DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 .
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arai et al (US 20260108398 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arai discloses a hook structure (100, connecting sheet), having a first extending direction (perpendicular to XY-plane) and a second extending direction (XY-plane), and comprising: a supporting layer (110, sheet base material and 125, second adhesive layer), comprising: a base layer (125, second adhesive layer); and a plurality of hook columns (figure 2), the hook columns arranged at intervals along the first extending direction (paragraph 26, lines 3-5), wherein each of the hook columns comprises a plurality of hook units (130, hook members), the hook units (130, hook members) of each of the hook columns are arranged at intervals along the second extending direction (paragraph 26, lines 5-8), and the hook units (130, hook members) are integrally connected (paragraph 25) to one side of the base layer (125, second adhesive layer); and
a covering layer (120, first adhesive layer) and a plurality of surface areas of the base layer (125, second adhesive layer) exposed on the side (figure 2) of the base layer (125, second adhesive layer).
Regarding claim 2, Arai discloses the hook columns are arranged at intervals (paragraph 26, lines 5-7) along the first extending direction (perpendicular to XY-plane) with an equidistant interval space (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Arai discloses the hook units (130, hook members) of each of the hook columns are arranged at intervals (paragraph 26, lines 3-5) along the second extending direction (XY-plane) with an equidistant interval space (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Arai discloses the supporting layer (110, sheet base material and 125, second adhesive layer) is made of an elastic material (paragraph 28, lines 22-36 and figure 4), and the supporting layer extends along at least one of the first extending direction (perpendicular to XY-plane) and the second extending direction (XY-plane) (paragraph 26, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 5, Arai discloses the supporting layer (110, sheet base material and 125, second adhesive layer) comprises a first polymer material (paragraph 28, lines 25-27), and the covering layer (120, first adhesive layer) comprises a second polymer material (paragraph 24, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 7, Arai discloses a substrate (150, target object) disposed on the other side of (figure 1 and figure 3B) the base layer (125, second adhesive layer) of the supporting layer (110, sheet base material and 125, second adhesive layer).
Regarding claim 8, Arai discloses the substrate (150, target object) is a fabric (paragraph 20).
Regarding claim 9, Arai discloses the substrate (150, target object) is elastic (160, panties) and the substrate (150, target object) extends along at least one of the first extending direction (perpendicular to XY-plane) and the second extending direction (XY-plane).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al (US 20260108398 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5, and 7 above, in view of Kono et al (US 20030126724 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Arai discloses a hook structure (100, connecting sheet) having a supporting layer (figure 2) comprising a first polymer material (paragraph 28, lines 25-27) and a base layer (125, second adhesive layer).
Arai does not explicitly disclose the first polymer material being a thermoplastic polymer.
Regarding claim 6, Kono teaches a hook structure (10, surface fastener) having a supporting layer (21, substrate and 42, hard resin material) comprising a first polymer material (41, elastic resin material) wherein the first polymer material is a thermoplastic polyurethane, a thermoplastic styrene or a thermoplastic polyester elastomer (paragraph 31, lines 1-4) and a base layer (21, substrate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sheet base material (110) of Arai to be constructed of thermoplastic elastomer as taught by Kono. One would be motivated to make this modification to have hook members (130 of Arai) that are soft and flexible (paragraph 31 of Kono), thus making them easier to make with the target object (150 of Arai).
Regarding claim 9, the previously made combination of Arai in view of Kono discloses a substrate (25, adhesive layer of Kono) disposed on the other side of the base layer (125, second adhesive layer of Arai) of the supporting layer (110, sheet base material and 125, second adhesive layer of Arai), wherein the substrate (25, adhesive layer of Kono) is elastic (paragraph 47, lines 1-5 of Kono) and the substrate (25, adhesive layer of Kono) extends along at least one of the first extending direction (perpendicular to XY-plane) and the second extending direction (XY-plane).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connecting sheets (100) of Arai to include an elastic adhesive layer (25) as taught by Kono. One would be motivated to make this modification to have additional adhesive to secure the target object (150 of Arai) that can work on fabric as well as smooth laminated paper (paragraph 46, lines 8-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Berg et al. (US 5657516 A) teaches a structured fastener with hook structures having supporting layer and covering layer.
Gorman et al. (US 6190594 B1) teaches a structured surface took with columns and rows of hook units having a supporting layer and a covering layer.
Cohen (US 4870721 A) teaches a multi prong surface connector with a supporting layer and a covering layer.
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677