Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/28/2026. Currently claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 11-12, filed 7/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of:
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-10, 15-18, 20-21, 23-26 and 28 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tuan in view of Lemoff
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-13 and 30 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Butzloff
Claim(s) 7-8 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tuan in view of Lemoff in view of Luttrull in view of Rosenberg Maffia
Claim(s) 11, 14, 19, 22 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tuan in view of Lemoff in view of Kubota
Claim(s) 27 and 29 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Tuan in view of Lemoff in view of Tedford
have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the additional references of Schoutens et al (US 20200238101).
Finally, while all the claims are rejected, it was noticed that many of the claim limitations describe the device using functional language. While this is an acceptable way to claim features, it should be noted that the examined claims are to apparatus and as stated MPEP 2114… "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." What this means for this office action is that if the prior art teaches structure(s) capable of reciting the functional language then the prior art recites the limitation. This may lead to a discrepancy in interpretation of the breadth of scope recited by the claims between the examiner and applicant, especially under broadest reasonable interpretation. If applicant has proper support for such an amendment including some additional structure(s) tied to the functional language in the claims could be a way to easily differentiate the invention from the prior art used in the rejection below. Before deciding the next step in prosecution, if applicant would like to prosecute in this direction and would like to receive further clarification on amending in this direction, feedback on whether a particular amendment overcomes the current rejection, or has any other concern applicant is welcome to contact the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation:
“an ocular photo-bio-stimulation light source configured to emit ocular photo-biostimulation light, wherein the light source is comprised of one or more LEDs”
Should be changed to:
“an ocular photo-bio-stimulation light source configured to emit ocular photo-biostimulation light, wherein the light source is comprised of one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) ”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The disclosure fails to recite an “optical stop”. Furthermore, the disclosure fails to disclose “an optional optical stop” used together with a fixation target in the same embodiment as recited in claim 2. Therefore, this “optional optical stop” used in the same embodiment with “the fixation target” appears to be new matter not supported by the specification. Applicant should either amend to remove the new matter or show where this matter is supported in the original specification.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Since the original specification fails to disclose “an optional optical stop” it is not clear what the metes and boundaries are for this limitation. Thus, claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 14-18, 20-22, 24-26 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoutens et al (US 20200238101) hereafter known as Schoutens.
Independent claim:
Regarding Claim 1:
Schoutens discloses
An ocular light therapy system [see Figs. 1-5 and abstract… “The invention relates to a glasses provided with a light source for illuminating at least a portion of the eye of a subject wearing the glasses and relates to a system comprising such a glasses.”], the system comprising:
an ocular photo-bio-stimulation light source emitting ocular photo-bio-stimulation light to stimulate and/or strike a retina of an eye of an individual [see para 4… “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”];
wherein the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light comprises light wavelengths within a light wavelength range of at least one or more of, 480nm +/- 30nm, 530nm +/- 20nm, 600nm - 700nm, 700nm +/- 30nm, or 830nm +/- 30nm [see para 4… “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”];
wherein the system is configured to protect a fovea of the eye of the individual and/or part or all of a macula of the eye of the individual when the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light is being emitted [see para 120… “Optionally, the spectacle glasses are filter lenses for filtering of blue light and/or UV light” Filtering UV light is capable of protecting the fovea and part of the macula], and
wherein the system is further configured to cause a pupil of the eye of the individual to maintain a diameter of 4mm or larger during the ocular light therapy and without using or requiring use of a mydriatic pharmaceutical [see para 4… “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.” And para 6… “the light emitting diode is capable of delivering between 36 lux and 50 lux at the level of an eye of a person wearing the glasses, preferably about 40 lux, and is capable of delivering between 4 lux and 6 lux at the level of the retina of the eye of said person.” Based on para 45 of applicant’s specification received on 5/20/2025, a light source with this lux is understood to at least be capable of maintaining a diameter as claimed depending on how it is used and positioned relative to the eye.]
Independent claim:
Regarding claim 30:
A system for treating an eye of an individual [see Figs. 1-5 and abstract… “The invention relates to a glasses provided with a light source for illuminating at least a portion of the eye of a subject wearing the glasses and relates to a system comprising such a glasses.”]
, the system comprising:
an ocular photo-bio-stimulation light source configured to emit ocular photo-biostimulation light, wherein the light source is comprised of one or more LEDs [see para 4… “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”];
wherein the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light comprises light wavelengths within a light wavelength range of at least one or more of, 480nm +/- 30nm, 530nm +/- 20nm, 600nm - 700nm, 700nm +/- 30nm, or 830nm +/- 30nm [see para 4… “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”];
wherein the system is further configured to one or more of, block, attenuate, or reduce, ocular photo-bio-stimulation light from striking a fovea of the eye of the individual [see para 120… “Optionally, the spectacle glasses are filter lenses for filtering of blue light and/or UV light”],
and wherein the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light that strikes a retina of the eye of the individual is diffuse LED illumination [see para 48… “An additional optional feature for the frame of the glasses is that at least portions of the surface of the nose frame side portion which is facing the eye of the wearer reflect the light diffusely.”];
wherein the system is a binocular system [see abstract… “The invention relates to a glasses provided with a light source for illuminating at least a portion of the eye of a subject wearing the glasses and relates to a system comprising such a glasses.” Glasses are at least a binocular system]; and
wherein the system is a self-administered system [see para 76… “Moreover, the phototherapy of Parkinson's Disease by using the glasses of the invention is easy and straightforward, such that a PD patient is able to administer the photon source at any moment of the day or night by him/herself, without the need to visit or see a practitioner, etc.”]
Dependent claims:
Regarding claim 3, see para 6 [see “wherein the light emitting diode is capable of delivering between 36 lux and 50 lux at the level of an eye of a person wearing the glasses, preferably about 40 lux, and is capable of delivering between 4 lux and 6 lux at the level of the retina of the eye of said person.”] which discloses delivering radiation to the retina with no stipulation for blocking radiation to the periphery of the retina indicating at the very least a capability to treat part of the retina peripheral to the fovea.
Regarding claim 9, see abstract [see “The invention relates to a glasses provided with a light source for illuminating at least a portion of the eye of a subject wearing the glasses and relates to a system comprising such a glasses.”] which discloses glasses which are at least a monocular or binocular light therapy as claimed.
Regarding claim 14 and 24, see para 48 [see “An additional optional feature for the frame of the glasses is that at least portions of the surface of the nose frame side portion which is facing the eye of the wearer reflect the light diffusely.”] which disclose a diffuser as recited by claim 14 and diffuse light as recited by claim 24.
Regarding claim 15, para 90 [see “the applicator for use according to the invention, is used for the therapy of Parkinson's Disease wherein by said use at least one of the symptoms of Parkinson's Disease selected from bradykinesia, pain, akinesia, sleep disturbance, depressed mood, sadness, melatonin levels during daytime and dystonia is prevented or treated, or is delayed and/or reduced, according to the invention.”] discloses treating conditions of mood and depression.
Regarding claim 16-17 and 20-22, see abstract [“The invention relates to a glasses provided with a light source for illuminating at least a portion of the eye of a subject wearing the glasses and relates to a system comprising such a glasses.”] and Fig. 5 elements 3a-3b and para 122 [see “supporting spectacle glasses 3a, 3b.”] which disclose spectacle glasses (i.e. eyewear) with elements 3a-3b being spectacle lens that can be worn as claimed. Additionally, para 120 [see “Optionally, the spectacle glasses are filter lenses for filtering”] discloses these lens are a filter as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, see para 4 [“with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”] which discloses the light emitters are light emitting diodes as claimed.
Regarding claim 25, see para 4 [see… “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”] which discloses emitting a light of 468 nm to the eye. According to applicant’s specification [see para 421 of applicant’s specification received on 5/20/2025] light in this wavelength is capable to increase dopamine as claimed.
Regarding claim 26, see para 4 [see “with an emission peak wavelength of between 450 nm and 500 nm, preferably between 464 nm and 480 nm, most preferably with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm. Preferably, the glasses of the invention comprise two light emitting diodes comprising a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm.”] which discloses two LEDs (i.e. an LED array).
Regarding claim 28, see para 92 [see “photon source emitting blue light at the retina of a host, in particular the administration of a photon source capable of emitting photons with an emission peak wavelength of about 468 nm, with regard to the relief of disease symptoms, i.e. symptoms of PD, is the consequence of the activation of either photoreceptor rhodopsin comprising 11-cis retinal present in rods of the retina, or photoreceptor melanopsin comprising 11-cis retinal, or S-receptor present in cones of the retina, or any combination thereof.”] discloses the light as affecting the cones as claimed.
Regarding claim 29, see abstract [see “further comprising an external device provided with a processor as well as a computer program which, in use, causes the processor to control the at least one light source in the glasses in accordance with a predetermined program”] which discloses a processor as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 10-13 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoutens in view of Zhou et al (US 20220107508) hereafter known as Zhou.
Regarding claims 2, 4-6, 10-11 and 23:
Schoutens discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Schoutens fails to disclose “a fixation target and an optional optical stop, wherein the optional optical stop is located behind the fixation target and
closer to the eye of the individual relative to the fixation target, and wherein the fixation target or the optional optical stop blocks, attenuates, or reduces, an intensity or an amount of the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light that is directed towards the macula of the eye of the individual” as recited by claim 2, “further comprising a fixation target,
wherein the fixation target is one or more of, black, grey, red, a contrasting color with the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light, devoid of light, opaque, non-transmissive, a dark color tone, comprised of a black or dark color toned area, devoid of a light emitter, a dark area surrounded fully or in part on its outer perimeter by the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light, configured to provide an image that does not cause a constriction of a pupil of the eye of the individual while the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light source is emitting the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light, or configured to provide an image that enlarges the pupil of the eye of the individual while the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light source is emitting the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light, or wherein the fixation target includes a filter” as recited by claim 4, “a fixation target, wherein the fixation target is stationary, moving, or intermittently moving” as recited by claim 5, “a fixation target,
wherein the fixation target is round” as recited by claim 6, “further comprising a fixation target, wherein the fixation target is larger in size compared to a size of the fovea and/or the macula based on a selected or chosen distance between the fovea and/or the macula and the fixation target.” as recited by claim 7, “a fixation target, wherein the fixation target is stationary and configured to be perceived by the individual as being
located partially or fully within the emitted ocular photo-bio-stimulation light” as recited by claim 10, “a fixation target, wherein the fixation target moves and is configured to be perceived by the individual as being located partially or fully within the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light” as recited by claim 11 or “a fixation target, wherein the fixation target is configured to reduce or eliminate accommodative response of the eye of the individual during the ocular light therapy” as recited by claim 23.
Zhou discloses in the analogous art of ocular therapy systems [see para 2… “In particular, the embodiments are related to various designs of anti-myopia progression spectacles.”] micro-reticles (i.e. fixation targets) as being opaque patterns (i.e. devoid of an ocular photo-bio-stimulation electrical light emitter and capable of reducing or eliminate accommodative response of the eye) that block light to the paracentral (i.e. at least outer boundaries of macula) and that are round and embedded (i.e. stationary and capable of moving by manually moving the glasses relative to the eye) in the lens [see Fig. 4A-4B element 408 and para 96… “On the front surface 404, micro-reticles 408 are positioned deposited or embedded, with optional protective over-coating around the paracentral and/or peripheral zone of the single vision correction spectacle lens 402.” and para 208… “As one feature of the present invention, the micro-reticles can be either completely opaque or semi-transparent. The semi-transparency can be reflective or absorptive or colored with different transparency percentages. The opaqueness or semi-transparency of the micro-reticle pattern can be achieved through coating or evaporating or printing different materials with different layer thickness or doping of colored dyes.”] for the purpose of preventing myopia progression [see para 2… “One or more embodiments of the present invention relate generally to myopia progression control or myopia prevention.”]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schoutens’s glasses to include micro-reticles that are completely opaque similarly to that of Zhou (i.e. thereby reciting 2, 4-6, 10-11 and 23) because this will allow Schouten’s glasses to not only treat Parkinson’s, but also help prevent myopia, thereby increasing the versatility of conditions that the glasses can treat.
Regarding claims 12-13:
Schoutens discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Schoutens fails to disclose “wherein one or more of, a black area, a dark grey or red area, or a dark color toned area, are configured to cover the entirety of the fovea, and wherein the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light is configured to generate a blind spot perceivable by the individual, and wherein the blind spot is surrounded by the emitted ocular photo-bio-stimulation light” as recited by claim 12 or “wherein the blind spot and the surrounding emitted ocular photo-bio-stimulation light are configured to be perceived to appear simultaneously to the eye or a brain of the individual when the ocular photo-biostimulation light source is emitting the ocular photo-bio-stimulation light” as recited by claim 13
Zhou discloses in the analogous art of ocular therapy systems [see para 2… “In particular, the embodiments are related to various designs of anti-myopia progression spectacles.”] micro-reticles (i.e. fixation targets) as being dark patterns that block light (i.e. black areas) to paracentral area of the retina [see Fig. 4A-4B element 408 and para 96… “On the front surface 404, micro-reticles 408 are positioned deposited or embedded, with optional protective over-coating around the paracentral and/or peripheral zone of the single vision correction spectacle lens 402.” And abstract… “The micro-reticle(s) and micro-lens(es) are integrated with the structure of the spectacle to partially block some of the paracentral and/or peripheral objects from surrounding optical environment.” And see para 102… “In this invention, there is intentional blocking (at least partial blocking) of light by the darker portion(s) of the micro-reticle arranged in front of its corresponding micro-lens so a micro-pattern image of certain contrast can be formed substantially on, or in front, of the paracentral and/or peripheral retina.” which are at least partially surrounded by photo-bio-stimulation light and depending on how the glasses are positioned relative to the eye is at least capable of covering the entirety of the fovea and generating a blind spot as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schoutens’s glasses to include micro-reticles that are completely opaque similarly to that of Zhou (i.e. thereby reciting claims 12-13) because this will allow Schouten’s glasses to not only treat Parkinson’s, but also help prevent myopia, thereby increasing the versatility of conditions that the glasses can treat.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoutens in view of Zhou in view of Luttrull et al (US 20160339264) hereafter known as Luttrull in view of Rosenberg Maffia et al (US 20210312613) hereafter known as Rosenberg Maffia
Schoutens discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
However, Schoutens fails to disclose “a fixation target, wherein the fixation target is larger in size compared to a size of the fovea and/or the macula based on a selected or chosen distance between the fovea and/or the macula and the fixation target” as recited by claim 7 or “a fixation target, wherein a size of the fixation target is configured to be perceived by the individual as a same size or a larger size, than the fovea and/or the macula” as recited by claim 8.
Zhou discloses in the analogous art of ocular therapy systems [see para 2… “In particular, the embodiments are related to various designs of anti-myopia progression spectacles.”] micro-reticles (i.e. fixation targets) as being opaque patterns that block light to the paracentral retina that are embedded in the lens [see Fig. 4A-4B element 408 and para 96… “On the front surface 404, micro-reticles 408 are positioned deposited or embedded, with optional protective over-coating around the paracentral and/or peripheral zone of the single vision correction spectacle lens 402.” and para 208… “As one feature of the present invention, the micro-reticles can be either completely opaque or semi-transparent. The semi-transparency can be reflective or absorptive or colored with different transparency percentages. The opaqueness or semi-transparency of the micro-reticle pattern can be achieved through coating or evaporating or printing different materials with different layer thickness or doping of colored dyes.”] for the purpose of preventing myopia progression [see para 2… “One or more embodiments of the present invention relate generally to myopia progression control or myopia prevention.”]
Rosenberg Maffia in the analogous art of treatment of ophthalmic phototherapy [see abstract… “A method and apparatus of early-stage detection of glaucoma and other optic nerve or retinal diseases employs dynamic images”] that size-scaling images by adjusting the distance of a fixation target relative to the retina is a known way adjust with variation in the sensitivity of retinal cells [see Fig. 4 and para 69… “Referring now to FIG. 4, the present invention also contemplates that the contrast and/or size-scaling of the dynamic image 16 may be adjusted as a function of its distance from the center fixation target 18, for example, to compensate for known variations in the sensitivity of retinal cells, as well as normal variations between individuals”].
Luttrull discloses in the analogous art of ophthalmic treatment [see abstract… “A process for using a retinal photostimulation device involves limiting multiple or repeated uses of the device during a particular treatment cycle.”] a known way to align and adjust different structures of an ophthalmic device with an eye includes a control system and a series of motors that adjust in the different elements relative to each other in the x, y and z axes and the eye [see para 33… “A visible patient fixation target or general positioning light (not shown) configured to illuminate the target area may be included to assist with this general alignment. The positioning light is projected into the eye coaxially with the laser optics 38 and camera 46. One may then use the joystick 42 and position motors to fine-tune the position and precise alignment of the device laser optics 38 and camera 46 with the eye.” And para 26… “A joystick 42 having a spherical contact junction provides multiple degrees of movement to control operation of the device 14. Multiple degrees of movement refers to movement in directions such as, front-to-back, side-to-side, up and down (z-axis adjustment)”]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schoutens’s glasses to include micro-reticles that are completely opaque similarly to that of Zhou because this will allow Schouten’s glasses to not only treat Parkinson’s, but also help prevent myopia, thereby increasing the versatility of conditions that the glasses can treat.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schouten in view of Zhou’s device by including a control system with motors configured to move the fixation target and optics in the X,Y,Z-axis similarly to that disclosed by Luttrull (i.e. claims 7-8) because as taught by Rosenberg Maffia this will provide the benefit of allowing a user to adjust the size the fixation target with the eye being treated to compensate for variations in sensitivity of retinal cells between different individuals.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoutens in view of Kubota et al (US 20210031051) hereafter known as Kubota
Schoutens discloses the invention substantially as claimed including all the limitations of claim 1 and 18 as outlined above which includes a light emitting diode that emits blue light (i.e. a type of visible light).
However, Schoutens is silent as to whether the light source flickers or is continuous and if it flickers at what frequency.
Kubota discloses in the analogous art of ocular therapy devices [see para 13… “In some embodiments, a device to stimulate to the retina is configured to project one or more images on the retina that falls outside the fovea.”] known parameters used to treat refractive error include visible light with a modulation frequency of 1- 500 Hz [see para 13… “a device to stimulate to the retina is configured to project one or more images on the retina that falls outside the fovea. The stimulation can be configured to promote a change in the axial length and/or choroidal thickness of the eye. The projected image may comprise a still image or a dynamic image, for example with a refresh rate in the range from 1 Hz to 500 Hz. The light may comprise monochromatic or polychromatic light within a range from 400 nm to 800 nm.”]
Since Schoutens is silent as to many of the details of the photo-bio-stimulation light, and Kubota discloses a know modulation frequency , it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention to modify Schoutens’s blue light diodes to use a modulation frequency between 1-500 Hz as these are known parameters for addressing refractive errors in the eye, thereby allowing Schouten’s device to treat refractive errors in addition to Parkinsons which would increase the versatility of the different disorders that Schouten’s device can treat.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schoutens in view of Kubota by using a frequency of 20-60Hz (i.e. claim 19) as this is a subset of frequencies disclosed by Schoutens in view of Kubota for ocular therapy in the eye.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoutens in view of Tedford et al (US 20160067086) hereafter known as Tedford.
Schoutens discloses the invention substantially as recited in claim 1.
However, Schoutens fails to disclose “one or more bio-feedback sensors to detect and/or measure blink rate, pupil size, eye movement, or eye location.” as recited by claim 27.
Tedford discloses in the analogous art of ophthalmic phototherapy [See para 3... “The present disclosure relates to an ophthalmic phototherapy device and an associated treatment methods using non-invasive light therapy. In addition, the present present disclosure is related to devices and methods for exposing an eye to selected wavelengths of light to promote the healing of damaged or diseased eye tissue.”] including a sensor that includes a camera that obtains pupil size in the form of obtaining the pupil diameter to provide feedback to controller of a light for the purpose of controlling the desired dosage of light to the retina [see para 99 of Tedford... “the logic circuit is responsive to signals indicating the spatial position or orientation of the patient's eye (e.g., where the patient is looking) This may be accomplished through the use of one or more cameras (for example, camera 754 of FIG. 7) and associated software algorithms. Supplementary emitters in infrared or other wavelengths may be used as illumination sources to facilitate the eye-tracking. Alternatively, commercially available eye-tracking components or algorithms may be incorporated into the device, partially or in entirety. In at least some embodiments, the logic circuit may utilize the eye-orientation signal to adjust the device output spatially to maintain the appropriate exposure on previously identified target areas.” and para 101… “the device contains one or more cameras (for example, camera 754 of FIG. 7) and associated software algorithms for measuring the diameter of a patient's pupil. This measurement may be performed once, periodically, or continually. The logic circuit may then use the pupil diameter measurement signal to adjust treatment parameters to achieve the desired dosage on the retina.”]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schoutens to include a sensor that measures the pupil’s size and controls the light source similarly to that of Tedford (i.e. thereby reciting “one or more bio-feedback sensors to detect and/or measure blink rate, pupil size, eye movement, or eye location.” and “a camera”) for the purpose of providing the appropriate dosage of light to the retina.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SEBASTIAN X LUKJAN
/SXL/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/NIKETA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792