DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 12, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on May 19, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0001] on p. 1 of Applicant’s disclosure recites “…US Application No. 18/629,614, filed on April 8, 2024, which is a continuation of…” where it should instead recite “…US Application No. 18/629,614, filed on April 8, 2024, now U.S. Patent No. 12,327,304, which is a continuation of…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,327,304, as shown in the tables below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant application claims are essentially covered by the limitations of the patent claims.
19/212,231
Claim 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
12,327,304
Claim 1
9
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
6
7
10
19/212,231
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
12,327,304
9
2
3
4
5
11
12
19/212,231 (Claim 1)
12,327,304 (Claim 1)
A video generation method, wherein the method comprises:
A video generation method, wherein the method comprises:
displaying an effect corresponding to a music on a capturing page in response to a determination of the music;
displaying an atmosphere effect corresponding to a target music on a capturing page when real-time video capturing is performed in response to a selection operation of the target music;
wherein the effect corresponding to the music is determined based on characteristics of the music; and
wherein the atmosphere effect corresponding to the target music is determined based on characteristics of the target music; and
generating a video in real time based on the effect in response to a trigger operation for a capturing control on the capturing page;
generating a target result video based on the atmosphere effect and video captured in real time in response to a trigger operation for a capturing control on the capturing page,
wherein an audio in the video is determined based on the music.
wherein an audio in the target result video is obtained based on the target music.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. John Brislin (US 20200251146A1), Kim (US 20160189667A1), and Novikoff (US 20150058733A1).
As per Claim 1, St. John Brislin teaches a video generation method (composite video that includes portions of the video matched to respective portions of the audio track is generated, [0105]), wherein the method comprises: determining an effect corresponding to a music in response to a determination of the music; wherein the effect corresponding to the music is determined based on characteristics of the music; and generating a video based on the effect in response to a trigger operation for a capturing control; wherein an audio in the video is determined based on the music (obtaining a user-selected audio track, statistical analysis is performed on the audio track so as to determine an excitement level associated with respective portions of the audio track, statistical analysis is performed on the video game footage so as to determine an excitement level associated with respective portions of the video game footage, portions of the video game footage are matched with portions of the audio track, based on a correspondence in determined excitement level, based on said matching, a combined audio-visual content comprising the portions of the video game footage matched to corresponding portions of the audio track is generated, calm and exciting moments within the video footage are matched to corresponding moments in the audio track, Abstract; [0105]).
However, St. John Brislin does not teach displaying the effect on a capturing page. However, Kim teaches determining, based on meta data, an image category corresponding to the music content, determining at least one image corresponding to the determined image category as a background image, and controlling the display to display the determined at least one image as the output image (Abstract). In the case of music contents having an MP3 audio file format, a standardized ID3 tag may be used as the meta data and tag information including a singer, a title, a year, an album, a genre, and the like [0050]. Thus, it would be obvious that there is a determination of the MP3 music. Thus, Kim teaches displaying an effect corresponding to a music on a capturing page in response to a determination of the music; wherein the effect corresponding to the music is determined based on characteristics of the music (Abstract, [0050], background image that belongs to a theme determined according to the genre of the music contents, may be variously substituted and displayed, to enhance a user listening experience, [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin to include displaying the effect on a capturing page because Kim suggests that this enhances a user listening experience [0083].
However, St. John Brislin and Kim do not teach generating the video in real time. However, Novikoff teaches that a user performs a one-finger swipe gesture. The swipe gesture starts on a first video source in the upper left position of a block of 4 video sources (Camera 1) all playing simultaneously (Fig. 1a). The swipe gesture ends on a second video source in the upper right position of the block (Camera 2) (Fig. 1c). The gesture indicates a dissolve transition to the second video source [0051]. Thus, as shown in Figs. 1a-1c, a user starts the swipe gesture by selecting the picture captured in real time from Camera 1, then ends the swipe gesture by selecting the picture captured in real time from Camera 2, and this generates a target result video that starts with the picture captured in real time from Camera 1 and dissolve transitions to the picture captured in real time from Camera 2. Novikoff teaches a gesture-based, live video editing application including an interface screen for allowing a user to select music to add to a video [0021]. St. John Brislin teaches that a combined audio-visual content comprising calm and exciting moments within the video matched to corresponding calm and exciting moments in the audio track is generated (Abstract, [0105]). Thus, this concept from St. John Brislin can be implemented into the device of Novikoff such that the user selects music that has an excitement level that matches the excitement level of the video to add to the video. Thus, the combination of St. John Brislin and Novikoff teaches generating a video in real time based on the effect in response to a trigger operation for a capturing control.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin and Kim to include generating the video in real time because Novikoff suggests that this way, a user can finish editing a video of an event within 5 minutes of the end of the event, because the editing is done while the videos play back in real-time, and can send the edited video to others, so that others do not have to wait because they can view the edited video very soon after the event happens [0103].
As per Claim 8, St. John Brislin does not expressly teach wherein the characteristics of the music include a genre of the music and/or a preference group corresponding to the music. However, Kim teaches wherein the characteristics of the music include a genre of the music and/or a preference group corresponding to the music (Abstract) [0050, 0083]. This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 1.
As per Claim 9, Claim 9 is similar in scope to Claim 1, except that Claim 9 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein instructions are stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and the instructions, upon being executed by a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement the method of Claim 1. St. John Brislin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein instructions are stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and the instructions, upon being executed by a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement the method (computer readable medium having computer executable instructions that are adapted to cause the system to perform any of said method steps, [0108]). Thus, Claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
As per Claim 12, Claim 12 is similar in scope to Claim 8, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale. As per Claim 13, Claim 13 is similar in scope to Claim 9, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale. As per Claim 20, Claim 20 is similar in scope to Claim 8, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. John Brislin (US 20200251146A1), Kim (US 20160189667A1), and Novikoff (US 20150058733A1) in view of Kwon (US 20210074067A1).
As per Claim 3, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff do not teach wherein before generating the video in real time based on the effect, the method further comprises: displaying evaluation props on the capturing page based on audio data that is input from a microphone in a process of video capturing; wherein the evaluation props are determined based on a matching degree between the audio data and the music; and correspondingly, generating the video in real time based on the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page comprises: generating the video in real time based on the evaluation props and the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page. However, Kwon teaches wherein before generating the video in real time based on the effect, the method further comprises: displaying evaluation props on the capturing page based on audio data that is input from a microphone in a process of video capturing; wherein the evaluation props are determined based on a matching degree between the audio data and the music; and correspondingly, generating the video in real time based on the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page comprises: generating the video in real time based on the evaluation props and the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page (acquire an audio signal from the outside of the electronic device through the microphone 550, acquire information (e.g., a genre of music) related to music in the acquired audio signal, [0075], provide an AR object through the camera application based on the identified music information, determine an AR object to be displayed based on a genre of music (e.g., genre, speed, mood, or intensity), determine a set of AR objects corresponding to a genre of music, [0084], during reproduction of the video, display the AR object floated on the video based on the information about the AR object, the AR object floated on the video may be changed based on music included in the video during the reproduction of the video, [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff so that before generating the video in real time based on the effect, the method further comprises: displaying evaluation props on the capturing page based on audio data that is input from a microphone in a process of video capturing; wherein the evaluation props are determined based on a matching degree between the audio data and the music; and correspondingly, generating the video in real time based on the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page comprises: generating the video in real time based on the evaluation props and the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page because Kwon suggests that it is entertaining for a person to sing into a microphone had have AR objects displayed corresponding to what the person is singing [0075, 0084, 0089].
As per Claim 15, Claim 15 is similar in scope to Claim 3, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. John Brislin (US 20200251146A1), Kim (US 20160189667A1), and Novikoff (US 20150058733A1) in view of Hao (US 20200413162A1) and Berger (US 20230066179A1).
As per Claim 4, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1. The combination of St. John Brislin and Novikoff teaches the generating the video in real time based on the effect, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1.
However, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff do not teach that after the generating the video in real time based on the effect, the method further comprises: jumping from the capturing page to a video editing page in response to a trigger operation for a preset ending capturing control on the capturing page; wherein the video is displayed on the video editing page. However, Hao teaches jumping from the capturing page to a video editing page in response to a trigger operation for a preset ending capturing control on the capturing page; wherein the video is displayed on the video editing page(gets access to his my profile page, taps the videos folder to get access to the draft box and selects the Great Wall video to jump to the video post interface, he taps the return to edit control to get access to the video edit interface, [0090]). Since the combination of St. John Brislin and Novikoff teaches the generating the video in real time based on the effect, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1, this teaching from Hao can be implemented into the combination of St. John Brislin and Novikoff so that after the generating the video in real time based on the effect, the method further comprises: jumping from the capturing page to a video editing page in response to a trigger operation for a preset ending capturing control on the capturing page; wherein the video is displayed on the video editing page.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff so that after the generating the video in real time based on the effect, the method further comprises: jumping from the capturing page to a video editing page in response to a trigger operation for a preset ending capturing control on the capturing page; wherein the video is displayed on the video editing page because Hao suggests that this makes it easier to modify a video, thereby offering better user experience [0005-0006].
However, St. John Brislin, Kim, Novikoff, and Hao do not teach determining a target sticker effect based on a lyric information corresponding to the music, and synthesizing the target sticker effect into the video that is displayed on the video editing page according to a preset display style to obtain a synthesized result video. However, Berger teaches determining a target sticker effect based on a lyric information corresponding to the music, and synthesizing the target sticker effect into the video that is displayed on the video editing page according to a preset display style to obtain a synthesized result video (image modification module to swap out the first set of AR lyrics with a second set of lyrics 730 corresponding to a current playback position (playback position 1:32) of the music being played back to represent the currently sung portion of a song, the AR lyrics can be presented on the center of the shirt worn by the user depicted in the video 700, [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin, Kim, Novikoff, and Hao to include determining a target sticker effect based on a lyric information corresponding to the music, and synthesizing the target sticker effect into the video that is displayed on the video editing page according to a preset display style to obtain a synthesized result video because Berger suggests that this way, people can view the lyrics of the song as the song is being played [0128].
As per Claim 16, Claim 16 is similar in scope to Claim 4, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. John Brislin (US 20200251146A1), Kim (US 20160189667A1), and Novikoff (US 20150058733A1) in view of Anzures (US 20110163969A1) and Lee (US 20070256545A1).
As per Claim 6, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff do not teach displaying a comment prop corresponding to a comment operation on a play page of a first video in response to the comment operation for the first video. However, Anzures teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying a comment prop corresponding to a comment operation on a play page of a first video in response to the comment operation for the first video (user selection of “Comments” icon causes the display of comments about the video stream made by different viewers, [0173]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff to include displaying a comment prop corresponding to a comment operation on a play page of a first video in response to the comment operation for the first video because Anzures suggests that this way, a viewer can easily view comments about the video made by different viewers [0173].
However, St. John Brislin, Kim, Novikoff, and Anzures do not teach wherein the first video and the video belong to a same video type. However, Lee teaches wherein the first video and the video belong to a same video type (video control data for accessing the background pictures related with the lyric, atmosphere and genre of the music, [0016], background picture file includes a moving picture file, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin, Kim, Novikoff, and Anzures so that the first video and the video belong to a same video type because Lee suggests that this way, a user can access a plurality of videos related with the lyric, atmosphere and genre of the music [0016, 0022].
As per Claim 18, Claim 18 is similar in scope to Claim 6, and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
24. Claim(s) 7, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St. John Brislin (US 20200251146A1), Kim (US 20160189667A1), and Novikoff (US 20150058733A1) in view of Chang (US 20130262634A1).
25. As per Claim 7, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff do not teach wherein the effect includes at least one selected from a background effect, a prop effect and a lighting effect, and the prop effect includes at least one selected from a smoke effect, a musical instrument effect and a user prop effect. However, Chang teaches wherein the effect includes at least one selected from a background effect, a prop effect and a lighting effect, and the prop effect includes at least one selected from a smoke effect, a musical instrument effect and a user prop effect (for example, guitar score of a guitar solo is displayed by the monitor as the song enters the guitar solo and a graphic “guitar” appears in the music video, [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St. John Brislin, Kim, and Novikoff so that the effect includes at least one selected from a background effect, a prop effect and a lighting effect, and the prop effect includes at least one selected from a smoke effect, a musical instrument effect and a user prop effect because Chang suggests that it is well-known in the art to present the desired special effect by manually selecting the desired special effect by the user, so automatically presenting the desired special effect enhances entertainment and simulation results [0006, 0007, 0054].
26. As per Claims 11 and 19, these claims are each similar in scope to Claim 7, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
27. Claims 2, 5, 10, 14, and 17 are rejected under double patenting, but would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer is filed and the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
28. The prior art taken singly or in combination do not teach or suggest the combination of all the limitations of Claim 2 and base Claim 1, and in particular, do not teach wherein before generating the video in real time based on the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page, the method further comprises: displaying a first canvas and a second canvas on the capturing page in response to a trigger operation for a preset co-capturing control on the capturing page; wherein the first canvas is configured to render a capturing picture of a front camera, and the second canvas is configured to render a capturing picture of a rear camera; and correspondingly, generating the video in real time based on the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page comprises: generating the video in real time based on the capturing picture on the first canvas, the capturing picture on the second canvas and the effect in response to the trigger operation for the capturing control on the capturing page. Claims 10 and 14 are each similar in scope to Claim 2 and therefore also contain allowable subject matter.
29. The prior art taken singly or in combination do not teach or suggest the combination of all the limitations of Claim 5 and base Claim 1 and intervening Claim 4, and in particular, do not teach wherein after jumping from the capturing page to the video editing page in response to the trigger operation for the preset ending capturing control on the capturing page, the method further comprises: starting timing upon detecting the jumping from the capturing page to the video editing page; and displaying a preset reminding effect on the video editing page at the end of the timing in a case where a publishing operation is not detected in a process of the timing; wherein the preset reminding effect is configured to remind a user to trigger the publishing operation for the synthesized result video. Claim 17 is similar in scope to Claim 5 and therefore also contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
JH
/JONI HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611