DETAILED ACTION
Application # 19/212,958 was filed on 5/20/2025.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
An IDS filed on 8/19/2026, 6/12/2026, 4/24/2026, 12/4/2025, 7/10/2025 has been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,845 (hereinafter ‘845 Patent)
With respect to claims 1, 8, 15, of the instant application and claim 1, 11 of the ‘845 Patent, they contain similar subject matter as follows:
Instant Application
12,332,845
Claim 1, 8, 15.
A network adapter, comprising a processor and a hardware processing engine; the processor is configured to obtain an input/output (I/O) command, wherein the I/O command is configured to write first data stored in a local server into a remote server; the processor is further configured to send first indication information to the hardware processing engine to instruct the hardware processing engine to obtain the first data from the local server, wherein the first indication information comprises address information of the first data stored in the local server; and the hardware processing engine is configured to: obtain the first data from the local server based on the address information; process the obtained first data without storing the obtained first data into a memory of the network adapter; and send the encrypted first data to the remote server without storing the obtained first data into the memory of the network adapter.
Claim 1, 11. A network adapter, wherein the network adapter comprises: at least one processor; a hardware processing engine; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing a first set of programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: obtain a first input/output (I/O) command, wherein the first I/O command indicates to write first data stored in a local server into at least one peer server, and wherein the first I/O command comprises address information and length information of the first data; split the first data based on the address information and the length information of the first data to obtain a plurality of groups of address information and length information; and send first indication information to the hardware processing engine, wherein the first indication information indicates the hardware processing engine to obtain the first data from the local server, and the first indication information comprises the plurality of groups of address information and length information; wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the hardware processing engine and store a second set of programming instructions for execution by the hardware processing engine to: when the first data is obtained from the local server based on the address information and the length information, directly process the first data; and send the processed first data to the at least one peer server, wherein the first data is not stored in the one or more memories of the network adapter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tal et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2014/0143213 (hereinafter Tal) in view of Balasubramani et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0065269 (hereinafter Balasubramani)
With respect to claim 1, Tal teaches a network adapter, comprising:
-at least one processor (Paragraph 27)
-a hardware processing engine; and
-at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing a first set of programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to:
-obtain an input/output (I/O) command (i.e. I/O requests), wherein the I/O command indicates to write first data stored in a local server into a remote server (i.e. write command/request is received by one of the front end servers from external hosts into backend servers and storage) (Paragraph 25, 26, 40-41);
-send first indication information to the hardware processing engine (i.e. I/O handler)(Paragraph 27, 46) to instruct the hardware processing engine to instruct the hardware processing engine to obtain the first data from the local server (Paragraph 42), wherein the first indication information comprises address information of the first data stored in the local server (Paragraph 46, 48); and
-wherein the at least one memory is coupled to the hardware processing engine and stores a second set of programming instructions for execution by the hardware processing engine (Paragraph 46-48) to:
-obtain the first data from the local server based on the address information (i.e. mapping from virtual addresses which the BE manages to storage locations in the storage devices, and the first virtual address entry includes first virtual address reference key, reference indicator) (Paragraph 47-48);
-process the first data without storing the first data into the at least one memory of the network adapter (i.e. first write data in association with a first pointer wherein the first pointer points to a storage location where the first write data is to be stored)(Paragraph 47-48); and
-send encrypted first data to the remote server (i.e. database server holds mapping from each of one of plurality of hash values of write data segments to virtual addresses which hold a pointer) (Paragraph 32) without storing the first data into the at least one memory of the network adapter (i.e. first write data is not stored at the front end server)(Paragraph 47-48).
Although Tal implicitly teaches without storing the first data, Balasubramani teaches explicitly states without storing the first data into the at least one memory of the network adapter (Paragraph 28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Balasubramani’s teaching in Tal’s teaching to come up with sending data without storing the first data into the at least one memory of the network adapter. The motivation for doing so would RDMA supports zero-copy networking that allows application programmers to directly transfer data between user-space virtual memories on different machines without kernel intervention (paragraph 28)
With respect to claim 2, Tal and Balasubramani teaches the network adapter according to claim 1, but Tal further teaches wherein the second set of programming instructions are for execution by the hardware processing engine to perform an encryption on the first data (Paragraph 32)
With respect to claim 3, Tal and Balasubramani teaches the network adapter according to claim 1, but Balasubramani further teaches wherein the hardware processing engine is specifically configured to obtain the first data from the local server through a DMA command (Paragraph 26, 33-34)
With respect to claim 4, Tal and Balasubramani teaches the network adapter according to claim 1, but Tal further teaches wherein the first data is stored in a memory of the local server (Paragraph 46, 48), and wherein the hardware processing engine is specifically configured to obtain the first data from the memory of the local server (Paragraph 46-48)
With respect to claim 5, Tal and Balasubramani teaches the network adapter according to claim 1, but Tal further teaches wherein the first data includes multiple data blocks, each data block has a corresponding address information (Paragraph 78-79), and wherein the hardware processing engine is specifically configured to obtain one or more of the multiple data blocks based on the corresponding address information (Paragraph 78-80)
With respect to claim 6, Tal and Balasubramani teaches the network adapter according to claim 1, but Balasubramani further teaches wherein the network adapter further comprises a simulation device, and wherein the simulation device is further configured to implement device simulation to present a non-volatile memory express (NVMe) storage device (Paragraph 45-46), or a small computer system interface (SCSI) device, or a virtual small computer system interface (virtio-SCSI) device, or a virtio-BLK device to the local server.
With respect to claim 7, Tal and Balasubramani teaches the network adapter according to claim 1, but Tal further teaches wherein the second set of programming instructions are for execution by the hardware processing engine to send the encrypted first data to the remote server over remote direct data access (RDMA) protocol (Paragraph 50-51).
With respect to claims 8-14 respectively, teaches same limitations as claims 1-7 respectively, therefore rejected under basis.
With respect to claims 15-17, 18-20 respectively, teaches same limitations as claims 1-3, 6-7 respectively, therefore rejected under basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Sakuta et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2009/0144389 which teaches about data length which shows the length of actual write data.
B). Wang et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2017/0192701 which teaches about data duplication and using fingerprints corresponding to the data segments and comparing them to preform data replication.
C). Fahim et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2019/0163583
D). Gal et al. U.S. Patent # 10,503,413
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453