DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of A-I, B-I, in the reply filed on October 27, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the examiner would not be seriously burdened in examining all claims as classes allegedly associated with the other elections would have to be searched. This is not found persuasive because search is not limited to classifications and different classifications that pertain to some species and not others as present. The finding that there is a serious burden is therefore maintained as presented in the election of species requirement of August 27, 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on October 27, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fastener for securing the shaft to the fan hub must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from claim 4. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites, “wherein the shaft is a stationary shaft coupled to the fan” and “a fastener for securing the shaft to the fan hub”. This is described in paragraph [0048] of the instant application and allegedly shown in Figure 8. The fastener (803) appears to secure unlabeled bearings to the shaft. The fastener does not appear to have any connection with the fan hub (215) itself, see also Figure 2. Since the shaft is stationary and the fan rotates, it is unclear how a fastener could secure the stationary shaft to the rotating fan hub. The fastener would be preventing the relative rotation required for the fan to operate. It is therefore unclear how the shaft is secured to the fan hub by the fastener.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oguma et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20100232967) hereinafter Oguma.
Regarding claim 1, Oguma discloses:
A fan and motor assembly for a blower {Figure 1, (2), (3), and (4) form a fan and motor assembly for a blower}, comprising:
a fan extending between a first end and a second end opposite the first end {Figure 1, the fan (2)/(3) extends between a first end at the top of the page and a second end towards the bottom of the page},
the fan comprising a fan hub adjacent the first end and a plurality of blades adjacent the second end {Figure 1, (31) is part of the fan hub and is adjacent the first end. A plurality of blades (10) are adjacent the second end as they extend all the way to the bottom of (2)/(3)},
wherein the fan hub and the plurality of blades of the fan are integrally formed together {Figure 1, the fan hub, which includes (31) and (22), is formed integrally with (10); [0029]/[0052]};
a rotor coupled to the fan {Figure 1 (32) is coupled to (31) which is part of the fan; [0030]},
the fan at least partially surrounding the rotor {Figure 1 (31)/(22) radially surrounds (32)}; and
a ring coupled to the second end of the fan and the rotor for securing the rotor to the fan {Figure 7A, (33) is a ring coupled to the second end of the fan, which includes (33)/(22). The ring (33) is also coupled to the rotor (32); assists in securing the rotor to the fan; [0030]}.
Regarding claim 2, Oguma further discloses:
a shaft coupled to the fan and extending along a rotational axis of the fan {Figure 1 (50) is coupled to the fan via (51) and extends along a rotational axis of the fan (J)}.
a stator coupled to and at least partially surrounding the shaft {Figure 1, the stator (4) is coupled translationally via the bearings (52) with the shaft (50)}.
Regarding claim 5, Oguma further discloses:
wherein the fan hub and the plurality of blades are die-cast to form a uniform body of the fan {[0034]. The support plate (2) and therefore plurality of blades are secured to (31) to form a uniform body. The examiner finds that die-cast is a process of forming. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps, see MPEP 2113. The examiner finds that the structure implied by the step is that the fan hub and plurality of blades are connected which is taught as described above}.
Regarding claim 6, Oguma further discloses:
wherein fan is press-fit or over molded to the rotor {[0034]. (31) and therefore (2) is attached to the rotor (32); [0030]. The examiner finds that press-fit or over molded is a process of securing. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps, see MPEP 2113. The examiner finds that the structure implied by the step is that the fan and rotor are connected which is taught as described above}.
Regarding claim 7, Oguma further discloses:
wherein the plurality of blades are over molded or injection molded about the fan hub {[0029]; (10) are fixed relative to (2) and (3). The examiner finds that molded or injection molded is a process of making. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps, see MPEP 2113. The examiner finds that the structure implied by the step is that the fan and rotor are connected which is taught as described above}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguma et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 2010023967) hereinafter Oguma in view of Tokuno (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20200208646) hereinafter Tokuno .
Regarding claim 3, Oguma discloses the fan and motor assembly of claim 2, but does not disclose:
wherein the stator is press fit onto the shaft.
Oguma additionally discloses the shaft may be press fit into the rotor via (51) {Figure 1, (50) is press fit into (51); [0032]}
Tokuno pertains to a fan and motor assembly. Tokuno teaches:
wherein the stator is press fit onto the shaft {[0033]. The stator may be a fixed shaft attached to the stator. The examiner finds that press fit is a process of attaching two members. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps, see MPEP 2113. The examiner finds that the structure implied by the step is that the two members are attached which is taught as described above}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shaft of Oguma be fixed to the stator rather than the rotating assembly as taught by Tokuno. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as the two configurations are recognized as substitutes {Tokuno [0033]}.
The combination of Oguma and Tokuno therefore teaches:
wherein the stator is press fit onto the shaft {Tokuno [0033]. The stator may be a fixed shaft attached to the stator. The examiner finds that press fit is a process of attaching two members. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps, see MPEP 2113. The examiner finds that the structure implied by the step is that the two members are attached which is taught as described above. Additionally, Oguma teaches Figure 1, (50) is press fit into (51); [0032]}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagamatsu et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20070014675) teaches an annular flange 3215 at the base of the fan hub.
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745