DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 5/19/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
paragraph [00158] of the specification describes FIG. 23B, not FIG. 22B
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“ground engaging members” (claims 1-20) are wheels, skis, guide tracks, treads or other suitable devices for supporting a vehicle relative to the ground, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0061] and FIG. 1, ground engaging member(s) (wheel, ski, tread) - 12; and
“driveline torque management system” (claims 1-20) is actuators which provide torque to one or more ground engaging members, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0074] and FIG. 4, ground engaging member(s) - 12, driveline torque management system-50, power system-60, and braking system-75.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brady et al. (US-2015/0057885-A1, hereinafter Brady) in view of Nelson (US-2013/0096790-A1, hereinafter Nelson).
Regarding claim 1, Brady discloses:
A recreational vehicle, comprising: (paragraphs [0024-0030]; and FIG. 1, vehicle-10, ground engaging member(s) (wheel, ski, tread) - 12, vehicle frame-14, adjustable shock(s) - 18, controller-20, and accelerometer-30);
a plurality of ground engaging members (paragraph [0024]);
a frame supported by the plurality of ground engaging members (paragraph [0024]);
at least one suspension coupling the plurality of ground engaging members to the frame, the at least one suspension including at least one adjustable shock absorber having at least one adjustable damping profile (paragraphs [0024-0025]);
at least one airborne sensor positioned on the recreational vehicle, the at least one airborne sensor monitoring a movement characteristic of the recreational vehicle (paragraph [0030]);
at least one controller operatively coupled to the at least one airborne sensor, and the at least one adjustable shock absorber (paragraphs [0024-0030]); and
the at least one controller determining if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state and in response to determining the recreational vehicle is in the airborne state altering the at least one adjustable damping profile of the at least one adjustable shock absorber (paragraphs [0161] and [0177-0179]; FIG. 7, user mode (1) - 118, vehicle speed (2) - 120, and acceleration A(z) (9) - 134; and FIG. 10, acceleration A(z) < C for time > N - 184, and jump/pitch condition modifier (1,2,9) - 186).
Brady does not disclose altering an adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of a driveline torque management system if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state. However, Nelson discloses a recreational vehicle, including the following features:
a driveline torque management system operatively coupled to at least one of the plurality of ground engaging members, the driveline torque management system having at least one adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic (paragraphs [0056] and [0091-0095]; FIG. 1, ATV-10, tires-22a,b, and wheels-24a,b; and FIG. 2, engine control logic-34, CVT control logic-35, controller-36, CVT-48, primary clutch-50, final drive-58, throttle operator-116, and suspension sensor-119);
at least one controller operatively coupled to the driveline torque management system, and the at least one airborne sensor (paragraphs [0093] and [0095]); and
altering the at least one adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of the driveline torque management system (paragraphs [0091-0095]).
Nelson teaches that, when a recreational vehicle is airborne, the wheels may accelerate rapidly. When the wheels again make contact with the ground upon landing, the wheel speed may decelerate abruptly, possible leading to damaged or stressed components of the continuously variable transmission (CVT) and other drive train components (paragraph [0091]). Nelson further teaches that recreational vehicles should include a spike load reduction feature of CVT control logic which works in conjunction with an electronic throttle control system to reduce drive train acceleration upon detection of an airborne condition (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recreational vehicle which alters drive train acceleration based on detection of an airborne condition of Nelson into the recreational vehicle which alters damping of shock absorbers based on detection of an airborne condition of Brady. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the drive train components.
Regarding claim 2, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one airborne sensor is supported by the frame and spaced apart from the at least one adjustable shock absorber (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one airborne sensor is positioned generally along a longitudinal centerline plane of the recreational vehicle (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one airborne sensor includes an accelerometer (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one airborne sensor includes a gyroscope (paragraphs [0030] and [0121]).
Regarding claim 6, Brady does not disclose altering an adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of a driveline torque management system if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state. However, Nelson further discloses:
wherein the at least one adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of the driveline torque management system is associated with a prime mover of the driveline torque management system (paragraphs [0091-0095]; and FIG. 2, engine-42, CVT-48, primary clutch-50, secondary clutch-52, sub-transmission-56, final drive-58, motor-76, and actuator assembly-80).
Nelson teaches that, when a recreational vehicle is airborne, the wheels may accelerate rapidly. When the wheels again make contact with the ground upon landing, the wheel speed may decelerate abruptly, possible leading to damaged or stressed components of the continuously variable transmission (CVT) and other drive train components (paragraph [0091]). Nelson further teaches that recreational vehicles should include a spike load reduction feature of CVT control logic which works in conjunction with an electronic throttle control system to reduce drive train acceleration upon detection of an airborne condition (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recreational vehicle which alters drive train acceleration based on detection of an airborne condition of Nelson into the recreational vehicle which alters damping of shock absorbers based on detection of an airborne condition of Brady. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the drive train components.
Regarding claim 8, Brady does not disclose altering an adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of a driveline torque management system if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state. However, Nelson further discloses:
wherein the at least one adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of the driveline torque management system is associated with a transmission of the driveline torque management system (paragraphs [0091-0095]; and FIG. 2, engine-42, CVT-48, primary clutch-50, secondary clutch-52, sub-transmission-56, final drive-58, motor-76, and actuator assembly-80).
Nelson teaches that, when a recreational vehicle is airborne, the wheels may accelerate rapidly. When the wheels again make contact with the ground upon landing, the wheel speed may decelerate abruptly, possible leading to damaged or stressed components of the continuously variable transmission (CVT) and other drive train components (paragraph [0091]). Nelson further teaches that recreational vehicles should include a spike load reduction feature of CVT control logic which works in conjunction with an electronic throttle control system to reduce drive train acceleration upon detection of an airborne condition (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recreational vehicle which alters drive train acceleration based on detection of an airborne condition of Nelson into the recreational vehicle which alters damping of shock absorbers based on detection of an airborne condition of Brady. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the drive train components.
Regarding claim 10, Brady does not disclose altering an adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of a driveline torque management system if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state. However, Nelson further discloses:
wherein the at least one adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of the driveline torque management system is associated with a braking system of the driveline torque management system (paragraph [0134]).
Nelson teaches that vehicle or driveline brakes may be temporarily applied to reduce vehicle torque (paragraph [0134]). Nelson further teaches that recreational vehicles should include a spike load reduction feature of CVT control logic which works in conjunction with an electronic throttle control system to reduce drive train acceleration upon detection of an airborne condition (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recreational vehicle which alters drive train acceleration based on detection of an airborne condition of Nelson into the recreational vehicle which alters damping of shock absorbers based on detection of an airborne condition of Brady. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the drive train components.
Regarding claim 12, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one airborne sensor includes an accelerometer which provides an x-axis acceleration value, a y-axis acceleration value, and a z-axis acceleration value, the at least one controller determining if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state by comparing a magnitude of a resultant acceleration vector to a first threshold, the resultant acceleration vector being based on the x-axis acceleration value, the y-axis acceleration value, and the z-axis acceleration value (paragraphs [0161] and [0177-0186]; FIG. 7, acceleration A(x) (7) - 130, acceleration A(y) (8) - 132, and acceleration A(z) (9) - 134; and FIG. 10, acceleration A(z) < C for time > N - 184, jump/pitch condition modifier (1,2,9) - 186, (lsteer positionl > X) OR (Isteer ratel > B) -188, (brakes on) AND (acceleration A(x) > A) - 190, and (brakes on) AND (acceleration A(x) > A) -202).
Regarding claim 13, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one airborne sensor includes an accelerometer which provides an x-axis acceleration value, a y-axis acceleration value, and a z-axis acceleration value, the at least one controller determining if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state by comparing the x-axis acceleration value to a first threshold value, the y-axis acceleration value to a second threshold, and the z-axis acceleration value to a third threshold (paragraphs [0161] and [0177-0186]; FIG. 7, acceleration A(x) (7) - 130, acceleration A(y) (8) - 132, and acceleration A(z) (9) - 134; and FIG. 10, acceleration A(z) < C for time > N - 184, jump/pitch condition modifier (1,2,9) - 186, (lsteer positionl > X) OR (Isteer ratel > B) -188, (brakes on) AND (acceleration A(x) > A) - 190, and (brakes on) AND (acceleration A(x) > A) -202).
Regarding claim 14, Brady further discloses:
A recreational vehicle, comprising: (paragraphs [0024-0030]; and FIG. 1, vehicle-10, ground engaging member(s) (wheel, ski, tread) - 12, vehicle frame-14, adjustable shock(s) - 18, controller-20, and accelerometer-30);
a plurality of ground engaging members (paragraph [0024]);
a frame supported by the plurality of ground engaging members (paragraph [0024]);
at least one suspension coupling the plurality of ground engaging members to the frame, the at least one suspension including at least one adjustable shock absorber having at least one adjustable damping profile (paragraphs [0024-0025]);
at least one airborne sensor positioned on the recreational vehicle, the at least one airborne sensor monitoring a movement characteristic of the recreational vehicle (paragraph [0030]);
at least one controller operatively coupled to the at least one airborne sensor, and the at least one adjustable shock absorber (paragraphs [0024-0030]);
the at least one controller determining if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state and in response to determining the recreational vehicle is in the airborne state altering the at least one adjustable damping profile of the at least one adjustable shock absorber (paragraphs [0161] and [0177-0179]; FIG. 7, user mode (1) - 118, vehicle speed (2) - 120, and acceleration A(z) (9) - 134; and FIG. 10, acceleration A(z) < C for time > N - 184, and jump/pitch condition modifier (1,2,9) - 186); and
to a first damping profile if the airborne state spans a first time duration and to a second damping profile if the airborne state spans a second time interval, the second time interval being longer than the first time duration (paragraph [0178]).
Brady does not disclose altering an adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic of a driveline torque management system if the recreational vehicle is in an airborne state. However, Nelson further discloses:
a driveline torque management system operatively coupled to at least one of the plurality of ground engaging members, the driveline torque management system having at least one adjustable driveline torque management system characteristic (paragraphs [0056] and [0091-0095]; FIG. 1, ATV-10, tires-22a,b, and wheels-24a,b; and FIG. 2, engine control logic-34, CVT control logic-35, controller-36, CVT-48, primary clutch-50, final drive-58, throttle operator-116, and suspension sensor-119); and
at least one controller operatively coupled to the driveline torque management system, and the at least one airborne sensor (paragraphs [0093] and [0095]).
Nelson teaches that, when a recreational vehicle is airborne, the wheels may accelerate rapidly. When the wheels again make contact with the ground upon landing, the wheel speed may decelerate abruptly, possible leading to damaged or stressed components of the continuously variable transmission (CVT) and other drive train components (paragraph [0091]). Nelson further teaches that recreational vehicles should include a spike load reduction feature of CVT control logic which works in conjunction with an electronic throttle control system to reduce drive train acceleration upon detection of an airborne condition (paragraph [0094]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recreational vehicle which alters drive train acceleration based on detection of an airborne condition of Nelson into the recreational vehicle which alters damping of shock absorbers based on detection of an airborne condition of Brady. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the drive train components.
Regarding claim 15, Brady further discloses:
wherein the second damping profile is stiffer than the first damping profile (paragraphs [0178-0179]).
Regarding claim 18, Brady further discloses:
wherein the at least one controller is configured to receive an output from one or more sensors associated with a magnitude of acceleration along an axis (paragraphs [0161] and [0177-0186]; FIG. 7, acceleration A(x) (7) - 130, acceleration A(y) (8) - 132, and acceleration A(z) (9) - 134; and FIG. 10, acceleration A(z) < C for time > N - 184, jump/pitch condition modifier (1,2,9) - 186, (lsteer positionl > X) OR (Isteer ratel > B) -188, (brakes on) AND (acceleration A(x) > A) - 190, and (brakes on) AND (acceleration A(x) > A) -202).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brady in view of Nelson, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Roberge et al. (US-2011/0153174-A1, hereinafter Roberge).
Regarding claim 20, Brady in view of Nelson does not disclose recording information related to an airborne sensor. However, Roberge discloses an off-road vehicle capable of airborne operation, including the following features:
wherein the at least one controller is configured to record information related to information from the at least one airborne sensor (paragraph [0036]).
Roberge teaches that vehicle memory should receive and store data representing the speed of the vehicle over time and a time value, used to go back in time in the stored data from the moment where an airborne wheel(s) is identified, to retrieve the recorded speed of the vehicle when the airborne wheel(s) has left the ground (paragraph [0036]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system for recording data of an off-road vehicle when airborne of Roberge into the recreational vehicle which alters damping of shock absorbers and a driveline torque management system characteristic based on detection of an airborne condition of Brady in view of Nelson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing the rider with a history of recreational vehicle performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 11, 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667