DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on 7/12/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement has been considered and placed in the record on file and is in compliance with USPTO requirements.
Drawings
The Drawings have been considered and placed in the record on file and are in compliance with USPTO requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeller et al. (US 2014/0313022 A1 hereinafter Moeller) in view of Rimon et al. (US 2016/0274662 A1 hereinafter Rimon).
In regards to claim 1, Moeller discloses a virtual tactile system, comprising:
a display terminal (see figure 2 and paragraph 0027, touchscreen 7); and
a wearable device that is capable of being worn on a finger, which receives information on the position, shape, and physical properties of an object displayed on the screen of the display terminal, as well as information regarding the position of the user's finger (see figure 2 and paragraphs 0022 and 0027, data glove 4, interaction elements are displayed on the screen);
wherein the wearable device includes a micro-displacement stimulation element that is closely attached to the finger skin (see figure 1 and paragraph stimulators 2 in the data glove 4), and
wherein when the finger wearing the wearable device contacts the object displayed on the screen of the display terminal or moves on the screen of the display terminal, the micro-displacement stimulation element applies a micro-displacement stimulus to the finger skin, selectively triggering action potentials of multiple tactile receptors in the finger skin (see paragraph 0012, tactile feedback is generated at a finger of the data glove that interacts with the touch screen).
However, Moeller fails to particularly disclose providing tactile feedback including protruding pressure sensation, curvature, and friction texture in coordination with the screen of the display terminal.
Rimon teaches providing tactile feedback including protruding pressure sensation, curvature, and friction texture in coordination with the screen of the display terminal (see paragraph 0007, the haptic device can simulate a texture of the virtual object, a shape (curvature) of the virtual object, an amount of pressure virtually exerted on the user by the virtual object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and include a wide variety of tactile feedback such as pressure, texture, and shape as taught by Rimon, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results, providing a better user experience while interacting with virtual objects.
In regards to claim 3, as recited in claim 1, Moeller further discloses wherein: the display terminal is a 2-dimensional display terminal selected from one of a smartphone, tablet computer, touchscreen desktop computer, touchscreen laptop computer, touchscreen TV, touchscreen CCTV, touchscreen vehicle display, touchscreen navigation device, touchscreen digital signage, or a remotely controlled drone, robot, or surgical medical device monitor (see figure 2 and paragraph 0012, touch screen 7); and the information regarding the finger position is the position information where the finger contacts the screen of the display terminal (see paragraph 0012, tactile feedback is generated at a finger of a data glove that interacts with a touch screen).
In regards to claim 4, as recited in claim 1, Rimon further teaches wherein: the display terminal is a 3-dimensional spatial display terminal selected from one of a head-mounted display, glasses-type display, or artificial retina display (see figure 1 and paragraph 0038, HMD 102); the 3-dimensional spatial display terminal includes a camera (see figure 1 and paragraph 0039, camera 108); and the information regarding the finger position is the position information of the finger obtained by the camera recognizing the finger (see paragraph 0038, the camera is used to capture images of the user and determine the location of moves of the user).
In regards to claim 5, as recited in claim 1, Moeller further discloses wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus element is mounted in an array of two or more on the wearable device, applying individual micro-displacement pulse signals to two areas of the finger skin (see figure 1, multiple stimulators 2 located in the data glove).
In regards to claim 6, as recited in claim 1, Rimon further teaches wherein: the shape of the object includes shape and height information in a 2-dimensional plane (see paragraph 0059, virtual objects have data models for shape), and the stimulation applied by the micro-displacement stimulus element provides tactile feedback of friction texture corresponding to the shape of the object (see paragraph 0053, haptic feedback may provide both a texture and a feeling to the texture).
In regards to claim 7, as recited in claim 1, Rimon further teaches wherein: for the object, physical property information including the size of protruding pressure or the elasticity coefficient is assigned based on the position of the display terminal (see paragraph 0067, haptic responses when objects are interacted with include being moved, crushed, tossed, felt, rubbed, squeezed, pressed, lifted, smashed, bumped, etc., therefore an elasticity of the virtual objects is assigned), and the stimulation applied by the micro-displacement stimulus element provides tactile feedback of protruding pressure, curvature, and friction texture in coordination with the physical property information (see paragraph 0007, the haptic device can simulate a texture of the virtual object, a shape (curvature) of the virtual object, an amount of pressure virtually exerted on the user by the virtual object).
In regards to claim 8, as recited in claim 1, Rimon further teaches wherein: the object comprises a surface structure formed of one or more of a protruding or concave structure, or a figure having an area (see paragraph 0060, a virtual soda can can be crushed and it will change its shape, the glove will provide haptic feedback during the changing of the shape of the virtual soda can, therefore protruding or concave structures).
In regards to claim 12, as recited in claim 1, Moeller further discloses wherein: the wearable device is one of a ring, thimble, or glove (see figure 1, data glove 4).
In regards to claim 13, as recited in claim 1, Rimon further teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus element includes a piezoelectric actuator (see paragraph 0007, the haptic device includes a piezo-electric device).
In regards to claim 14, Moeller discloses a virtual tactile device operable in coordination with a display terminal, comprising:
a wearable device that receives information on the position, shape, and physical properties of an object displayed on the screen of the display terminal, as well as information regarding the position of the user's finger, and a micro-displacement stimulus element attached to the finger skin (see figure 2 and paragraphs 0022 and 0027, data glove 4, interaction elements are displayed on the screen);
wherein when the finger wearing the wearable device contacts the object displayed on the screen of the display terminal or moves on the screen, the micro-displacement stimulus element applies a micro-displacement stimulus to the finger skin (see figure 1 and paragraph stimulators 2 in the data glove 4), selectively triggering action potentials of multiple tactile receptors in the finger skin (see paragraph 0012, tactile feedback is generated at a finger of the data glove that interacts with the touch screen).
However, Moeller fails to particularly disclose providing tactile feedback including protruding pressure, curvature, and friction texture in coordination with the screen of the display terminal.
Rimon teaches providing tactile feedback including protruding pressure, curvature, and friction texture in coordination with the screen of the display terminal (see paragraph 0007, the haptic device can simulate a texture of the virtual object, a shape (curvature) of the virtual object, an amount of pressure virtually exerted on the user by the virtual object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and include a wide variety of tactile feedback such as pressure, texture, and shape as taught by Rimon, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results, providing a better user experience while interacting with virtual objects.
In regards to claim 16, as recited in claim 14, Moeller further discloses wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus element is mounted in an array of two or more on the wearable device, applying individual micro-displacement pulse signals to two areas of the finger skin (see figure 1, multiple stimulators 2 located in the data glove).
In regards to claim 17, as recited in claim 14, Rimon further teaches wherein: the shape of the object includes shape and height information in a 2-dimensional plane (see paragraph 0059, virtual objects have data models for shape), and the stimulation applied by the micro-displacement stimulus element provides tactile feedback of friction texture corresponding to the shape of the object (see paragraph 0053, haptic feedback may provide both a texture and a feeling to the texture).
In regards to claim 18, as recited in claim 14, Rimon further discloses wherein: for the object, physical property information including the size of protruding pressure or the elasticity coefficient is assigned based on the position of the display terminal (see paragraph 0067, haptic responses when objects are interacted with include being moved, crushed, tossed, felt, rubbed, squeezed, pressed, lifted, smashed, bumped, etc., therefore an elasticity of the virtual objects is assigned), and the stimulation applied by the micro-displacement stimulus element provides tactile feedback of protruding pressure, curvature, and friction texture in coordination with the physical property information (see paragraph 0007, the haptic device can simulate a texture of the virtual object, a shape (curvature) of the virtual object, an amount of pressure virtually exerted on the user by the virtual object).
In regards to claim 20, as recited in claim 14, Rimon further teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus element includes a piezoelectric actuator (see paragraph 0007, the haptic device includes a piezo-electric device).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeller and Rimon in view of Birnbaum et al. (US 2014/0062682 A1 hereinafter Birnbaum).
In regards to claim 2, as recited in claim 1, the combination of Moeller and Rimon fails to disclose wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is less than 100 micrometers (μm) in size; and the micro-displacement stimulus is applied in sequence by combining signals with a pulse waveform having a duration of less than 100 milliseconds (msec).
Birnbaum teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is less than 100 micrometers (μm) in size (see paragraph 0028, small displacement 50-500 micrometers), and the micro-displacement stimulus is applied in sequence by combining signals with a pulse waveform having a duration of less than 100 milliseconds (msec) (see paragraph 0028, haptic feedback effects with high frequency about 160-220 Hz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and Rimon and include a wherein the stimulus is less than 100 micrometers and a duration of less than 100 milliseconds as taught by Birnbaum, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results.
In regards to claim 15, as recited in claim 14, the combination of Moeller and Rimon fails to disclose wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is less than 100 micrometers (μm) in size, and the micro-displacement stimulus is applied in sequence by combining signals with a pulse waveform having a duration of less than 100 milliseconds (msec).
Birnbaum teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is less than 100 micrometers (μm) in size (see paragraph 0028, small displacement 50-500 micrometers), and the micro-displacement stimulus is applied in sequence by combining signals with a pulse waveform having a duration of less than 100 milliseconds (msec) (see paragraph 0028, haptic feedback effects with high frequency about 160-220 Hz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and Rimon and include a wherein the stimulus is less than 100 micrometers and a duration of less than 100 milliseconds as taught by Birnbaum, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeller and Rimon in view of Smith et al. (US 2014/0125469 A1 hereinafter Smith).
In regards to claim 9, as recited in claim 1, the combination of Moeller and Rimon fails to disclose wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a square wave, sine wave, or triangle wave.
Smith teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a square wave, sine wave, or triangle wave (see claim 8, tactile haptic feedback device provides triangle wave signals, square wave signals, and sine wave signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and Rimon and include tactile feedback signals that are triangle waves, sine waves, or triangle waves as taught by Smith, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results.
In regards to claim 19, as recited in claim 14, the combination of Moeller and Rimon fails to disclose wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a square wave, sine wave, or triangle wave.
Smith teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a square wave, sine wave, or triangle wave (see claim 8, tactile haptic feedback device provides triangle wave signals, square wave signals, and sine wave signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and Rimon and include tactile feedback signals that are triangle waves, sine waves, or triangle waves as taught by Smith, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeller and Rimon in view of Gajiwala et al. (US 2021/0240267 A1 hereinafter Gajiwala).
In regards to claim 10, as recited in claim 1, the combination of Moeller and Rimon fails to disclose wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a sine wave, and the micro-displacement stimulus element changes one or more conditions of amplitude, pulse width, or time interval between pulses of the micro-displacement stimulus.
Gajiwala teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a sine wave (see paragraph 0059, haptic feedback control signal is a sine wave), and the micro-displacement stimulus element changes one or more conditions of amplitude, pulse width, or time interval between pulses of the micro-displacement stimulus (see paragraph 0059, the haptic feedback control signal can vary the polarity, frequency or amplitude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and Rimon and include adjusting the feedback signal by adjusting the polarity, frequency or amplitude as taught by Gajiwala, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results.
In regards to claim 11, as recited in claim 1, the combination of Moeller and Rimon fails to disclose wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a sine wave, and the micro-displacement stimulus element changes one or more conditions of amplitude, pulse width, or time interval between pulses based on the speed at which the finger moves.
Gajiwala teaches wherein: the micro-displacement stimulus is a pulse signal that includes a sine wave (see paragraph 0059, haptic feedback control signal is a sine wave), and the micro-displacement stimulus element changes one or more conditions of amplitude, pulse width, or time interval between pulses based on the speed at which the finger moves (see paragraph 0059, the haptic feedback control signal can vary the polarity, frequency or amplitude).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moeller and Rimon and include adjusting the feedback signal by adjusting the polarity, frequency or amplitude as taught by Gajiwala, thereby using known techniques to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J KOHLMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628