DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caire (US 2010/0322327) in view of Rahman (US 2016/0380797).
1. As per claim 1, Caire teaches a method for impulsive noise detection and suppression, comprising: detecting (202), by a processor (570), a position of impulsive noise in a frequency-domain signal based at least on identifying a position of null subcarriers in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0037 0033. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art at the time of the invention to perform the instant limitation for the benefit of detecting and mitigating noise to improve communication see Rahman US 2016/0380797 for example ¶0030); and initiating, by the processor (570), the suppression of the impulsive noise from the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0037).Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Caire and Rahman as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of detecting and mitigating noise to improve communication.
2. As per claim 2, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein detecting, by the processor (570), the position of the impulsive noise comprises: for each of a plurality of positions in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0037): selecting (208), by the processor (570), a given position of the plurality of positions for the impulsive noise in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0047); predicting (208), by the processor (570), a value of the impulse noise based on the position of the null subcarriers (Caire, ¶0047); updating (210), by the processor (570), a received vector corresponding to the frequency-domain signal by removing the impulse noise (Caire, ¶0037); and determining (212), by the processor (570), an estimated noise energy value of the updated received vector for the given position in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0047).
3. As per claim 3, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method method as claimed in claim 2, comprising: determining (214), by the processor (570), the given position in the frequency-domain signal having a minimum estimated noise energy value (Caire, ¶0047); and identifying (216), by the processor (570), the given position in the frequency-domain signal as the position of the impulsive noise (Caire, ¶0047).
4. As per claim 4, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the position of the null subcarriers is identified via a control signal (Caire, ¶0036-0037).
5. As per claim 5, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method method as claimed in claim 3, comprising suppressing (216), by the processor (570), the impulsive noise by: subtracting, by the processor (570), additional magnitude value from the received vector caused by the value of the impulsive noise at the detected position of the impulsive noise (Caire, ¶0037).
6. As per claim 6, Caire teaches a wireless communication system (100) for impulsive noise detection and suppression, comprising: a transmitter (102) (Caire, ¶0016 “… transmitter …”) configured to: encode an input signal; modulate the encoded signal for transmission through a communication channel (106) (Caire, ¶0016 “… modulated …”); and transform the modulated signal into a time-domain signal (Caire, ¶0016 “… perform inverse fast Fourier transform …”); the communication channel (106) configured to transmit the time-domain signal and a control signal from the transmitter (102) to a receiver (104) (Caire, ¶0016); and the receiver (104) configured to: receive the time-domain signal and the control signal from the transmitter (102) via the communication channel (106) (Caire, ¶0016 “… receiving …’); transform the time-domain signal into a frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0016 (“… perform Fast Fourier transform …”); detect a position of impulsive noise in the frequency-domain signal based at least on identifying a position of null subcarriers in the frequency-domain signal via the control signal (Caire, ¶0037 0033. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art at the time of the invention to perform the instant limitation for the benefit of detecting and mitigating noise to improve communication see Rahman US 2016/0380797 for example ¶0030); and initiate the suppression of the impulsive noise from the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0037). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Caire and Rahman as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of detecting and mitigating noise to improve communication.
7. As per claim 7, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method system (100) as claimed in claim 6, wherein the receiver (104) is configured to detect the position of the impulsive noise by being configured to: for each of a plurality of positions in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0037): select a given position of the plurality of positions for the impulsive noise in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0047); predict a value of the impulse noise based on the position of the null subcarriers (Caire, ¶0047); update a received vector corresponding to the frequency-domain signal by removing the impulse noise (Caire, ¶0037); and determine an estimated noise energy value of the updated received vector for the given position for the impulsive noise in the frequency-domain signal (Caire, ¶0037).
8. As per claim 8, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method system (100) as claimed in claim 7, wherein the receiver (104) is configured to: determine the given position in the frequency-domain signal having a minimum estimated noise energy value (Caire, ¶0047); and identify the given position in the frequency-domain signal as the position of the impulsive noise (Caire, ¶0047).
9. As per claim 9, Caire in view of Rahman teaches the method system (100) as claimed in claim 8, wherein the receiver (104) is configured to suppress the impulsive noise from the determined position of the impulsive noise in the frequency-domain signal by subtracting additional magnitude value from the received vector caused by the value of the impulsive noise (Caire, ¶0037).
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635