DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3, “the corner” should read “a corner”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear if the band is meant to be part of the claimed invention or functionally recited. In line 1 the band is functionally recited “A tensioner instrument for tensioning a band”, however further the band is positively recited “the band is pinched”. For purposes of examination the band is assumed to NOT be part of the claimed invention and claim 1 will be read as “the band is configured to be pinched”.
Claim 5 is dependent upon claim 3, but includes limitation directed towards the second hinge which is introduced in claim 4. Therefore, it is unclear if claim 5 should be dependent upon claim 4 or should be amended to introduce the second hinge. For purposes of examination claim 5 is assumed to depend from claim 4.
Claim 7 recites “the opposite end”. It is unclear what this end is opposite from. For purposes of examination the opposite end is assumed to be opposite the first end and claim 7 will be read as, “the ratchet has an opposite end opposite the first end”.
Claim 10 recites “the pawl slot”, but is not dependent upon claim 7 which introduces the pawl slot. It is unclear if claim 10 should depend from 7 or introduce the pawl slot. For purposes of examination claim 10 will be read as “wherein a pawl in a pawl slot of one of the first or second arms engages… and claim 10 is assumed to depend from claim 9.
Claim 11 recites “a closed through-opening”. It is unclear how this would function because a through-opening is known to have all ends open, thus the “through” opening name. If an opening is closed at one end, then it would not be a through-opening. The opening of claims 1 and 11 is assumed to be opening ref. 50 as shown in Figs. 3 and 7 which is shown as a through-opening. Therefore, for purposes of examination the “closed through-opening” is assumed to be a through-opening or through-bore and not closed at any end.
In claim 10, it is unclear if the band is meant to be part of the claimed invention or functionally recited. In line 1 the band is functionally recited “A tensioner instrument for tensioning a band”, however further the band is positively recited “the band is pinched”. For purposes of examination the band is assumed to NOT be part of the claimed invention and claim 10 will be read as “the band is configured to be pinched”.
Claim 17 is dependent upon claim 15, but also recites “the second hinge”. It is unclear if claim 17 should be dependent upon claim 16 which introduces the second hinge or if claim 17 should be amended to introduce the second hinge. For purposes of examination, claim 17 is assumed to depend from claim 16.
Claim 19 recites “the opposite end”. It is unclear what this end is opposite from. For purposes of examination the opposite end is assumed to be opposite the first end and claim 19 will be read as, “the ratchet has an opposite end opposite the first end”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6, 7, 11 – 15 and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natkins (US 4,321,952) in view of Gordon (US 2019/0262039 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Natkins discloses a tensioner instrument (Abstract) for tensioning a band (Abstract), comprising:
first and second arms extending from a proximal end to a distal end (Fig. 3, refs 2, 3) , the first and second arms having handles near the proximal ends (see remarked Fig. 3 below);
a base (refs. 28, 13, see remarked Fig. 3 below) pivotally coupled to the first arm (pin ref. 14 pivotally couples ref. 13 of the base to the first arm ref. 2) and coupled to the second arm (all components of the device are coupled to each other), the base defining a slot to receive the band (the slot is created by refs. 28 and ref. 16, best shown in Figs. 8 and 4 or the slot may be considered the opening in ref. 28 as shown in Figs. 1 - 2) and guide the distal end of the first arm (Fig. 4), the second arm defining an opening sized to receive the band (see remarked Fig. 3 below);
wherein when the handles are compressed together, the first arm pivots relative to the base such that the band is pinched in the slot between the distal end of the first arm and the base (due to the tensioning means ref. 9 – 11, when the handles are compressed together the arms are separated, thus creating tension on the band as shown in Figs. 7 and 8), and a distance between the distal ends of the first and second arms is increased, thereby applying a tension to the band (Figs. 7 and 8).
Natkins discloses a plier-like device for tensioning, but is silent regarding a ratchet positioned between the first and second arms.
Gordon teaches a plier-like device for tensioning (Abstract, ref. 200), comprising first and second arms (ref. 212, 214) and a ratchet positioned between the first and second arms (paragraph [0036], ref. 216). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Natkins to include the ratchet positioned between the first and second arms, as taught by Gordon, for the purpose of maintaining a relative position of the first and second arms (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 1, wherein the base includes a first elongate portion and a second elongate portion angled relative to the first elongate portion at a corner (see remarked Fig. 2 below of Natkins).
Regarding claim 3, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 2, wherein the corner of the first and second elongate portions couples with the first arm at a first hinge (Natkins, ref. 14).
Regarding claim 6, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 1, wherein a first end of the ratchet is coupled to one of the first and second arms via a pivot pin (Gordon, Fig. 6, ref. 220).
Regarding claim 7, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 6, wherein the opposite end of the ratchet is positionable through a pawl slot in the other of the first and second arms (Gordon, ref. 222).
Regarding claim 11, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 1, wherein the opening of the second arm is a closed through-opening (as best understood the opening is a through-opening as shown in Fig. 7 in Natkins).
Regarding claim 12, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 1, wherein a central axis of the opening is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the slot when the distal end of the second arm is in contact with the distal end of the base (Natkins, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Natkins discloses a tensioner instrument for tensioning a band (Abstract), comprising:
first and second pivoting arms extending from a proximal end to a distal end (Figs. 3, refs. 2, 3), the first and second pivoting arms having handles near the proximal ends (see remarked Fig. 3 below);
a base pivotally coupled to the first and second pivoting arms (refs. 28, 13, see remarked Fig. 3 below), and defining a slot to retain the band and guide the distal end of the first pivoting arm (the slot is created by refs. 28 and ref. 16, best shown in Figs. 8 and 4 or the slot may be considered the opening in ref. 28 as shown in Figs. 1 - 2), the second pivoting arm defining an opening sized to receive the band (Fig. 3, ref. 26);
wherein when the handles are compressed together, the band is pinched in the slot between the distal end of the first pivoting arm and the base, and a distance between the distal ends of the first and second pivoting arms is increased, thereby applying a tension to the band (due to the tensioning means ref. 9 – 11, when the handles are compressed together the arms are separated, thus creating tension on the band as shown in Figs. 7 and 8).
Natkins discloses a plier-like device for tensioning, but is silent regarding a ratchet positioned between the first and second arms.
Gordon teaches a plier-like device for tensioning (Abstract, ref. 200), comprising first and second arms (ref. 212, 214) and a ratchet positioned between the first and second arms (paragraph [0036], ref. 216). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instrument of Natkins to include the ratchet positioned between the first and second arms, as taught by Gordon, for the purpose of maintaining a relative position of the first and second arms (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 13, wherein the base includes a first elongate portion and a second elongate portion angled relative to the first elongate portion at a corner (Natkins, see remarked Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 15, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 14, wherein the corner of the first and second elongate portions couples with the first pivoting arm at a first hinge (Natkins, ref. 14).
Regarding claim 18, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 13, wherein a first end of the ratchet is coupled to one of the first and second pivoting arms via a pivot pin (Gordon, ref. 220).
Regarding claim 19, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 18, wherein the opposite end of the ratchet is positionable through a pawl slot in the other of the first and second pivoting arms (Gordon, ref. 222).
Regarding claim 20, Natkins in view of Gordon discloses the tensioner instrument of claim 19, wherein the ratchet:
is a linear ratchet (Gordon, Figs. 6 – 7);
includes a plurality of teeth along an interior of the ratchet, a pawl in the pawl slot engages the teeth to thereby incrementally maintain the position of the first and second pivoting arms and the amount of tension applied to the band (Gordon, paragraph [0036]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 10 and 13 – 20 (see Table 1 below) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,534,222. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
U.S. App. 19/212,845 Claims
U.S. Pat. 11,534,222 Claims
U.S. App. 19/212,845 Claims
U.S. Pat. 11,534,222 Claims
1
1
11
-
2
2
12
-
3
2
13
1
4
3
14
2
5
4
15
2
6
5
16
3
7
5
17
4
8
6
18
5
9
6
19
5
10
6
20
6
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773