DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's application filed on 20 May 2025. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Eligible Subject Matter
The claims are eligible subject matter because the abstract idea is necessarily rooted in technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borhan et al. (US 2025/0262973 A1) (hereinafter Borhan).
Claims 1 and 13:
Borhan, as shown, discloses the following limitations of claims 1 and 13:
A computer system (and corresponding method) comprising processing circuitry configured to manage charging of electric energy storage systems of electrically powered machines in a fleet system (see para [0089], showing equivalent computing functionality and see para [0004], "One embodiment of the present disclosure relates to a provider computing system that is structured to determine and implement equipment charging schedules. The provider computing system comprising at least one processing circuit comprising at least one memory coupled to at least one processor, the at least one processing circuit coupled to an equipment charging depot includes a plurality of equipment chargers, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions therein that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processing circuit to perform operations that include receiving an equipment charging request from a piece of equipment and receiving data regarding the piece of equipment. The data regarding the piece of equipment is received from at least one of the piece of the equipment or a computing system associated with the equipment charging depot. The operations may also include receiving at least one fleet priority value associated with a fleet of equipment, the fleet of equipment including the piece of equipment and determining a charging parameter for the piece of equipment based on the data regarding the piece of equipment and the at least one fleet priority value. The operations may further include receiving an indication of a charging connection between the piece of equipment and a charger at the equipment charging depot, receiving information via the charging connection subsequent to the indication, and adjusting the charging parameter based on the received information via the charging connection."), the fleet system comprising at least one electrically powered machine and at least one charging station configured to charge the electric energy storage system of the at least one electrically powered machine (see para [0004], "One embodiment of the present disclosure relates to a provider computing system that is structured to determine and implement equipment charging schedules. The provider computing system comprising at least one processing circuit comprising at least one memory coupled to at least one processor, the at least one processing circuit coupled to an equipment charging depot includes a plurality of equipment chargers, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions therein that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processing circuit to perform operations that include receiving an equipment charging request from a piece of equipment and receiving data regarding the piece of equipment. The data regarding the piece of equipment is received from at least one of the piece of the equipment or a computing system associated with the equipment charging depot. The operations may also include receiving at least one fleet priority value associated with a fleet of equipment, the fleet of equipment including the piece of equipment and determining a charging parameter for the piece of equipment based on the data regarding the piece of equipment and the at least one fleet priority value. The operations may further include receiving an indication of a charging connection between the piece of equipment and a charger at the equipment charging depot, receiving information via the charging connection subsequent to the indication, and adjusting the charging parameter based on the received information via the charging connection."),
the processing circuitry being configured to obtain: work schedule data, indicative of at least a charging availability time, of each of the at least one electrically powered machine, machine status, indicative of at least a charging requirement of each of the at least one electrically powered machine, charging information, indicative of at least a charging capacity of the at least one charging station (see para [0007], "In some embodiments, at least one charging priority for fleet vehicle charging is based on at least one of a route for each vehicle in the fleet of vehicles or a scheduled departure time for each vehicle in the fleet of vehicles from an area associated with the plurality of chargers. In some embodiments, the vehicle in the fleet of vehicles with a longest route relative to other vehicles in the fleet of vehicles is scheduled for a longer charging time than vehicles with a shorter route. In some embodiments, the determined charging schedule for the fleet of vehicles includes at least one vehicle scheduled to be charged to a value less than a maximum charge value of the vehicle. In some embodiments, the charging request further comprises a charging time window and a minimum end state of charge value." and see para [0009], "Yet another embodiment relates to a method for generating and implementing a charging schedule for a fleet of vehicles. The method includes: receiving a charging request from a the fleet of vehicles; receiving data regarding battery data associated with batteries of the fleet of vehicles; receiving fleet management data that includes at least one charging priority associated with a the fleet of vehicles; determining a charging schedule for the fleet of vehicles based on the battery data and the at least one charging priority, the charging schedule including a charging assignment for each vehicle in the fleet of vehicles; transmitting the charging assignment to the fleet of vehicles; and transmitting a control signal to a charging depot to operate a plurality of chargers according to the charging schedule." And see para [0020]-[0022]), and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine based on the work schedule data, the machine status and the charging information, such that the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine is planned to be completed within a time interval before a starting time of a subsequent work shift of each of the at least one electrically powered machine (see para [0064], " The scheduling manager 422 may assign vehicle charging time and/or duration based on other fleet management data 412, such as what time vehicles 110 are needed for an upcoming fleet task and/or vehicle route data. For example, if the cumulative charging time required is greater than the available charging time at depot 106 and the vehicle route plans are known (e.g., by fleet management data 412), then vehicles 110 are scheduled (e.g., by scheduling manager 422) based on vehicle route plans. In this example, the vehicles 110 with the longest route plans are prioritized for earlier charging or longer charging durations so that they are provided sufficient charge to complete their route. The fleet management data 412 may also include fleet vehicle location data that is regularly transmitted to the scheduling manager 422 (e.g., hourly, semi-hourly, every 5 minutes leading up to an assigned charging time, etc.). In this way, the scheduling manager 422 may rearrange the charging schedule and charging assignments if a vehicle 110 is delayed and cannot make an assigned charging time." where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that "what time vehicles needed for an upcoming fleet task" can be considered starting time before a work shift given broadest reasonable interpretation), and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the determined charging process by controlling the charging station to charge the electric energy storage system of the respective electrically powered machine (see para [0004]-[0009], showing computing system operates chargers according the charging specifics)
Claims 2 and 14:
Further, Borhan discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the charging process such that the charging process is planned to be completed within the time interval before the starting time (see para [0064], " The scheduling manager 422 may assign vehicle charging time and/or duration based on other fleet management data 412, such as what time vehicles 110 are needed for an upcoming fleet task and/or vehicle route data. For example, if the cumulative charging time required is greater than the available charging time at depot 106 and the vehicle route plans are known (e.g., by fleet management data 412), then vehicles 110 are scheduled (e.g., by scheduling manager 422) based on vehicle route plans. In this example, the vehicles 110 with the longest route plans are prioritized for earlier charging or longer charging durations so that they are provided sufficient charge to complete their route. The fleet management data 412 may also include fleet vehicle location data that is regularly transmitted to the scheduling manager 422 (e.g., hourly, semi-hourly, every 5 minutes leading up to an assigned charging time, etc.). In this way, the scheduling manager 422 may rearrange the charging schedule and charging assignments if a vehicle 110 is delayed and cannot make an assigned charging time." where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that "what time vehicles needed for an upcoming fleet task" can be considered starting time before a work shift given broadest reasonable interpretation), while charging at a lowest possible power, wherein the lowest possible power is a lowest power physically possible to use while charging or a configured lowest power (see para [0062], " For example, if a depot 106 has a low (e.g., at or below a predetermined threshold) remaining charging capacity and one available charger 108, the charging schedule may be altered to schedule a vehicle 110 to charge at a lower average charging rate for a longer charging time. In this way, the depot 106 may flexibly schedule vehicles demanding charging according to the total power capacity remaining on the electrical grid." where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that flexibility allowing for lower rates at a longer charging time shows a lowest possible power option can be configured).
Claims 3 and 15:
Further, Bohran discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, for the electric energy storage system of each of the at least one electrically powered machine, a required state of charge necessary for the electrically powered machine to complete the subsequent work shift, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the charging process such that at least the required state of charge is attained within the time interval before the starting time of the subsequent work shift (see para [0064], " The scheduling manager 422 may assign vehicle charging time and/or duration based on other fleet management data 412, such as what time vehicles 110 are needed for an upcoming fleet task and/or vehicle route data. For example, if the cumulative charging time required is greater than the available charging time at depot 106 and the vehicle route plans are known (e.g., by fleet management data 412), then vehicles 110 are scheduled (e.g., by scheduling manager 422) based on vehicle route plans. In this example, the vehicles 110 with the longest route plans are prioritized for earlier charging or longer charging durations so that they are provided sufficient charge to complete their route. The fleet management data 412 may also include fleet vehicle location data that is regularly transmitted to the scheduling manager 422 (e.g., hourly, semi-hourly, every 5 minutes leading up to an assigned charging time, etc.). In this way, the scheduling manager 422 may rearrange the charging schedule and charging assignments if a vehicle 110 is delayed and cannot make an assigned charging time." where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that "what time vehicles needed for an upcoming fleet task" can be considered starting time before a work shift given broadest reasonable interpretation).
Claims 4 and 16:
Further, Bohran discloses the following limitations:
wherein for a fleet system comprising a plurality of electrically powered machines, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the charging processes of each of the plurality of electrically powered machines to alternate charging between the plurality of electrically powered machines such that the charging process of each electrically powered machine is completed within the time interval of the starting time of the subsequent work shift of the respective electrically powered machine (see para [0062], “ If the determined charging time required is less than the total charging time the depot 106 has available and the charging cost is acceptable (e.g., at or below a predefined threshold), then the vehicles 110 may be scheduled (e.g., by scheduling manager 422) to charge to their respective full charge levels. If the cumulative charging time required to charge vehicles 110 to a full charge is greater than the available time, and the vehicle departure schedules are known (e.g., are received as fleet management data 412), then the vehicles 110 are scheduled based on depot departure times. For example, the vehicle 110 with the earliest depot departure time of the depot charging requests is assigned the earliest available charging time slot. In some embodiments, the average charging rate may be adjusted in response to high charging demand (charging demands that are above a predefined threshold, which may be determined by analyzing the current draw (in the aggregate or individually) from the chargers relative to the threshold). For example, if a depot 106 has a low (e.g., at or below a predetermined threshold) remaining charging capacity and one available charger 108, the charging schedule may be altered to schedule a vehicle 110 to charge at a lower average charging rate for a longer charging time. In this way, the depot 106 may flexibly schedule vehicles demanding charging according to the total power capacity remaining on the electrical grid.” where alternate charging would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the ability of altering the schedule of a vehicle)
Claims 5-6, 17-18:
Further, Bohran discloses the following limitations:
wherein the machine status comprises at least one of: a storage capacity of the electric energy storage system, a charging status of the electric energy storage system, and a power consumption of the electrically powered machine in operation (see para [0008], showing power grid capacity and see para [0062]-[0063], where charging time the depot has available shows storage capacity of the electric energy storage system given broadest reasonable interpretation and see para [0021]-[0023]).
wherein the power consumption is an expected power consumption estimated based on a stored history of power consumption of the electrically powered machine, and/or a calculated power consumption based on properties of the electrically powered machine and on the work schedule (see para [0021], “For example, if the determined charging time required to reach full charge is less than the time the total charging time the depot has available based on the cumulative charging demand on the depot, and the charging cost is acceptable to the vehicle operator and/or fleet manager, then the provider computing system may schedule the vehicles in the fleet to charge to their respective defined charge levels (e.g., full charge, a value less than full charge, etc.). The provider computing system may determine or estimate a charging duration for each vehicle in the fleet based on the battery health of each vehicle and the ambient temperature, thus creating a more accurate schedule. For example, if a battery is lithium-ion battery that is severely aged then it may require a longer charging duration than a new lithium-ion battery. The traditional charging depot or provider scheduler may create a schedule for charging based on standard charge time for a lithium-ion battery, which results in delays to the schedule when an aged battery that requires a longer charging time connects to a depot charger. Further, the provider of the present disclosure may account for the capacity of the electric grid by assigning offset charging times of vehicles so that no more than a certain number of vehicles can charge at one time. These and other features and benefits are described more fully herein below.” and see para [0055], “The database 410 may store battery health data associated with the vehicle battery 522 over time. The provider computing system 400 may calculate battery health trends, create a recommendation, and transmit the recommendation to a vehicle user, fleet manager, and/or fleet operator. For example, the database 410 may store a collection of total charging capacity values of a vehicle battery over the course of a year. If the provider computing system 400 finds that the total battery charging capacity decreased drastically during the winter months, the provider computing system 400 may transmit a recommendation to the vehicle controller 500 and/or to the depot computing system 300 that a battery warmer be installed.” and see para [0059]-[0061], showing calculating charging demand based on vehicle charging requests and cumulative required charging time when creating a charging schedule)
Claims 7-9, 19-20:
Further, Bohrhan discloses the following limitations:
wherein the time interval before the starting time is determined based on at least one of an ambient temperature, the work schedule data, the machine status and the charging information (see para [0009], “Yet another embodiment relates to a method for generating and implementing a charging schedule for a fleet of vehicles. The method includes: receiving a charging request from a the fleet of vehicles; receiving data regarding battery data associated with batteries of the fleet of vehicles; receiving fleet management data that includes at least one charging priority associated with a the fleet of vehicles; determining a charging schedule for the fleet of vehicles based on the battery data and the at least one charging priority, the charging schedule including a charging assignment for each vehicle in the fleet of vehicles; transmitting the charging assignment to the fleet of vehicles; and transmitting a control signal to a charging depot to operate a plurality of chargers according to the charging schedule.” showing a charging request where it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art such a request would be for the time before the starting time)
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to calculate the time interval to ensure that the temperature of the electric energy storage system is at least above a minimum temperature threshold at the starting time of the subsequent work shift (see para [0021], “ The provider computing system may determine or estimate a charging duration for each vehicle in the fleet based on the battery health of each vehicle and the ambient temperature, thus creating a more accurate schedule” where a schedule can be considered to show the time interval and see para [0024], “ Thus, the charging power profile represents a specific representation of the battery(ies) for each vehicle, which may be used in the future to control charging schemes for each vehicle. The charging profile represents tracked charging parameters over a predefined amount of time. The charging parameter may be charging time, minimum ending state of charge, battery temperature variations over the course of a charge, ambient temperature data, charge rate, and the like. The charging power profile may be accessed and updated by the provider computing system 400 each time new vehicle data and/or battery data is transmitted to the provider 104. The depot 106 and the provider 104 may be at the same location, or different locations. The provider 104, via the provider computing system 400, may provide charger assignment and scheduling to the depot 106 as a service. Additionally, the provider may monitor depot performance and identify usage patterns to optimize the performance of the depot as a charging infrastructure.” and see para [0058], “As briefly described above, in some embodiments, the provider computing system 400 is structured to receive data from the one or more vehicles 110 and, via the communication interface 512 and/or via the network 102. In some embodiments, the scheduling manager 422 identifies, selects, and determines a vehicle charging schedule based on the following scheduling factors: SOC, battery type, battery age, ambient temperature, and fleet priorities. Each factor may be considered by the scheduling manager 422, individually and/or collectively. For example, the scheduling manager 422 may receive a request to charge the battery 522 of vehicle 110 to a given SOC. The scheduling manager 422 receives one or more requests to charge during a day. The scheduling manager 422 may select a vehicle 110 from the fleet 200 for each of the one or more requests and assign the vehicle 110 a charging time slot and charging duration. The scheduling manager 422 may select the vehicle 110, based on the scheduling factors (e.g., the SOC, battery type, battery age, ambient temperature, and fleet priorities).” and Fig. 4, showing battery temperature compared to a threshold which results in an altering charging threshold)
wherein a rate of charge is varied during the charging process to ensure that the temperature of the electric energy storage system is at least above the minimum temperature threshold at the starting time of the subsequent work shift (Fig. 4, showing battery temperature compared to a threshold which results in an altering charging threshold)
Claim 11:
Further, Borhan discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine such that the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine is planned to be initiated at a time point when a temperature of the electric energy storage system of the respective electrically powered machine satisfies a starting temperature criterion (see para [0005], “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine such that the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine is planned to be initiated at a time point when a temperature of the electric energy storage system of the respective electrically powered machine satisfies a starting temperature criterion.”)
Claim 12:
Further, Borhan discloses the following limitations:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the charging process for at least one electrically powered machine such that the charging process for the at least one electrically powered machine is planned to be initiated at a delayed time point after a preceding work shift when a temperature of the electric energy storage system of the electrically powered machine has been lowered and satisfies a starting temperature criterion (see para [0005], “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine such that the charging process for each of the at least one electrically powered machine is planned to be initiated at a time point when a temperature of the electric energy storage system of the respective electrically powered machine satisfies a starting temperature criterion.”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borhan, as applied above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0136829 A1) (hereinafter Zhang).
Claim 10:
Borhan does not specifically disclose wherein the minimum temperature threshold at the starting time of the subsequent work shift for at least one electrically powered machine is varied based on a planned workload of the electrically powered machine during the subsequent work shift. In analogous art, Zhang discloses the following limitations:
wherein the minimum temperature threshold at the starting time of the subsequent work shift for at least one electrically powered machine is varied based on a planned workload of the electrically powered machine during the subsequent work shift (see para [0027], “The parameter module 310 is configured for determining a scheduling parameter; and the parameter module 310 determines the scheduling parameter based on a current transportation task request and a current scheduling condition. In some embodiments, the scheduling parameter includes a transportation task attribute and a scheduling condition. The transportation task attribute includes a starting port and an ending point of a transportation task. In some embodiments, the transportation task attribute further includes at least one of a transportation volume of the transportation task, an earliest starting time of the transportation task, a latest starting time of the transportation task, an earliest ending time of the transportation task and a latest ending time of the transportation task. In some embodiments, the transportation task attribute includes duration to complete the transportation task, for example, the transportation task has to be completed within 30 minutes, the transportation task has to be completed within 1 hour, or the like. In some embodiments, the transportation task attribute further includes a transportation temperature requirement, such as normal temperature transportation, refrigerated transportation and frozen transportation. The transportation task attribute may also include a specific temperature requirement, for example, the temperature is no higher than 40 degrees Celsius or the temperature is no lower than 36 degrees Celsius. The scheduling system schedules the vehicles based on one or more transportation tasks.”)
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with Borhan because a varying minimum temperature threshold enables different vehicles to be assigned more optimally based on different types of tasks (see Zhang, para [0002]-[0004]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the multi-vehicle coordination based vehicle scheduling system as taught by Zhang in the fleet depot charging system of Borhan, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boehmer et al. (CN 116691409 A), a method for managing and controlling a charging facility, the charging facility has a charging station distributed in space and is used by a plurality of vehicles driven by a power battery of a vehicle fleet, wherein a management and control system is used, which has a charging station database including information about the availability of the charging station, a power battery database including information on the state of charge of the power battery of the vehicle fleet, and a vehicle fleet navigation system including information on the vehicle fleet spatial distribution and information on the vehicle fleet traffic condition, wherein determining the vehicle position of the fleet in the defined area and the vehicle power battery charge state of the fleet in the area, considering the traffic condition in the area, according to the availability of the idle charging station in the area and the corresponding position
Diamond et al. (US 2024/0212501 A1), a fleet management system that may include a transceiver configured to receive parking facility attributes associated with a parking facility and vehicle information associated with each vehicle in a vehicle fleet where the parking facility attributes may include parking resource locations in the parking facility and a parking resource availability information and the vehicle information may include a vehicle operational status and a future expected vehicle usage information
Wang et al. “Optimal Charging Pile Configuration and Charging Scheduling for Electric Bus Routes Considering the Impact of Ambient Temperature on Charging Power”, a paper on the influence of ambient temperature on battery charging performance, and collaboratively optimizes the number of charging piles in the bus depot and the scheduling problem of EB charging
/SUJAY KONERU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624