Status of the Claims
Claims 1-30 are all the claims pending in the application.
Claims 29 and 30 are new.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 15, 19, 24, and 27 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are rejected.
The following is a Final Office Action in response to amendments and remarks filed July 21, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 112(b) rejections, the rejections are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Regarding the 101 rejections of claims 1-18 as software per se, the rejections are withdrawn for the following reasons. Applicant asserts the definition of “logic” in the present claims is controlled by ¶[00253] of the Specification as filed and this definition limits the scope of “logic” to hardware, firmware, and software stored on non-transient computer readable medium. Examiner agrees ¶[00253] of the Specification as filed limits the scope of “logic” to hardware, firmware, and software stored on non-transient computer readable medium. However, Examiner finds the broadest reasonable interpretation of “firmware” includes only software as the definition of firmware is specialized software. Nevertheless, Examiner withdraws the 101 rejections of claims 1-18 as software per se because claim 1 now recites a user interface and a user interface necessarily requires a physical or tangible component.
Regarding the 101 rejections of the claims as directed to an abstract idea, the rejections are maintained for the following reasons. Applicant asserts the rejections should be withdrawn because the claims cover hardware and because the claims reflect an improvement in social networks by being more exclusive. Examiner respectfully does not find this assertion persuasive because an improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology, see MPEP 2106.05(a) (discussing Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG). That is, requiring check-ins at events to make the events more exclusive may reflect an improvement in the abstract idea (e.g., improving the networking or entertainment events by ensuring only interested or relevant parties are involved) but does not reflect an improvement in technology. Accordingly the 101 rejections are maintained, please see below for the new rejections of the claims as amended.
Regarding the 102 rejections, the rejections are withdrawn for the following reasons. Regarding claim 1, the rejections are withdrawn because Govindaraman does not explicitly teach an offer and acceptance of a social connection. Regarding claim 19, the rejections are withdrawn because Govindaraman does not teach the connection is associated with a musical event. Regarding claim 24, the rejections are withdrawn because Govindaraman does not teach the connections are associated with a performance.
Accordingly, the 102 rejections are withdrawn. Please see below for the new 103 rejections of the claims as amended.
Additionally, please note, Applicant makes the following assertions which are not persuasive for the following reasons. First, Applicant asserts Govindaraman does not teach connections in a social network because Govindaraman only teaches introductions. Examiner respectfully does not find this assertion persuasive because Govindaraman explicitly teaches making connecting between attendees at an event, e.g., ¶¶[0081], [0093] and this is within the scope of connections.
Second, Applicant asserts one of ordinary skill would not combine Govindaraman with Herring because Govindaraman involves in-person events and Herring involves remote interactions. Examiner respectfully does not find this assertion persuasive because Herring is explicitly directed to users attending live events, e.g., ¶[0019]. Thus Examiner finds both Govindaraman and Herring are directed towards interactions between people at live events.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 24 appears to be missing a word and should read (emphasized) “…limiting membership in a hub of the social network to only participants who have been physically preset at a live performance of a particular entertainer.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must first be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention. Applying Step 1 to the claims it is determined that: claims 1-18, 29 and 30 are directed to a machine; and claims 19-28 are directed to a process.
Independent Claim 1
Under Step 2A Prong 1 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more designated categories or “buckets” of patent ineligible subject matter that amount to a judicial exception to patentability.
The independent 1 recites an abstract idea in the limitations (emphasized):
location logic configured to confirm presence of audience members at an event or location;
profile logic configured for the audience members to create social network profiles; and
social network logic configured to manage a social network including social network connections among the audience members, the social network connections being dependent on confirmed physical presence of the audience members at the event or location, the social network connections being offered and accepted by members of the social network via a user interface.
These limitations recite an abstract idea because these limitations encompass commercial or legal interactions (i.e., business relations). These limitations encompass commercial or legal interactions (i.e., business relations) because these limitations encompass networking or meeting potential business contacts (i.e., making introductions at an event). Claims that encompass commercial or legal interactions fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong 2 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the identified, recited abstract idea includes additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional elements of independent claim 1 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements (emphasized):
location logic configured to confirm presence of audience members at an event or location;
profile logic configured for the audience members to create social network profiles; and
social network logic configured to manage a social network including social network connections among the audience members, the social network connections being dependent on confirmed physical presence of the audience members at the event or location, the social network connections being offered and accepted by members of the social network via a user interface.
First, the additional elements of the various claimed logics and the user interface, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic software and computer components) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Second, the additional elements of creating social network profiles and managing a social network including connections, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are only a general link to a field of use or technological environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h) (discussing Affinity Labs). That is, although these additional elements do limit the use of the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., social networking systems) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add an inventive concept to the claims. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B of the patent eligibility analysis, the additional elements are evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea (i.e., an innovative concept).
Independent claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception and a general link to a field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component and a general link to a field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Independent Claim 19
Under Step 2A Prong 1 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more designated categories or “buckets” of patent ineligible subject matter that amount to a judicial exception to patentability.
The independent 19 recites an abstract idea in the limitations (emphasized):
confirming that participants are at an event or location;
providing a user interface to the participants, the user interface being configured for the participants to join a social network; and
allowing the participants to establish a connection with each other within the social network, based on the confirmation that the participants are or were physically at the event, wherein the connection is associated with a particular musical entertainer or musical event.
These limitations recite an abstract idea because these limitations encompass commercial or legal interactions (i.e., business relations). These limitations encompass commercial or legal interactions (i.e., business relations) because these limitations encompass networking or meeting potential business contacts (i.e., making introductions at an event associated with music). Claims that encompass commercial or legal interactions fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 19 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong 2 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the identified, recited abstract idea includes additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional elements of independent claim 19 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 19 recites the additional elements (emphasized):
confirming that participants are at an event or location;
providing a user interface to the participants, the user interface being configured for the participants to join a social network; and
allowing the participants to establish a connection with each other within the social network, based on the confirmation that the participants are or were at the event, wherein the connection is associated with a particular musical entertainer or musical event.
First, the additional elements of the user interface, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic user device) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Second, the additional elements of joining a social network and the connections being within the social network, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are only a general link to a field of use or technological environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h) (discussing Affinity Labs). That is, although these additional elements do limit the use of the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., social networking systems) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add an inventive concept to the claims. Claim 19 is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B of the patent eligibility analysis, the additional elements are evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea (i.e., an innovative concept).
The independent claim 19 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception and a general link to a field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component and a general link to a field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Claim 19 is not patent eligible.
Independent Claim 24
Under Step 2A Prong 1 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more designated categories or “buckets” of patent ineligible subject matter that amount to a judicial exception to patentability.
The independent 24 recites an abstract idea in the limitations (emphasized):
identifying participants in an event;
providing a user interface to the participants, wherein the user interface is configured for the participants to join the social network; and
limiting membership in a hub of the social network to only participants who have physically preset at a live performance of a particular entertainer.
These limitations recite an abstract idea because these limitations encompass commercial or legal interactions (i.e., business relations). These limitations encompass commercial or legal interactions (i.e., business relations) because these limitations encompass networking or meeting potential business contacts (i.e., organizing groups based introductions at an event associated with musical performances). Claims that encompass commercial or legal interactions fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 24 recites an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong 2 of the patent eligibility analysis, it must be determined whether the identified, recited abstract idea includes additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional elements of independent claim 24 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 24 recites the additional elements (emphasized):
identifying participants in an event;
providing a user interface to the participants, wherein the user interface is configured for the participants to join the social network; and
limiting membership in a hub of the social network to only participants who have physically preset at a live performance of a particular entertainer.
First, the additional elements of the user interface, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic user device) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Second, the additional elements of joining a social network and membership in the social network, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are only a general link to a field of use or technological environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h) (discussing Affinity Labs). That is, although these additional elements do limit the use of the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., social networking systems) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add an inventive concept to the claims. Claim 24 is directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B of the patent eligibility analysis, the additional elements are evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea (i.e., an innovative concept).
The independent claim 24 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception and a general link to a field of use. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component and a general link to a field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Claim 24 is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
The dependent claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as directed to an abstract idea for the following reasons.
Claims 2-5, 7, 12, 13, 20, 23 and 30 recite a second abstract idea as the independent claims because claims 2-5, 7, 12, 13, 20, and 23 and 30 essentially recite various auction processes for performances. Claims that encompass auctions fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Further, Examiner finds the presence of these two abstract ideas does not render the claims non-abstract, see MPEP 2106.04.I discussing Recognicorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., Ltd., 855 F. 3d 1322, 1327 (stating combining “one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract”).
Claim 6 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because indicating an interest in receiving introductions is a part of networking or meeting potential business contacts.
Claims 8-10, 18, 22, 26 and 28 recite the additional elements of adding comments, communicating with other members, sending notifications and setting privacy levels. These additional elements, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are only a general link to a field of use or technological environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h) (discussing Affinity Labs). That is, although these additional elements do limit the use of the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., social networking systems) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim 11, 14 and 21 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because suggesting connections and content based on connections is a part of networking or meeting potential business contacts.
Claims 15, 17, 27 and 29 recite the same abstract idea as the independent claims because designated time periods is a part of networking or meeting potential business contacts (i.e., scheduling the event).
Claims 16 and 25 recite the additional elements of determining locations. These additional elements, when considered individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are only a general link to a field of use or technological environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h) (discussing Affinity Labs). That is, although these additional elements do limit the use of the abstract idea, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., location based services) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add an inventive concept to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15-17, 19 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraman, US Pub. No. 2014/0081882, herein referred to “Govindaraman” in view of Henry US Pub. No. 2016/0227344, herein referred to as “Henry”.
Regarding claim 1, Govindaraman teaches:
location logic configured to confirm presence of audience members at an event or location (uses various implementations to detect arrival of an attendee at an event and initiate check in, ¶¶[0038], [0091]; see also e.g., ¶¶[0022], [0031] discussing implementation using software modules);
profile logic configured for the audience members to create social network profiles (users register with detailed attendee profile questionnaire when checking in, ¶¶[0095]-[0096]; see also ¶[0068] and Fig. 4 showing profile; and ¶¶[0084], [0097] discussing receiving user preferences);
and social network logic configured to manage a social network including social network connections among the audience members (connects attendees attending an event, e.g., ¶¶[0081], [0093]; see also ¶[0029] and Fig. 1 showing social network),
the social network connections being dependent on confirmed physical presence of the audience members at the event or location (matches attendees, ¶¶[0084], [0094] based on verifying registration, ¶¶[0082], [0111], to make connections, ¶¶[0081], [0093]; see also Figs. 6 and 7 summarizing process; and ¶¶[0038], [0091] discussing various methods of verifying arrival of an attendee at an event).
However Govindaraman does not explicitly teach but Henry does teach:
the social network connections being offered and accepted by members of the social network via a user interface (users accept or refuse an invitation to connect from a sender, ¶[0050] and Fig. 13; see also e.g., ¶[0044] discussing creating a profile in a social network).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the connection process of Henry because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users in Govindaraman may not wish to connect with everyone they match with and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to allow users to accept or reject connections, e.g., as taught by Henry.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein the social network logic is further configured for a DJ, an event organizer or a venue manager to designate a time period during which audience members can make the social network connections between their profiles (event organizers specify start and end dates of the event, ¶[0032]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein the location logic is configured to determine locations the audience members using a smartphone or computing device of the audience member, using a venue or event code, using a computing device of a venue, using an IP (internet protocol) address of a venue, using a local wireless network, using an image, using a ticket code, or using GPS (uses various techniques like GPS, WiFi, QR codes, smartphones etc., ¶¶[0037]-[0038], [0091])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein establishment of the social network connections are dependent on presence of participants at the event or location (uses various implementations to detect arrival of an attendee at an event and initiate check in, ¶¶[0038], [0091])
within a determined time period (event organizers specify start and end dates of the event, ¶[0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Govindaraman teaches:
confirming that participants are at an event or location (uses various implementations to detect arrival of an attendee at an event and initiate check in, ¶¶[0038], [0091]);
providing a user interface to the participants (user interface, e.g., ¶¶[0034], [0068]-[0070], ¶¶[0104]-[0105]),
the user interface being configured for the participants to join a social network (users register with detailed attendee profile questionnaire when checking in, ¶¶[0095]-[0096]; see also ¶[0068] and Fig. 4 showing profile; and ¶¶[0084], [0097] discussing receiving user preferences);
and allowing the participants to establish a connection with each other within the social network (connects attendees attending an event, e.g., ¶¶[0081], [0093]; see also ¶[0029] and Fig. 1 showing social network),
based on the confirmation that the participants are or were physically at the event (matches attendees, ¶¶[0084], [0094] based on verifying registration, ¶¶[0082], [0111], to make connections, ¶¶[0081], [0093]; see also Figs. 6 and 7 summarizing process; and ¶¶[0038], [0091] discussing various methods of verifying arrival of an attendee at an event).
However Govindaraman does not explicitly teach but Henry does teach:
wherein the connection is associated with a particular musical entertainer or musical event (connections are based on a concert, ¶[0003]; see also ¶[0050] discussing users accept or refuse an invitation to connect from a sender).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the connection process of Henry because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users in Govindaraman may not wish to connect with everyone they match with and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to allow users to accept or reject connections, e.g., as taught by Henry.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Henry further teaches:
wherein the social network connections are configured to last until cancelled by the audience members or for a time related to an event (users accept or refuse an invitation to connect from a sender, ¶[0050] and Fig. 13, and invitations expire, ¶[0047]; see also e.g., ¶[0044] discussing creating a profile in a social network).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the connection process of Henry because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users in Govindaraman may not wish to connect with everyone they match with and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to allow users to accept or reject connections, e.g., as taught by Henry.
Claim(s) 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraman in view of Herring et al., US Pub. No. 2023/0222466, herein referred to as “Herring”.
Regarding claim 24, Govindaraman teaches:
identifying participants in an event (uses various implementations to detect arrival of an attendee at an event and initiate check in, ¶¶[0038], [0091]);
providing a user interface to the participants (user interface, e.g., ¶¶[0034], [0068]-[0070], ¶¶[0104]-[0105]),
wherein the user interface is configured for the participants to join the social network (users register with detailed attendee profile questionnaire when checking in, ¶¶[0095]-[0096]; see also ¶[0068] and Fig. 4 showing profile; and ¶¶[0084], [0097] discussing receiving user preferences);
and limiting membership in a hub of the social network to only participants who have physically present (uses various implementations to detect arrival of an attendee at an event and initiate check in, ¶¶[0038], [0091], and matches attendees, ¶¶[0084], [0094] based on verifying registration, ¶¶[0082], [0111]; see also ¶¶[0038], [0091] discussing various methods of verifying arrival of an attendee at an event).
However Govindaraman does not teach but Herring does teach:
participants who have physically present at a live performance of a particular entertainer (system is for attendees at live event with DJ, ¶[0019]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Govindaraman and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 24 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein the formation of connections within the social network between participants is limited based on presence of the participants at the specific event (matches attendees, ¶¶[0084], [0094] based on verifying registration, ¶¶[0082], [0111], to make connections, ¶¶[0081], [0093]; see also Figs. 6 and 7 summarizing process),
and presence of the participants being verified using a QR code, an event ticket, GPS, near field communications, Bluetooth or Wi-Fi (uses various techniques like GPS, WiFi, NFC QR codes, smartphones etc., ¶¶[0037]-[0038], [0091]).
Regarding claim 26 the combination of Govindaraman and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 24 and Herring further teaches:
using social network logic to enable one of the participants to share a first song request (users can request songs, e.g., ¶¶[0019], [0026])
and associated tip on the social network (can require payment with the request, ¶[0023], or payment upon completion of the request, ¶[0027]; see also Fig. 2 showing overall process),
to the hub of social network connections associated with an event where the song is requested (users can request songs from performers at events, e.g., ¶¶[0019], [0026]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Govindaraman and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 24 and Govindaraman further teaches:
an amount of time during which event participants can connect with each other on the social network relative to a time of the event (event organizers specify start and end dates of the event, ¶[0032]).
Claim(s) 2-13, 20-23, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraman in view of Henry, further in view of Herring.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and does not teach but Herring does teach:
The audience interface logic configured to communicate with the audience members and for the audience members to submit requests for content, the content including audio, songs, images, videos or interactive content (users can request songs, e.g., ¶¶[0019], [0026]),
the request being associated with a tip (can require payment with the request, ¶[0023], or payment upon completion of the request, ¶[0027]; see also Fig. 2 showing overall process);
and request management logic configured to receive requests for content from the audience members (users can request songs from performers, e.g., ¶¶[0019], [0026]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the request management logic is further configured to receive more than one tip amount for a requested song, the more than one tip amount being received from connected members of the social network (user can select or chose amounts to tip, ¶[0041]),
and to generate a ranked list of the received requests, the ranked list being ordered based on at least the more than one tip amount (determines highest bidder, ¶¶[0028], [0057]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the ranked list is further ordered based on: an account status of an audience member, a transition score for a requested song relative to a playlist, or sponsorship of a requested song (provides coupons based on actions taken by the user, ¶[0062]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the request management logic is configured to facilitate a bidding process in order for members of the social network to improve rankings of their requests in the ranked list of received requests (fulfillment of request is based on an auction and bidding, ¶¶[0028], [0057]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein the audience interface logic is configured for an audience member to indicate if they would like to receive introductions to other audience members at an event (users provide introduction preferences for others at the event, e.g., ¶¶[0084], [0097]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Henry further teaches:
designate locations from which the requests may be sent (users are only able to send invitation to someone whose device is within range, e.g., Abstract ¶[0044]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the connection process of Henry because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users in Govindaraman may not wish to connect with everyone they match with and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to allow users to accept or reject connections, e.g., as taught by Henry.
However the combination of Govindaraman and Henry does not teach but Herring does teach:
DJ interface logic configured for a DJ, event organizer or a venue manager to designate locations (performer enters venue detail including location and start and end times, ¶¶[0045]-[0046]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the audience interface logic is further configured for a first audience member to add a comment to or a tip to a song request made by a second audience member (financial incentive can be cumulative, meaning an aggregate of the financial incentives offered by each customer making that request, ¶[0053])
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein the audience interface logic is further configured for the audience member to communicate with other audience members regarding pending song requests, the communication being based on the social network connections (attendees send information to one another, ¶[0029]. Please note, the Examiner finds that the limitations specifying the particular data that being communicated is regarding pending song requests does not substantially further limit the scope of the claim because the type of information being collected does not functionally alter or relate to the system and merely labeling the information does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention, see MPEP 2111.05).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the social network logic is further configured to notify members of the social network when one of their social network connections makes a content request or has a content request that changes rank in a ranked list of pending requests (notifies performers request has been initiated, ¶[0026]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Govindaraman further teaches:
wherein the social network logic is further configured to suggest connections between members of a social network based on the members making requests for the same content (matches attendees, ¶¶[0084], [0094], based on interests of attendees, ¶¶[0074], [0084]).
However Govindaraman does not explicitly teach but Henry does teach:
the content including music (connections are based on a concert, ¶[0003]; see also ¶[0050] discussing users accept or refuse an invitation to connect from a sender).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the connection process of Henry because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized some users in Govindaraman may not wish to connect with everyone they match with and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to allow users to accept or reject connections, e.g., as taught by Henry.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the social network logic is further configured to encourage connected members of a social network to support each other's content requests by adding additional value to each other's song requests (financial incentive can be cumulative, meaning an aggregate of the financial incentives offered by each customer making that request, ¶[0053]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the social network logic is further configured to encourage collaborative bids for content requests among members of the social network (financial incentive can be cumulative, meaning an aggregate of the financial incentives offered by each customer making that request, ¶[0053]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 19 and does not teach but Herring does teach:
receiving content requests from the participants (users can request songs, e.g., ¶¶[0019], [0026]),
ordering the content requests in a ranked list (determines highest bidder, ¶¶[0028], [0057]).
and presenting the ranked list to an entertainer (notifies performers request has been initiated, ¶[0026]),
wherein the content requests are associated with tips (can require payment with the request, ¶[0023], or payment upon completion of the request, ¶[0027]; see also Fig. 2 showing overall process);
and the ranked list is ordered at least in part based on the tips (determines highest bidder, ¶¶[0028], [0057]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 20 and Govindaraman further teaches:
recommending a connection between at least two of the event participants based on the content requests or tips (matches attendees, ¶¶[0084], [0094], based on interests of attendees, ¶¶[0074], [0084]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 20 and Herring further teaches:
notifying one of the participants of a position of their content request in the ranked list (issues notification to customer that submitted the highest bid, ¶[0028]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 20 and Herring further teaches:
wherein the entertainer is a DJ or a live artist (performer is a DJ, e.g., ¶[0026]. Please note, the Examiner finds that the limitations specifying the particular data the profession of the user does not substantially further limit the scope of the claim because the type of music performer using the system does not functionally alter or relate to the system and merely labeling the information does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention (i.e., Examiner does not find a patentable distinction between a DJ using the system and a band, see MPEP 2111.05).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Govindaraman, Henry and Herring teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and Herring further teaches:
wherein membership in the social network is required for the members audience members to submit the request for content (requires user accounts have sufficient funds, ¶[0034], and profiles are linked to bank account, ¶[0023]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the interactions with performers of Herring because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely not only be interested in meeting other attendees but also would be interested in interacting with speakers, performers, etc. at the event and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable interactions with performers of Herring.
Claim(s) 14, 18, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govindaraman and Henry in view of Knysz et al., US Pub. No. 2013/0018960, herein referred to as “Knysz”.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and does not teach but Knysz does teach:
promotion logic configured to suggest a song to request to the audience members via the audience user interface, the suggestions being based at least in part on the social network connections (suggests music based on friends’ recommendations, ¶¶[0239], [0240]).
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the content recommendations of Knysz because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely be interested in sharing content with other attendees and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable content sharing of Knysz.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and does not teach but Knysz does teach:
wherein the social network logic is configured for an audience member to select between at least three levels of profile revelation on a per hub or per connection basis (group interaction is made available based on type of interaction and privacy setting, ¶[0160]; see also ¶[0168] discussing various privacy levels, and ¶[0151] discussing creating private groups.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman and Henry with the privacy settings of Knysz because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely be interested limiting the amount of their data being shared and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable the privacy levels of Knysz.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Govindaraman and Henry teaches all the limitations of claim 24 and does not teach but Knysz does teach:
allowing the participants to selectively reveal information from their social network profile on a per connection basis within the hub (group interaction is made available based on type of interaction and privacy setting, ¶[0160]; see also ¶[0168] discussing various privacy levels, and ¶[0151] discussing creating private groups.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the connections of attendees of Govindaraman with the privacy settings of Knysz because known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives, see MPEP 2143.I.F. That is, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the users of Govindaraman would likely be interested limiting the amount of their data being shared and accordingly would have modified Govindaraman to enable the privacy levels of Knysz.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Roth, US Pub. No. 2023/0252363 teaches a similar request and tipping system
Miller et al., US Pub. No. 2020/0320442 teaches a similar request and tipping system
Olmos, Enrique "New Juke app allows fans to request songs in-concert, send tips to performers" Local Spins, Dec. 6, 2021 teaches a similar song request and tipping app
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN S O'SHEA/Examiner, Art Unit 3626