DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/19/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because it appears that, at least, the numerals in Figure 5 of “L21” should be marked as M2 in comparing the cutaway indicators A-A for Figure 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "or" in line 12. The limitations following “or”, being “or the downstream internal flow path opens on the same plane as the valve seat surface, and an opening of the downstream internal flow path extends outward of the downstream annular groove in a plan view”, are unclear as to what limitations are required prior to the limitation “or”, for the structural features required in the claim, or,
are the limitations following “or”, the only structural features required in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hayashi (US 20120255630). The claims being rejected as best understood based on the 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a fluid control valve 3 that controls a fluid from an upstream flow path 51A to flow out to a downstream flow path 51B, the fluid control valve comprising: an orifice 4 having a valve seat surface (4a,10, para.0058); and a valve body 6 having a seating surface 6a seated on the valve seat surface, wherein the orifice includes an annular groove 9A,9B formed in the valve seat surface, and an internal flow path 41A communicating with the upstream flow path or the downstream flow path and opened in the annular groove, the internal flow path is opened (via 41b) on a same plane as the valve seat surface, and an opening (41c,see Fig. 5) of the internal flow path extends outward of the annular groove in a plan view (as shown in Fig. 3 also, the size of the aperture of 41c extends outward).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Hayashi discloses the internal flow path 41a includes an upstream internal flow path 41b communicating with the upstream flow path, and a downstream internal flow path 51B communicating with the downstream flow path, the annular groove includes an upstream annular groove 9A to which the upstream internal flow path is opened, and a downstream annular groove 9B to which the downstream internal flow path is opened, and the upstream internal flow path opens on the same plane as the valve seat surface, and an opening (one of the holes of 41c) of the upstream internal flow path extends outward (one of the holes of 41c, the size extends outward) of the upstream annular groove in a plan view, or the downstream internal flow path opens on the same plane as the valve seat surface, and an opening (one of the holes of 42c) of the downstream internal flow path extends outward (one of the holes of 42c, the size extends outward) of the downstream annular groove in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi discloses the upstream annular groove and the downstream annular groove are formed substantially concentrically in the valve seat surface (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi discloses the upstream annular groove and the downstream annular groove are formed alternately in the valve seat surface (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi discloses a plurality of the upstream internal flow paths (the paths within the other openings 41c in 9A) is opened in the upstream annular groove, and a plurality of the downstream internal flow paths (the paths within the other openings of 42c in 9B) is opened in the downstream annular groove (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses openings (the openings of 41c) of the upstream internal flow paths and openings (the openings of 42c) of the downstream internal flow paths are formed to be shifted from each other in a circumferential direction in the plan view (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi discloses the upstream annular groove and the downstream annular groove have different depths from each other (as shown in Fig. 7 and comparing it with figure 3, the depths of the upstream grooves 9A are deeper than the groove depths for the downstream groove 9B).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi discloses an internal flow path (the rightmost path of 41b as shown in fig.4) penetrating from a lower surface (the bottom of the hole/bore 41a) opposite to the valve seat surface communicates with a shallower annular groove (the groove at 9A aligned with the rightmost path) of the upstream annular groove or the downstream annular groove.
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi discloses a linear internal flow path (the path of 42a) formed from a side surface (the outer left side of 4 where port 42a opens) other than the valve seat surface and a lower surface (this outer diameter surface is lower than the valve seat surface) opposite to the valve seat surface communicates with a deeper annular groove (the middle groove of 9A, see Fig. 5) of the upstream annular groove or the downstream annular groove (one of the grooves of 9B, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi discloses a fluid control device 100 comprising: the fluid control valve according to claim 1; a flow rate measurement unit (2, para.0039) that measures a flow rate of a flow path; and a valve controller (para.0036, “control part”) that controls the fluid control valve on a basis of a measurement value measured by the flow rate measurement unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references to Saga ‘173 and Johnson ‘752 disclose openings that are wider than the groove they intersect.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753