Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 8, 15, and 18 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Claims Recite An Abstract Idea Under Step 2A Prong One
Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to certain methods of organizing human activity nor mental processes. Examiner disagrees.
Step 2A Prong One of the Alice/Mayo framework evaluates whether an abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. The Federal Circuit has explained that "the 'directed to' inquiry applies a stage-one filter to claims, considered in light of the specification, based on whether 'their character as a whole is directed to excluded subject matter."' Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1346 (Fed. Cir. 2015)). It asks whether the focus of the claims is on a specific improvement in relevant technology or on a process that itself qualifies as an "abstract idea" for which computers are invoked merely as a tool. Here, it is clear from the Specification (including the claim language) that claim 1 focuses on an abstract idea, and not on an improvement to technology and/or a technical field. Applicant’s specification recites:
[0003] Shipping and delivery of assets (e.g., goods) is an important activity for many organizations. Organizations may want to keep track of and monitor assets being shipped. Tracking assets helps organization keep tabs on where the assets are and when they may arrive. Tracking and sensing devices (e.g., sensors) may be included with shipped assets to provide the tracking information. For example, sensors may be used at a vehicle/container level, pallet level, case level, etc., and often these sensors travel together. In many cases, the sensors are battery operated and are relatively low-cost devices. The different levels of sensors may provide different information about the environment and/or perform different tasks. For example, sensors on or within a case may monitor environmental conditions close to a product or sense whether individual cases are missing. Sensors at the pallet level, for example, may provide more advanced (e.g., earlier) information about potentially changing conditions as well as location information of the pallet. Sensors at the vehicle or container level may provide tracking or location information. Sensors may be grouped to help efficiently gather and distribute information.
[0028] Asset tracking is generally performed in a closed loop produce distribution system to obtain near-real time information of assets. The near-real time information of assets includes a plurality of transaction events, one or more process exception events, one or more fraud events, and/or one or more anomalies to generate an alert or alarm event. Additionally, near-real time information may also include other information such as location, environmental conditions, and/or other sensed information. Based on the near-real-time information of assets, a timely action may be performed.
[0029] Receiving such near-real time information helps an organization to provide safe and cost-effective good transportation services. Near-real time information about assets being delivered is collected using sensors, which are also referenced herein as asset tracker devices or trackers. These trackers travel with the assets being delivered. However, because there may not be reliable external power sources available for the trackers, the trackers may be battery powered and relatively low powered devices. Further, different trackers may be used to provide different information for the corresponding assets being tracked. It may be useful to collect, integrate, and/or disseminate the collected information (or sensor data), while keeping battery usage within acceptable levels. To help coordinate activities and tasks among the trackers, the trackers may be organized into a mesh network, such as homogenous, hierarchal networks of trackers. The trackers may be organized into any other topology as suitable for specific purposes.
[0030] Systems and techniques are described herein for providing an association-based intelligent device (or asset) tracking. In some cases, tracker devices may be configured with a process flow (or operational flow) such as, an intended location history of the tracker device that identifies or represents an intended location history of an asset. Any exception in the process flow, or intended location history, may cause a process exception event to be generated and reported to the device (e.g., the server device) that is remote from the tracker devices (e.g., via a wide area network (WAN)). In some aspects, a fraud event (e.g., a loss of goods during transportation, an empty container, etc.) may also generate a process exception event (and/or an alert or alarm event) and transmit it to the device (or the server device) for an appropriate remedial action.
[0031] For instance, the process flow for which the tracker devices are configured may also include one or more professional operation flows, a manifest of a shipment, a list of exception events including, but not limited to, a fraud event, a theft event, etc. Tracking an asset based on the process flow can thus provide improvement to an asset tracking system. In some cases, the asset tracking system can provision a desired or expected process flow for each asset, improving delivery of an alert or alarm event to the device (e.g., the server device) for a timely remedial action.
The invention and claims are drawn towards tracking assets during delivery, shipping, or supply-chain events or environments, and the claims recite limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal interactions, behaviors, relationships; commercial interactions/business relations), as evidenced by limitations detailing determining a plurality of associations among a plurality of assets; monitoring periodic association messages communicated between the two different assets; detecting an exception based on the monitored periodic association messages indicating that an expected periodic association message for an active association of the plurality of associations has not been received; and generating a notification based upon the detected exception. The aforementioned limitations also directly correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as the claim limitations describe the observation and evaluation of data such as asset association data and exception data from monitoring, and making a decision (judgment/opinion) based on the observed and evaluated data such as generating a notification. The claims considered in light of the specification, indicate that their character as a whole is directed to excluded subject matter.
Applicant’s argument that the claimed features relate to monitoring actual periodic communications between associated networked assets and detecting a communications-based exception from the nonreceipt of an expected periodic association message for an active association and cannot be performed in the human mind is unpersuasive. The monitoring of the communications and detection of communication based exceptions directly correspond to the observation and evaluation of data (communications) and making a decision (judgment/opinion) based on the observed and evaluated data. These limitations or features may absolutely be performed mentally via the human mind. The use of generic computing components (i.e., the application server and processor) does not take the claim out of the mental processes abstract idea grouping. MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III) provides that claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. If the claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept, the claim is considered to recite a mental process. Thus, the claim recitation, at high-level of generality, of the processor and application server does not take the claim out of the mental processes grouping. Additionally, the mental-steps inquiry under Step 2A Prong One is not “could a human do this at the same speed/precision.” It is whether the claim limitation, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance in the mind (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) but for the recitation of generic computer components.
The claims also recite limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal interactions, behaviors, relationships; commercial interactions/business relations), as evidenced by limitations detailing determining a plurality of associations among a plurality of assets; monitoring periodic association messages communicated between the two different assets; detecting an exception based on the monitored periodic association messages indicating that an expected periodic association message for an active association of the plurality of associations has not been received; and generating a notification based upon the detected exception. Again, the recitation of the generic computing components do not take the claims out of the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(II) provides that, regarding certain methods of organizing human activity, the sub-groupings encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions) and activity that involves multiple people, and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping.
For the reasons set forth above, the claims recite an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong One.
The Judicial Exception Is Not Integrated Into A Practical Application Under Step 2A Prong Two
Applicant argues that the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Examiner disagrees.
The courts have identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application: (see MPEP §2106.04(d))
Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception;
Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
In the applicant’s invention, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claims recite the additional elements of: an application server comprising: at least one memory, and at least one processor (claim 1). The additional elements are computer components recited at a high-level of generality performing the above-mentioned limitations. The combination of the additional elements are no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea. It is also noted that claim 15, which recite limitation that are parallel to claim 1, provides no additional elements to evaluated or consider under Step 2A Prong Two and/or Step 2B.
Applicant’s argument that the claimed features recite a particular communications architecture in which communications between associated assets are monitored to identify a failure of an active asset-to-asset association, rather than merely automate a business judgment or present information to a user, is unpersuasive. Applicant’s argument regarding communications between associated assets that are monitored to identify a failure of an active asset-to-asset association is at best an improvement to the judicial exception itself not an improvement to computers or technology. A processor monitoring (observing or evaluating) data to determine exceptions does not improve computer functionality or operations, but instead is directed to the judicial exception (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception. See MPEP §2106.05(a). It is also important to keep in mind that an improvement in the judicial exception itself is not an improvement in technology (emphasis added). For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG LLC, the court determined that the claim simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology. Similarly, the Applicant’s claim recitations are at best an improvement in the judicial exception, not an improvement in technology. Technical improvements to computers or computer functionality focuses on enhancing the tools, software, or machinery, while business process improvement focuses on streamlining the steps, workflows, and methodologies people use to do their work. Applicant’s claims fall in the latter. Applicant presents no evidence showing an improvement to computer operations or functionality, but instead merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the limitations that correspond to the judicial exception.
For the reasons set forth above, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two.
The Claims Do Not Include Additional Elements That Are Sufficient To Amount To Significantly More Than The Judicial Exception Under Step 2B
Additionally, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception also include: (see MPEP §2106.05)
Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer; and
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use;
Thus, since the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept.
For the reasons set forth above, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-14 recite a server (i.e. machine), and claims 15-20 recite a method (i.e. process). Therefore claims 1-20 fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Independent claims 1 and 15 recites the limitations: determine a plurality of associations among a plurality of assets, wherein each association of the plurality of associations is created between two different assets of the plurality of assets, wherein each of the two different assets is in a same mesh network or different mesh networks; monitor periodic association messages communicated between the two different assets; detect an exception based on the monitored periodic association messages indicating that an expected periodic association message for an active association of the plurality of associations has not been received; and generate a notification based upon the detected exception. The invention and claims are drawn towards tracking assets during delivery, shipping, or supply-chain events or environments, and the claims recite limitations that correspond to certain methods of organizing human activity (managing personal interactions, behaviors, relationships; commercial interactions/business relations), as evidenced by limitations detailing determining a plurality of associations among a plurality of assets; monitoring periodic association messages communicated between the two different assets; detecting an exception based on the monitored periodic association messages indicating that an expected periodic association message for an active association of the plurality of associations has not been received; and generating a notification based upon the detected exception. The aforementioned limitations also directly correspond to mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as the claim limitations describe the observation and evaluation of data such as asset association data and exception data from monitoring, and making a decision (judgment/opinion) based on the observed and evaluated data such as generating a notification. The claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application simply because the claims recite the additional elements of: an application server comprising: at least one memory, and at least one processor (claim 1). The additional elements are computer components recited at a high-level of generality performing the above-mentioned limitations. The combination of the additional elements are no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Note: Claim 15 provides no additional elements to evaluated or consider under Step 2A Prong Two and/or Step 2B.
Dependent claims 10 and 19 recites the limitation that the plurality of communication protocols includes at least one of a vehicle-to-vehicle communication protocol, a vehicle- to-everything communication protocol, a Wi-Fi mesh protocol, or a Bluetooth low energy mesh protocol. The limitation is further directed to the abstract idea analyzed above, and recites the additional elements of the communication protocols being vehicle-to-vehicle, vehicle- to-everything, Wi-Fi mesh, or Bluetooth low energy mesh. The additional elements amount to “apply it” or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the judicial exception, and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular field of use (asset tracking in delivery, shipping, or supply-chain related environments). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-14, 16-18, and 20 recite additional limitations that are further directed to the abstract idea analyzed in the rejected claims above. The claims also recite additional elements that have been analyzed in the rejected claims above. Thus, claims 2-9, 11-14, 16-18, and 20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 13-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Volkerink (2022/0374826).
Claim 1: Volkerink discloses: An application server comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions; (Volkerink ¶0142 disclosing a memory and computer-readable media disk that provide storage for computer-readable instructions; Fig. 18)
and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: (Volkerink Fig. 18 and ¶0142 disclosing processor coupled to the memory)
determine a plurality of associations among a plurality of assets, wherein each association of the plurality of associations is created between two different assets of the plurality of assets, wherein each of the two different assets is in a same mesh network or different mesh networks; (Volkerink ¶0025 detecting rule violations for a group of assets using wireless tracking devices (also referred to herein as “tracking devices” or “wireless IOT devices”), according to some embodiments. Each tracking device may be associated with one or more assets of the group of assets that are being monitored; in some embodiments the rule determines which assets are allowed to be mixed in with the group of assets; see also ¶0026; ¶0086; ¶0072; ¶0075; ¶0082; ¶0088 Figs. 7, 10A-B, and 11C)
monitor periodic association messages communicated between the two different assets; (Volkerink ¶0091 Node B periodically broadcasts advertising packets into the surrounding area. When the other node 520 (Node A) is within range of Node B and is operating in a listening mode, Node A will extract the address of Node B and potentially other information; ¶0096 the assets 559, 561, 563 are grouped together because they are related; the peripheral nodes broadcast advertising packets during respective scheduled broadcast intervals. The master node 551 can determine the presence of the assets 559, 561, 563 in the vicinity of the pallet 550 based on receipt of one or more advertising packets from each of the nodes E, F, and G;
detect an exception based on the monitored periodic association messages indicating that an expected periodic association message for an active association of the plurality of associations has not been received; and (Volkerink ¶0135 disclosing tracking devices being used to detect a separation of assets in a group of assets that violates a rule for the group of assets, according to some embodiments; when the asset 1540 is separated from the group of assets 1530, the tracking devices 1532 detect the separation event based on communications or lack of communications between the tracking device 1542 and the tracking devices 1532 (thus, association message for an active session not yet received); one or more of the tracking devices 1532 may detect that the asset 1540 is further than a threshold distance from the assets in the group 1530 based on RSSI. Similarly, the tracking device 1542 may determine that it has been separated based on communications with or a lack of communication with the tracking devices 1532; ¶0101 nodes are able to autonomously detect logistics execution errors if assets that suppose to travel together no longer travel together, and raise an alert; the node may determine that there has been an improper separation of the particular asset 559 in a variety of ways, e.g., intelligent agent program code, the associated node 558 determines that the master node 551 has not disassociated the particular asset 559 from the group (thus active) and therefore broadcasts advertising packets to the master node, which causes the master node 551 to monitor the average signal strength of the advertising packets and, if the master node 551 determines that the signal strength is decreasing over time, the master node 551 will issue an alert either locally or to the server; ¶0123 a rule for the asset 1310 includes rules stipulating that the asset 1310 should not be exposed to high heat or high temperatures; a parameter of the rule includes the tracking device detecting temperatures below or equal to a first threshold temperature. When the tracking device 1312 detects temperature data from the temperature sensor 1314 that is above the first threshold temperature (thus the association message indicates that an expected periodic message of a temperature below or equal to a threshold has not been received), the tracking device 1312 may wirelessly transmit an alert to other wireless nodes of the tracking system 400 or report the data or a compressed version of the data to a nearby gateway device; ¶0127 rule stipulates that assets of type A may not be within a threshold distance of assets of type B. In the example of FIG. 13B, the asset 1310 is within a distance 1315 from asset 1320 that is less than the threshold distance. The tracking devices 1322 and 1312 an estimate of the distance between the two assets 1310, 1312 based on wireless communications between the tracking devices 1322, 1312 (e.g., using RSSI or other methods). The tracking devices determine that the estimated distance is below the threshold distance (thus the expected periodic association message of the distance being above a threshold distance was not received) and that the rule is being violated)
generate a notification based upon the detected exception. (Volkerink ¶0101 the master node 551 will issue an alert either locally or to the server; ¶0123 the tracking device 1312 may wirelessly transmit an alert to other wireless nodes of the tracking system 400 or report the data or a compressed version of the data to a nearby gateway device; ¶0127 At least one of the tracking devices then transmits an alert corresponding to the rule violation to another wireless node of the tracking system)
Claim 15: Claim 15 is directed to a method. Claim 15 recites limitations that are parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim 1, which is directed towards a server. Claim 15 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above for claim 1.
Claim 2: The application server of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the plurality of associations in accordance with a plurality of operational flows describing movement of an asset across a plurality of entities of each operational flow of the plurality of operational flows. (Volkerink ¶0036 implementing a combination of different asset tracking and management functions; adhesive product that can be deployed seamlessly and unobtrusively into various asset management and tracking applications and workflows, including person and object tracking applications, and asset management workflows such as manufacturing, storage, shipping, delivery, and other logistics associated with moving products and other physical objects, including logistics; In these examples, the assets typically are transported from one location to another by truck, train, ship, or aircraft or within premises, e.g., warehouses by forklift, trolleys etc.; ¶0096 In some embodiments, the assets 559, 561, 563 are grouped together because they are related. For example, the assets 559, 561, 563 may share the same shipping itinerary or a portion thereof; ¶0097 after an initial set of assets is assigned to a multi-asset group, the master node 551 may identify another asset arrives in the vicinity of the multi-asset group; the server determines that the other asset is intended to ship with the multi-asset group, the server instructs the master node to merge one or more other assets with currently grouped set of assets. After all assets are grouped together, the server authorizes the multi-asset group to ship. In some embodiments, this process may involve releasing the multi-asset group from a containment area (e.g., customs holding area) in a shipment facility; see also ¶0103)
Claim 3: The application server of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the plurality of associations in accordance with manifestation of a shipment corresponding to an asset of the plurality of assets. (Volkerink ¶0096 In some embodiments, the assets 559, 561, 563 are grouped together because they are related. For example, the assets 559, 561, 563 may share the same shipping itinerary or a portion thereof; ¶0097 after an initial set of assets is assigned to a multi-asset group, the master node 551 may identify another asset arrives in the vicinity of the multi-asset group; the server determines that the other asset is intended to ship with the multi-asset group, the server instructs the master node to merge one or more other assets with currently grouped set of assets. After all assets are grouped together, the server authorizes the multi-asset group to ship. In some embodiments, this process may involve releasing the multi-asset group from a containment area (e.g., customs holding area) in a shipment facility; ¶0112 FIG. 11B, where the tracking devices 1132, each attached and associated with an individual asset of the group 1130, detects that a new asset 1140 has been added to the group based on detecting that the asset 1140 and its tracking device 1142 is within a threshold distance from the assets in the group 1130. Each tracking device stores a manifest of asset identifiers and/or tracking device identifiers for assets it is currently grouped with. In some embodiments, each tracking device additionally stores identifiers for the type of asset corresponding to each asset in the group as well as rules for the asset that the tracking device is associated with)
Claim 4: The application server of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the plurality of associations in accordance with a plurality of exception events. (Volkerink ¶0112 disclosing tracking system 400 determines if the new group violates any rules for groups of assets. For example, in some environments assets of type A may not be mixed with assets of type B, according to one of the rules tracked by the tracking system 400; see also ¶0126; ¶0136; ¶0148)
Claim 5: The application server of claim 4, wherein the plurality of exception events comprises a theft of an asset of the plurality of assets, a fraud, and/or an unexpected event. (Volkerink ¶0101 nodes are able to autonomously detect logistics execution errors if assets that suppose to travel together no longer travel together, and raise an alert; the node may determine that there has been an improper separation of the particular asset 559 in a variety of ways, e.g., intelligent agent program code, the associated node 558 determines that the master node 551 has not disassociated the particular asset 559 from the group (thus active) and therefore broadcasts advertising packets to the master node, which causes the master node 551 to monitor the average signal strength of the advertising packets and, if the master node 551 determines that the signal strength is decreasing over time, the master node 551 will issue an alert either locally or to the server; ¶0123 a rule for the asset 1310 includes rules stipulating that the asset 1310 should not be exposed to high heat or high temperatures; a parameter of the rule includes the tracking device detecting temperatures below or equal to a first threshold temperature. When the tracking device 1312 detects temperature data from the temperature sensor 1314 that is above the first threshold temperature, the tracking device 1312 may wirelessly transmit an alert to other wireless nodes of the tracking system 400 or report the data or a compressed version of the data to a nearby gateway device; ¶0127 rule stipulates that assets of type A may not be within a threshold distance of assets of type B. In the example of FIG. 13B, the asset 1310 is within a distance 1315 from asset 1320 that is less than the threshold distance. The tracking devices 1322 and 1312 an estimate of the distance between the two assets 1310, 1312 based on wireless communications between the tracking devices 1322, 1312 (e.g., using RSSI or other methods). The tracking devices determine that the estimated distance is below the threshold distance and that the rule is being violated (all examples are unexpected events))
Claim 8: The application server of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect, based upon the plurality of monitored messages monitored periodic association messages, a plurality of events, the plurality of events including at least one of a determination that an asset is stationary, that the asset is moving, that the asset is in an indoor environment, that the asset is in an outdoor environment, that the asset is empty, that the asset is non-empty, that the asset is folded, that the asset is unfolded, that the asset is being loaded, that the asset is being unloaded, or that the asset being in proximity with another asset. (Volkerink ¶0101 detect logistics execution errors if assets that suppose to travel together no longer travel together; node may determine that there has been an improper separation of the particular asset 559 in a variety of ways. For example, the associated node 558 that is bound to the particular asset 559 may include an accelerometer that generates a signal in response to movement of the asset from the pallet; ¶0112 the tracking devices 1110, 1122 determine that any assets that are within a threshold distance from each other are part of a same group and track which assets are in the group)
Claim 18: Claim 18 is directed to a method. Claim 18 recites limitations that are parallel in nature as those addressed above for claim 8, which is directed towards a server. Claim 18 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above for claim 8.
Claim 9: The application server of claim 1, wherein each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between two assets in the same mesh network or different mesh networks using at least one of a plurality of communication protocols. (Volkerink ¶0111 tracking devices 1112, 1122 are associated with the tracking system 400 and are configured to wirelessly communicate with each other using a shared type of wireless communication system onboard the tracking devices 1112, 1122; ¶0113 a tracking device may include wireless communication systems for longer range communications (e.g., cellular communications, WiFi, Satellite Communications, or other communication systems) and transmits the alert to a server of the tracking system; ¶0047 wireless communication systems include a cellular communication system (e.g., GSM/GPRS), a Wi-Fi communication system, an RF communication system (e.g., LoRa), a Bluetooth communication system (e.g., a Bluetooth Low Energy system), a Z-wave communication system, and a ZigBee communication system; see also ¶0053; ¶0068 the network 402 includes communications infrastructure equipment, such as a geolocation satellite system 416 (e.g., GPS, GLONASS, and NAVSTAR), cellular communication systems (e.g., GSM/GPRS), Wi-Fi communication systems, RF communication systems (e.g., LoRa), Bluetooth communication systems (e.g., a Bluetooth Low Energy system), Z-wave communication systems, and ZigBee communication systems; ¶0079)
Claim 10: The application server of claim 9, wherein the plurality of communication protocols includes at least one of a vehicle-to-vehicle communication protocol, a vehicle-to-everything communication protocol, a Wi-Fi mesh protocol, or a Bluetooth low energy mesh protocol. (Volkerink ¶0111 tracking devices 1112, 1122 are associated with the tracking system 400 and are configured to wirelessly communicate with each other using a shared type of wireless communication system onboard the tracking devices 1112, 1122; ¶0113 a tracking device may include wireless communication systems for longer range communications (e.g., cellular communications, WiFi, Satellite Communications, or other communication systems) and transmits the alert to a server of the tracking system; ¶0047 wireless communication systems include a cellular communication system (e.g., GSM/GPRS), a Wi-Fi communication system, an RF communication system (e.g., LoRa), a Bluetooth communication system (e.g., a Bluetooth Low Energy system), a Z-wave communication system, and a ZigBee communication system; see also ¶0053; ¶0068 the network 402 includes communications infrastructure equipment, such as a geolocation satellite system 416 (e.g., GPS, GLONASS, and NAVSTAR), cellular communication systems (e.g., GSM/GPRS), Wi-Fi communication systems, RF communication systems (e.g., LoRa), Bluetooth communication systems (e.g., a Bluetooth Low Energy system), Z-wave communication systems, and ZigBee communication systems; ¶0079)
Claim 13: The application server of claim 1, wherein a first asset of the two different assets of the plurality of assets comprises one of a vehicle, a pallet, or a container, and a second asset of the two different assets of the plurality of assets comprises another one of the vehicle, the pallet, or the container. (Volkerink ¶0034 parcel, envelope, box, package, container, pallet, carton, wrapping; ¶0071 a node typically is adhered to an asset, or other stationary or mobile object (e.g., a structural element of a warehouse, or a vehicle, such as a delivery truck) or stationary object (e.g., a structural element of a building); ¶0073 the mobile gateway is a vehicle (e.g., a delivery truck or other mobile hub) that includes a wireless communications unit that is configured by the network service to communicate with a designated set of nodes; ¶0074 master node that is adhered to a parcel (e.g., a box) (container); ¶0075 nodes 442, 444, 446, 448 that are adhered to respective parcels containing respective assets 450, 452, 454, 456 on a pallet 458; see also ¶0076; ¶0078; ¶0081)
Claim 14: The application server of claim 1, wherein a first asset of the two different assets of the plurality of assets comprises a first vehicle, a first pallet of the first vehicle, or a first container of the first pallet, and a second asset of the two different assets of the plurality of assets comprises a second vehicle, a second pallet of the second vehicle, or a second container of the second pallet. (Volkerink ¶0034 parcel, envelope, box, package, container, pallet, carton, wrapping; ¶0071 a node typically is adhered to an asset, or other stationary or mobile object (e.g., a structural element of a warehouse, or a vehicle, such as a delivery truck) or stationary object (e.g., a structural element of a building); ¶0073 the mobile gateway is a vehicle (e.g., a delivery truck or other mobile hub) that includes a wireless communications unit that is configured by the network service to communicate with a designated set of nodes; ¶0074 master node that is adhered to a parcel (e.g., a box) (container); ¶0075 nodes 442, 444, 446, 448 that are adhered to respective parcels containing respective assets 450, 452, 454, 456 on a pallet 458; see also ¶0076; ¶0078; ¶0081; ¶0085; ¶0088; ¶0094-¶0096)
Claim 16: The computer-implemented method of claim 15, further comprising determining the plurality of associations in accordance with one or more of: a plurality of operational flows describing movement of an asset across a plurality of entities of each operational flow of the plurality of operational flows, manifestation of a shipment corresponding to the asset, and a plurality of exception events comprising a theft of the asset, a fraud, and/or an unexpected event. (Volkerink ¶0036 implementing a combination of different asset tracking and management functions; adhesive product that can be deployed seamlessly and unobtrusively into various asset management and tracking applications and workflows, including person and object tracking applications, and asset management workflows such as manufacturing, storage, shipping, delivery, and other logistics associated with moving products and other physical objects, including logistics; In these examples, the assets typically are transported from one location to another by truck, train, ship, or aircraft or within premises, e.g., warehouses by forklift, trolleys etc.; ¶0096 In some embodiments, the assets 559, 561, 563 are grouped together because they are related. For example, the assets 559, 561, 563 may share the same shipping itinerary or a portion thereof; ¶0097 after an initial set of assets is assigned to a multi-asset group, the master node 551 may identify another asset arrives in the vicinity of the multi-asset group; the server determines that the other asset is intended to ship with the multi-asset group, the server instructs the master node to merge one or more other assets with currently grouped set of assets. After all assets are grouped together, the server authorizes the multi-asset group to ship. In some embodiments, this process may involve releasing the multi-asset group from a containment area (e.g., customs holding area) in a shipment facility; see also ¶0103)
Claim 19: The computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between two assets in the same mesh network or different mesh networks using at least one of a plurality of communication protocols, wherein the plurality of communication protocols include at least one of a vehicle-to-vehicle communication protocol, a vehicle-to-everything communication protocol, a Wi-Fi mesh protocol, or a Bluetooth low energy mesh protocol. (Volkerink ¶0111 tracking devices 1112, 1122 are associated with the tracking system 400 and are configured to wirelessly communicate with each other using a shared type of wireless communication system onboard the tracking devices 1112, 1122; ¶0113 a tracking device may include wireless communication systems for longer range communications (e.g., cellular communications, WiFi, Satellite Communications, or other communication systems) and transmits the alert to a server of the tracking system; ¶0047 wireless communication systems include a cellular communication system (e.g., GSM/GPRS), a Wi-Fi communication system, an RF communication system (e.g., LoRa), a Bluetooth communication system (e.g., a Bluetooth Low Energy system), a Z-wave communication system, and a ZigBee communication system; see also ¶0053; ¶0068 the network 402 includes communications infrastructure equipment, such as a geolocation satellite system 416 (e.g., GPS, GLONASS, and NAVSTAR), cellular communication systems (e.g., GSM/GPRS), Wi-Fi communication systems, RF communication systems (e.g., LoRa), Bluetooth communication systems (e.g., a Bluetooth Low Energy system), Z-wave communication systems, and ZigBee communication systems; ¶0079)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkerink (2022/0374826) in view of Cova (2012/0303498).
Claim 6: The application server of claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the plurality of associations to be active for a time period defined by a start time and an end time.
Volkerink discloses determining a plurality of associations between assets, but does not explicitly disclose determining the plurality of associations to be active for a time period defined by a start time and an end time. Cova suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Cova ¶0049 disclosing the tag being coupled to the asset indicating the tag and asset are beginning their journey (start); ¶0050 the tag periodically generates tracking event notifications associated with tracking event while on the journey; event notifications can be used by the system to obtain useful information such as the path that the asset has traveled from its origin, and remaining distance or estimated time to the destination (ending time); ¶0052 the asset arriving at the destination; automatically determining that the asset's journey has ended; the tag can be decommissioned); ¶0103 system receives tag data for a tag associated with each asset while the asset is in transit (904) In general, an asset is in transit from the time the tag is commissioned ( e.g., coupled to the asset) to the time the tag is decommissioned (e.g., removed from the asset)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volkerink to include determining the plurality of associations to be active for a time period defined by a start time and an end time as taught by Cova since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately; one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 7: The application server of claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to terminate or remove an association of the plurality of associations when an asset associated with the association arrives at a destination.
Volkerink discloses determining a plurality of associations between assets, but does not explicitly disclose terminating or removing an association of the plurality of associations when an asset associated with the association arrives at a destination. Cova suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Cova ¶0024 the system commissions (associates) tags to assets, decommissions (disassociates) tags from assets; ¶0103 system receives tag data for a tag associated with each asset while the asset is in transit (904) In general, an asset is in transit from the time the tag is commissioned ( e.g., coupled to the asset) to the time the tag is decommissioned (e.g., removed from the asset)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volkerink to include terminating or removing an association of the plurality of associations when an asset associated with the association arrives at a destination as taught by Cova since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately; one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 17: The computer-implemented method of claim 15,
further comprising determining the plurality of associations to be active for a time period defined by a start time and an end time, and terminating or removing an association of the plurality of associations when an asset associated with the association arrives at a destination.
Volkerink discloses determining the plurality of associations to be active for a time period defined by a start time and an end time, and terminating or removing an association of the plurality of associations when an asset associated with the association arrives at a destination. Cova suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Cova ¶0049 disclosing the tag being coupled to the asset indicating the tag and asset are beginning their journey (start); ¶0050 the tag periodically generates tracking event notifications associated with tracking event while on the journey; event notifications can be used by the system to obtain useful information such as the path that the asset has traveled from its origin, and remaining distance or estimated time to the destination (ending time); ¶0052 the asset arriving at the destination; automatically determining that the asset's journey has ended; the tag can be decommissioned); ¶0103 system receives tag data for a tag associated with each asset while the asset is in transit (904) In general, an asset is in transit from the time the tag is commissioned ( e.g., coupled to the asset) to the time the tag is decommissioned (e.g., removed from the asset); ¶0024 the system commissions (associates) tags to assets, decommissions (disassociates) tags from assets). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volkerink to include comprising determining the plurality of associations to be active for a time period defined by a start time and an end time, and terminating or removing an association of the plurality of associations when an asset associated with the association arrives at a destination as taught by Cova since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately; one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkerink (2022/0374826) in view of Twitchell, Jr. (2007/0004431).
Claim 11: The application server of claim 1,
wherein each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval.
Volkerink discloses each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between at least two assets, but does not explicitly disclose that each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval. Twitchell, Jr. suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Twitchell Jr. ¶0124 disclosing Wireless Reader Tags are preferably synchronized to allow scheduled communication to a particular WRT Class at regular intervals; to conserve battery power, the receiving members of the WRT Class only power up to listen at each such interval and only for very small periods of time (e.g., a few milliseconds) when data packet for such WRT Class would normally be transmitted. The intervals at which a Wireless Reader Tag listens for communications directed to its WRT Class is called the duty cycle, which can be dynamically adjusted to respond to network communication demands while minimizing battery consumption). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volkerink to include each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval as taught by Twitchell, Jr. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Volkerink in order to conserve battery power (see ¶0124 of Twitchell, Jr.).
Claim 12: The application server of claim 11,
wherein the adjustable time interval is based on a message payload size, a data rate, and a respective battery level corresponding to the two different assets of each association.
Volkerink discloses the each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between at least two assets, but does not explicitly disclose that each association of the plurality of associations is configured to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval, wherein the adjustable time interval is based on a message payload size, a data rate, and a respective battery level corresponding to the two different assets of each association. Twitchell, Jr. suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Twitchell Jr. ¶0124 disclosing Wireless Reader Tags are preferably synchronized to allow scheduled communication to a particular WRT Class at regular intervals; When an Wireless Reader Tag communicates to a target WRT Class, the Wireless Reader Tag transmits a data packet at a time precisely synchronized with the targeted WRT Class; to conserve battery power, the receiving members of the WRT Class only power up to listen at each such interval and only for very small periods of time (e.g., a few milliseconds) when data packet for such WRT Class would normally be transmitted. The intervals at which a Wireless Reader Tag listens for communications directed to its WRT Class is called the duty cycle, which can be dynamically adjusted to respond to network communication demands while minimizing battery consumption). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volkerink to include that the adjustable time interval is based on a message payload size, a data rate, and a respective battery level corresponding to the two different assets of each association as taught by Twitchell, Jr. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Volkerink in order to conserve battery power (see ¶0124 of Twitchell, Jr.).
Claim 20: The computer-implemented method of claim 15,
further comprising configuring each association of the plurality of associations to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval, wherein the adjustable time interval is based on a message payload size, a data rate, and a respective battery level corresponding to the two different assets of each association.
Volkerink discloses configuring each association of the plurality of associations to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval, wherein the adjustable time interval is based on a message payload size, a data rate, and a respective battery level corresponding to the two different assets of each association. Twitchell, Jr. suggests or discloses this limitation/concept: (Twitchell Jr. ¶0124 disclosing Wireless Reader Tags are preferably synchronized to allow scheduled communication to a particular WRT Class at regular intervals; to conserve battery power, the receiving members of the WRT Class only power up to listen at each such interval and only for very small periods of time (e.g., a few milliseconds) when data packet for such WRT Class would normally be transmitted. The intervals at which a Wireless Reader Tag listens for communications directed to its WRT Class is called the duty cycle, which can be dynamically adjusted to respond to network communication demands while minimizing battery consumption; ¶0124 disclosing Wireless Reader Tags are preferably synchronized to allow scheduled communication to a particular WRT Class at regular intervals; When an Wireless Reader Tag communicates to a target WRT Class, the Wireless Reader Tag transmits a data packet at a time precisely synchronized with the targeted WRT Class; to conserve battery power, the receiving members of the WRT Class only power up to listen at each such interval and only for very small periods of time (e.g., a few milliseconds) when data packet for such WRT Class would normally be transmitted. The intervals at which a Wireless Reader Tag listens for communications directed to its WRT Class is called the duty cycle, which can be dynamically adjusted to respond to network communication demands while minimizing battery consumption). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Volkerink to include configuring each association of the plurality of associations to allow communication between at least two assets of the plurality of assets at an adjustable time interval, wherein the adjustable time interval is based on a message payload size, a data rate, and a respective battery level corresponding to the two different assets of each association as taught by Twitchell, Jr. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Volkerink in order to conserve battery power (see ¶0124 of Twitchell, Jr.).
Additional Prior Art References
Additional prior art references found that is relevant to the applicants invention, but are not relied upon in the prior art rejection includes:
Harmon (2013/0021175) which discloses techniques for tracking assets, such as high value
tools, customer equipment, testing equipment, technicians, and/or the like. The tools and/or techniques can be used to track assets in a mobile environment (such as in a
delivery truck, installation van, and/or the like).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIONE N. SIMPSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/DIONE N. SIMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629