DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,132,195 to Ikoma et al (Ikoma).
Regarding claim 1, Ikoma discloses a compressor comprising:
a housing (sealed container; col. 1, lines 16-20);
a cylinder (3, fig. 1) inside the housing and including a cylinder chamber formed therein;
a roller (5, fig. 1) configured to be rotatable in the cylinder chamber, the roller including a vane groove (6, fig. 1) formed on an outer surface of the roller and an oil guide (11, 12, fig. 1; 29, fig. 5) extending between the vane groove and an inner surface of the roller to guide oil within the vane groove; and
a vane (4, fig. 1) configured to be inserted and moved in the vane groove (figs. 19-20), wherein the vane and the roller together are configured to partition the cylinder chamber into an inlet chamber (where suction chamber 110 as labeled in fig. 6 is located) into which a refrigerant is introduced and a compression chamber (part of the chamber compressing liquid as shown in figs. 6-7) in which the refrigerant is compressed.
Regarding claim 2, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, further comprising: a rotating shaft (1, fig. 1) configured to provide rotational force to the roller and to penetrate the roller, wherein the oil guide guides oil to flow between the vane groove and an opening of the oil guide on the inner surface of the roller toward the rotating shaft (toward oil feed passage 8 of shaft 1, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, wherein the vane includes a first end in contact with a fixing portion of the cylinder (fig. 1) and a second end on an opposite side of the first end configured to pivot about the first end and move within the vane groove with the rotation of the roller (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 4, wherein the oil guide is configured to allow oil, which is pressurized by the second end of the vane within the vane groove, to flow along the oil guide (operation of the compressor).
Regarding claim 6, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, wherein the oil guide is recessed from an upper surface of the roller or a lower surface of the roller (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, wherein the oil guide is a top oil guide (11, figs. 1-3) recessed from the upper surface of the roller, and the roller further includes a bottom oil guide (12, figs. 1-3) below the top oil guide and recessed from the lower surface of the roller.
Regarding claim 8, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, wherein the vane groove extends along a first direction, and the oil guide extends along a second direction intersecting the first direction (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, wherein the vane groove has a first length along a vertical direction, and the oil guide has a second length less than the first length along the vertical direction (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 2, wherein the housing is provided to accommodate oil (col. 9, lines 20-25), and the rotating shaft includes: a shaft body forming an oil flow path (through 8, fig. 1; col. 9, lines 20-25),a suction hole (8, fig. 1) formed in a lower end of the shaft body and configured to draw oil accommodated in the housing into the oil flow path, and a discharge hole (10, fig. 1) configured to discharge oil flowing along the oil flow path to the outer surface of the shaft body.
Regarding claim 15, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 14, wherein the discharge hole of the rotating shaft is provided in plurality (fig. 1), and the plurality of discharge holes is spaced apart from each other along a longitudinal direction of the oil flow path (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikoma as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2005/0002814 to Kim et al (Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose which Kim discloses:
a cam (41, 51., figs. 1-3; [38]) formed on an outer surface of the rotating shaft and configured to rotate the roller eccentrically ([38]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the cam of Kim with the device of Ikoma so as to allow the locking unit and the restraining unit to be mounted to the rotating shaft through the eccentric part ([22]; Kim).
Once teachings of Kim are applied to the device of Ikoma and the cam is added, the oil guide will guide oil to flow between the vane groove and the cam.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikoma as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 2024/0167476 to Park et al (Park).
Regarding claim 12, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose which Park discloses:
a cylinder cover (132, figs. 1-2) arranged below the cylinder and provided to cover a lower side of the cylinder chamber, wherein the cylinder cover includes a support portion (figs. 1-2) provided to surround the rotating shaft, and a cover groove (126a, b, 127,1322a, 1322b, fig. 1; [76]-[77]) recessed from an inner surface of the support portion and provided to guide oil passing through the oil guide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the cylinder cover of Park with the device of Ikoma so as to achieve a rotary compressor capable of reducing friction loss and wear between an axial side surface of a vane and a main bearing or sub bearing facing the vane ([12]; Park).
Regarding claim 13, Ikoma discloses the compressor of claim 12, wherein the cover groove is configured to guide oil flowing along the cover groove downward (from 127 to 126a 126b and 1322a 1322b, fig. 1; [76]-[77]; Park).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,409,4888 to Ikoma et al
The reference above can also be used to reject claims similar to reference US 6,132,195 used above.
US 11,448,216 to Park et al.
US 9,816,504 to Cho et al.
US 2021/0363991 to Park et al.
US 2002/0159904 to Ebara et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746