Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba US 2011/0239519.
Regarding claim 1, Akiba teaches a fishing line guide mountable to a fishing rod body to guide a fishing line, the fishing line guide comprising (figures 10-11):
a foam portion (25b figure 12D); and
a reinforced resin portion including a fiber-reinforced resin and covering a part of the foam portion, the reinforced resin portion being an external outer portion (3 as shown in figures 10-11 and described in paragraph 0051 as “The fishing line guide 1 is provided with a frame 3 made of a synthetic resin impregnated reinforced fiber, so called fiber reinforced resin”);
but does not specify the foam as foamed resin.
However, such material is very well known in the art; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such a resin type, in order to meet design preferences; since it has been held that a prima facie obviousness exists where the selection of a known material is based on its suitability for its intended use.
Regarding claim 2, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 1, further comprising a guide ring configured to guide the fishing line (20a figure 11), and a guide frame holding the guide ring (as shown in figure 11) and being attached to the rod body (inherent), a part of the guide frame including the foam portion and the reinforced resin portion (figures 11 and 13).
Regarding claim 3, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 2, wherein the guide frame comprises a mounting leg mountable to the rod body (6 of figure 11), a guide holder holding the guide ring (5 of figure 11), and a support leg connecting the mounting leg and the guide holder (7 of figure 11), and a part of the support leg including the foam portion and the reinforced resin portion (figures 11 and 13).
Regarding claim 4, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 3, wherein the support leg includes a leg tip adjacent to the guide holder, the leg tip includes the foam portion and the reinforced resin portion (figures 11 and 13).
Regarding claim 5, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 3, wherein the support leg includes a base part adjacent to the mounting leg, the base part includes the reinforced resin portion (figure 11).
Regarding claim 6, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 2, wherein the guide frame comprises a mounting leg mountable to the rod body, a guide holder holding the guide ring, and a support leg connecting the mounting leg and the guide holder, and a part of the guide holder formed of the foam portion and the reinforced resin portion (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 7, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 6, wherein the guide holder includes a base part adjacent to the support leg, the base part includes the foam portion and the reinforced resin portion (figure 13).
Regarding claim 8, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 6, wherein the guide holder includes a top portion away from the support leg, the top portion includes the reinforced resin portion (figure 13).
Regarding claim 9, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 2, wherein the guide frame comprises a mounting leg mountable to the rod body, a guide holder holding the guide ring, and a support leg connecting the mounting leg and the guide holder, and the mounting leg, the guide holder, and the support leg include the foam portion and the reinforced resin portion (figure 11).
Regarding claim 10, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 1, wherein the foam portion has a foam layer (as previously shown), and the reinforced resin portion comprises a first reinforced resin layer covering the foam layer on a rod tip side, and a second reinforced resin layer covering the foam layer on a rod butt side (shown between figures 11 and 12D where the wrapping provides the reinforced resin layer on both recited sides).
Regarding claim 11, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 1, wherein the reinforced resin portion forms an external surface of the fishing line guide (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 12, Akiba teaches the fishing line guide according to claim 2, wherein the reinforced resin portion forms an external surface of the fishing line guide, and the external surface faces in an axial direction of the guide ring (as seen in figures 10-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or make obvious the combination of limitations recited in claims 1, 2, 13, and 14; particularly, wherein the foam portion forms an external surface of the fishing line guide, etc.
Response to Arguments
Response to Applicant's arguments filed 4/2/26 can be found in the updated rejections above in light of the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644