DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,7,13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vosbikian (US3633760A).
Regarding claim 1, Vosbikian teaches a wardrobe box assembly comprising (see annotated fig.1 shows the box):
a hanger support member comprising a first hanger engagement slot defining a first closed hanger engagement slot and a second hanger engagement slot defining a second closed hanger engagement slot (see annotated fig.1 below that shows the hanger support member with first and second hanger engagement slot that define first and second closed hanger engagement slot); and
a wardrobe box comprising (see annotated fig.1 below shows the wardrobe box):
a sidewall enclosure comprising a plurality of side panels, the plurality of side panels comprising a first side panel and a second side panel opposite the first side panel, the sidewall enclosure at least partially defining an interior cavity of the wardrobe box (see annotated fig.1 below shows side panels on panel opposite sides which define an interior cavity);
a first box mounting slot defined at a top edge of the first side panel and configured to engage the hanger support member (see annotated fig.1 below for the first box mounting slot 55 the top edge capable of engaging an hanger), the first box mounting slot extending into an outer surface of the first side wall panel from a first mounting slot opening defined at the top edge of the first side wall panel to a first closed mounting slot end defined opposite the first mounting slot opening (see annotated fig.1 below shows the slot 55 that extends from the top to form a closed slot end at the end of 55 which has turns into a closed mounting slot and the slot 5 extends into the outer surface of the first side panel); and
a second box mounting slot defined at a top edge of second side panel and configured to engage the hanger support member (see annotated fig.1 below for the second box mounting slot 55 the top edge capable of engaging an hanger capable of engaging an hanger which would be on the opposite side of the box since its symmetrical), the second box mounting slot extending into an outer surface of the second side wall panel from a second mounting slot opening defined at the top edge of the second side wall panel to a second closed mounting slot end defined opposite the second mounting slot opening (see annotated fig.1 below shows the slot 55 that extends from the top to form a closed slot end at the end of 55 which has turns into a closed mounting slot and the slot 5 extends into the outer surface of the first side panel)
wherein the first hanger engagement slot is positioned in the first box mounting slot so that the first closed hanger engagement slot end abuts the first closed mounting slot end and the second hanger engagement slot is positioned in the second box mounting slot so that the second closed hanger engagement slot end abuts the second closed mounting slot end (fig.1 and 2 show the first hanger slot is positioned in the first box slot 55 so that the first closed hanger slot end abuts the first closed mounting slot end and the second hanger slot is posited in the second mounting slot 55 so that the two slots abuts with each other).
Annotated fig.1 of Vosbikian
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian further teaches a plurality of top panels, the plurality of top panels including a first top panel hingedly connected to the top edge of the first side panel at a first top bend line and a second top panel hingedly connected to the top edge of the second side panel at a second top bend line, the first top panel and the second top panel configured to fold over the interior cavity at a top enclosure end of the sidewall enclosure (see annotated fig.1 above that shows the panels 53 that are hingedly connected to the top edges of side panels that are capable of being folded over interior cavity).
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian further teaches wherein the first top panel defines a first opening in communication with the first box mounting slot, and wherein the second top panel defines a second opening in communication with the second box mounting slot (see annotated fig.1 above where the panels 53 each have a opening that is in communication with the opening on the side panels as the panels 53 have that opening for the hanger).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian further teaches wherein: the plurality of side panels further comprise a third side panel extending between the first and second side panels and a fourth side panel extending between the first and second side panels; and the plurality of top panels further comprise a third top panel hingedly connected to a top edge of the third side panel and a fourth top panel hingedly connected to a top edge of the fourth side panel (see annotated fig.1 shows the box that has 4 sidewalls including the first and second side panels and having panels 54’s on the third and fourth side panels).
Regarding claim 13, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian further teaches wherein the hanger support member further comprises: a first hanger panel; a second hanger panel hingedly connected to the first hanger panel at a first hanger bend line (fig.1 shows the hanger 30 formed of sheet metal, as by bending it into an inverted channel or box section creating the hanger panels that can hinge when formed) the second hanger panel folded at the first hanger bend line to lie substantially flat against the first hanger panel (fig.1 the panels are folded at the bend line to lie substantially flat against the other panel); the first hanger engagement slot extending into each of the first hanger panel and the second hanger panel at a bottom hanger end of the hanger support member, proximate to a first side of the hanger support member (fig.2 and 3 shows the panel 61 of the hanger 30 having has two protrusions that when assembled has to extend into the hanger engagement slot as labeled in fig.1 above and the second hanger panel is the bottom panel at the bottom hanger end of the hanger 30 ); and the second hanger engagement slot extending into each of the first hanger panel and the second hanger panel at the bottom hanger end, proximate to a second side of the hanger support member opposite the first side (fig.2 and 3 shows the panel 61 of the hanger 30 having has two protrusions that when assembled has to extend into the hanger engagement slot as labeled in fig.1 above and the second hanger panel is the bottom panel at the bottom hanger end of the hanger 30).
Regarding claim 15, the references as applied to claim 13 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian further teaches wherein each of the first hanger engagement slot and the second hanger engagement slot are oriented substantially perpendicular to the first hanger bend line (fig.1 and 2 slots will be substantially perpendicular to the bend line).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7,9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vosbikian (US3633760A).above and further in view of Partain (US4111300A).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian does not teach wherein the plurality of side panels further comprise a third side panel extending between the first and second side panels and a fourth side panel extending between the first and second side panels; and the plurality of top panels further comprise a third top panel hingedly connected to a top edge of the third side panel and a fourth top panel hingedly connected to a top edge of the fourth side panel.
Partain does teach wherein the plurality of side panels further comprise a third side panel extending between the first and second side panels and a fourth side panel extending between the first and second side panels; and the plurality of top panels further comprise a third top panel hingedly connected to a top edge of the third side panel and a fourth top panel hingedly connected to a top edge of the fourth side panel (fig.10-11 shows the wardrobe container 10 with the multiple side panels 14,18,12,16 and fig.3 shows the plurality of side panels having 18 and 16 that are extending between the 14 and 12 and comprises top panels 38 and 36 extending between 26 and 24 and all are hingedly connected as it is a blank that gets formed into a wardrobe container). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wardrobe container disclosed by Vosbikian by adding the teaching of having the wardrobe container be a blank as disclosed by Partain in order to easily disassembly the wardrobe container as required by the user as paperboard blank are well known as economical, lightweight and durable structures. Also, it is known in the art to container with the four sidewalls and four top panels how Vosbikian and Partain describe them. “Wardrobe containers formed from integral paperboard blanks are well known as economical, lightweight and durable structures” (col.1 lines 12-16 Partain)
Regarding claim 9, the references as applied to claim 7 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian as modified in claim 7 further teaches a plurality of bottom panels, wherein one of the plurality of bottom panels is hingedly connected to a bottom edge of each of the first side panel, the second side panel, the third side panel, and the fourth side panel (fig.11 shows the bottom panels 56,54,52,50 are hinged to the bottom edge of each of the side panels).
Regarding claim 11, the references as applied to claim 7 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian as modified in claim 7 further teaches wherein the third side panel defines a lower panel portion and an upper panel portion hingedly connected to the lower panel portion, the lower panel portion attached to each of the first side panel and the second side panel, the upper panel portion unattached to each of the first side panel and the second side panel (fig.3 shows the panel 16 with the panel being diving into upper and lower panels as the tabs 17 fold hingedly and the lower portion is attached to the side panels and the tab 17 unattached to each of the first and second panels as it is above the lower portion and can fold).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Notko (US3294221A).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 7 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian does not teach wherein: a first opposing pair of the top panels of the plurality of top panels each define a closure slot that is opposite from the top edge thereof; the closure slots together define a closure opening in a closed configuration of the wardrobe box; a second opposing pair of the top panels of the plurality of top panels each define a closure tab that is opposite from the top edge thereof; and each of the closure tabs engage the closure opening in the closed configuration.
Notko does teach a first opposing pair of the top panels of the plurality of top panels each define a closure slot that is opposite from the top edge thereof (fig.2-3 show the panels 11 with the slots 12 opposite from the top edge); the closure slots together define a closure opening in a closed configuration of the wardrobe box (fig.2 the closed configuration the slots depend a closure opening); a second opposing pair of the top panels of the plurality of top panels each define a closure tab that is opposite from the top edge thereof; and each of the closure tabs engage the closure opening in the closed configuration (fig.2-3 show the panels 16 with the tabs 17 that engage the closure openings crated by the slots 12 in the closure configuration ). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top panels disclosed by Vosbikian by adding the teaching of tabs and slots on the top panels as disclosed by Notko in order to securely closed the top panels with one another rather than just closing them without any securing mechanism.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Bacharach (US3472360A).
Regarding claim 20, the references as applied to claim 13 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Vosbikian does not teach wherein the hanger support member defines at least one lateral hanger aperture formed through the first hanger panel and the second hanger panel; the lateral hanger aperture configured to receive a hook end of a hanger therethrough. Bacharach does teach wherein the hanger support member defines at least one lateral hanger aperture formed through the first hanger panel and the second hanger panel, the lateral hanger aperture configured to receive a hook end of a hanger therethrough (fig.4 shows the slot 31 in the hanger 26 front and back of the panel that are capable of receiving hook end of a hanger therethrough). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second panel of the hanger disclosed by Vosbikian by adding the teaching of slots as disclosed by Bacharach in order to for engaging trousers or skirts weaved therethrough forms a display piece and supports garments in a box from the upper side edges of the box.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6,10,16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant does not argue any other claim rejections.
Conclusion
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735