DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-26 and 28-40 are pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/193205. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially co-extensive in scope, at least in regard to the novel subject matter, and differ merely in equivalent terminology used as to function. Both claim a surgical tool having an elongate shaft/rod with a wrist at end having an effector having a - releasable connection (current claim 1 & patented claims 1, 7, and 15) where in the effector includes a data storage device (current claim 1 & patented claims 1 and 15), maximum/minimum cutting strokes (current claims 7-19 & patented claims 6-7 and 20) and a controller (current claims 1 and 16 & patented claims 1, 6-7, 15, and 20). Generally, all of the dependent claims of the patent set forth the equivalent subject matter of the dependent claims of the current application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the terminology recited in the current claims with the equivalent components of the patented claims, since to do so provides nothing new or unexpected. See claim match below-
19213082 (claims)
Application No. 19/193205 (claims)
1, 9, 16
1-2, 6-7, 15, 20
3-4
5-7, 11-12, and 20
7-19
1-7, 11-12, and 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Contini et al. (US 20160310134 A1) in view of Huanget al. (US 20100264194 A1) and further in view of Leimbach et al. (US 20150053737 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Contini et al. discloses an annular surgical stapling system (100/900A [0279] figs. 1 and 69) comprising: a controller housing (101- motor controller circuit board 142); an adapter assembly (200) coupled to and extending from the controller housing; a removable reload (900A) couplable to a distal portion of the adapter assembly, the reload comprising: an annular array of staples; an annular staple pusher for ejecting the staples; an annular knife [0446-0456]; and
a data storage device (internal memory chip and/or Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) storing data about the reload; and a controller (Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) programmed to cause operations to be performed by annular surgical stapling system ([0192, 0361-0365, 0388-0398, 0428-0434, 0446], figs. 71 and 82),
the operations comprising: while the removable reload is connected to the distal portion of the adapter assembly, reading the data stored on the data storage device within the reload (900A [0068, 0079, 0142, 0162, 0173, 0388-0398, 0428-0434, 0446]; and setting a cut stroke for the annular knife based on the data read from the data storage device (cutting sequence, cutting calibration [0317, 0444-0456, 0461]) and teaches having operation data stored [0192-0196, 0361-0365, 0388-0398, 0428-0430, 0446, 0479] figs. 1-69).
Contini et al. fails to disclose setting a maximum cut stroke for the annular knife to a value that is based on the data read from the data storage device within the reload.
Huanget al. teaches a surgical instrument (1400) with a knife (1392) and setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife (1392) based on the data read from a data storage device (computer/encoder system - “advance the cutting member 1392 a predetermined, or set, distance” [0273-0288]).
Leimbach et al. teaches setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife [0271-0275] to a value (shortest, min/max, “value of 60 could indicate that the firing stroke should be 60 mm” [0271-0274]) that is based on the data read from the data storage device within a reload (“end effector can include stored information, or parameters, related to the end effector” [0273]… stored on one or more memory devices [0274] and see [0268-0280, 0409-0410, 0417], claim 15, figs. 110-124).
Given the teachings of Contini et al. to have a removable reload with a data storage device that provides a cutting sequence and cutting calibration, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the data storage device with setting a maximum cut stroke for the annular knife based on the data read from the data storage device to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the knife for more precise operation of the tool and more precise action on a surgical member (avoid overshoot/damage), have the knife cut to the correct/desired distance enhance device performance and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Huanget al. and Leimbach et al.
Regarding claims 9 and 12-13, Contini et al. discloses a method performed by an annular surgical stapling system (100/900A [0279] figs. 1 and 69) comprising a first removable reload and a second removable reload (900 A/B/C or plurality of each fig. 69), the method comprising: detecting attachment of the first removable reload to an adapter assembly of the annular surgical stapling system reading data stored on a first data storage device of the first removable reload; and detecting attachment of the second removable reload to an adapter assembly of the annular surgical stapling system; reading data stored on a second data storage device of the second removable reload (900A/B/C [0068, 0079, 0142, 0162, 0173, 0388-0398, 0428-0434, 0446]) via a data storage device (internal memory chip and/or Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) storing data about the reload; and a controller (Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) programmed to cause operations to be performed by annular surgical stapling system ([0192, 0361-0365, 0388-0398, 0428-0434, 0446], figs. 71 and 82) and teaches cutting sequence, cutting calibration [0317, 0444-0456, 0461]) and teaches having operation data stored [0192-0196, 0361-0365, 0388-0398, 0428-0430, 0446, 0479] figs. 1-69).
Contini et al. fails to disclose setting at least one of a minimum or a maximum cut stroke for a first annular knife to a first value that is based on the data read from the first data storage device of the first removable reload and setting at least one of a minimum or a maximum cut stroke for a second annular knife of the second removable reload to a value that is based on the data read from the second data storage device of the second removable reload.
Huanget al. teaches a surgical instrument (1400) with a knife (1392) and setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife (1392) based on the data read from a data storage device (computer/encoder system - “advance the cutting member 1392 a predetermined, or set, distance” [0273-0288]).
Leimbach et al. teaches setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife [0271-0275] to a value (shortest, min/max, “value of 60 could indicate that the firing stroke should be 60 mm” [0271-0274]) that is based on the data read from the data storage device within a reload (“end effector can include stored information, or parameters, related to the end effector” [0273]… stored on one or more memory devices [0274]) and Leimbach et al. also teaches having a plurality of reloads with different parameters/values loaded thereon ([0268-0280, 0409-0410, 0417], claim 15, figs. 110-124).
Given the teachings of Contini et al. to have a removable reload with a data storage device that provides a cutting sequence and cutting calibration, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the data storage device with setting at least one of a minimum or a maximum cut stroke for a first annular knife based on the data read from the first data storage device of the first removable reload and setting at least one of a minimum or a maximum cut stroke for a second annular knife of the second removable reload based on the data read from the second data storage device of the second removable reload to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the knife for more precise operation of each tool and more precise action on a surgical member (avoid overshoot/damage), have the knife cut to the correct/desired distance enhance device performance and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Huanget al. and Leimbach et al.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 12-13, and 16, Contini et al. discloses an annular surgical stapling system (100/900A [0279] figs. 1 and 69) comprising: a controller housing (101- motor controller circuit board 142); an adapter assembly (200) coupled to and extending from the controller housing; a first removable reload (900A) couplable to a distal portion of the adapter assembly, the first removable reload comprising: a first annular array of staples; a first annular staple pusher for ejecting the first annular array of staples; a first annular knife; and a first data storage device (internal memory chip and/or Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) storing first data about the first removable reload; a second removable reload (900 B/C/D) couplable to a distal portion of the adapter assembly, the second removable reload comprising: a second annular array of staples; a second annular staple pusher for ejecting the second annular array of staples; a second annular knife (plurality of 900A or 900 B/C/D are “annular”); and a second data storage device (internal memory chip and/or Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) storing second data about the second removable reload;
a controller (Circuit board 294 of adapter 200, circuit board 142) programmed to cause operations to be performed by the annular surgical stapling system, the operations comprising:while the first removable reload is connected to the distal portion of the adapter assembly, reading the first data stored on the first data storage device and while the second removable reload is connected to the distal portion of the adapter assembly, reading the second data stored on the second data storage device (teaches cutting sequence, cutting calibration [0317, 0444-0456, 0461]) and teaches having operation data stored [0192-0196, 0361-0365, 0388-0398, 0428-0430, 0446, 0479] figs. 1-69).
Contini et al. fails to disclose setting at least one of a maximum cut stroke or a minimum cut stroke for the first annular knife to a first value that is based on the first data read from the first data storage device within the first or second removable reload and setting at least one of a maximum cut stroke or a minimum cut stroke for the second annular knife a second value based on the second data read from the second data storage device within the second removable reload.
Huanget al. teaches a surgical instrument (1400) with a knife (1392) and setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife (1392) based on the data read from a data storage device (computer/encoder system - “advance the cutting member 1392 a predetermined, or set, distance” [0273-0288]).
Leimbach et al. teaches setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife [0271-0275] to a value (shortest, min/max, “value of 60 could indicate that the firing stroke should be 60 mm” [0271-0274]) that is based on the data read from the data storage device within a reload (“end effector can include stored information, or parameters, related to the end effector” [0273]… stored on one or more memory devices [0274]) and Leimbach et al. also teaches having a plurality of reloads with different parameters/values loaded thereon ([0268-0280, 0409-0410, 0417], claim 15, figs. 110-124).
Given the teachings of Contini et al. to have a removable reload with a data storage device that provides a cutting sequence and cutting calibration, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the data storage device with setting at least one of a maximum cut stroke or a minimum cut stroke for the first annular knife based on the first data read from the first data storage device and setting at least one of a maximum cut stroke or a minimum cut stroke for the second annular knife based on the second data read from the second data storage device to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the knife for more precise operation of each tool and more precise action on a surgical member (avoid overshoot/damage), have the knife cut to the correct/desired distance, enhance device performance and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Huanget al. and Leimbach et al.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Contini et al. discloses the data stored on the data storage device includes at least one of staple size, knife diameter, lumen size, minimum cut stroke length, or maximum cut stroke length for the reload [0379]. Leimbach et al. also teaches data stored on the data storage device includes at least one of staple size, knife diameter, lumen size, minimum cut stroke length, or maximum cut stroke length for the reload ([0268-0280, 0409-0410, 0417], claim 15, figs. 110-124).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 14-15, and 18-20, Contini et al. teaches having a plurality of reloads with different operation parameters stored on each and each with a data storage device that provides a cutting sequence and cutting calibration (fig. 69) but fails to explicitly disclose the operations further comprise monitoring an axial position of the annular knife of the reload relative to a housing of the reload, wherein the operations further comprise setting a minimum cut stroke for the annular knife based on the data read from the data storage device, wherein the maximum cut stroke for the annular knife of the first removable reload is different than the maximum cut stroke for the annular knife of the second removable reload, wherein the minimum cut stroke for the annular knife of the first removable reload is different than the minimum cut stroke for the annular knife of the second removable reload, wherein the maximum cut stroke is set for the first annular knife and the second annular knife, wherein the minimum cut stroke is set for the first annular knife and the second annular knife, wherein the maximum cut stroke length for the first annular knife is different than the maximum cut stroke length for the second annular knife.
Huanget al. teaches a surgical instrument (1400) with a knife (1392) and setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife (1392) based on the data read from a data storage device (computer/encoder system - “advance the cutting member 1392 a predetermined, or set, distance” [0273-0288]).
Leimbach et al. teaches setting a maximum cut stroke for a knife [0271-0275] to a value (shortest, min/max, “value of 60 could indicate that the firing stroke should be 60 mm” [0271-0274]) that is based on the data read from the data storage device within a reload (“end effector can include stored information, or parameters, related to the end effector” [0273]… stored on one or more memory devices [0274]) and Leimbach et al. also teaches having a plurality of reloads with different parameters/values loaded thereon ([0268-0280, 0409-0410, 0417], claim 15, figs. 110-124).
Given the teachings of Contini et al. to have plurality of reloads with different operation parameters stored on each and each with a data storage device that provides a cutting sequence and cutting calibration, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the data storage device with the operations further comprise monitoring an axial position of the annular knife of the reload relative to a housing of the reload, wherein the operations further comprise setting a minimum cut stroke for the annular knife based on the data read from the data storage device, wherein the maximum cut stroke for the annular knife of the first removable reload is different than the maximum cut stroke for the annular knife of the second removable reload, wherein the minimum cut stroke for the annular knife of the first removable reload is different than the minimum cut stroke for the annular knife of the second removable reload, wherein the maximum cut stroke is set for the first annular knife and the second annular knife, wherein the minimum cut stroke is set for the first annular knife and the second annular knife, wherein the maximum cut stroke length for the first annular knife is different than the maximum cut stroke length for the second annular knife to have precise adjustment of speed/torque of the knife for more precise operation of each tool and more precise action on a surgical member (avoid overshoot/damage), have the knife cut to the correct/desired distance, enhance device performance and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Huanget al. and Leimbach et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: US 20090090763 A1 - identifier 442 includes memory ([0133], fig. 17) see form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731