DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment dated 7/3/2025.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the People’s Republic of China on 11/21/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 6/5/2025 and 10/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of claims 1-3 and 5-20 includes claim amendments that are not in compliance with the requirements for marking added or deleted claim language. As noted in MPEP 714(II)(C)(B),
(B) Markings to Show the Changes: All claims being currently amended must be presented with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version. The changes in any amended claim must be shown by strike-through (for deleted matter) or underlining (for added matter) with 2 exceptions: (1) for deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters, double brackets may be used (e.g., [[eroor]]); (2) if strike-through cannot be easily perceived (e.g., deletion of number "4" or certain punctuation marks), double brackets must be used (e.g., [[4]]). As an alternative to using double brackets, however, extra portions of text may be included before and after text being deleted, all in strike-through, followed by including and underlining the extra text with the desired change (e.g., number 14 as ). An accompanying clean version is not required and should not be presented. Only claims of the status "currently amended" or "withdrawn" will include markings.
Each of claims 1-3 and 5-20 includes added or deleted claim language that is not marked using double brackets to indicate deletion of five or fewer characters. In addition, consecutive changes involving addition and deletion of punctuation marks via strike-through and underlining is difficult to perceive.
The Examiner apologizes in advance for any oversights in claim markings due to difficult-to-perceive changes in the claims and notes that these minor informalities are being pointed out in order to ensure clarity and completeness of the record. In future communications, the Examiner respectfully requests Applicant submit claim amendments that comply with the requirements given in 714(II)(C)(B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,483,205 (“Jain”).
As per claim 1, Jain substantially teaches a method of host management, comprising (Jain, Abstract; and FIG. 7):
receiving, from a user, a resource defragmentation instruction instructing to perform a resource defragmentation operation on a host cluster associated with the user, the host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts; and performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster based on the resource defragmentation instruction: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches receiving, from a user, a resource defragmentation instruction instructing to perform a resource defragmentation operation on a host cluster associated with the user, the host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts; and performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster based on the resource defragmentation instruction).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein before the receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction, the method further comprising: monitoring a resource usage status of the host cluster; determining the resource usage status meets a specified condition; and sending, to the user, a resource defragmentation request for requesting to perform the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster; and wherein the receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction comprises: receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource defragmentation request: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein before the receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction, the method further comprising: monitoring a resource usage status of the host cluster; determining the resource usage status meets a specified condition; and sending, to the user, a resource defragmentation request for requesting to perform the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster; and wherein the receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction comprises: receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource defragmentation request).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the specified condition comprises one or more of:
the resource usage status indicates that resource utilization of the host cluster is less than a utilization threshold, a quantity of provisionable virtual instances in the host cluster can be increase through resource defragmentation, an idle host can be obtained through resource defragmentation, or costs saved by unsubscribing from the idle host meet a specified requirement, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches the resource usage status indicates that resource utilization of the host cluster is less than a utilization threshold, a quantity of provisionable virtual instances in the host cluster can be increase through resource defragmentation, an idle host can be obtained through resource defragmentation, or costs saved by unsubscribing from the idle host meet a specified requirement, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein the resource defragmentation request further carries a defragmentation benefit obtained by performing the resource defragmentation operation: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein the resource defragmentation request further carries a defragmentation benefit obtained by performing the resource defragmentation operation).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the defragmentation benefit comprises one or more of:
an improvement degree of resource utilization, a quantity of idle hosts that can be obtained through defragmentation, costs that can be saved by unsubscribing from the idle host obtained through defragmentation, or a quantity of provisionable virtual instances that can be increased by and costs saved due to the increase in a quantity of provisionable virtual instances, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches an improvement degree of resource utilization, a quantity of idle hosts that can be obtained through defragmentation, costs that can be saved by unsubscribing from the idle host obtained through defragmentation, or a quantity of provisionable virtual instances that can be increased by and costs saved due to the increase in a quantity of provisionable virtual instances, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein before the receiving a resource defragmentation instruction sent by a user, the method further comprising: reflecting, to the user, a resource usage status of the host cluster; and wherein the receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction comprises: receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource usage status: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The Examiner notes that the system of Jain must reflect a resource fragmentation threshold (i.e., a resource utilization status) to the user in order to enable the system of Jain to perform resource defragmentation operations by migrating compute instances. Jain therefore substantially teaches reflecting, to the user, a resource usage status of the host cluster; and wherein the receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction comprises: receiving, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource usage status).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein the resource defragmentation instruction is triggered by a selection operation of the resource defragmentation operation in response to the user purchases the host cluster: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein the resource defragmentation instruction is triggered by a selection operation of the resource defragmentation operation in response to the user purchases the host cluster).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the user, a resource defragmentation target indicating a principle for performing the resource defragmentation operation; and wherein the performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster comprises: performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster based on the resource defragmentation target: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches receiving, from the user, a resource defragmentation target indicating a principle for performing the resource defragmentation operation; and wherein the performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster comprises: performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster based on the resource defragmentation target).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the resource defragmentation target comprises one or two of:
maximizing a quantity of idle hosts in the host cluster, or maximizing the quantity of provisionable virtual instances in the host cluster, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches maximizing a quantity of idle hosts in the host cluster, or maximizing the quantity of provisionable virtual instances in the host cluster, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the resource defragmentation operation comprises one or two of:
adjusting a deployment status of a virtual instance in the host cluster, or migrating a part of virtual instances deployed in the host cluster to a public resource pool: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches adjusting a deployment status of a virtual instance in the host cluster, or migrating a part of virtual instances deployed in the host cluster to a public resource pool).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein after the performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster, the method further comprising: reflecting to the user that an idle host exists in the host cluster, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed; receiving an unsubscription instruction sent by the user, wherein the unsubscription instruction instructs to unsubscribe from a target idle host in the host cluster; and performing an unsubscription operation on the target idle host based on the unsubscription instruction: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. The Examiner notes that when a compute instance is migrated, the compute instance is unsubscribed from wherever the compute instance resides prior to migration and is subscribed to wherever the compute instance resides after migration. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein after the performing the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster, the method further comprising: reflecting to the user that an idle host exists in the host cluster, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed; receiving an unsubscription instruction sent by the user, wherein the unsubscription instruction instructs to unsubscribe from a target idle host in the host cluster; and performing an unsubscription operation on the target idle host based on the unsubscription instruction).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches further comprising:
storing configuration information of the target idle host based on the unsubscription instruction: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. The Examiner notes that when a compute instance is migrated, the compute instance is unsubscribed from wherever the compute instance resides prior to migration and is subscribed to wherever the compute instance resides after migration. Jain therefore substantially teaches storing configuration information of the target idle host based on the unsubscription instruction).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein after the performing an unsubscription operation on the target idle host based on the unsubscription instruction, the method further comprising: after a host purchase instruction of the user is received, allocating a host to the user, and configuring the allocated host by using the configuration information: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 64, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. The Examiner notes that when a compute instance is migrated, the compute instance is unsubscribed from wherever the compute instance resides prior to migration and is subscribed to wherever the compute instance resides after migration. The Examiner further notes that customers may purchase compute instances, at which time the purchased compute instances are allocated to the customers. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein after the performing an unsubscription operation on the target idle host based on the unsubscription instruction, the method further comprising: after a host purchase instruction of the user is received, allocating a host to the user, and configuring the allocated host by using the configuration information).
As per claim 14, Jain substantially teaches a computer cluster, comprising a plurality of computer devices comprising a plurality of processors and a plurality of memories, the plurality of memories storing program instructions, and the plurality of processors run the program instructions, to enable the computer cluster to (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 1; and FIG. 7):
receive, from a user, a resource defragmentation instruction instructing to perform a resource defragmentation operation on a host cluster associated with the user, the host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts; and perform the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster based on the resource defragmentation instruction: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches receive, from a user, a resource defragmentation instruction instructing to perform a resource defragmentation operation on a host cluster associated with the user, the host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts; and perform the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster based on the resource defragmentation instruction).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the plurality of processors run the program instructions, to enable the computer cluster to:
monitor a resource usage status of the host cluster; and determine the resource usage status meets a specified condition; send, to the user, a resource defragmentation request for requesting to perform the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster; and wherein, to receive, from the user, a resource defragmentation instruction, the computer cluster is enabled to: receive, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource defragmentation request: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches monitor a resource usage status of the host cluster; and determine the resource usage status meets a specified condition; send, to the user, a resource defragmentation request for requesting to perform the resource defragmentation operation on the host cluster; and wherein, to receive, from the user, a resource defragmentation instruction, the computer cluster is enabled to: receive, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource defragmentation request).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the specified condition comprises one or more of:
the resource usage status indicates that resource utilization of the host cluster is less than a utilization threshold, a quantity of provisionable virtual instances in the host cluster can be increased through resource defragmentation, an idle host can be obtained through resource defragmentation, or costs saved by unsubscribing from the idle host meet a specified requirement, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches the resource usage status indicates that resource utilization of the host cluster is less than a utilization threshold, a quantity of provisionable virtual instances in the host cluster can be increased through resource defragmentation, an idle host can be obtained through resource defragmentation, or costs saved by unsubscribing from the idle host meet a specified requirement, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein the resource defragmentation request further carries a defragmentation benefit obtained by performing the resource defragmentation operation: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein the resource defragmentation request further carries a defragmentation benefit obtained by performing the resource defragmentation operation).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches wherein the defragmentation benefit comprises one or more of:
an improvement degree of resource utilization, a quantity of idle hosts that can be obtained through defragmentation, costs that can be saved by unsubscribing from the idle host obtained through defragmentation, or a quantity of provisionable virtual instances that can be increased by and costs saved due to the increase in a quantity of provisionable virtual instances, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; column 2, line 51, to column 3, line 26; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The system of Jain includes a license manager service monitor that monitors resource utilization to determine when resource utilization meets (i.e., is greater than or less than) a threshold. Jain therefore substantially teaches an improvement degree of resource utilization, a quantity of idle hosts that can be obtained through defragmentation, costs that can be saved by unsubscribing from the idle host obtained through defragmentation, or a quantity of provisionable virtual instances that can be increased by and costs saved due to the increase in a quantity of provisionable virtual instances, wherein the idle host is a host on which no virtual instance is deployed).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein before the receiving a resource defragmentation instruction sent by a user, the computer cluster is enabled to: reflect, to the user, a resource usage status of the host cluster; and wherein, to receive, from the user, a resource defragmentation instruction, the computer cluster is enabled to: receive, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource usage status: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. The Examiner notes that the system of Jain must reflect a resource fragmentation threshold (i.e., a resource utilization status) to the user in order to enable the system of Jain to perform resource defragmentation operations by migrating compute instances. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein before the receiving a resource defragmentation instruction sent by a user, the computer cluster is enabled to: reflect, to the user, a resource usage status of the host cluster; and wherein, to receive, from the user, a resource defragmentation instruction, the computer cluster is enabled to: receive, from the user, the resource defragmentation instruction triggered by the user based on the resource usage status).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, and Jain further substantially teaches:
wherein the resource defragmentation instruction is triggered by a selection operation of the resource defragmentation operation when the user purchases the host cluster: (Jain, Abstract; FIG. 7; and column 25, line 19, to column 26, line 47, where the system of Jain determines that a fragmentation condition associated with a host resource group within a multi-tenant service provider network (i.e., a host cluster comprising a plurality of hosts) is satisfied. In response to determining that the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain migrates one or more compute instances dedicated to a single customer to one or more different locations in order to reduce fragmentation (i.e., to execute a resource defragmentation operation). When the fragmentation condition is satisfied, the system of Jain determines to migrate identified compute instances and then migrates the identified compute instances in response to determining compute instances to migrate. The Examiner notes that this means that an instruction to reduce fragmentation (i.e., perform resource defragmentation operations) has been received from an entity (i.e., a user) that monitors whether the fragmentation condition is satisfied, and the system of Jain then performs resource defragmentation operations in response to the fragmentation condition being satisfied. Jain therefore substantially teaches wherein the resource defragmentation instruction is triggered by a selection operation of the resource defragmentation operation when the user purchases the host cluster).
Conclusion
The following prior art is made of record and is not relied upon for any rejection but is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
USPGPUB 2012/0331147: teaches performing resource defragmentation operations in data centers based on resource utilization thresholds.
Daniel C. Chappell
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2135
/Daniel C. Chappell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135