Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending and examined below.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Specifically, the embodiment of claims 2 and 3 are not shown in a drawing. Since applicant has claimed the subject matter and is relying on the subject matter for patentability, a drawing of the embodiment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by either Michotte De Welle et al. (US 2016/0013751) (hereafter Welle), or for the alternative claimed embodiment Corio (US 2015/0234031). Specifically, at least claim 2 and at least claims 3, 4, are alternative embodiments with claim 1 being a linking claim. Embodiment of claim 2 is rejected over Welle. Embodiment of Claims 3 and 4 are rejected over Corio.
Regarding claim 1, Welle discloses a tracking system for adjusting a solar array, the tracking system comprising:
a first support column (a column of fixed ground anchor structure 21);
a torque rail (beam 23) connected to the first support column (21) for supporting panels of a first row of the solar array (1, 2) (see fig. 1, abstract and para [0070]-[0073]);
a primary drive assembly (drive system 24, 25, 26) comprising an actuator (worm gear 241,242) mounted on the first support column (21), the actuator driving rotation of the torque rail (beam 23) (see figs. 3, 6 and 7, para [0076]);
a second support column spaced from the first support column (a column of second fixed ground anchor structure, shown in fig. 1);
a secondary drive assembly mounted on the second support column (shown in fig. 2) (shows 24 at two locations); and
an axle (cable 40, or driveshaft 42) connecting the primary drive assembly to the secondary drive assembly (shown in fig. 2), the primary drive assembly and the secondary drive assembly cooperating to rotate the solar array (see figs. 1-16, para [0070]-[0091]).
Alternate claimed embodiment rejected over Corio:
Regarding claim 1, Corio discloses a tracking system for adjusting a solar array, the tracking system comprising:
a first support column (32);
a torque rail (torsion beam 34) connected to the first support column for supporting panels of a first row of the solar array (shown in fig. 3, para [0074]);
a primary drive assembly (gear drive system 16)) comprising an actuator (motor 50, worm gear 21) mounted on the first support column (32), the actuator driving rotation of the torque rail (34) (shown in fig. 5) (see para [0072]-[0074]);
a second support column (32) spaced from the first support column (32) (shown in fig. 3);
a secondary drive assembly (16) mounted on the second support column (32) (shown in fig. 3); and
an axle (25) connecting the primary drive assembly (16) to the secondary drive assembly (16), the primary drive assembly and the secondary drive assembly cooperating to rotate the solar array (see figs. 3-5, para [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the second column (21) supports the panels (22) of the first row and the torque rail (23) is connected to the second support column (shown in figs. 1 and 2),
the torque rail (23) defining a rotational axis about which the panels (22) of the first row rotate, and wherein the second support column (21) is spaced from the first support column (21) along the rotational axis (shown in figs. 1 and 2, para [0007]-[0010] and [0070]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 3, Corio discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the second support column supports additional panels of a second row of the solar array (shown in fig. 3), wherein the actuator (motor 50, worm gear 21) is configured to rotate the first row and the second row of the solar array (see figs. 3-5, para [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the secondary drive assembly includes a connection device (ring gear sector 240) and a drive linkage (bearing 210) connecting the connection device to the torque rail (23) (see figs. 6 and 7, para [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the axle is oriented generally parallel to the torque rail and is positioned below the torque rail (shown in figs. 1 and 2, see para [0007]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the axle extends through the second support column (shown in fig. 2, see para [0070]-[0093]).
Regarding claim 9, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the actuator (worm gear 241, 242) is positioned below the torque rail (shown in figs. 6-8, see para [0007]-[0012] and [0070]-[0093]).
Regarding claim 13, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the actuator (3) is directly mounted to the support column (shown in fig. 6, see para [0070]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 14, Corio discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the actuator includes a slew drive (i.e., alternative to worm gear in drive system 16, see para , the slew drive including a motor (50), a shaft (gear output shaft 42) driven by the motor (50), and a rotating member (gear wheel 22) connected to the shaft (42) (shown in fig. 5) (see para [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Corio discloses a tracking system of claim 1 further comprising a controller for controlling the actuator to adjust the torque rail such that the solar array follows a path of the sun (azimuthal path) (see para [0079]).
Regarding claim 16, Corio discloses a tracking system of claim 1, wherein the primary drive assembly (16) is operable to rotate two or more rows of the solar array (see discussion of claim 3) (see figs. 3-5, para [0070]-[0074]) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welle et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further as follows:
Regarding claim 10, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 1, but does not disclose in the embodiment cited, the system further comprising:
a mounting member connected to the torque rail; and
a link connected to the actuator and connected to the mounting member at an attachment point, the attachment point being spaced from the torque rail.
In an alternate embodiment, Welle discloses the system further comprising:
a mounting member (transmission arm 252, shown connected to panels 22 in fig. 11, one each side) connected to the torque rail (23); and
a link (link mechanism 25 (incl 251, 250, through hinge 253) connected to the actuator (actuation system 3) and connected to the mounting member (252) at an attachment point (hine 255), the attachment point being spaced from the torque rail (shown in figs. 9-14, para [0077]-[0096]).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known actuation and linkage system (i.e., as disclosed by Welle as shown in figs. 9-14) for another known actuation and linkage system (i.e., as disclosed by Welle as shown in figs. 1-8), as Welle discloses the systems to be alternatives and wherein the result is predictable. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 11, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 10 further comprising a link holder (hinge 253) connecting the link to the actuator, and wherein the link includes a rocker arm (251) pivotally attached to the link holder (hinge 253) and the mounting member (252) (see figs. 11-14, para [0077]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 10, wherein the mounting member (252) includes one of a mounting arm that extends from the torque rail (see figs. 11-14).
In regards to a sprocket and a pulley, the examiner elects not to examine optional (listed in the alternative) limitations.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corio et al. as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Corio et al. (US 2008/0308091) (Corio-2).
Regarding claim 4, Corio discloses a tracking system of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the solar array is arranged on variable terrain such that a height of the first row is different from a height of the second row.
Corio-2 is analogous art to Corio as Corio-2 discloses a solar array tracking system comprising a primary drive system (see abstract). Corio-2, analogous to Corio discloses wherein the second support column (22) supports additional panels of a second row of the solar array (shown in fig. 2), wherein the actuator (motor 14, worm gear 26) is configured to rotate the first row and the second row of the solar array (through drive shaft 28) (see figs. 3-5, para [0048]-[0050]). Corio-2 discloses wherein the solar array is arranged on variable terrain such that a height of the first row is different from a height of the second row (i.e., by use of articulating joints for the drive shaft, see fig. 4, para [0051]).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known device (i.e., articulating joints for the drive shaft of Corio-2) for another known device (i.e., the joints for the drive shaft of Corio), wherein the result is predictable (i.e, ability to accommodate uneven terrain; rows within the array at different heights as disclosed by Corio-2). See MPEP § 2143.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welle et al. as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Menard (US 2015/03272636).
Regarding claim 6, Welle discloses a tracking system of claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the connection device includes one of a sprocket, a gear, and a pulley and wherein the drive linkage includes one of a chain, a belt, and a wire.
Menard is analogous art to Welle as Menard discloses a tracking photovoltaic solar system (see abstract). Menard discloses wherein the drive system includes a connection device wherein the connection device includes one of a sprocket, gear, and a pulley (specifically pulley 129) and wherein the drive linkage (i.e. connects pulley to torque tube 131) includes one of a chain, a belt, and a wire (specifically wire rope 125) (see para [0226]).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known device (i.e., pulley and wire disclosed by Menard to connect the actuator to the torque tube) for another known device (i.e., the partial gear and drive linkage of Welle), wherein the result is predictable (i.e., the actuator connects to the torque bar and rotates it).
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721