DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation reading “the head further comprises an inertial measurement unit disposed in the handle” should read: “the utensil further comprises an inertial measurement unit disposed in the handle”. (see par 0007 of the present specification which states: “an inertial measurement unit disposed in the handle”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPUB 20160296053, Bakhsh.
Regarding Claim 1, Bakhsh discloses a utensil for monitoring the eating habits of a user (since the utensil monitors/measures forces imparted during eating), the utensil comprising a handle 308;
a head 302 coupled to the handle (fig 6) and configured to receive food (par 0041);
a camera (par. 0100, claim 33) module disposed in the handle and configured to capture an image of food on a plate (claim 33, since the camera is “configured to capture an image of the food loading portion” it may capture this portion as it contacts food on a plate);
a load cell (par 0050) coupled to the head and configured to measure force caused by food on the head (par 0050);
a capacitive touch sensor (“weight sensor”, par. 0043, “[the weight sensor] may be depressed or compressed by the food delivery surface 310, or may otherwise receive a force, and may generate a weight measurement based at least in part on the force applied at the weight sensor 320 by the food delivery surface 310”) configured to detect contact between the head and the mouth of a user (par 0050, “as the user lifts food to his or her mouth, the smart utensil may trigger or activate a load cell configured to generate one or more weight measurements for example at certain predetermined time intervals or continuously of food loaded on the smart utensil. At block 510, computer-executable instructions of one or more module(s) stored on the memory of the user device may be executed to automatically determine that the food consumption event is completed based at least in part on a change in the weight”); and
a control processor (“computer-executable instructions” in the above cited part of par 0050) inside the handle (claim 37) wherein the control processor is configured to determine a weight of the food on the head based on force measurements received from the load cell (par 0050).
Regarding Claim 2, in Bakhsh the head includes a spoon head configured to be removably coupled to the handle (claim 29).
Regarding Claim 3, in Bakhsh the head includes a fork head configured to be removably coupled to the handle (fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, in Bakhsh the head further comprises an inertial measurement unit (accelerometer, compass, gyroscope, barometer; par. 0014) disposed in the handle (claim 21) and configured to detect movement of the utensil (par 0014 and par. 0047).
Regarding Claim 5, in Bakhsh, wherein the handle further comprises a radio transceiver (claim 37).
Regarding Claim 6, Bakhsh includes wherein the control processor is further configured to receive a captured image of food from the camera and to process the captured image using an image recognition algorithm (par 0052) in the handle (par 0053, since the controller is also disclosed as being in the handle per claim 21).
Regarding Claim 7, Bakhsh includes the control processor is further configured to receive a captured image of food from the camera and to transmit the captured image to an image recognition server via the radio transceiver (par 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhsh as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20100109876, Schmid-Schonbein.
Regarding Claim 8, Bakhsh discloses that the user is performing a bite based on signals from the touch sensor (load cell), par. 0050),
Bakhsh lacks wherein the control processor is further configured to determine a time period between user bites based on signals received from the capacitive touch sensor.
Schmid-Schonbein discloses a food and bite sensing utensil in the same field of endeavor as the food and bite sensing utensil of Bakhsh and the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a wherein the control processor is further configured to determine a time period between user bites based on signals received from the capacitive touch sensor (par 0048) in order to recommend certain suggested actions to a used based on said intervals (par. 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhsh by including wherein the control processor is further configured to determine a time period between user bites based on signals received from the capacitive touch sensor in order to recommend certain suggested actions to a used based on said intervals as taught by Schmid-Schonbein.
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhsh in view of Schmid-Schonbein as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20240185986, Douglas.
Regarding Claims 9-10, Bakhsh also includes the control processor is further configured to: detect a plurality of bite events based on sensor data from at least one of the capacitive touch sensor, the load cell, and the inertial measurement unit (par. 0050); and determining a bite mass value for each detected bite event (par. 0050).
Bakhsh lacks applying a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term (Claim 9) and wherein the control processor is further configured to: trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold (Claim 10).
Douglas discloses a food detecting utensil in the same field of endeavor as the food detecting utensil of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes applying a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term (par 0042) (Claim 9) and wherein a control processor thereof is further configured to: trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold (par 0057) (Claim 10) in order to indicate the impact of the food on a user (par 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhsh by including applying a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term (Claim 9) and wherein the control processor is further configured to: trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold (Claim 10), in order to indicate the impact of the food on a user as taught by Douglas.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhsh in view of Douglas.
Regarding Claim 11, Bakhsh discloses a utensil for monitoring eating behavior of a user, the utensil comprising a plurality of sensors configured to detect multiple bite events; a control processor configured to: determine a bite mass value for each detected bite event (par. 0050).
Bakhsh lacks applying a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term; and trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold.
Douglas discloses a food detecting utensil in the same field of endeavor as the food detecting utensil of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes applying a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term (par. 0042) and trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold (par 0057) in order to indicate the impact of the food on a user (par 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhsh by including applying a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term; and trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold in order to indicate the impact of the food on a user as taught by Douglas.
Regarding Claim 12, in Bakhsh the utensil includes a capacitive touch sensor configured to detect contact between the utensil and the mouth of a user (“weight sensor”, par. 0043, “[the weight sensor] may be depressed or compressed by the food delivery surface 310, or may otherwise receive a force, and may generate a weight measurement based at least in part on the force applied at the weight sensor 320 by the food delivery surface 310”, and see par. 0050).
Regarding Claim 13, in Bakhsh the utensil includes a load cell configured to measure force caused by food on the utensil (par 0050).
Regarding Claim 14, in Bakhsh the utensil includes an inertial measurement unit configured to detect movement of the utensil (accelerometer, compass, gyroscope, barometer; par. 0014; par 0014 and par. 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In accordance with MPEP 2106.04, Claims 11-15 have been analyzed to determine whether they are directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1 per MPEP 2106.04(a)
Each of Claims 11-15 recites at least one step or instruction for monitoring and reacting to human behavior, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) or a certain method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) or mathematical concept in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). As further explained below, the claimed limitations involve managing interactions between people, and methods of organizing human activity, namely: monitoring eating behavior, and reacting thereto, via calculating; and thus, organizing human activity and performing a mental process. see: MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II).
Claims 11-15 recite at least one step or instruction for performing a mental process and/or a mathematical concept (which are two of the groupings of abstract ideas listed in MPEP 2106.04, see below).
List of abstract ideas in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2):
1) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
2) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and
3) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))]]
Specifically, Claim 15 recites a combination of: abstract ideas (underlined below) and additional elements (bolded below):
11. A utensil for monitoring eating behavior of a user, the utensil comprising a plurality of sensors configured to detect multiple bite events; a control processor configured to: determine a bite mass value for each detected bite event; apply a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term; and trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold.
12. The utensil as set forth in claim 11, wherein the utensil includes a capacitive touch sensor configured to detect contact between the utensil and the mouth of a user.
13. The utensil as set forth in claim 12, wherein the utensil includes a load cell configured to measure force caused by food on the utensil.
14. The utensil as set forth in claim 13, wherein the utensil includes an inertial measurement unit configured to detect movement of the utensil.
15. The utensil as set forth in claim 11, wherein the decay function is given by the difference equation:
Sn+1= e-λϫτ Sn + mn
Where Sn is the value of the consumption signal at time step n;
e-λϫτ is a decay term with decay constant λ, representing the exponential decay of the signal over time;
mn is the mass of the bite consumed at time step n.
Each of the abstract ideas is addressed summarily below:
determine a bite mass value for each detected bite event is an observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
trigger a feedback event when the accumulated consumption signal exceeds a predefined threshold _(involves managing interactions between people, namely, humans following rules, which is grouped as a certain method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C)
apply a decay function to an accumulated consumption signal, wherein the consumption signal at a current time step is determined using a temporally weighted integration of past bite mass values and a decay term involves a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III));
Further, dependent Claims 12-15 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the claimed functions/steps are performed.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea as in MPEP 2106.04(a).
Step 2A, Prong 2 per MPEP 2106.04(d)
The above-identified abstract ideas Are not integrated into a practical application under
MPEP 2106.04(d) because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claim 15, generally links the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use according to MPEP 2106.05(h) or represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g).
More specifically, the additional elements of:
A utensil for monitoring eating behavior of a user, the utensil comprising a plurality of sensors; and a control processor configured to:; as per Claim 11, and
the utensil includes a capacitive touch sensor as per Claim 12, and
the utensil includes a load cell as per Claim 13, and
the utensil includes an inertial measurement unit as per Claim 14.
The utensil as set forth in claims 11-15, (which per claim 11, includes sensors, a central processor, and signals, and per claim 11 includes a capacitive touch sensor and per claim 13 includes a load cell per claim 14 includes inertial measurement unit), are generically recited elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a).
Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine according to MPEP 2106.05(b), effect a transformation according to MPEP 2106.05(c), provide a particular treatment or prophylaxis according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e).
Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f).
For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in Claims 11-15 are not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d).
Moreover, the above-identified abstract ideas are not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer implemented method – control processor - as claimed into a utensil). In other words, this claim is merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer aided utensil, according to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in Claim 15 is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Accordingly, Claim 15 is directed to an abstract idea according to MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B per MPEP 2106.05
None of Claims 11-15 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea in accordance with MPEP 2106.05 for at least the following reasons.
This claims requires the additional elements of:
A utensil for monitoring eating behavior of a user, the utensil comprising a plurality of sensors; and a control processor configured to:; as per Claim 11, and
the utensil includes a capacitive touch sensor as per Claim 12, and
the utensil includes a load cell as per Claim 13, and
the utensil includes an inertial measurement unit as per Claim 14.
Per Applicant’s specification, at par 042, it is noted that “Utensil 400 comprises flash memory 412, control processor 414, which functions as a microcontroller unit (MCU) 414, battery 416, power regulation 418, and haptic motor 419”. Here as in the rest of the disclosure, the control processor is generically described without structure or detailed drawings, e.g., only a schematic drawing is shown, which is evidence that there components are well understood, routine and conventional.
Also, at par 015, it is noted that “the control processor is further configured to: i) detect a plurality of bite events based on sensor data from at least one of the capacitive touch sensor”. Here as in the rest of the disclosure, the sensor is generically described without structure or detailed drawings, e.g., only a schematic drawing is shown and it is only described generally as a touch sensor, which is evidence that there components are well understood, routine and conventional.
Also, at par 007, it is noted that “a load cell coupled to the head and configured to measure force caused by food on the”. Here as in the rest of the disclosure, the load cell is generically described without structure or detailed drawings, e.g., only a schematic drawing is shown and it is only described generally as a load cell, which is evidence that there components are well understood, routine and conventional.
Also, at par 007, it is noted that “an inertial measurement unit disposed in the handle and configured to detect movement of the utensil”. Here as in the rest of the disclosure, the internal measurement unit is generically described without structure or detailed drawings, e.g., only a schematic drawing is shown and it is only described generally as an internal measurement unit, which is evidence that there components are well understood, routine and conventional. See also par 0043 “inertia measurement unit (IMU) 420, which comprises motion and orientation sensors”. Last, on par. 0055 it is noted that “inertial measurement unit (IMU) 420 may include a 9-axis IMU (accelerometer, gyroscope) that aids in user movement classification. IMU 420 is used in conjunction with CTS 422 to progress a bite detection state machine. IMU 420 readings may also be used to compensate for the stray forces imposed on the utensil head during user movement. In an embodiment, IMU 420 includes an accelerometer and gyroscope that track the motion and orientation of utensil 400. By detecting patterns in acceleration and tilt, IMU 420 aids in distinguishing actual bites from other utensil movements (e.g., shuffling food on a plate). CTS 422 is integrated into the utensil head or a conductive element near the head. When the utensil touches the user's mouth during a bite, the capacitive sensor detects this event, helping to filter out false positives”. This paragraph makes clear that there are many known and conventional measurement units available and that this technology is conventional and well known.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) along with Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed sensors, utensils, central processor, load cell, inertial measurement unit, and a touch sensor of Claims 11-15 and the utensil, are reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic , LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available technology, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the computer processor and apparatus and related hardware. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2) and 2106.07(a)(III)). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications along with MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 11-15 all amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer operated utensil.
Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f) along with Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(a) along with McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, per MPEP 2106.05(a), the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the utensil, sensors, processor, load cell, measurement unit are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself or providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field according to MPEP 2106.05(a), or (ii) providing meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e).
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements of Claims: 11-15 do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Moreover, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application as required by MPEP 2106.05.
Therefore, for at least the above reasons, Claims 11-15 do not amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas itself. Accordingly, Claim 11-15 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs 9146147 20230370755 20080019122 20140018636 and 20160296053 disclose state of the art computer implemented food sensing utensils, while USPGPUBs disclose 20150360305 and 20140349257 radio transmitting utensils. Thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724