DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the channel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will consider said limitation as reading “a channel.” Correction and/or clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Golden (4524673).
In reference to claim 14, Golden discloses a drum magazine comprising:
a drum comprising:
a generally cylindrical body (figure 1) having a top, a bottom, an inner portion (any one of elements 52, 54, or 56, or the combination of all three), and an outer portion (housing 12), wherein the inner portion and the outer portion are configured to rotate with respect to each other (column 4, lines 44-54);
an opening in the top of the body (figure 3, the opening in element 68);
a transition drum disposed at the opening (element 20);
a chamber configured to house a round of ammunition (element 220 has five such chambers),
wherein when the inner portion and the outer portion rotate with respect to each other, the drum magazine is configured such that rotational motion moves the round of ammunition towards the opening while the round of ammunition remains within the chamber, then when the round of ammunition reaches the opening, the rotational motion moves the round of ammunition from the chamber to the transition drum (column 5, lines 1-6; also see figure 3, which illustrates how a round of ammunition that is in a chamber of element 220 moves towards the opening while the round of ammunition 14 remains within the chamber, then when the round of ammunition reaches the opening, the rotational motion moves the round of ammunition from the chamber to the transition drum).
In reference to claim 15, Golden discloses the claimed invention (looking at figures 1-3, a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage that the drum magazine is configured as claimed).
In reference to claim 16, Golden discloses the claimed invention (figure 4, the cylindrical, vertical walls of elements 72, 74, and 76 form a shell that is integrally formed with the outer portion).
In reference to claim 17, Golden discloses the claimed invention (figures 3 and 4, dividers 100 define channels 60 and prevent a round of ammunition from moving laterally with respect to the channel while still allowing the round to move latitudinally along the channel e.g., up to the next layer).
In reference to claim 18, Golden discloses a drum magazine comprising:
a drum comprising:
a generally cylindrical body (element 120);
a base having a base plate allowing access to an interior of the base (base plate 78 with loading door 80 allowing access);
a top having at least one of a top plate and a lid (element 68);
a channeled component having a plurality of channels, each being configured to hold a round of ammunition (figure 4, channeled component 52, channels 60); and
a tiered component having a platform (figures 1, 3, and 4, tiered component 12, which includes tiers 72, 74, and 76, each tier having a platform with a through opening, e.g., openings 108 and 110);
a transition drum configured to transfer the round of ammunition from the drum to a weapon (figures 1, 3, and 4, transition drum 20); and
an actuator disposed within the base, the actuator being configured to drive a rotation of the channeled component with respect to the tiered component, the rotation being configured to move the round of ammunition along the platform and into the transition drum (figure 5 shows the actuator, i.e., drive system; figure 2 shows that said actuator is disposed at least partially within the base).
In reference to claim 19, Golden discloses the claimed invention (spiral torsion spring 16 is part of the drive system).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12305953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include each and every feature of the application claims, except for some features that are known in the prior art as evidenced above. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the invention of the patent claims to include features of the application claims, in order to realize the advantages and benefits associated therewith. Thus, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached Notice of References Cited.
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641