DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Salahieh et al. (US 2012/0277730 A1) describes a slot-patter relationship, not a length-based axial-offset relationship between distal-most flexible segments as the slots in each of tubular members 112 and 128 are offset relative to the adjacent slot, interrupted, and have a general helical configuration which are opposite to one another and the outer steerable portion 132 and inner steerable portion 116 of Salahieh are not different lengths. While the examiner agrees that the inner steerable portion 116 and the outer steerable portion 132 are equal in lengths, in the new interpretation of Salahieh discussed below, the second flexible segment is interpreted as the inner steerable portion 116, but the first flexible segment is interpreted as only a portion i.e., the distal portion of outer flexible segment 132 (see for example, annotated Figs. 7a and 7b below the rejection of claim 1). It is noted that the parameters defining the plurality of flexible segments include “a plurality of cuts, wherein the outer sheath comprises a first flexible segment of the plurality of flexible segments and the inner sheath comprises a second flexible segment of the plurality of flexible segments, wherein the first flexible segment is a distal-most flexible segment of the outer sheath, and the second flexible segment is a distal-most flexible segment of the inner sheath, wherein the first flexible segment and the second flexible segment are different lengths such that the first flexible segment and the second segment are unaligned along a length of the elongate sheath assembly.” All of these additional parameters are met by the first and second flexible segments annotated in Figs. 7a and 7b. It is further noted that applicant’s own invention accounts for flexible segments of variable flexibility (see for example, claim 5); thus, the third flexible segment annotated in Fig. 7b of Salahieh accounts for such a variable flexibility as the angled slots 140 would produce a different flexibility than the overlapping slots 142 and the proximal portion of the third flexible segment which does not have slots. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salahieh et al. (US 2012/0277730 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Salahieh discloses an apparatus (steerable device; it is noted that the embodiment of Figs. 7a and 7b are being used for the current rejection but like parts are referred to in Figs. 2a and 2b for clarity of the rejection), comprising: an elongate sheath assembly (see for example, steerable device 30; Figs. 2a, 2b) configured to be advanced through a blood vessel of a patient body (the steerable device can be used to delivery, or guide, a medical device into bodily lumens or cavities such as a blood vessel; [0067]), wherein the elongate sheath assembly comprises an outer sheath (second tubular member/outer tubular member 128; Fig. 7b; [0093]) and an inner sheath (first tubular member/inner tubular member 112; Fig. 7a; [0093]), wherein the inner sheath (112) is received inside a lumen of the outer sheath (128; [0093]; Figs. 2a, 2b), wherein a lumen of the inner sheath is configured to receive an object (any type of suitable medical device or instrument therethrough; [0067]) separate from the elongate sheath assembly, wherein the elongate sheath assembly comprises a plurality of flexible segments (see annotated Figs. 7a, 7b below) comprising a plurality of cuts (slots 124, 140, 126, 142), wherein the outer sheath (128) comprises a first flexible segment (see annotated Fig. 7b) of the plurality of flexible segments and the inner sheath (112) comprises a second flexible segment (see annotated Fig. 7a) of the plurality of flexible segments, wherein the first flexible segment is a distal-most flexible segment of the outer sheath (see annotated Fig. 7b), and the second flexible segment is a distal-most flexible segment of the inner sheath (see annotated Fig. 7a), wherein the first flexible segment and the second flexible segment are different lengths such that the first flexible segment and the second segment are unaligned along a length of the elongate sheath assembly to prevent kinking (see annotated Figs. 7a, 7b; the two are unaligned along their length and as the slots in each of the tubular members 112 and 128 are offset relative to the adjacent slot in opposite helical patterns; [0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Salahieh discloses wherein at least one of: a distal end of the first flexible segment is unaligned with a distal end of the second flexible segment; or a proximal end of the first flexible segment is unaligned with a proximal end of the second flexible segment (as proximal ends of the first and second flexible segments are unaligned; see annotated Figs. 7a-7b).
Regarding claim 3, Salahieh discloses wherein the outer sheath (128) further comprises a third flexible segment (see annotated Fig. 7b) of the plurality of flexible segments and the inner sheath (112) comprises a fourth flexible segment (see annotated Fig. 7a) of the plurality of flexible segments (see annotated Figs. 7a-7b).
Regarding claim 4, Salahieh discloses wherein the third flexible segment is proximal of the first flexible segment (see annotated Fig. 7b), wherein the fourth flexible segment is proximal of the second flexible segment (see annotated Fig. 7a).
Regarding claim 5, Salahieh discloses wherein at least one of: the plurality of cuts in the first flexible segment is configured to provide a constant flexibility (as all of the slots 140 in the first flexible segment are cut with the same pitch) and the plurality of cuts in the third flexible segment is configured to provide a variable flexibility (as the angled slots 140 would produce a different flexibility than the overlapping slots 142 and the proximal portion of the third flexible segment which does not have slots); or the plurality of cuts in the second flexible segment is configured to provide a constant flexibility and the plurality of cuts in the fourth flexible segment is configured to provide a variable flexibility.
Regarding claim 6, Salahieh discloses wherein the third flexible segment and the fourth flexible segment are unaligned along the length of the elongate sheath assembly (see annotated Figs. 7a-7b).
Regarding claim 7, Salahieh discloses wherein a proximal end of the first flexible segment is unaligned with a proximal end of the second flexible segment (see annotated Figs. 7a and 7b), and wherein a distal end of the third flexible segment is unaligned with a distal end of the fourth flexible segment (see annotated Figs. 7a-7b).
Regarding claim 8, Salahieh discloses wherein a proximal end of the third flexible segment is unaligned with a proximal end of the fourth flexible segment (see annotated Figs. 7a-7b).
Regarding claim 9, Salahieh discloses wherein the inner sheath is longer than the outer sheath (see for example, Figs. 2a-2b; wherein the inner tubular element 36 is longer than the outer tubular element 34 in order to move the outer tubular element axially relative to the inner tubular element to steer the device; [0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Salahieh discloses wherein the object comprises a medical lead implanted in the patient body (it is noted that the “object” is only functionally claimed; therefore, the apparatus needs only to be capable of receiving a medical lead and the lumen of the inner sheath 112 is considered capable of receiving a medical lead as it is used to deliver, or guide, any type of suitable medical device or instrument therethrough; [0067]), wherein the lumen of the inner sheath (112) is configured to receive the medical lead for removal of the medical lead from the patient body (as the inner sheath 112 is considered capable of receiving a medical lead as it is used to deliver, or guide, any type of suitable medical device or instrument therethrough; [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salahieh et al. (US 2012/0277730 A1) in view of Mitelberg et al. (US 2008/0097398 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Salahieh discloses wherein the plurality of cuts in the first flexible segment is configured to provide a constant flexibility (as all of the slots 140 in the first flexible segment are cut with the same pitch) and the plurality of cuts in the third flexible segment is configured to provide a variable flexibility (as the angled slots 140 would produce a different flexibility than the overlapping slots 142 and the proximal portion of the third flexible segment which does not have slots); and wherein the plurality of cuts in the second flexible segment is configured to provide a constant flexibility (see annotated Fig. 7a), but fails to disclose the plurality of cuts in the fourth flexible segment is configured to provide a variable flexibility.
However, Mitelberg teaches an elongate sheath assembly (Figs. 5-6) comprising a plurality of cuts (spiral cuts 16a), the elongate sheath assembly including a first segment (region 24) with first cuts (cuts 16a of region 24) arranged in a constant pitch to provide a constant flexibility (constant spacing between cuts 16a in region 24; Figs. 5-6), and a third segment (regions 22, 26, 28) with second cuts (cuts 16a of regions 22, 26, 28) arranged in a variable pitch to provide a variable flexibility (as the spacing between the cuts 16a of regions 22, 26, 28 varies; Figs. 5-6). The varying pitch results in pitch angle changes along a length of the elongate sheath assembly (Figs. 5-6). The varying flexibility of the elongate sheath assembly allows for improved column strength and pushability at the proximal portion and improved trackability and flexibility at the distal portion ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slots of the fourth flexible segment to have a variable pitch to provide a variable flexibility as taught by Mitelberg in order to improve the column strength and pushability at the proximal portion (fourth flexible segments) while maintaining the trackability and flexibility at the distal portion (second flexible portion).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771