DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Nonfinal Office Action is in response to the Application filed 05/20/2025. Claims 1-7 are currently pending and considered herein.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations in claims 1, 2, and 4 are: “an answer input unit”; “a video image acquisition unit”; “a biometric reaction detection unit”; “an estimation unit”; “a diagnosis result input unit”; “a misdiagnosis possibility determination unit”; and “a daily conversation processing unit”. These are all considered generic placeholders.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites, wherein the abstract elements are not emboldened:
An information processing system comprising: an answer input unit configured to accept an answer from a patient to a question for differentiating a mental disorder; a video image acquisition unit configured to acquire a video image capturing the patient; a biometric reaction detection unit configured to analyze the video image to detect a change in biometric reaction of the patient; and an estimation unit configured to estimate the mental disorder that the patient suffers from by inputting the accepted answer and the detected change in biometric reaction into a learning model, wherein the learning model is trained on the answer, the change in biometric reaction, and the mental disorder.
Independent claims 6 and 7 recite substantially similar limitations. The claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of collecting patient answers, video and biometric information, analyzing the information, and making an estimation of a mental disorder based on the analyses.
The limitations of “to accept an answer from a patient to a question for differentiating a mental disorder; to acquire a video image capturing the patient; to analyze the video image to detect a change in biometric reaction of the patient; and to estimate the mental disorder that the patient suffers from by inputting the accepted answer and the detected change in biometric reaction into a model” as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is an abstract idea that covers performance of the limitation as organizing human activity. For example, but for the generic computer system reciting a processor and memory and executable instructions (claim 7) the answer input unit, video image acquisition unit, biometric reaction detection unit, and (machine) learning model, the claim recites an abstract idea that covers performance of the limitation as organizing human activity including following rules or instructions. The claim recites as a whole a method of organizing human activity because the limitations include a method that allows users to access patient data, biometrics and video, analyze those data and determine whether a certain mental disorder is present or not based on the analyses. This is a method of managing interactions between people. The nominal recitation of a generic computer system, an estimation unit, video and biometric detection and machine learning models does not take the claims out of the method of organizing human interactions grouping. The additional limitations amount to computer methods for further implementing the abstract idea of organizing human activity. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
The claims also recited an abstract idea including mental processes. But for the generic computer system, video image acquisition unit, biometric reaction detection unit, an estimation unit, and machine learning models, nothing in the claims is precluded from being performed in the mind. For example, a physician can collect the patient answers, video and biometric data and analyze them and then manually formulate insights about a mental disorder and appropriate recommendations/treatments. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of the generic computer system, video image acquisition unit, biometric reaction detection unit, an estimation unit, and machine learning models. The computer and machine learning models in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor/server/storage/display performing a generic computer function of receiving inputs, analyzing the inputs, and displaying selected information) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The limitations seem to monopolize the abstract idea of patient analysis and diagnoses and general techniques between a physician and her patient. Furthermore, there is no clear improvement to the underlying computer technology in the claim. The claim is thus directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the generic computer system, video image acquisition unit, biometric reaction detection unit, an estimation unit, and machine learning models amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these limitations provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computing environment.
The dependent claims do not remedy the deficiencies of the independent claims with respect to patent eligible subject matter. The dependent claims further limit the abstract idea. Claim 2 further describes a diagnosis result input and estimates a match or not and further limits the abstract idea. Claim 3 further describes the estimation unit for calculating mental disorders and further limits the abstract idea. Claim 4 describes the video acquisition unit and further limits the abstract idea. Claim 5 describes a daily conversation processing unit, which is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination, the daily conversation processing unit does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by U.S. 2016/0022193 A1 to Rau et al., hereinafter “Rau.”
Regarding claim 1, Rau discloses An information processing system comprising: an answer input unit configured to accept an answer from a patient to a question for differentiating a mental disorder (See Rau at least at Abstract; Paras. [0003], [0028], [0147]-[0149] (answer sets of pre-recorded questions, record facial expressions and verbal responses.), [0157]; Figs. 2, 3, 7); a video image acquisition unit configured to acquire a video image capturing the patient (See id. at least at Abstract; Paras. [0003], [0028], [0133], [0147]-[0149] (answer sets of pre-recorded questions, record facial expressions and verbal responses.), [0157]; Figs. 2, 3, 7); a biometric reaction detection unit configured to analyze the video image to detect a change in biometric reaction of the patient (See id. at least at Abstract; Paras. [0003], [0028], [0133], [0138]-[0139] (the patient’s biometric reactions are analyzed.), [0142]-[0144] (Patient Biometric Recording Systems, “PBRS”; and Real Time Episodes Recording & Analytics Systems, “RERAS”), [0147]-[0149], [0157]; Figs. 2, 3, 7); an estimation unit configured to estimate the mental disorder that the patient suffers from by inputting the accepted answer and the detected change in biometric reaction into a learning model (See id. at least at Abstract; Paras. [0003], [0021] (models) [0142]-[0147] (Dynamic modeling techniques and algorithms to compute large volumes of data), [0158] (machine learning algorithms for processing and training based on biometric information and stimuli) [0160]-[0162] (“During the recording session, the master database records of all prior patient APP measurements information of baseline information, patient other illnesses relevant data, prior real time events output reports are integrated and new information generated 7002 applying the data analytics 7004 on raw data 7006. The output can relate to a master database of known conditions and provide relevant longitudinal information to aid the clinician's diagnosis process 7008 along with a rough estimate for a real time risk analysis based on the patient analysis 7014.” Illnesses include anxieties, depression and other mental disorders.); Figs. 2, 3, 7); wherein the learning model is trained on the answer, the change in biometric reaction, and the mental disorder (See id. at least at Paras. [0003], [0021] (models) [0142]-[0147] (Dynamic modeling techniques and algorithms to compute large volumes of data), [0158] (machine learning algorithms for processing and training based on biometric information and stimuli) [0160]-[0162]; Figs. 2, 3, 7).
Regarding claim 4, Rau discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the video image acquisition unit acquires the video image capturing the patient engaging in daily conversation (See id. at least at Abstract; Paras. [0147]-[0149] (“Physicians can recommend and train patients to speak and record their thoughts, answer sets of pre-recorded questions and record their facial expressions to a RERAS device or to their smartphones, tablets and other available devices. This invention subsystems, variants of sensor data fused devices, and contents are selected by the clinicians for each patient and illness […] Mental health examination and measurement tools are administered by text and speech modes through digitized format with natural or neutral tones and voice, as needed and determined by the clinicians. The patients will answer these questions only through verbal responses. PBRS captures patient verbal responses from physician office examination and psychometric testing sessions using a speech to text recognition software. The content of the speech will be analyzed and matched with similar questions from different office examination visits and testing sessions.”), Figs. 2, 3, 7]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, claims 6 and 7 recite substantially the same limitations as included in independent claim 1. Thus, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection and for the same reasoning applied to claim 1, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rau in view of U.S. 2025/0054623 A1 to Yellowlees et al., hereinafter “Yellowlees.”
Regarding claim 2, Rau discloses the limitations of claim 1. Rau may not specifically describe but Yellowlees teaches a diagnosis result input unit configured to accept a diagnosis result of the mental disorder of the patient by a medical professional based on the answer (See Yellowlees at least at Paras. [0038], [0042]-[0047] (“The expert reviewer may agree or disagree with the diagnosis, risk stratification, and certainty threshold determined by the analysis system.”) ; Figs. 1-3); and a misdiagnosis possibility determination unit configured to determine whether the estimation result of the mental disorder by the estimation unit matches the diagnosis result or not (See Yellowlees at least at Paras. [0032], [0038], [0042]-[0045] (“The analysis system may calculate a risk stratification of a diagnosis, for example, high, medium, or low for any psychiatric or medical diagnosis. The analysis system may also calculate a confidence interval or level of certainty for the diagnosis. If the level of certainty is above a threshold, the analysis system may relay to the patient the risk stratification for the diagnosis […] If the level of certainty is below a threshold, the analysis system may feed back additional questions or testing […] the video segments showing questions and answers that led to an increase in the certainty threshold of the analytical system's diagnosis.”), [0058]-[0059] (“[T]he analytics server may display various data attributes associated with a patient's diagnosis and/or treatment plan on an electronic platform where a medical expert can review the data and determine whether the diagnosis is acceptable. If the diagnosis and/or treatment plan is not acceptable, the model can be taught either by negative reinforcement of the diagnosis.”), [0073]-[0074] (incorrect diagnoses), [0138]; Claims 18-19; Figs. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Rau to incorporate the teachings of Yellowlees and provide accepting a diagnosis of a patient and ensuring the diagnosis is correct, above a threshold. Yellowlees is directed to an AI modeling multi-linguistic diagnostic and screening of medical disorders. Incorporating the AI modeling multi-linguistic diagnostic and screening of medical disorders as in Yellowlees with the real time biometric recording and monitoring systems for managing mental disorders as in Rau would thereby improve the diagnoses and confidence of estimating certain mental disorders.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rau in view of U.S. 2025/0149174 A1 to Ozen Irmak et al., hereinafter “Ozen Irmak.”
Regarding claim 3, Rau discloses the limitations of claim 1. Rau may not specifically describe but Ozen Irmak teaches wherein the estimation unit calculates probabilities that the patient suffers from each of a plurality of mental disorders (See Ozen Irmak at least at Paras. [0082], [0113]-[0118] (“In FIG. 2, for example, output layer 208 includes multiple values that each indicates the probability that the target individual suffers or will suffer (in the future) from a respective behavioral disorder. For example, output 208a can indicate a depression probability, output 208b can indicate an anxiety probability, etc.”); Claims 3-4, Figs. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Rau to incorporate the teachings of Ozen Irmak and provide calculating probabilities for a patient to suffer a mental disorder(s). Ozen Irmak is directed to machine learning models to predict the occurrence of a psychological event. Incorporating the predicting the occurrence of a psychological event as in Ozen Irmak with the real time biometric recording and monitoring systems for managing mental disorders as in Rau would thereby improve diagnosing patients that suffer from mental disorders.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rau in view of U.S. 2026/0162821 A1 to Son, hereinafter “Son.”
Regarding claim 5, Rau discloses the limitations of claim 4. Rau may not specifically describe but Son teaches a daily conversation processing unit configured to conduct daily conversation with the patient and generate second speech content to convey to the patient in response to first speech content from the patient; wherein the video image acquisition unit acquires the video image capturing conversation between the patient and the daily conversation processing unit. (See Son at least at Paras. [0584]-[0591] (“[T]he linked device 500 can perform its own control, conversations with users, mental care through conversation, daily life support, and health management advice according to instructions from the control device.”), [00594]-[0595] (“[T]he response rule 231 defines a behavior of the avatar 120 corresponding to behavior patterns such as when a user is not participating in group activities, is restless, or is looking down […] a case where the avatar 120 and a user are having a conversation, if the behavior determination unit 246 determines a behavior including speech, the behavior control unit 250 controls the avatar 120 to take a predetermined action and causes a speaker included in the controlled object to output voice of the avatar.”), [0609]-[0611]; Claims 8-10; Figs. 1-5, 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Rau to incorporate the teachings of Son and provide a conversation unit to make conversation and interact with a patient. Son is directed to a behavior control system and avatar interaction. Incorporating the behavior control system and interactions as in Son with the real time biometric recording and monitoring systems for managing mental disorders as in Rau would thereby improve the conversations and other inputs for determining diagnoses of mental disorders.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. 2024/0041371 A1 to Yoo et al., U.S. 2019/0354879 A1 to van Rensburg, U.S. 2025/0191760 A1 to Howard et al.
/WILLIAM T. MONTICELLO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682