DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the correspondence filed on 05/19/25. Claims 1-20 are still pending and have been considered below.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that the claimed term “computer storage media” has been interpreted in view of paragraph [00166] of the Specification filed on 05/19/25, which defines the term to not comprise signals per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first displayed first value" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first web or app page" throughout the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes that the preceding claim language appears to establish at least two separate and distinct instances of “a first web or app page” (see claims 1 and 2); thus, renders the claim indefinite in that it is unclear as to which one the limitation in question should be in reference to.
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 9 recite the limitation "the first displayed value" throughout the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mazouchi et al. (2019/0124082).
Claim 1: Mazouchi et al. discloses a system comprising:
at least one computer processor [page 7, paragraph 0089]; and
one or more computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the at least one computer processor, cause the at least one computer processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving an indication that a user has accessed a first web or app page of a first computer application, the first web or app page displaying a first value within a first field, the access of the first web or app page occurring during a first computer session(browser activity/requests) [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025];
in response to receiving the indication that the user has accessed the first web or app page of the first computer application, extracting, from the first web or app page, the displayed first value of the first field during the first computer session(create a BUID vector that includes some or all of the various data) [page 2, paragraph 0026];
at least partially responsive to the extraction, from the first web or app page, of the first displayed first value, causing a first hash to be computed, the first hash at least partially represents the first value(generating one or more hashes of the vector) [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037];
receiving another indication that at least a second web or app page of the first computer application or another computer application has been accessed, the second web or app page displaying a second value within a second field, the access of the second web or app page occurring during a second computer session [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025];
extracting, from the second web or app page, the displayed second value during the second computer session [page 2, paragraph 0026];
at least partially responsive to the extraction of the second value, causing a second hash to be computed, the second hash at least partially represents the second value [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037]; and
based at least in part on a comparison between the first hash and the second hash(based on comparison of the hashes) [page 3, paragraphs 0038-0039], generating a score indicating a probability that a same user accessed both the first web or app page and the second web or app page(probability may be maintained the same or adjusted based on consistency values) [page 2, paragraph 0032].
Claim 2: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprising: based at least in part on the receiving of the indication that the user has accessed a first web or app page and receiving another indication that the user has performed computer user activity at the first web or app page, storing, in computer storage, a visual representation of the first web or app page and each input, of the computer user activity, that the user performed at the first web or app page, and wherein the extraction, from the first web or app page, of the first displayed first value is based on the storing of the visual representation of each input that the user performed at the first web or app page(browser activities include webpage requests and rendering webpages…browser data includes various history data, which is included in the BUID vector) [page 1, paragraphs 0013 & 0015 | page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025-0026].
Claim 4: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the extracting of the first displayed value is based at least in part on performing a computer search at the first web page and detecting the first displayed value [page 5, paragraphs 0066-0067].
Claim 5: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the extracting of the first displayed value is based on running code in response to the user accessing the first web or app page, and wherein the code captures a Document Object Model (DOM) representative of a logical structure and content of the web or app page(create a BUID vector that includes some or all of global data, device data and browser data, where the data includes all or some of the described values of each data type) [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0026].
Claim 6: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: detecting an indication of a file attachment at the first web or app page; in response to the detection, converting the file attachment into a machine-readable bitmap image; and at least partially in response to the conversion, detecting, at the machine-readable bitmap image, the first value, and wherein the first value is included in the file attachment, and wherein the extracting of the displayed first value is based at least in part on the detecting(browser activities include webpage requests and rendering webpages…browser data includes various history data, which is included in the BUID vector) [page 1, paragraphs 0013 & 0015 | page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025-0026].
Claim 7: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: extracting a third displayed value of a second field from the first web or app page [page 2, paragraph 0026]; responsive to the extraction of the third displayed value, causing the first hash to be computed by combining a first sub-hash representing the first displayed value and a second sub- hash representing the third displayed value(generating hash of entire subject, labeled hashes and/or unlabeled hashes) [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037]; extracting a fourth displayed value from the second web or app page [page 2, paragraph 0026]; and responsive to the extraction of the fourth displayed value, causing the second hash to be computed by combining a third sub-hash representing the second displayed value and a fourth sub-hash representing the fourth displayed value [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037].
Claim 8: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first hash represents one of a concatenation of each value of a plurality of fields of the first web or app page or only the first displayed value [page 1, paragraphs 0013 & 0015 | page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021].
Claim 9: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the extraction of the first displayed value of the first field from the first web or app page is based on training a machine learning model to learn that each value, of a plurality of values, is indicative of being a constituent of a respective field, of a plurality of fields [page 6, paragraph 0071].
Claim 10: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the receiving of the indication that the user has accessed the first web or app page of the first computer application, causing the computer user activity to be recorded in a data record for the first computer session, the data record excluding a cookie [page 2, paragraph 0026].
Claim 11: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: based on retrieving the record and the generating of the score, causing at least one of a targeted advertisement to be transmitted to a user device associated with the user, a fraud detection report to be generated, and store, in computer storage, user preferences [pages 2-3, paragraphs 0033-0034].
Claim 12: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the first hash and the second hash is a one-way hash, and wherein each of the one-way hashes is computed at a user device associated with the user [page 6, paragraph 0074].
Claim 13: Mazouchi et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the generating of the score is based on at least one of: computing a confidence interval by using an overlap algorithm that indicates a difference between the first hash and second hash, or using one or more machine learning models [page 7, paragraph 0085].
Claim 14: Mazouchi et al. discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving an indication that a user has accessed a first web or app page of a first computer application and has performed computer user activity at the first web or app page, the access of the first web or app page occurring during a first computer session [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025];
based at least in part on the receiving of the indication that the user has accessed the first web or app page of the first computer application and has performed the computer user activity at the first web or app page, storing, in computer storage, a visual representation of the first web or app page and each input, of the computer user activity, that the user performed at the first web or app page [page 1, paragraphs 0013 & 0015 | page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025-0026];
based at least in part on the storing, in the computer storage, of the visual representation of the first web or app page and each input, of the computer user activity, extracting a first value of a first field from the visual representation of the first web or app page, the first value having been input by the user as part of the computer user activity [page 2, paragraph 0026];
at least partially responsive to the extraction of the first value from the visual representation, causing a first hash to be computed, the first hash at least partially represents the first value [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037];
receiving another indication that at least a second web or app page of the first computer application or another computer application has been accessed, the access of the second web or app_page occurring during a second computer session [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025];
extracting a second value from the second web or app page or a visual representation of the second web or app page [page 2, paragraph 0026];
at least partially responsive to the extraction of the second value, causing a second hash to be computed, the second hash at least partially represents the second value [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037]; and
based at least in part on a comparison between the first hash and the second hash [page 3, paragraphs 0038-0039], generating a score indicating a probability that a same user accessed both the first web or app page and the second web or app page [page 2, paragraph 0032].
Claim 16: Mazouchi et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the extracting of the first value is based at least in part on performing a computer search at the visual representation of first web page and detecting the first value at the visual representation [page 5, paragraphs 0066-0067].
Claim 17: Mazouchi et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the extracting of the first displayed value is based on running code in response to the user accessing the first web or app page, and wherein the code captures a Document Object Model (DOM) representative of a logical structure and content of the web or app page [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0026].
Claim 18: Mazouchi et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein each of the first hash and the second hash is a one-way hash, and wherein each of the one-way hashes is computed at a user device associated with the user [page 6, paragraph 0074].
Claim 19: Mazouchi et al. discloses one or more computer storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving an indication that a user has accessed a first web or app page of a first computer application and has performed computer user activity at the first web or app page, the access of the first web or app page occurring during a first computer session [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025];
based at least in part on the receiving of the indication that the user has accessed the first web or app page of the first computer application and has performed the computer user activity at the first web or app page, storing, in computer storage, a visual representation of the first web or app page and each input, of the computer user activity, that the user performed at the first web or app page [page 1, paragraphs 0013 & 0015 | page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025-0026];
based at least in part on the storing, in the computer storage, of the visual representation of the first web or app page and each input, of the computer user activity, extracting a first value of a first field from the visual representation of the first web or app page, the first value having been input by the user as part of the computer user activity [page 2, paragraph 0026];
at least partially responsive to the extraction of the first value from the visual representation, anonymizing the first value to form a first anonymized value [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037];
receiving another indication that at least a second web or app page of the first computer application or another computer application has been accessed, the access of the second web or app page occurring during a second computer session [page 2, paragraphs 0020-0021 & 0025];
extracting a second value from the second web or app page or a visual representation of the second web or app page [page 2, paragraph 0026];
at least partially responsive to the extraction of the second value, anonymizing the second value to form a second anonymized value [page 3, paragraphs 0036-0037]; and
based at least in part on a comparison between the first anonymized value and the second anonymized value [page 3, paragraphs 0038-0039], generating a score indicating a probability that a same user accessed both the first web or app page and the second web or app page [page 2, paragraph 0032].
Claim 20: Mazouchi et al. discloses the one or more computer storage media of claim 19, wherein each of the first anonymized value and the second anonymized value represents one of: a hash, an obfuscated value, an encrypted value, or a vector [page 6, paragraph 0074].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,348,497.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a substantially similar technique of generating a score indicating a probability that a same user accessed both a first and second web or app page, which specifically extracts values from the web or app pages and calculates hashes and/or anonymized values based at least partially on the extracted values.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that each and every limitation of the instant claims appear to be substantially anticipated by the corresponding patented claims.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that the instant claims and the patented claims are not directed to patentably distinct inventions; thus, properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mak et al. (2008/0162206).
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435