DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 13, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2023/0109788) in view of Mattal (US 2020/0204224).
2. As per claim 1, Kang teaches method for sending channel state information performed by a terminal device, comprising: receiving a reference signal from a network device, wherein the reference signal corresponds to a plurality of reference signal ports (Kang, ¶0009 “… receiving … information … reference signal …”); determining N first port groups based on the plurality of reference signal ports (Kang, ¶0009 “selecting … one reference signal port group set …”), wherein the plurality of reference signal ports comprises reference signal ports in the N first port groups, different first port groups in the N first port groups comprise different reference signal ports, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Kang, ¶0009 “ … reference signal port group sets … reference signal port group set among the reference signal port group sets”);
While Kang discloses determining channel state information of N equivalent ports and sending first channel state information to the network device (Kang, ¶0009 “ … calculating channel state information … reference signal port group sets …”, Mittal teaches determining channel state information of N equivalent ports under a first weight based on the first weight and channel information of the N first port groups, wherein the N first port groups are in one-to-one correspondence with the N equivalent ports (Mittal, Fig. 7 item 708 710 and related text); and wherein the first channel state information is determined based on the channel state information of the N equivalent ports under the first weight (Mittal, Fig. 7 item 708 710 and related text). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Kang and Mittal as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of improving the performance of the communication system.
3. Claims 17 and 20 are similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. As per claim 2, Kang in view of Mittal teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each reference signal port in the plurality of reference signal ports corresponds to one analog port, and different reference signal ports correspond to different analog ports (Kang, ¶0123. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art to implement analog ports and/or digital ports depends on signal processing domain).
5. As per claim 13, Kang in view of Mittal teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first weight is a first codebook selected by the terminal device from a codebook set (Mattal, ¶0083).
6. As per claim 16, Kang in view of Mittal teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein one of the N equivalent ports corresponds to one digital port, and different equivalent ports correspond to different digital ports (Kang, ¶0123. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art to implement analog ports and/or digital ports depends on signal processing domain).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3-12, 14-15 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635