.
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Schrag’s teaching of operating trailer lights in a strobe mode via a controller with Burns teaching of using a control interface within the tractor to control the lights or a trailer in order to enable the optimization of a more effective way to control the operation of trailer lighting in different modes accordingly.
In regards to claim 5, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the strobe signal is received from the tow vehicle(Paragraph 45, Schrag)
FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary control box 130 housing the controller 118 and sensor 116 for operating the safety lights 106 in embodiments of the invention. In some embodiments, manual activation and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls (buttons, switches, etc.) mounted on the control box 130 and/or mounted on the trailer 102. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention the safety lighting system 114 may be activated, operated, and/or deactivated upon sensing of other triggers, such as air bag deployment or hazard light activation. Any appropriate parameter that may be sensed by systems carried by the tractor 102 or trailer 104, such as GPS location, speed, hazard light activation, air bag deployment, or accelerometers may be used as activation and/or deactivation triggers in embodiments of the invention.[P-45]
In regards to claim 6, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the strobe signal comprises a signal to activate left and right signal lights. (Paragraphs 6, 26, 37, 50, Schrag).
Another possible solution involves use of the over-the-road lighting systems that are manufactured into trailers (such as running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc.) to provide safety lighting. This solution requires the driver of a spotting tractor to establish an electrical connection between the spotting tractor and the trailer, as if he is preparing to haul the trailer on public roads. Establishing this electrical connection can be very time- and effort-intensive. Furthermore, it can often lead to costly damage of electrical cords or plugs. Additionally, the driver may simply forget or neglect to establish the electrical connection at all, resulting in a complete lack of safety lighting.[P-6]
In order to move a trailer, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor and the trailer. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's brakes. The trailer brakes are locked when the trailer is not connected to the tractor and when connected to the tractor the brakes typically automatically unlock when a service pneumatic line is attached. When preparing to haul the trailer over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and the trailer in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. However, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer with the spotting tractor in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs as discussed above, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment. This causes the trailers to not be lit and thus not as visible as trailers on the roadway.[P-26]
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Here we see turn signals and hazards, which in turn encompasses left and right signal lights.
In regards to claim 7, Burns modified via Schrag the strobe signal is provided by an automated vehicle emergency system (Paragraphs 37, 39, 51, Schrag)
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
The emergency line 126 may be coupled to the trailer 104 and may control the trailer 104 emergency braking system. The emergency line 126 may provide air to the trailer brake system air tanks and energy to the brakes to enable the emergency brakes to activate. The emergency brakes may activate when an emergency is detected such as unexpected release in pressure or activation by the driver. The unexpected release in pressure may be the result of a loss in pressure in the air system due to damage or disconnect of the air couplers and/or hoses or activation by the driver. In embodiments described herein, only the service line 124 is used for activation of the lights 106 however, it can be imaged that the emergency line 126 or any other pneumatic, hydraulic, or electrical line or mechanical connection may be used.[P-39]
In some embodiments, the LED 140 illuminates when pressure is detected by the sensor 116 connected to the service line 124. The LED 140 may indicate that the service line 124 has been connected to service coupler 132. This may indicate to the driver that a good connection has been established and that the trailer 104 brakes are no longer engaged. Though, in embodiments described herein, the LED 140 illumination is indicative of a connection between the service line 124 and the service coupler 132, it can be imagined that the LED 124 may be in communication with the emergency line 126, stinger line 128, electric line 122, or any pneumatic, hydraulic, mechanical, or electrical line for indicating when a connection has been made.[P-51]
In regards to claim 8, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the strobe signal is provided by a self-driving system (Paragraph 61, Schrag)
Turning now to FIG. 6 depicting an exemplary embodiment of the safety lighting system 114 implemented on the trailer 104 during operation in combination with the spotting tractor 102 and including safety lights 106. The exemplary safety lighting system 114 includes upper safety lights 180 on the trailer upper portion 182 and lower safety lights 184 on the trailer lower portion 186. In some embodiments, rear upper safety lights 188 may also be placed on the trailer upper rear portion 190 and vertical safety lights (not shown) on the trailer vertical edges 192. The safety lights 106 may be operated manually or automatically illuminated when the service or emergency pneumatic lines are attached. The safety lights 106 may be automatically or manual deactivated when the power switches from the auxiliary power supply to the tractor power supply as supplied by the electrical power connector as described above. Any combination of color, arrangement, and blinking pattern of embodiments of the safety lights 106 and the safety lighting system 114 as described above may be implemented on the trailer 104.[P-61]
In regards to claim 9, Burns modified teaches the signal is received wirelessly (Paragraph 24, Burns).
Briefly described and generally, the disclosure relates to advanced motor/generator controls for supplying torque to the trailer active axle and charging the battery from the generator. Other features include adding a house battery and electric system to the trailer; adding an inverter, a brake relay controller, and an air compressor to the trailer, eliminating the need for the “Glad Hands” (i.e., coupling devices used to connect the service and emergency air lines from the truck or tractor to the trailer); adding wireless control communication between the tractor and the trailer; adding inverters and DC to DC converters to provide power to lighting systems, refrigeration and HVAC systems, household appliances, freight positioning systems, dynamically controlled air drag reduction systems, battery management techniques, alternative battery charging ports such as from the grid or inductive charging loops, and other auxiliary and charging and power generation systems.[P-24]
In regards to claim 10, Burns via Schrag teaches the one or more of the plurality of trailer lights that is strobed includes the signal and hazard lights(Paragraphs 6, 26, 37, 50, Schrag).
Another possible solution involves use of the over-the-road lighting systems that are manufactured into trailers (such as running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc.) to provide safety lighting. This solution requires the driver of a spotting tractor to establish an electrical connection between the spotting tractor and the trailer, as if he is preparing to haul the trailer on public roads. Establishing this electrical connection can be very time- and effort-intensive. Furthermore, it can often lead to costly damage of electrical cords or plugs. Additionally, the driver may simply forget or neglect to establish the electrical connection at all, resulting in a complete lack of safety lighting.[P-6]
In order to move a trailer, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor and the trailer. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's brakes. The trailer brakes are locked when the trailer is not connected to the tractor and when connected to the tractor the brakes typically automatically unlock when a service pneumatic line is attached. When preparing to haul the trailer over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and the trailer in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. However, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer with the spotting tractor in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs as discussed above, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment. This causes the trailers to not be lit and thus not as visible as trailers on the roadway.[P-26]
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
In regards to claim 11, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the one or more of the plurality of trailer lights that is strobed includes trailer lights in addition to the signal and hazard lights. (Paragraphs 6, 26, 37, 50, 61; Figure 6, Schrag).
Another possible solution involves use of the over-the-road lighting systems that are manufactured into trailers (such as running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc.) to provide safety lighting. This solution requires the driver of a spotting tractor to establish an electrical connection between the spotting tractor and the trailer, as if he is preparing to haul the trailer on public roads. Establishing this electrical connection can be very time- and effort-intensive. Furthermore, it can often lead to costly damage of electrical cords or plugs. Additionally, the driver may simply forget or neglect to establish the electrical connection at all, resulting in a complete lack of safety lighting.[P-6]
In order to move a trailer, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor and the trailer. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's brakes. The trailer brakes are locked when the trailer is not connected to the tractor and when connected to the tractor the brakes typically automatically unlock when a service pneumatic line is attached. When preparing to haul the trailer over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and the trailer in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. However, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer with the spotting tractor in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs as discussed above, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment. This causes the trailers to not be lit and thus not as visible as trailers on the roadway.[P-26]
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Turning now to FIG. 6 depicting an exemplary embodiment of the safety lighting system 114 implemented on the trailer 104 during operation in combination with the spotting tractor 102 and including safety lights 106. The exemplary safety lighting system 114 includes upper safety lights 180 on the trailer upper portion 182 and lower safety lights 184 on the trailer lower portion 186. In some embodiments, rear upper safety lights 188 may also be placed on the trailer upper rear portion 190 and vertical safety lights (not shown) on the trailer vertical edges 192. The safety lights 106 may be operated manually or automatically illuminated when the service or emergency pneumatic lines are attached. The safety lights 106 may be automatically or manual deactivated when the power switches from the auxiliary power supply to the tractor power supply as supplied by the electrical power connector as described above. Any combination of color, arrangement, and blinking pattern of embodiments of the safety lights 106 and the safety lighting system 114 as described above may be implemented on the trailer 104.[P-61]
In regards to claim 12, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the microcontroller does not strobe the one or more of the plurality of trailer lights when a nuisance signal is also received (Paragraph 50, Schrag)
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Here we see Schrag teaches different modes of operation synonymous to the claimed nuisance signal(s), such as determining if the trailer is in motion (which may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer). Furthermore, Schrag teaches different lighting operation outside of strobing for different modes of operation such as hazard flashing.
In regards to claim 13, Burns modified via Schrag the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to a telematics system for receiving the strobe signal(Paragraph 45, Schrag).
FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary control box 130 housing the controller 118 and sensor 116 for operating the safety lights 106 in embodiments of the invention. In some embodiments, manual activation and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls (buttons, switches, etc.) mounted on the control box 130 and/or mounted on the trailer 102. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention the safety lighting system 114 may be activated, operated, and/or deactivated upon sensing of other triggers, such as air bag deployment or hazard light activation. Any appropriate parameter that may be sensed by systems carried by the tractor 102 or trailer 104, such as GPS location, speed, hazard light activation, air bag deployment, or accelerometers may be used as activation and/or deactivation triggers in embodiments of the invention.[P-45]
In Schrag’s disclosure the telematics system comprises facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130.
In regards to claim 14, Burns modified via Schrag teaches a housing affixed to the trailer and containing the microcontroller (Paragraphs 9, 10, Schrag)
Embodiments of the invention solve these problems by providing a system for increasing the visibility of a trailer when the trailer is attached to a pneumatic line of a tractor. In a first embodiment of the invention, a safety lighting system for illuminating a trailer comprises a safety light configured to be emplaced on an exterior surface of the trailer, a power source, and a controller configured to detect if a pneumatic connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor, detect if an electrical connection has been established between the trailer and the tractor, and activate the one or more lights if the pneumatic connection has been established and the electrical connection has not been established.[P-9]
A second embodiment is directed to a safety lighting system for illuminating a trailer, comprising one or more lights disposed on an exterior surface of a trailer, a power source, a sensor, and a controller, wherein the sensor is configured to send a signal indicative of a pressure from a pneumatic connection, and wherein the controller is configured to activate the one or more lights based on the detection of the signal indicating that the pressure is above a minimum threshold.[P-10]
Here, the controller operates in the same manner as the disclosed microcontroller.
In regards to claim 15, Burns modified via Schrag teaches multiple means of supplying power to the microcontroller, including a battery supply (Paragraphs 42, 43, Schrag)
In some embodiments, the stinger line 128 may also be used as a power source 115 to charge batteries for the safety lighting system 114. The safety lighting system 114 batteries may be charged while the spotting tractor 102 is connected to the trailer 104. The safety lighting system 114 batteries may also be charged from a road tractor via stinger line 128 while the trailer 104 is be towed on a roadway. This may provide full charge to the batteries allowing many hours of operation for the safety lighting system 114 while the safety lighting system is not connected to a power generating power source 115.[P-42]
In some embodiments, power storing devices such as, for example, batteries and power generating devices such as, for example, motors may be referred to generally as power sources. The power source 115 in embodiments described herein may be a battery, but this is not intended to be limiting. In alternative embodiments, the power source 115 may include one or more solar panels, an engine, and/or capacitors. Additionally, the alternative power sources 115 may be connected to a power source battery or the safety lighting system 114 battery to store the generated energy. In some embodiments the power source 115 may be moving parts of the trailer 104 itself. For example, a generator may be connected to the wheels of the trailer 104 and charge the batteries as the trailer 104 is transported from dock to dock or along the roadway. In some embodiments, the batteries store the energy generated by the wheel/generator combination. Any source of power is intended as being within the scope of embodiments of the invention.[P-43]
Here, we see Schrag teaching a battery that is charged by a power source, such that when the power source is absent, the battery provides power, essentially acting as a backup power supply when insufficient power is received from the interface to the tow vehicle(power supply/source).
In regards to claim 18, Burns teaches system for a trailer comprising: an interface to a tow vehicle that provides activation signals corresponding to a plurality of lights on the trailer an interface to the trailer that provides operative control over the plurality of trailer lights; and control logic that receives the activation signals from the interface to the tow vehicle and operatively controls the plurality of trailer lights via the interface to the trailer(Paragraphs 24, 30)
Briefly described and generally, the disclosure relates to advanced motor/generator controls for supplying torque to the trailer active axle and charging the battery from the generator. Other features include adding a house battery and electric system to the trailer; adding an inverter, a brake relay controller, and an air compressor to the trailer, eliminating the need for the “Glad Hands” (i.e., coupling devices used to connect the service and emergency air lines from the truck or tractor to the trailer); adding wireless control communication between the tractor and the trailer; adding inverters and DC to DC converters to provide power to lighting systems, refrigeration and HVAC systems, household appliances, freight positioning systems, dynamically controlled air drag reduction systems, battery management techniques, alternative battery charging ports such as from the grid or inductive charging loops, and other auxiliary and charging and power generation systems.[P-24]
FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of an electric freight trailer according to one embodiment of the disclosure. In particular, the electric freight trailer 100 is arranged here as a semi-trailer. As shown, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a chassis 200, an onboard drive system 300, an onboard air system 400, and a controller 500. In addition, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a household power system 600, and/or one or more auxiliary systems 700. Further, the electric freight trailer 100 may include a trailer steering system 800. In addition, the electric freight trailer 100 may include or otherwise be operable with a remote user interface 900. The remote user interface 900 may come in many forms and is broadly defined as a user interface separate and distinct form the operational controls of the tractor. In particular, remote user interface 900 controls the electric freight trailer 100 but not the tractor. However, the remote user interface 900 may be affixed to the tractor, to the trailer, and/or may be portable/mobile. Further the remote user interface 900 may provide for bidirectional communication providing for commands and feedback. For example, the remote user interface 900 may provide the operator and/or the tractor (and/or the controller 500) with operational, performance, and/or emergency information (e.g., break away trailer, insufficient traction/braking on the trailer-side, etc.). The remote user interface 900 may have a HUD or status reporting display and/or audio in the tractor. The remote user interface 900 may also have status lights on the trailer viewable from the tractor rear view mirror. Further, the controller 500 may interpret these communications for independent action/response. For example, the controller 500 may implement a “breakaway protocol” such as: If the trailer is moving and there is no force vector on the kingpin for a length of time, then the trailer is on its own and should start a “slowdown and stop protocol”. Also for example, if there is a tractor-side air failure or if the tractor loses air pressure to the trailer, the tractor brakes may still signal application without coming on, however the trailer will follow suit to decelerate. Likewise, if the tractor is a runaway, the trailer could apply brakes and regen to decelerate both if the controller 500 got a signal from the tractor/driver via the remote user interface 900 or otherwise.[P-30]
Burns however fails to teach the interface controlling at least left and right signal lights, wherein the control logic flashes the left signal light when receiving a left signal light activation signal and flashes the right signal light when receiving a right signal light activation signal; wherein the control logic strobes the left signal light and the right signal light simultaneously when the control logic receives a strobing activation signal; wherein the strobe rate is perceptibly faster than the left signal light rate and the right signal light rate.
Schrag on the other hand teaches the interface controlling at least left and right signal lights, wherein the control logic flashes the left signal light when receiving a left signal light activation signal and flashes the right signal light when receiving a right signal light activation signal (Paragraphs 26, 37, 49)
In order to move a trailer, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor and the trailer. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's brakes. The trailer brakes are locked when the trailer is not connected to the tractor and when connected to the tractor the brakes typically automatically unlock when a service pneumatic line is attached. When preparing to haul the trailer over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and the trailer in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. However, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer with the spotting tractor in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs as discussed above, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment. This causes the trailers to not be lit and thus not as visible as trailers on the roadway.[P-26]
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
The controller 118, which may be housed in the control box 130 may control the function, behavior, and operation of the safety lights 114. As such, in embodiments of the invention the controller 118 is coupled to each of the safety lights 106 mounted on the trailer. The controller 118 may be coupled to the safety lights 106 via the lighting harness 136. The lighting harness 136 may couple the controller 118 to each light of the safety lights 106 or may couple to a light bar that comprises a plurality of lights. The lighting harness 136 may comprise any number of pins that allows the controller 118 to control all safety lights 106 simultaneously through either a light bar configuration or an individual light configuration.[P-49]
Here, Schrag teaches the control of turn signals, and being able to activate each light individually.
Furthermore, Schrag teaches the control logic strobes the left signal light and the right signal light simultaneously when the control logic receives a strobing activation signal, wherein the strobe rate is perceptibly faster than the left signal light rate and the right signal light rate (Paragraphs 22, 28, 45, 50, 53, 59)
Embodiments of the invention are directed to a safety lighting system that provides one or more safety lights on the exterior surface of a trailer coupled to a power source and a controller. In embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to sense if a pneumatic connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor. Further, in embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to sense if an electrical connection has been established between the trailer and a tractor. Further yet, in embodiments of the invention, the controller is configured to activate the one or more safety lights if a pneumatic connection has been established and an electrical connection has not been established between the trailer and the tractor. Since the pneumatic connection typically releases the trailer brakes allowing the trailer to be moved the safety lights will be on when the trailer is in motion. Further, since the electric connection is established to tow the trailer along the roadway, the safety lights may not be necessary thus when the electric connection is established the safety lights may be disabled.[P-22]
Broadly, some embodiments of the invention comprise a plurality of safety lights coupled to a controller and a power source. The safety lights may be light-emitting diode (LED) “bullet” lights, or any other type of safety light. The controller may be automatically activated upon detection of a pressure source such as from a service pneumatic line attachment. In some embodiments, when the service pneumatic line is attached a pressure sensor may sense the pressure and send a signal to the controller. Upon receiving the signal from the pressure sensor, the controller may monitor the signal. When the signal indicates that a minimum pressure threshold has been reached the controller may signal the lights to activate. The lights may strobe, remain constant, or may be different colors depending on the different signals that may be used to indicate different modes.[P-28]
FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary control box 130 housing the controller 118 and sensor 116 for operating the safety lights 106 in embodiments of the invention. In some embodiments, manual activation and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls (buttons, switches, etc.) mounted on the control box 130 and/or mounted on the trailer 102. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention the safety lighting system 114 may be activated, operated, and/or deactivated upon sensing of other triggers, such as air bag deployment or hazard light activation. Any appropriate parameter that may be sensed by systems carried by the tractor 102 or trailer 104, such as GPS location, speed, hazard light activation, air bag deployment, or accelerometers may be used as activation and/or deactivation triggers in embodiments of the invention.[P-45]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Broadly, some embodiments of the invention comprise a plurality of safety lights coupled to a controller and a power source. The safety lights may be light-emitting diode (LED) “bullet” lights, or any other type of safety light. The controller may be automatically activated upon detection of a pressure source such as from a service pneumatic line attachment. In some embodiments, when the service pneumatic line is attached a pressure sensor may sense the pressure and send a signal to the controller. Upon receiving the signal from the pressure sensor, the controller may monitor the signal. When the signal indicates that a minimum pressure threshold has been reached the controller may signal the lights to activate. The lights may strobe, remain constant, or may be different colors depending on the different signals that may be used to indicate different modes.[P-53]
A module power line 172 provides air-pressure-activated power from the battery 146 when the pressure sensor 144 detects a pressure above the minimum threshold as described above. The strobe pulse module 148 sends a signal along line 174 to the safety lighting harness 136 to light the safety lights 106. The strobe pulse module 148 may be programmed to light the safety lights in any manner as described above. In some embodiments, the strobe pulse module 148 is a Soundoff Signal ETLEDFC1 model for controlling the lighting sequence of the safety lights 106.[P-59]
Here, we see Schrag teach a trailer lighting system, where the controller/microcontroller has operative control over the plurality of trailer lights, wherein the controller/microcontroller strobes at least the hazard lights in response to a hazard light activation signal from the tow vehicle, wherein the strobing operation may be set as one of many modes of operation such that it is perceptibly faster than a flashing operation that corresponds to operation of signal lights. Wherein, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by controls located within the cab of a spotting or road tractor. Additionally or alternatively, in embodiments of the invention, manual activation, operation, and/or deactivation of the safety lighting system 114 may be accomplished by remote connection from an administrative facility, such as a manager's computer or a location-tracking security system. As such, embodiments of the invention may incorporate structures facilitating wireless communication, such as a wireless Internet modem and/or cellular telephone antenna and may be mounted in the control box 130.
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Schrag’s teaching of operating trailer lights in a strobe mode via a controller with Burns teaching of using a control interface within the tractor to control the lights or a trailer in order to enable the optimization of a more effective way to control the operation of trailer lighting in different modes accordingly.
In regards to claim 19, Burns modified via the strobing activation signal comprises a hazard light activation signal(Paragraph 50, Schrag)
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
In regards to claim 20, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the strobing activation signal comprises a signal distinct from a hazard light activation signal (Paragraph 50, Schrag)
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
In regards to claim 21, Burns modified via teaches a battery backup that operates the control logic and the left and right signal lights when insufficient power is received from the interface to the tow vehicle (Paragraphs 42, 43, Schrag)
In some embodiments, the stinger line 128 may also be used as a power source 115 to charge batteries for the safety lighting system 114. The safety lighting system 114 batteries may be charged while the spotting tractor 102 is connected to the trailer 104. The safety lighting system 114 batteries may also be charged from a road tractor via stinger line 128 while the trailer 104 is be towed on a roadway. This may provide full charge to the batteries allowing many hours of operation for the safety lighting system 114 while the safety lighting system is not connected to a power generating power source 115.[P-42]
In some embodiments, power storing devices such as, for example, batteries and power generating devices such as, for example, motors may be referred to generally as power sources. The power source 115 in embodiments described herein may be a battery, but this is not intended to be limiting. In alternative embodiments, the power source 115 may include one or more solar panels, an engine, and/or capacitors. Additionally, the alternative power sources 115 may be connected to a power source battery or the safety lighting system 114 battery to store the generated energy. In some embodiments the power source 115 may be moving parts of the trailer 104 itself. For example, a generator may be connected to the wheels of the trailer 104 and charge the batteries as the trailer 104 is transported from dock to dock or along the roadway. In some embodiments, the batteries store the energy generated by the wheel/generator combination. Any source of power is intended as being within the scope of embodiments of the invention.[P-43]
Here, we see Schrag teaching a battery that is charged by a power source, such that when the power source is absent, the battery provides power, essentially acting as a backup power supply when insufficient power is received from the interface to the tow vehicle(power supply/source)
In regards to claim 22, Burns modified via Schrag teaches the control logic strobes the left signal light and the right signal light simultaneously when the control logic receives a strobing activation signal, the control logic strobes additional ones of the plurality of lights on the trailer(Paragraphs 6, 26, 37, 50, Schrag).
Another possible solution involves use of the over-the-road lighting systems that are manufactured into trailers (such as running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc.) to provide safety lighting. This solution requires the driver of a spotting tractor to establish an electrical connection between the spotting tractor and the trailer, as if he is preparing to haul the trailer on public roads. Establishing this electrical connection can be very time- and effort-intensive. Furthermore, it can often lead to costly damage of electrical cords or plugs. Additionally, the driver may simply forget or neglect to establish the electrical connection at all, resulting in a complete lack of safety lighting.[P-6]
In order to move a trailer, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor and the trailer. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's brakes. The trailer brakes are locked when the trailer is not connected to the tractor and when connected to the tractor the brakes typically automatically unlock when a service pneumatic line is attached. When preparing to haul the trailer over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and the trailer in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. However, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer with the spotting tractor in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs as discussed above, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment. This causes the trailers to not be lit and thus not as visible as trailers on the roadway.[P-26]
In order to move the trailer 104, the driver of any tractor, spotting or road, must first establish a pneumatic connection between the tractor 102 and the trailer 104. This pneumatic connection supplies the necessary air pressure for releasing the trailer's 104 brakes. The pneumatic connection may be established between the trailer 104 and the tractor 102 via the service line 124 and the emergency line 126. When preparing to haul the trailer 104 over-the-road, the driver must also establish an electrical connection between the road tractor and trailer 104 in order to power systems such as the trailer's running lights, tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, etc. The electrical connection may be established via the electrical line 122. Typically, these systems require power from the electrical connection and are not absolutely necessary when moving the trailer 104 with the spotting tractor 102 in a warehouse environment. In the interests of speed, increased efficiency, and decreased wear on cords and plugs, typically electrical connections are not established between trailers and spotting tractors in such an environment.[P-37]
In some embodiments, the controller 118 may control all safety lights 106 with one signal or send different signals to different lights. All safety lights 106 may be the same or some lights may be different colors or may illuminate in different patterns. In this sense the safety lighting system 114 may signal different colors and different strobing patterns to signal different operational modes or warning indications to workers. The different strobing patterns signaled by the safety lights 106 may represent different situations. For example, all safety lights 106 in an on mode may demonstrate that the trailer 104 is in motion. This may be detected by GPS, accelerometer, tire rotation, or a signal from the speedometer. Similarly, blinking safety lights 106 may indicate that the trailer 104 pneumatic system is attached but the trailer 104 is stationary. In some embodiments, it may be useful to employ flashing hazard style safety lights 106 when the trailer 104 or tractor 102 is broken down and no electrical power is accessible by the trailer 104 or when the trailer 104 is undergoing maintenance and a person is working in, on, or below the trailer 104. This may signal a driver that a person is around the trailer 104 and that the trailer 104 is not to be moved. These modes may be controlled and/or programmed by the user or may be automatic based on the condition of the trailer 104.[P-50]
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns et al. (US 20200233410 A1) in view of Schrag (US 20190111832 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Trinh et al. (US 10854023 B1).
In regards to claim 16, Burns modified fails to teach the interface to the tow vehicle comprises a first ISO 1724 interface.
Trinh on the other hand teaches the interface to the tow vehicle comprises a first ISO 1724 interface (Column 2, lines 34- Column 3, line 8)
A system for a trailer mounted data sensor comprises a system configured to transmit sensor data from a sensor mounted on a vehicle trailer to electronics mounted on the vehicle. The system is designed to overcome the problem of communicating the signals from a sensor mounted on a trailer and electronics mounted on a vehicle (e.g., a big rig truck). Both wired and wireless connections are difficult. The wired connection is problematic because of the standard connectivity interface between the vehicle and the trailer, which has a limited number of electrical connections and does not have extra connections for a separate data transmission line. The wireless connection is problematic due to interference issues (e.g., other vehicles, metallic obstacles, other WiFi transmitters, etc.). The sensor typically comprises a video camera, a digital camera, a microphone, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, etc. Sensor data is modulated using a modem and transmitted via lines of the electrical harness coupling the vehicle to the vehicle trailer. The electrical harness includes a connector (e.g., a society of automotive engineers (SAE) J560 connector or European ISO 1724 connector) that makes electrical connections between a main vehicle (e.g., a tractor, a truck cab, etc.) and a trailer. The electrical connections include connections for auxiliary power, ground, tail lights, reverse lights, right turn signal, left turn signal, and electric brakes. Auxiliary power and ground connections are used to power the sensor, modem, and any other electronics mounted on the vehicle trailer. Modulated data is coupled (e.g., using a capacitive coupling) to one or more lines of the electrical harness, for example, two lines (e.g., the right turn signal and the left turn signal). Capacitive coupling (AC coupling) allows the normal DC-low frequency functionality (e.g., 5 Hz or less) of the lighting signals (e.g., turn signals, brakes, blinkers lights etc.), while the modulated speed data signaling occupies a higher RF spectrum on these wires (e.g., above 1 MHz). Therefore lighting signaling and data signal are mutually non-interfering on the same wires. The signal may be transmitted differentially for better noise immunity. The lines carry the modulated data back to the vehicle. A second modem on the vehicle demodulates the modulated data to produce the original sensor data. The sensor data is then processed by a vehicle event recorder.[Col 2, ln 34- Col 3, ln 8]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Trinh’s teaching with Burns modified teaching in order to enable a more effective and seamless means of communication between the tractor and the trailer during functional operations
In regards to claim 17, Burns modified fails to teach the interface to the trailer comprises a first ISO 1724 interface.
Trinh on the other hand teaches the interface to the trailer comprises a first ISO 1724 interface (Column 2, lines 34- Column 3, line 8)
A system for a trailer mounted data sensor comprises a system configured to transmit sensor data from a sensor mounted on a vehicle trailer to electronics mounted on the vehicle. The system is designed to overcome the problem of communicating the signals from a sensor mounted on a trailer and electronics mounted on a vehicle (e.g., a big rig truck). Both wired and wireless connections are difficult. The wired connection is problematic because of the standard connectivity interface between the vehicle and the trailer, which has a limited number of electrical connections and does not have extra connections for a separate data transmission line. The wireless connection is problematic due to interference issues (e.g., other vehicles, metallic obstacles, other WiFi transmitters, etc.). The sensor typically comprises a video camera, a digital camera, a microphone, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, etc. Sensor data is modulated using a modem and transmitted via lines of the electrical harness coupling the vehicle to the vehicle trailer. The electrical harness includes a connector (e.g., a society of automotive engineers (SAE) J560 connector or European ISO 1724 connector) that makes electrical connections between a main vehicle (e.g., a tractor, a truck cab, etc.) and a trailer. The electrical connections include connections for auxiliary power, ground, tail lights, reverse lights, right turn signal, left turn signal, and electric brakes. Auxiliary power and ground connections are used to power the sensor, modem, and any other electronics mounted on the vehicle trailer. Modulated data is coupled (e.g., using a capacitive coupling) to one or more lines of the electrical harness, for example, two lines (e.g., the right turn signal and the left turn signal). Capacitive coupling (AC coupling) allows the normal DC-low frequency functionality (e.g., 5 Hz or less) of the lighting signals (e.g., turn signals, brakes, blinkers lights etc.), while the modulated speed data signaling occupies a higher RF spectrum on these wires (e.g., above 1 MHz). Therefore lighting signaling and data signal are mutually non-interfering on the same wires. The signal may be transmitted differentially for better noise immunity. The lines carry the modulated data back to the vehicle. A second modem on the vehicle demodulates the modulated data to produce the original sensor data. The sensor data is then processed by a vehicle event recorder.[Col 2, ln 34- Col 3, ln 8]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Trinh’s teaching with Burns modified teaching in order to enable a more effective and seamless means of communication between the tractor and the trailer during functional operations.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686