DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-21 of the instant application are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over some claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,333,662 in view of Faulkner et al., US Pub. No.20220103566.
Regarding claims 1-21, claims 1-21 of, the U.S. Patent No. 12,333,662 contains every element of claims 1-21 of the instant application and as such anticipate claims 1-21 of the instant application. The U.S. Patent No. 12,333,662 does not specifically disclose virtual audience having one or more avatars for the participants. However, Faulkner disclose virtual audience having one or more avatars for the participants (person is engaged with virtual content such as virtual displays, virtual avatar, see [0073] to [0077]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Berliner’s teachings into the computer system of the U.S. Patent No. 12,333,662 to monitor audience members because it would have enabled to identify, process, or understand elements of information regarding what is occurring in an environment (see Berliner’s [0278]).
ART REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peters et al, US Pub. No.20210076002 in view of Faulkner et al., US Pub. No.20220103566.
As to claim 1, Peters discloses an electronic device comprising:
one or more displays, one or more processors; and memory storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the instructions for:
while in an audience member role (40 fig.7) for a multiuser communication session, presenting, using at least the one or more displays, an extended reality environment, wherein the extended reality environment comprises:
a representation of a virtual stage from a perspective in a virtual audience, the virtual audience comprising one or more avatars for one or more participants of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role, wherein a user of the electronic device is permitted to directly communicate with the one or more
participants (12a’s fig.7) and generalized feedback based on other participants of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role (the participation module monitors, measures and analyzes one or more characteristic of an input media stream by way of facial and audio recognition technology from at least one conference participant endpoint of a plurality of conference participants endpoints and providing feedback to a meeting host about the level of interest among participants, so the host can know if she is hosting the meeting in an interesting way, see abstract, fig.7, [0100] to [0102] and [0112]). Peters does not specifically disclose virtual audience having one or more avatars for the participants. However, Faulkner disclose virtual audience having one or more avatars for the participants (changing roles and/or permissions to accommodate the new event type including polls and avatars, see [0073] to [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement Faulkner's teachings into the computer system of Peters to control member users' roles because it would have dynamically controlled granular levels of permissions in a timely manner based on the detection of specific activities and improved the security of user data as well as improve the efficiency of collaborative systems.
As to claim 2, Peters discloses wherein the generalized feedback comprises a generalized visual audience attention indicator based on an attention of the other participants of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role or a generalized visual audience mood indicator based on a mood of the other participants of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role (providing indicators of the current states of the different participants (e.g., emotional state, cognitive state, etc.) at the current point in the call, as well as potentially measures of emotional states for groups within the call or for the entire group of participants as a whole. This can include providing scores, symbols, charts, graphs, and other indicators of one or more emotional attributes, overall mood, and so on, as well as cognitive or behavioral attributes, including engagement, attention, collaboration, see [0128] to [0131]).
.
As to claim 3, Peters discloses the extended reality environment excludes a visual representation of an attention for any individual other participant of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role and excludes a visual
representation of a mood for any individual other participant of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role (visual indicators can be in a consistent relative position to the face of a participant, or at least the video stream or thumbnail they are associated with. Faces may move as the active speaker changes, see [0217] to [0220]).
As to claim 4, Faulkner discloses directly communicating with the one or more participants comprises an audio communication with the one or more participants or presenting continuously updated facial expressions on the one or more avatars (person is engaged with virtual content (such as virtual displays, virtual avatar, see [0278]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Berliner’s teachings into the computer system of Peters to monitor audience members because it would have enabled to identify, process, or understand elements of information regarding what is occurring in an environment (see Berliner’s [0278]).
As to claim 5, Peters discloses selecting the one or more participants out of all participants of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role based on stored contact information or physical proximity information (see [0399] to [0401]).
As to claim 6, Peters discloses obtaining, using the one or more sensors, first user input and based on the first user input, causing a change in the perspective in
the virtual audience from a first point-of-view to a second point-of-view (see [0401] to [0404]) .
As to claim 7, Peters discloses the generalized feedback comprises generalized audio feedback based on audio of the other participants of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role and wherein the generalized audio feedback excludes individual audio for any individual other participant of the multiuser communication session having the audience member role (see [0399]
to [0401] to [0404]).
Claims 8-14 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1-7 respectively.
Claims 15-21 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1-7 respectively.
Conclusion
6. Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for patents
P O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458